Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Great Value - Golf Course & Ski Condo at Great Location

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo

Overview

About the property

Charming 1BR 1BA Condo

Great Location! Golfers and skiers will enjoy this comfortable, charming Schuss Mountain unit, but will absolutely love the location even more. This ground floor 1 bedroom, 1 bath condo sleeps 4 (1 queen in the bedroom and a queen fold out in the living room).

The condo sits a chip shot from the 18th green, next door to the clubhouse. There is also a putting green outside the front door. For skiers it is just yards from the lodge and ski hill, and very near the cross-country ski trail.

Schuss Mountain is the most serene of three villages in the Shanty Creek Resort. Four golf courses are within the Shanty Creek complex, with the ever popular Schuss Mt. G.C. out your front door. Arnold Palmer's 'The Legend', and the 'Cedar River' courses are world class golfing venues.

Schuss Mountain is a very popular ski resort offering quad chair lifts, many trails, and night skiing. The cross-country skier will love the 30 km of trail just outside your front door.

Fall provides a spectacular palate of colors in late September and early October.

The town of Bellaire and Mancelona are 5 minutes by car. Bellaire offers 'Lulu's', the wonderful gourmet restaurant which always proves to be memorable dining experience at reasonable prices.

Amenities: The condo sleeps up to 4 (1 queen in the bedroom and 1 queen foldout couch). It includes Air Conditioning, Stove top burners (no oven), microwave, refrigerator, there is an outdoor key/lock closet for guest's ski or club storage.

Linens and towels are provided by maid service.

Activities: (4 courses on Shanty Creek/Schuss Property), Downhill and Cross-country Skiing, Snowboarding, hiking, restaurants, and shopping and Turtle Creek Casino (30 miles).

For additional information please call:

231-258-8583 Bob and Char Barko

231-463-3128 Bob's Cell

231-564-1605 Char's Cell

More Details

Owner
Bob and Char Barko
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018

About Bob and Char Barko

Bob and I have been skiing Schuss for years using our motor home as a "day lodge" base with our dogs. When gas went sky high we found a pet friendly condo to rent during the week. Eventually Ed decided to sell and we went in as partners the first few years. We are now total owners with Ed as an occasional golfing guest. Bob is now a pass checker for Schuss and is found on the slopes most every day. He is always a participant in the Carboard Classic in March (see pic) and was the oldest in the Relay for Life at Schuss this spring. We try to meet all our guests and summer renters often are invited to a cruise on Torch in our 1954 Century. Looking forward to making you a friend at Schuss!

What makes this condo unique

For additional information please call:

231-258-8583 Bob Barko

231-463-3128 Bob's Cell

231-564-1605 Char's Cell

Amenities

Mancelona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • satellite tv
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
For additional information please call: 231-258-8583 Bob and Char Barko 231-463-3128 Cell Bob 231-564-1605 Cell Char

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Great Value - Golf Course & Ski Condo at Great Location
average rating of 4.428571 based on 14 reviews
5

The perfect up North getaway at a reasonable price!

  • 5 of 5

This place was perfect and is in a great location to take advantage of the Schuss/Shanty facilities. Schuss village is within walking distance. The home had everything we needed and was very cozy!

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay 😊 Hopefully you will visit again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and value

  • 4 of 5

Clean and cozy

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed our condo hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Friendly Hosts

  • 4 of 5

Very friendly hosts and a great location.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the positive comments. Hope to host your family again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Condo was very nice with a great location.

  • 4 of 5

The owners, Bob and Char are extremely nice and accommodating. The condo was well kept, nice, clean, and comfortable. Only negative being the cable and t.v. Television is old and small with very basic cable and there is no internet. I would have given it a 5 star review except for those items.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Small & affordable but many negatives that could be remedied.

  • 3 of 5

-Affordable, has all you need. Small, too much furniture for small space. Had to move furniture nightly. Too many of owners personal items took up useful space for guest.

-Outdated fixtures & appliances. Faucets hard to turn. Toaster & crockpot are dated & didn't work well.

-Dead lock had to be worked to align lock. The door handle had a "turn ridge" to lock on inside, when turned our key wouldn't open door. Glad we tested the keys before locking the door behind us. Given a code to unlock key box to get condo key, but front door was unlocked when arrived. The key box didn't even require code to unlock, it simply fell open.

-Listing said had internet. But couldn't connect or find any info regarding internet (or any arrival info for that matter). Owner later said the service was Shanty Creeks' & I "only have to walk 100 feet to use it". Not convenient.

-Grill was filthy & there was a pie tin full of "something" left on the grill. The fridge had a bag of uncooked meat in it!

-The closet in bathroom had a cat urine smell. So I didn't use the closet & had to use the little living space we had to store our stuff.

-Biggest issue was moisture in the unit. The carpet was wet. I wasn't comfortable walking barefoot. The furniture was damp. When we told the owner (after manh attempts of calling & text) he shows up the next day (no call). He brushed it off. Saying the fridge had leaked and that's why it was wet. NEVER attempted to fix the problem! I can bend with inconveniences, however THIS made it very uncomfortable. It was more than a leaked fridge. I would have appreciated effort on his part to remedy this. There had been alot of rain & it is a partially underground unit & moisture occurs, but, after days of attempting to air out the unit. I found a rental dehumidifier 30 min away. 3 days & purchase of a hose...$85 from MY vacation money. I had to buy candles & Febreze to freshen musty smell too.

-Its a matter of taste & opinion. For the price, most I can deal with. Except the moisture & wet carpet & way it was handled by owner. Would have appreciated even a gesture of reimbursing for the rental (which I planned to rent regardless), all I got was, "oh, that's too bad".

-PROS:soft water, bed was comfy, good tv service, 2 tvs, microwave worked great, small fridges but 2 of them, A/C, on putting green, near store & pool, 2 patios, NOT LISTED but unit had trash bags, dish soap, paper towels & TP, pool is "rough" but your pass card gives access to other pools.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate that this family of 4 found our one bedroom condo crowded but, we have the furniture arranged so that only the small, light coffee table needs to be moved for use of the sofa bed. We do not leave personal items --there is extra bedding in the closet and bedroom tv hutch for guest use. The kitchen closet offers a few canned items and beverages/ condiments for the convenience of our guests. We have a carpet extractor stored in the closet for use when we deep clean and would certainly have used it if the carpet was wet to touch. During extreme humidity the air conditioner does a fine job of removing moisture.Our listing has not ever listed wifi so I suppose this was most likely confused with another listing inquiry. We are old fashioned in that we believe in keeping things that aren't broken. This is one way we try to keep our rates lower. It is unfortunate that some are offended by older appliances tho they like the affordable rates. The Schuss pool is slated for updates this fall. Looking forward to renovation of pool deck, changing and rest rooms.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Fun in Michigan!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! Schuss Mountain/Shanty Creek is beautiful and Bob and Char provide everything you need and their cabin offers a lot of amenities! We really love that we can bring our furry friends too! Our first time in Michigan was wonderful! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: we love hearing about positive experiences--glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Ivans
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Ivans
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Onsite
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $35

year round rates
Cleaning fee - There is a one time $35 cleaning fee per visit.

A deposit of 50% is required upon booking and the remaining balance is due prior to arrival.

Personal checks or cash only at this time. $70 - per night
$400 per week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties