Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Front Home with Pool, Perfect for Families, Pet Friendly, Shaded Deck!!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Summer Wind is Beach Front with a Pool, WiFi, Pet Friendly

Summer Wind sits directly beach front with expansive views and direct beach access. You will enjoy the large partially covered beach front deck perfect for taking in the sun or relaxing in the shade.

The beach front views continue inside with the kitchen, dining area, and living room all overlooking the magnificent Gulf Coast. The living area is an open area with an expansive vaulted ceiling. The living room features a large LCD TV.

There are two master suites upstairs both featuring limited gulf views and queen beds. The two other guest bedrooms are down stairs and are also queens. Sleep 2 more, kids, in the bunk room down stairs. There are three full bathrooms total 2 in the master suites upstairs and a common bathroom downstairs.

The home has access to the community beach front pool that serves the four beach front homes we have at this location: Wall Street, Wings of Eagles, Summer Wind, and Summer of '42.

4644 State Hwy 180

Gulf Shores, AL 36542

We love people of all ages, and we want everyone to enjoy our homes. However, we do require that an adult 25 years or older to reserve the home and be present at the home during your entire stay. We do not rent to anyone under the age of 25. We have no exception to this policy.

More Details

Property Manager
Harris Properties Management
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Harris Properties Management

This property is one of 20 vacation properties managed by Harris Properties Management, Inc. Harris Properties started by Steve and Becky Harris in 1983 with the purchase of 'SH 59' (now known as 'Catalina,' VRBO #318060).

Guestbook comments from the manager

We spent 5 nights at Summer Wind. Even though it was not super fancy, the location was superb! We had a few neighbors that we shared the beach with, but it was almost as if it was our beach exclusively. The house was clean, there was lots of room, our dog was welcome, and the views were fantastic. We walked right out the back door to the beach and played in the surf and sand to our heart's delight. We spotted a couple of Dolphins traveling toward Fort Morgan on our last day. The washer and dryer were rather old, but they worked okay. There was a soft spot in the downstairs bathroom that was a bit scary, but it survived our wet feet. The pool was clean and we enjoyed some family time splashing together. On the down side, it was about a 25 minute drive to restaurants and attractions. All in all, it was a wonderful place to spend time with our family!
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 13

Amenities

Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master suite bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master guest bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Suite - 1 queen , On second floor with private full bath
    Guest Master Suite - 1 queen , On second floor with private full bath
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , On first floor with shared common first floor bath
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , On first floor with shared common first floor bath
  • Queen size Beds (4), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Beach Front Home with Pool, Perfect for Families, Pet Friendly, Shaded Deck!!
average rating of 3.4545455 based on 24 reviews
4

It is a really nice and quiet place for families to stay.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the entire week that our youngest son got married. There were 9 of us total and we had out of town guest come to visit some during the day. There is plenty of room, plenty of bedding space and plenty of room to get away from the rest of the guest if you like.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon Nelda, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property Summer Wind during your stay with us. Thank you for the great feedback about the property and that it met all your needs during your young son's wedding. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Have a blessed day. Lenetta Martin Director of Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful view, comfortable house

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon Anne, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the property Summer Wind during your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon in the near future. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Lenetta Martin Director of Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cincinnati, Ohio (US)
2

Undermaintained, underequipped, dirty carpet, worn flooring. Great location and view. Nice pool.

  • 2 of 5

The location was perfect, right on the beach, with a small pool shared by 4 houses. The view and beach access were great. Not as many houses on this stretch as along other parts of the beach. Price is very attractive. But you get what you pay for. There were no clothes hangers, we had to go buy some. There were no placemats for the table. There was 1 small spoon and only 6 forks. The manual can opener fell apart when I tried to use it. The electric can opener didn't work. They replaced it promptly. The carpet is dirty and worn. The floors are in bad shape. The sheets are too short, old sheets made when mattresses were thinner. I shopped for hangars, place mats, flatware just so we could put our clothes away and eat a meal. If price and location outweigh other considerations, this is your place. But if you want comfort and nice lodgings, this is substandard. The garbage carts for all 4 houses were at the highway. We had to roll them back to the house to use. Several garbage pails at the main road had spilled garbage on the road. It took them a week to address this, so we drove past garbage every time we went in or out.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon Catherine & Paul, We are happy to hear that you both found the location of Summer Wind to be perfect. We apologize that there was not enough inventory there for your use and that you had to purchase certain items; however, we are happy to hear that we were able to replace the electric can opener promptly. Thank you for providing feedback about the property as it only helps us to make improvements where they are needed. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Have a blessed day. Lenetta Martin Director of Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

We loved Fort Morgan just not harris properties

  • 2 of 5

Upon arrival we could tell the house had it's issues, But since it was the first day we tried to look over it. The first night the septic overflowed and the alarm went off.The bathroom downstairs smelled like urine from the time we got there. The downstairs hallway had a huge dip in the floor and so does the downstairs bathroom.The grab bar in the shower is just sitting in place, The hotwater never lasted more than 10 minutes or so. The cable never worked properly we called and they came out several times but we finally gave up on tv.The hardwood floors had big gaps in them.The screens on the windows were all rotten and broken. Everyone in the house got a bad rash, I'm not sure if the house had fleas or what the deal was but we even tried to wash all the sheets and the problem didn't go away.To sum up our vacation we loved Fort Morgan but we'll not be staying in any harris properties in the future.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon Calvin, We at Harris Properties enjoy hearing from our guests about the memories they create and the feedback that they provide about the properties. I want to thank you for the feedback about the property, as it only helps us to make improvements where they are needed. I will reach out to the owner to let them know about what you have stated in order to make improvements. We want our guests to be comfortable during their stay with us and we will strive to make it that way. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Lenetta Martin Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Appleton, WI
3

Not the best rental

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here last week. The house is not in good condition compared to the other houses in Fort Morgan. Harris Properties seemed concerned with texts, but did nothing to fix the issues. The sewer was overflowing under the house and the downstairs bathroom reeked all week. All other reviews on here are accurate about the state of the house. I had contacted the realtor prior to going about the bad reviews and was told the issues were fixed. I would say that it was cleaner than the reviews on here stated, but I am not sure how this home would pass a building inspection. We mostly likely would not rent these homes again. The location and pool were awesome. If they would update the homes, at least to make them safer - they would be beautiful.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon Matt, We at Harris Properties enjoy hearing from our guests about the memories they create and the feedback that they provide about the properties. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the house. We appreciate the feedback about the property as it only helps us to make improvements where needed. I will reach out to the owner about the suggestions that you have provided in order to make it more comfortable for our guests moving forward. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Lenetta Martin Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
1

Keep searching

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property in October 2015. Let me start with the positive. We liked the layout of the house & the location couldn't have been more perfect. We enjoyed our stay because we were with family but there was SO much wrong with the house that I know I won't be able to fit it all in this review.

I contacted the management company upon arrival when we noticed how much was wrong. This was on a Saturday. We weren't contacted back until Tuesday. When I spoke with an employee, never once did she apologize for anything. Rather, she asked that I put it all in an e-mail so that maintenance will know what works needs done for the future. Another representative from the management company contacted me mid-week via text & again, I went into detail informing her of many issues. No response. A lot of money was spent to rent the property. Anyway, here's a list of SOME of the things we found during the week.

1.) SEVERELY rotted floorboards in downstairs bath, hallway, dining room, & kitchen (not a good feeling being nervous walking around in fear that you're going to fall thru the floor)

2.) Tack strips were exposed all over the stairway. My daughter & niece both cut their feet.

3.) TWO upstairs windows fell inwards when trying to open them

4.) Electrical outlets blew all week

5.) Downstairs light in bedroom didn't work & the fan was so unstable that we wouldn't turn it on (a globe off another bedroom fell during the day while we were gone)

7.) Upon arrival, we knew immediately that the carpet hadn't been swept, laminate tile flooring hadn't been cleaned, the love seat was covered in dirt, one of the beds had a large red stain on the side of mattress, coffee maker hadn't been cleaned, bathroom sinks were ALL disgusting, & the home smelled of urine. The first thing we did was call the management company (no answer) & then all started cleaning.

8.) Upstairs bath had no lock & the bath tub wouldn't hold water

9.) The master bedroom had no t.v. & had bare wiring exposed

10.) All vent fans in the home were completely full of dust

11.) The washing machine was very old and rusted out. It would start without the lid being closed

12.) Lamp shades were ripped as were screens

I could truly go on and on. I would hope that the owner of the house knows the condition of their home & that the company hired to manage it is not doing a satisfactory job. It's in an awesome location & has so much potential. We'll never rent from Harris Properties in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Afternoon, We are happy to hear that you did like the layout of the house and the location during your stay with us. I apologize for the experience you had during your stay and that your call was not returned in a more timely manner. We strive on taking care of our guest and want our guest to have a good experience. Since your last stay in October 2015 we have repaired and have updated this home. Thank you for choosing Harris Properties and letting us be a part of finding your perfect spot in the sand. Have a blessed day. Lenetta Martin Director of Guest Relations
Did you find this review helpful?
34 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers