check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Mark or Celeste

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Start a Tradition at Our Beautiful Northwoods Home

8 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Turtle Lake House Rental Photos and Description

4BR 3BA Home, sleeps 8

Twin Maples is a fabulous Northwoods location to enjoy throughout the year. It is a newly built Frank Lloyd Wright inspired home with the feel of a Northwoods cabin. Twin Maples is conveniently between Amery and Turtle Lake, WI.

Our home is filled with natural light from a large expanse of windows. The house is filled with beautiful touches such as cherry and maple woodwork, ceramic tile, in-floor heat, gas fireplace, comfortable furniture and local artwork. The beautiful woodwork and attention to detail extend into the other rooms on the main floor: a fully equipped kitchen with dining area, master bedroom, bathroom, and entry. A large deck with copper railing extends off the great room.

The upper level includes a loft, bathroom, and two bedrooms. The lower level includes a bedroom, family room, and bathroom. A 450 square foot studio has been recently added.

Beautiful surroundings: The rooms display beautiful woodwork as well as wood floors or ceramic tiling. Copper accents are throughout the house. Local art is displayed throughout the house. A lower level includes a bedroom, family room, wet bar and bathroom. A beautiful studio area has been added with room for crafters to do their creative work. A patio extends outside the family room. Our home is surrounded by beautiful trees and vegetation.

Amenities: Amenities: Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, gas range and oven, TV/DVD/satellite dish, gas fireplace, gas grill, fire pit, wireless internet, security system, hammock. Beautiful new studio area.Bedding is provided as well as bath towels.

Activities: Activities: Twin Maples is the perfect setting for many outdoor activities...boating, fishing, biking, golfing, canoeing, birdwatching and skiing. You will also want to enjoy the beautiful studio and surroundings as you scrapbook, read, or relax in our home.

Twin Maples is located one hour east of the Twin Cities metro area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mark or Celeste (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Start a Tradition at Our Beautiful Northwoods Home
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
Minnesota
5

Twin Maples

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful home and I said after visiting several Frank Lloyd Wright homes this appeared to look and feel like one of them. The combination of woods,ceramic, and slate were outstanding. Light played the colors of the home to make it feel luxurious.

We danced in and used the large project room with many tables for coloring,painting, as a train room and marble race room. The home is off the beaten track so it is private, very warm and very comfortable. We wanted for nothing....the windows bring in beautiful sunshine but the home is placed so that the heat of the day sun is offset and not direct.

We were 5 adults and twins aged 3 1/2. Evenings were cool so we didn't use the air conditioner much just the large fan in the living room.

Beds with ceiling fans were plentiful. Plenty of space inside for each person to find personal space when they needed it and we used the deck and grill daily.

We found many spring-fed Lakes within 20 miles to swim: Clear Lake, Pipe, O'Dalles in the International Park off Hiway 8, and Balsam but didn't get to all of those that surround the area and there are plenty!

From this experience, I decided to buy a small sailing boat because the winds on Clear Lake made me think I could easily bring one along and teach the grandchildren.

The towns closeby offered shopping with unusual gifts, groceries, places to eat. We went to the Turtle Lake Casino to eat once otherwise we communed with each other over meals at the large table in the dining area.

The layout of the house works well with groups. Three bathrooms were perfect for showers and tub baths...we had plenty of hot water. The loft and one of the bedrooms upstairs became the twins and their parents hangout.

I am so glad to have found this home....you will be amazed at its beauty.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
5

Girls' weekend at Twin Maples!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time out to Twin Maples and let me just say, it was phenomenal! To begin with, the owners were very responsive and extremely friendly in all of our communications. I felt that the rate we were charged for the stay was quite reasonable. There were 7 of us who stayed for 3 nights and we never felt that we didn't have enough room to spread out. While we weren't crafting this weekend, the studio was still a great expansion space for us. The great room has beautiful views and the woodwork is out of this world! Every bedroom was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Netflix came in handy when we couldn't agree on any of the movies we brought along with us. Kitchen was well stocked and we also thought it was very nice that a few staples were in the fridge when we arrived (ketchup, mayo, etc.).

This is a BEAUTIFUL home in a lovely setting. It is convenient to get to but nice and private as well. We loved our stay and were very sad to leave this morning! I highly recommend staying at this home and hope to again in the future!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Preston, mn. United states
3

Scrap book outing

  • 3 of 5

Nice house with items that need a little attention. We arrived and the heater was already on in the scrapbook room so you knew someone had been there. Difficult to control the heat with the heater and the heating system they have. There was used bars of soap in the upstairs bathroom shower, the cupboards were dusty, cob webs through out the house in different areas. The freezer had not been wiped out as there was items spilt on the bottom of it, partial bag of hash browns and a used bag of ice found in the freezer. Many condiments in the refrigerator, unknown who's they were or why they were not cleaned out. There were a few places on wall that needed paint touch ups. Lots of lady bugs. Fireplace did not work, no instructions on how to turn it on, for that item or the TV/DVD player in the scrapbook room. Owner said he would call me on Thursday evening to see if everyone arrived with the directions he gave us, it's been 2 weeks and still have not heard from him. Placed a call to them We'dnesday evening prior to us leaving asking about how many tables were there for us to use as from the picture it looked like 6 and we were a group of 7. Mentioned on my message I left to call me back by 7am if we had to bring another table. No call received so I assumed there were enough tables, wrong there wasn't. Sent owner an email on that Sunday when we got home asking for him to address my email of concerns like I have written here, and I wouldn't write a review, but as you can see I still have not gotten an email or phone call. Working with him to send the money was very easy but following up on items is not good.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our mission with Twin Maples Retreat has been to provide a relaxing and comfortable environment for all our guests. We always leave information for our guests so they may contact us immediately if there is a question or concern. We offer many amenities at Twin Maples. We have radiant floor heat which keeps our home cozy and warm and is easily operated by thermostats in each room. In the craft room we have electric baseboard heaters which also have a thermostat above each heater. There are manuals for operation of the internet, dishwasher, TV/DVD provided but we are often able to solve any questions through a phone call. Our gas fireplace is enjoyed by many and operates with a flip of a light switch. Since many of our guests are crafters, we provide seven large banquet tables in our craft room as well as comfortable craft chairs, and individual lighting. Our home gets a lot of use by many appreciative guests! We have a long list of guests who have enjoyed our home many times. We are not a hotel and we want our guests to feel at home. Sometimes we find a ding in the paint or miss a cobweb or two but we always have it as we would want it to be if we had friends coming for the weekend. As travelers ourselves, we appreciate it when ketchup or salad dressing is available for our use...one less item to remember to bring! We refer any prospective guest to our other reviews and should you come to Twin Maples, you will find a journal filled with similar comments... *We felt immediately at home when we entered the house. It was clean, well maintained, and welcoming. We will be back. *What a beautiful and spacious home! *This is the second year in a row that we have rented Twin Maples for our annual sisters weekend. The home is clean and bright. Celeste and Mark are wonderful hosts. *This was our third year and it was wonderful...a very comfortable home...we couldn't ask for a better work area.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Crafting Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year we came here and it was wonderful! This home is very comfortable and we couldn't ask for a better work area. We are all quilters and there is plenty of room. Celeste even provides irons and ironing boards which is very convenient for us. There are some wonderful places to dine in the immediate area, although most of the time we make our own meals in the very nicely equipped kitchen. The only downside is that the weekend goes by much too quickly. We will definitely return again!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

This was the second year in a row that we have rented Twin Maples for our annual sister's weekend. The home is clean and bright. The layout with 3 floors, living room, basement family room and activity/craft room is ample space for the 6 of us to spread out. Though we find ourselves at the tables in the craft room stitching, working puzzles, sewing, knitting, snacking and laughing so hard we cry! The beds and couches are comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked and Celeste and Mark are wonderful hosts.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Exactly what our family needed!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful and spacious home! Quiet, relaxing spaces - together and apart - so everyone could enjoy their time! Great amenities, great location! Our grandchildren loved the freedom of a home as opposed to a hotel room. Well supplied kitchen, wonderful bathrooms, incredible views of wilderness area. The home is beautifully built, with attention to detail everywhere you look. The house also has a wonderful craft room - with workstations, chairs and lighting all tailored for up to eight people! I would most certainly recommend this home to friends and family!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank Mike and Sue and their family for choosing our home and their great review! It reaffirms our desire to share our beautiful home with others. We were very happy to know this family enjoyed our place so much, especially on a very special weekend...their son's wedding! We welcome groups of families and friends and provide a peaceful, relaxing place to enjoy northern Wisconsin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles

Twin Maples is conveniently located near many area attractions: Northern Lakes Center for the Arts, Interstate State Park, Chateau St. Croix Winery, Gandy Dancer State Trail, Drangonfly Winery, and Turtle Lake Casino. During the summer months enjoy numerous area festivals. Polk County has 431 lakes and 3 trout streams. Many area golf courses are a short drive away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Turtle Lake House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.5%

Notes

  • $675-975
  • Checkin Time 12PM
    Checkout Time 12PM
    Balance due two weeks prior to arrival
    Rent entire house 8 person occupancy
    4 Bedrooms and Loft
    3 Bathrooms
  • Group of 8 975
    Group of 7 900
    Group of 6 825
    Group of 5 750
    Group of 4 675
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Turtle Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , located in family room
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Our goal is to provide a quiet retreat environment for our guests. You are guests in our home. We expect our home to be treated with respect. Non smoking at our home includes within the house or anywhere on the property. If there is a smoker in your group who will not comply with this rule, please look elsewhere for accommodations. In addition, our home is located between neighboring homes. We expect our guests to be respectful to our neighbors and not engage in loud or disruptive behavior. Our guests are expected to use only our property and not trespass onto neighboring yards, docks, etc. Quiet hours are in effect from 11:00PM-8:00AM No pets allowed. No fireworks.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties