check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gabriel Higham

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish, mandarin

Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Luxurious Ski in/out, Amazing Views/Hot tub

38 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Golden House Rental Photos and Description

Luxurious, Amazing Views, Ski-In/Ski-Out, Open Concept

Contact me for mid-week discounts, last minute discounts, small party size discounts, long stay discounts, filling in a calendar gap discount - basically any if you want a reasonable discount, contact me.

Luxurious, Ski in/out, with private hot tub, gourmet kitchen, amazing views throughout the chalet at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. Additional overflow unit which is optional 3 bed/3 bath on hill. The entry foyer opens to huge contemporary rooms with walls of windows reaching the tree tops with views of the surrounding majestic mountains. The open flow design features 29’ whole-tree cedar columns from the main floor to the vaulted ceilings, and supports a centrally located floating loft (bedroom) and catwalk. Thoughtful use of natural materials seamlessly marry the luxurious interior of the home with the exterior of forest and mountains. Located in the Purcell Woods Close Loop, this beautiful, pristine home is ski in/out and an ideal gathering spot for friends and families.

The main floor of this property has two living rooms, one in the back and one in the front of the house, each with a fireplace (1 wood, 1gas). The centrally located open-concept gourmet kitchen offers granite counter tops, high-end appliances and a gas cooktop. A separate dining room seats eight comfortably. Expanding views of sky and mountain are to the west and the mornings sunrise can be seen through the floor to ceiling picture windows from the east. In addition, the main floor has two beautifully furnished bedrooms (two twin beds, one queen) with a full bathroom, powder room and laundry room. Out back, the private hot tub awaits.

A large master bedroom, en suite with shower, and a Jacuzzi tub is on the top floor. A catwalk leads to an open concept loft (with queen bed and single bed) in the middle of the house that overlooks the main floor.

Kicking Horse Mountain Resort is located high in the Dogtooth Range of the Purcell Mountains, 14 km above Golden, British Columbia. Surrounded by the towering peaks of two other mountain ranges – the Rockies and Selkirks – it is also close to six of Canada’s most spectacular National Parks: Banff, Jasper, Kootenay, Yoho, Glacier,and Mt. Revelstoke. Finding Kicking Horse isn’t hard if you know where to look. The resort is just 1.5 hours west of Banff (145 kilometers)and 2.5 hours west of Calgary (270 kilometers) on the Trans-Canada highway.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gabriel Higham (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish, mandarin

About Gabriel Higham

My husband and I fell madly in love with Kicking Horse on our first visit in 2002. At that time all that was available was the gondola and the Eagles Eye restaurant. Before we left Golden, BC we had purchased a lot and were one of the first families to build a home on the mountain. Kicking Horse is still relatively unknown and there are many days when my husband is the only other person I can see on the ski trail. With a 15 min gondola ride to the top of the mountain there are plenty of chutes, trees and open fields to keep you entertained. At the end of your ski day you can ski right up to the garage door and kick off your skis/snowboards. In the summer we find taking the gondola up to the top and hiking the ridges to be one of our favorite adventures along with a stop at the Eagles Eye for a gourmet lunch. We hope you enjoy our home and the mountain as much as we do!

Gabriel Higham purchased this house in 2004

Why Gabriel Higham chose British Columbia Mountains

Unique in it's design, our home has expansive views of both the valley and mountains with a ski-in/out location. The gourmet kitchen is centrally located in an open concept main floor of living and dining ease to enjoy with friends andfamily. The 29 foot cedar logs, fir timberframe, maple floors, woodburning fireplace provide a warm interior against the impressive views from every room. A private hot tub, wireless internet, entertainment center and fully stocked kitchen (including; BBQ, wok, fondue pot, espresso maker, slow cooker) provide you with all equipment to make your experience wonderful.

What makes this house unique

Ski in/out, east and west facing views, gourmet kitchen, 29 ft cedar logs and windows, gas fireplace, wood burning fireplace, private hot tub, floating loft and walkway, decks, unique luxury property located at the base of Kicking Horse Resort. The perfect home for entertaining and relaxing with friends and family.

Reviews

4.9
based on 38 traveler reviews

Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Luxurious Ski in/out, Amazing Views/Hot tub
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 38 reviews
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

Great location and beautiful house. The house was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware and the gas grill worked too. The light bulbs on the stove hood were burned out and the coffee pot was rather old and slow but everything else was good.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing stay!! This home is beautiful! We had 6 adults stay here which was more than enough space and we had 3 vehicles and there is ample parking! Ask cooked every meal and the kitchen was big and had everything we need! The hot tub was perfect after a day of white water rafting, you could hang out and listen to the brook passes in behind the house. Prior to arrival the house manager answered all of our questions and responded quickly to phone calls as well! We would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spruce Grove
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Provencal Chalet in Kicking Horse was very relaxing. Mary-Beth was very accommodating, responding quickly to our questions. The house is beautiful, with a true gourmet kitchen. Ski in to the house is straight forward, and ski down to the lifts is a short walk to the main trail. In addition to downhill skiing/boarding, we were interested in cross-country skiing. The pathway to the nordic trails are relatively easy access; a short walk to the main path leading to the Nordic Centre. We hope to be back, and will definitely recommend the Provencal Chalet to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome stay! Great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. The location was perfect for our two families of 5. The listing description was accurate and the building was clean and well maintained. Mary-Beth, the owner, was wonderful to communicate with. Very friendly, personable and quick to respond to our questions. She even went the extra mile and offered us two blow up beds so we could fit our entire group of 10 comfortable. The chalet had everything we needed. We would happily stay again and recommend to our friends. Thank you Mary-Beth.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely gorgeous property with 3 bedrooms plus a queen loft. Hot tub needs fixing but everything else was ideal. Truly a ski in location with ski out if you don't mind a short treak either to a feeder trail or via the road (assuming its snow covered). Overall extremely satisfied

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We rented Mary-Beth's home for an annual guys ski weekend (Mar 10-13) and it was the perfect spot. Very spacious with beds for everyone. The open layout is great for socializing. We had a nice wood fire going every night and took advantage of the well stocked kitchen, had meals at the large dinner table. Garage is perfect for storing gear, and who doesn't like a soak in a private hot tub. And the fact that it is actually ski-in/ski-out was so convenient. After a long day on the hill being able to ski straight to the back door was amazing. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend and the house. Hope you'll be back to stay again! Mary-Beth
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
187 Miles
Calgary, AB
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Walking distance to Winstons and Peaks Restaurant
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Golden Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
13 Kilometres
Trans Canada Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Winstons and Corks and Peaks Grill and Eagles Eye
Nearest Ski
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort (Ski-In/Ski-Out)
Car: recommended

Conveniently located at the bottom of Bail Out Trail, our chalet is located in the Purcell Woods Close at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Golden House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,145
Flat fee
 
 
Early Season
Dec 2 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$420
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$763
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$916
 
 
Powder Days
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$458
 
 
Peak Season 2015
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$763
$5,114
 
 
Family Day
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$840
 
 
Peak Season
Feb 22 2017 - Feb 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$763
 
 
Regular Season
Feb 26 2017 - Mar 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$611
 
 
Spring Skiing
Mar 26 2017 - Apr 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$420
 
 
Victoria Day
May 19 2017 - May 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,145
Flat fee
 
 
Early Summer
May 22 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$343
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$420
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,374
Flat fee
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 4 2017 - Sep 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$343
 
 
Thankgiving
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,145
Flat fee
 
 
Early Season
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$420
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$267
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $763
Cleaning Fee $153 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.25%

Minimum Age Limit for Renters - 25 Years
****GET $100 OFF FOR EACH ADDITIONAL NIGHT OVER THE MINIMUM****
Damage deposit of $1000 required.
25% off for "filling in" an open calendar gap.
Up to 12% with cash payment.
Can accept USD payments.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Golden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski in/Ski out
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , King bed with ensuite - 42' tv and deck
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - Loft - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Open loft with Queen bed and single day bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With ensuite, 42' tv and deck facing west
  • Optional 3 bed/3 bath condo on hill for rent - sleeps 6, overlooking the gondola (100 feet from Gondola)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The garage has ski and snowboard racks and boot heaters

Partner Offers