check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

An Affordable Home with a View...and Only Minutes from Disney!

41 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 6 nights


Kissimmee Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

EMERALD ISLAND RETREAT - A superb 3 bedroom Townhouse on the prestigous Emerald Island Resort. Less than 3 miles from Disney's Animal Kingdom, Emerald Island Resort is located just off the 192, and is also ideally placed for shops and restaurants.

Why pay hotel room prices? Why pay higher prices when realistically most guests spend the days at the theme parks and the nights resting for the next day? Why pay for something you are not really going to get the benefit of? All guests enjoy the FREE use of the resorts facilities such as the two community heated pools (no hidden pool heat costs!), spa, fitness center, sauna and volleyball court. There are also nature trails, a picnic area and a kid's play area. FREE WiFi internet access is available from the comfort of our home or if you wish, a Cyber Cafe is also available (small fee payable locally) to catch up on all the e-mails!! Floodlit tennis courts are also available minutes from our home, and we provide 2 raquets with balls for your use.

Are you a light sleeper? Can you be sure of the location of your home if booked through an agency? Our townhome boasts a wonderful waterfront that only a very few on this resort can offer!

Located close enough to enjoy the resorts facilities, but far enough away to ensure you are not disturbed by them, especially when you are trying to sleep!

Fully air-conditioned, our house is fully furnished, including items such as a refrigerator-freezer with ice maker, dishwasher, oven and microwave, washer and dryer, not to mention all bed linens and towels (including 6 pool towels). Cable TV is provided, with TV's located in the lounge and ALL bedrooms. Ceiling fans have recently been added for your additional comfort to the lounge and all bedrooms.

A DVD player is provided should you be unable to find anything on the numerous channels, or alternatively, you may wish to challenge the children (no age limit!!) with our Playstation 2, complete with two games and controllers. If not, then perhaps a chilled drink relaxing after a day at the theme parks relaxing whilst admiring the view across the lake watching the numerous birds that frequent it and conservation area to the rear.

Maintained by our small local management company; no keys to worry about collecting or dropping off. View our website and guest book, and we look forward to hear from you.

Keywords: Townhouse

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

Our names are Andrew & Rosemary and we have two children, Chloe and Mark. We live in the seaside town of Broadstairs located in the county of Kent in England, UK.

The Owner purchased this townhome in 2004

Why The Owner chose Disney / Orlando

When we flew out in October 2003 to view various homes and resorts, Emerald Island Resort had already sold all of their townhomes and were not being marketed. However, we decided to find the resort just to view it and to see what all the 'hype' was about as it was receiving such good reviews. Wow! As soon as we turned into the resort we knew why. Luckily for us a townhome sale had fallen through and the rest is history!

What makes this townhome unique

Watching an early morning sunrise over the retention pond with hot air balloons floating silently across! The resorts location is great as it allows you to go to the Disney reorts in the morning when they first open to avoid the crowds, returning for lunch and a swim...when the parks are 'heaving'. Then you can just return to the parks late afternoon when the crowds start to go home!

Guestbook comments from the owner

I want to thank both of you for sharing your home with us. We had a wonderful time and the weather was great. The location of Emerald Island is great -- it is so convenient and close to everything. I agree that your villa is located in a very nice spot. Two mornings were watched two red fox play less that 20 yards from the rear door….Again, thank you. I will certainly contact you for our next visit to Orlando.
Feb 2004
  • 1 of 1


based on 41 traveler reviews

An Affordable Home with a View...and Only Minutes from Disney!
average rating of 4.878049 based on 42 reviews
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan - Canada

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed in the Spain's rental property in March 2007. What a wonderful experience. It was so nice for the children to have their own room rather than staying in a hotel. We were able to sit up at night and visit, watch TV and relax. We also enjoyed being able to sit out on the patio with the view of the water and watch the kids run on the grass. At first we were a little nervous about renting online ... but have recommended this option to our friends. The accommodations were very affordable and the Spain's very helpful and accommodating along the way. Thank you for sharing your home with us, we hope to visit again.


  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good property, not upscale, for small families

  • 3 of 5

The property is ok for small families. Rooms and beds are small, and main room bed is a double size. Kitchen only has minimum things. Stairway has a lot of noises. Tvs on upstairs rooms are 14". Good property but not upscale one. Cleaning fee too high for nothing, no soap or shampoo in showers.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very cute and welcoming!

  • 5 of 5

The property backed out onto the pond. It was very peaceful and quiet! We got to see a good variety of wildlife. It was Awesome!! Loved that all the bedrooms were upstairs, the master had a little balcony attached that u can sit out and eat and relax. The townhouse has all the amenities that u would need for a family of 5! It's very reasonably priced! If we get to come back next year, we are definitely staying at this same house!!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jill, Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcome you back next year. Andrew.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago area, Illinois

Winter Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

Emerald Island Retreat has been our winter "home away" for two years now from January 15th to March 15th. The location is great for the Disney parks, other Orlando attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Our children and grandchildren love to visit and enjoy the pool and clubhouse. The townhouse is very clean, comfortable and affordable. Along with being close to all the action, it is quiet, safe and secluded, especially when relaxing on the patio and balcony with a view of the lake. The owners, Andrew and Rosemary Spain are easily contacted and very accommodating. We have already booked Emerald Island Retreat for the same dates in 2017.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review and look forward to welcome you back in 2017. Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A ideal home close to disney and 192

  • 5 of 5

We spent 2 weeks in Emerald Island and were pleasantly surprised with this home from home. Close to Disney and 192 with all its shops and restaurants. Everything is here to make your stay in the USA comfortable. The house also has a beautiful view onto the lake which is unique for this resort. I would recommend this house to anyone wanting a relaxing refuge after a long day in the parks.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Don for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed our home, the resort and the close proximity to Disney. Andrew.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outdated and Lots of Little Problems

  • 2 of 5

We have stayed at 6 VRBO places in this area over the past 5 years & this is the only negative experience we have had. I cannot recommend it & would not return. (Note most of the reviews are very old.) The British owner did not meet the contract agreement that our deposit be returned within 28 days of leaving. I complained to VRBO and he finally provided a bank transfer that was deposited into my account four days after the deadline. He did not apologize for his error, nor did he check with us during our stay to see if everything was okay or contact us after we left.

There were many issues with this place. You must go through a long check-in process where you pay a refundable $10 for each gate key you want, so you won't just drive up and get in. The only staples provided were a roll of paper towel, soap for 1 load of laundry, and a few sheets of toilet paper. There were long black hairs everywhere, including in the clean bedding/towels & in the washer. The furnishings are outdated, with bad blinds (that are a pain because they keep coming apart), an old inefficient washer/dryer, and stains on the carpet. The beds are extremely uncomfortable—one of us slept on the floor instead. The stove is the old kind & had uneven heat elements. There were no oven mitts and no can opener that worked. The lid for the trash can in the kitchen was missing, so while you’re warned about keeping trash closed due to bugs there is no way to do that! And there are creatures--bugs, a large roach in the living room, a little lizard somehow got through the locked sliding door, and something like a raccoon came to the sliding door at night & tried to open it violently.

There was no deadbolt lock for the front door, which means anyone with the door code could walk in. The area is somewhat safe but the low-cost rentals result in different types of renters. I propped a dining room table chair under the front doorknob at night.

The pictures on the website show a back yard with tiny trees and a nice view of a lake—instead you can't really see the lake at all because of the huge overgrown trees with damaged limbs hanging down. And the nearby pool was closed 2 or 3 days of our stay. If this is the first VRBO home you’ve rented you may find it acceptable, but it was below average based on our experiences. Pay a little more to rent a place in Sunset Lakes the next subdivision up the road. We’ve stayed in 5 homes there that are much better quality with private pools & attentive owners.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Stephen, Thank you for your review and would wish to respond accordingly. Firstly, as had previously been explained, I was unable to instruct my bank to issue your security deposit refund as I myself only received my phone bill on the 28th day following your departure. This bill is required to ensure no excessive use had occurred, hence why we stipulate 'within 28 days' on our rental agreement. That same day, I advised you the refund would be issued and arranged this with my bank. Subsequently you found it necessary to contact VRBO. The refund was made electronically for you to expedite its receipt. Only once have we ever had to withhold a refund, which was last year due to a guest running up a phone bill in excess of the security deposit, hence our reluctance now to make any refund prematurely. We were disappointed to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our home upon your arrival and contacted our management company accordingly. Clearly black hairs being present is unacceptable for which I can only apologise however I understand our management company was not contacted and afforded the opportunity to inspect and rectify this for you. The stains on the carpets you are referring to are, I believe, small bleach stains following an attempt to clean following a spill. We're also sorry to hear the nearest communal pool was closed for part of your stay and that a couple of the 'native residents' found their way into our home, both outside of our control. Any food waste should be placed in a sealed bag and placed outside in the trash bin as anything disposed of internally will attract insects and the like. Recent security improvements at the resort for the benefit of residents and guests alike have included the introduction of an electronic card entry system, for which a $10 charge is made for every card issued, refunded upon departure when handed back at the clubhouse. However we understand these have become quite a collectable momento for guests who wish to take with them on departure, hence why a deposit is now required. Completion of our fast track registration form provided expedites this process. All reviews are welcomed to afford us the opportunity to improve on anything where necessary to ensure guests enjoy our home, the resort and their vacation. So whilst disappointing as you clearly did not find us, our home or the resort to your liking compared to others you have visited, thank you again for taking the time. Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Kissimmee Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 21 - Jan 2
6 night minimum stay
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 23 2017
6 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.0%

A booking form will be submitted upon request of making a reservation and is to be completed and returned along with payment to confirm reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kissimmee Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master bedroom, Double Beds (1) Bedroom 2, Twin or Single Beds (2) Bedroom 3, Baby Cribs (1) Collapsable cot available
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • swimming
  • tennis
Ceiling fans, TV's to all bedrooms, Hairdrier, Pool Towels, Ceramic Tiled Ground Floor, Assortment of pool / outdoor games, 2 Tennis racquets with balls, Patio table and 4 chairs, table and 2 padded chairs to balcony, Games Room, Floodlit tennis courts, volleyball court

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties