check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Judith Adams

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish

'The Crest' is spacious inside & out! Enjoy Hebron Falls & DSL on the porch!

36 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Blowing Rock Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Charming mountain-top cottage, easy access! 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 6

VRBO, HomeAway, and FlipKey now charge guests a high service fee, in addition to the high fee that I already pay for listing my property on their website. This is new, as Expedia is running things. I deal directly with my guests and am able to avoid this fee. I encourage you to check out a new vacation home rental website called HomeEscape (property # 54876). HomeEscape receives all money through advertising; they are friendly to both the owner and the guest.

'Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.

Nature's peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.

The winds will blow their own freshness into you...

while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.' ~ John Muir

Your arrival to ''The Crest' is a scenic and easy drive leading to a spacious and level parking area. A few steps from your car is the covered deck. Inside is a spacious living area flooded with natural light and beautiful and breathtaking views through multiple windows. Outside lie 12 private acres of nature for your enjoyment. 'The Crest' is located within walking distance to the beautiful Hebron Falls. Spend a few hours, spend a day relaxing on the large rocks lying in the cool, clear river water.

Experience 'The Crest'!

Experience 'solitude', not 'isolation.'

Your relaxing and regenerating vacation is off to a perfect start!

'Smoke-free' and 'pet friendly

* The house is situated on 12 private, pristine acres with great view of mountains and the valley below. 'The

Crest' and sleeps 6-8 comfortably in beds....no sofa beds.

* On the main floor, there are two bedrooms. (2 BR on main with 1 queen / 1 double) A spacious loft sleeps 2 twins. Game table in the loft for chess, checkers, cards and many family games are provided.

* 2.5 baths

* The kitchen is fully and well equipped. You should find equal to or better than normal home kitchens.

* Laundry room has a washer, dryer, utility tub, ironing board and iron, and room to work

* AC (rarely needed, but nice to have) / heat, gas fireplace for ambiance and heating.

* TV with DVD and VHS capabilities, including a substantial library of VHS & DVD movies.

'The Crest' is a peaceful place to rest and experience a major 'change- of-pace.' You can enjoy nature, and get away from the rush of your work week and feel recharged

'The Crest' at Woodridge: What to expect outside: 'The Crest' is a peaceful place to rest and experience a major 'change- of-pace.' You can enjoy nature, and get away from the rush of your work week and feel energized and revitalized.

* Large covered front and back porches.

* Rockers and porch swing.

* Picnic table and 6 chairs on the porch

* Gas grill and picnic table in yard.

* 12 acres of privacy and nature....walk on the beautiful private drive, or through the woods.

* The popular Hebron Falls and river is an exhilarating walk along a clear stream, boldly rushing through a field of

huge boulders. It's a great place to spend the day!

Activities in the area:

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Judith Adams (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish

About Judith Adams

I am a retired high school teacher.

Judith Adams purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Judith Adams chose Blowing Rock

NC. was my home for many years while I was growing up. After those years, it became a vacation destination; and finally we bought this property to begin to have a permanent place for family vacations.

This property has a wonderful view, with 'rocking chair' porches front and back. The forest surrounds the house and the wild life is abundant. Hebron Falls and the river are within walking distance. The towns of Blowing Rock and Boone are 15 minutes away. So, this beautiful property offers seclusion, but not the feeling of isolation.

It is a great place to replenish one's spirit!

What makes this cottage unique

Great views!

Lots of windows inside; almost as good as being outside.

Porches with a swing and lots of rockers.

Easy drive access and ample level parking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our time at your Crest immensely ! The weather was lovely! We really enjoyed Grandfather Mt & Mast General Store. We rode parts of B R parkway. We adored The Gamekeeper & Vidalias in Boone. But the BEST part was drinking coffee on your perfect porch each morning at a COOOL 62 degrees & watching the ethereal sunsets over the mt each night. What a treat!!

Your Amy was a HUGE help& we appreciate her so very much. We are delighted that we found your Crest & YOU!! our best
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 14

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

'The Crest' is spacious inside & out! Enjoy Hebron Falls & DSL on the porch!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 50 reviews
Clayton, NC, USA
5

A Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

The Crest was all it was represented to be and more. We were there 10 Aug 2009 - 17 Aug 2009, and it was a wonderful experience. The temperatures in the daytime were in the mid to lower 70's. A nice esca[e from the 101 temperature forcast for the 10th back home. The views were excellent. Activities in the area can fit any ages. Sitting on the deck watching the sunrise, hearing the birds chirp, seeing the deer, was a wonderful experience and will long be remembered by all of us. This is a serene and peaceful place to spend a vacation. We look forward to returning. To the Adam's, thanks for sharing........ Our only disappointment was leaving.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Beautiful Mountain Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful home and an equally beautiful location. We enjoyed our stay in this home away from home. The Crest is well stocked with everything you need for your stay, not only kitchen items, but games and puzzles too. I would highly recommend staying at The Crest. Judith was wonderful to work with, answered my many questions in a timely manner. Next time we come to the Boone area we will be staying at The Crest.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your visit and taking time to share your thoughts with others! Look forward to hearing from you again. Take good care!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Niceville, Florida
5

Therapeutic!

  • 5 of 5

Coming back to the low lands (Florida) after 2 weeks at “The Crest” is almost too depressing to talk about. But I feel we must share what a wonderful and exciting experience we had there, (even though I secretly would like to keep it to myself). As has been written before, the views from “The Crest” are beautiful! Joe and I looked forward EVERY afternoon, after hours looking for our own piece of Zion (land), to having a cocktail and appetizers in the backyard. Very therapeutic!

The home has a warm, comfortable, and very inviting feel to it. We never lacked for anything, Ingles groceries was only 5 miles away toward Boone and Lowes Foods in Banner Elk is about 7 miles in the other direction. Lowes was our favorite grocery store. It has a GREAT wine section and the steak selection was second to none, especially on sale!

We NEVER missed not having HBO or Netflix to entertain us, the local stations were just fine! However, I will say my husband and I both bought our laptop and all-in-one computer to search for properties and to keep current on certain events (wireless internet was great). BTW, the up-stairs loft made an excellent command center! Very open concept with a table and 4 chairs, and if you have children, they would love the cowboy theme twin beds, very cute!

Joe and I did walk to Hebron Falls which is down the road from this home, (take the first left where the sign is for Woodridge. It’s a very pretty stream, make sure you have good hiking shoes though.

Joe thoroughly enjoyed cooking on the new grill, I’m pretty sure we used it every night.

All in all we loved our stay at the Crest, Judy is a very gracious and helpful Hostess! We are counting the days when we can get away and come back to the CREST!

All the best,

Joe and Trish

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Heavenly views & weather!!!

  • 5 of 5

What a respite from the Mississippi heat and a lovely place to spend our 50th Wedding Anniversary. The Crest is serene and restoring! That porch stilled our minds & souls as we drank coffee each morning and sipped wine at sunset. Comfort and convenience describe the interior. Judith, you thought of everything! Thank you for sharing this unforgettable retreat with us! Also, our compliments to your Amy who was a terrific help! Our favorite dining was The GameKeeper & Vidalias in Boone. We took in Grandfather Mt., Valle Crucis and adored Blowing Rock shopping!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. The mountains are a great escape from the heat and an opportunity to lift your spirit a bit. Amy is a terrific help and so nice. Take care and please come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

"What a great vacation"

  • 5 of 5

First off I can't say enough how awesome our vacation stay was at The Crest.

We spent 9 days there and couldn't have planned it any better. The Cottage was above and beyond as far as location and ammendities. The Crest was beautiful inside and out, just sitting on the porch was a highlight of our stay. Our golden retriever "Max"loved the yard and the walks we would take every morning.We've stayed in other cabins in the Blowing Rock area and The Crest tops them all. Thanks Miss Judy for your kindness, it was a pleasure. I highly reccomend staying at The Crest it will not disappoint.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

We had such a nice time at The Crest!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a nice time at The Crest! It is certainly aptly named. I was hoping for a pretty view and it was 360 and spectacular! We loved the porch on the back and the porch swing. It's a great place to drink coffee in the morning and enjoy that view! It was wonderful to watch the weather come in and out there. The house is beautiful, spacious and very well equipped with kitchen supplies, games, music and personal touches. We enjoyed the birds, the privacy and just walking the grounds. Very nice hiking is close by and we enjoyed the towns of Boone, Blowing Rock and Valle Crucis. We had a lovely time!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Lenoir
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
http://www.highcountryoutdoors.com/golf.htm
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
http://www.skinc.com/
Car: necessary

The Crest is located off of Old Turnpike road, on Woodridge Drive. Driving distance from 'The Crest' to Blowing Rock is 6.1 miles and 8.4 miles to Boone.

Ski: There are several ski areas located nearby.

Appalachian Ski slope is used by the locals. It is a smaller, family run resort. Consequently, it is especially great for families with smaller children to learn to ski.

Several locations for Skiing are nearby:

Appalachian Ski: 7.9 miles

Beech 19 miles

Sugar: 11.4 miles

Hawks Nest: 9.8 miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Blowing Rock Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 28 2016 - Aug 28 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
$3,400
 
 
Early Fall
Aug 31 2016 - Nov 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
$3,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
Christmas
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
$3,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30 + Tax
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.75%

200.00 / Night
A monthly rental equates to 4 weeks.
Booking within 6 weeks: 100% payment is due at time of booking
Booking in advance of 6 weeks: 50% deposit required at the time of booking. Remainder is due 8 weeks prior to
arrival
$200.00 Security Deposit
$30.00 Pet fee / pet / week
$40.00 towels and linens
$100.00 cleaning for one week /$150 for more than a week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Blowing Rock Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , located downstairs
  • Each bath has a roll of toilet paper, plus one below sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , located on the main floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , located on the main floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , large loft
  • Please bring linens and towels. they are supplied for a $30.00 fee. Pillows, spreads, down comforters, and blankets are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The basic 'starter supplies' provided are toilet paper, paper towels, and hand soap. * You may find residual items, like aluminum foil, dishwasher soap, etc. As this is a family oriented home and, as we know the last guest, we do not throw such items away. * Condiments may remain in the refrigerator also. Our cleaning lady does check expiration dates.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers