Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Unique - One of a Kind Lakefront Home - You'll Love it!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

You'll enjoy a one of a kind vacation experience in this lovely home. There are so many things you can do while vacationing in our area. Lake Sutherland boarders on the Olympic National Park. Such features as Lake Crescent, Merrymere Falls, and fantastic hiking trails are only minutes away. You will be a short drive away from such day trip adventures as Hurricane Ridge, SolDuc hot springs, ocean beaches, the ferry to Victoria, and Forks the home of Twilight fame. Lake Sutherland offers seasonal fishing to those with a Washington state fishing license.

Each bedroom is a master suite with its own bathroom. Enjoy sitting in one of two sunrooms that overlook Lake Sutherland. Grab a book and relax, or play on the lake. You can bring your boat or jet ski and tie off at our dock. Our lake is a great place to ski, wakeboard, tube, fish, or simply relax and take in the scenery.

The fall colors are spectacular. Our winters are generally mild. In the late fall, winter, and spring a creek flows by this cabin. Crack open a bedroom window and fall asleep to the sound of our gentle creek.

Keywords: Lake Sutherland Cabin, Gold Star Quality

More Details

Owner
Winston Wilson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 26, 2017

About Winston Wilson

In 2010 we bought another waterfront home across the lake on a large parcel. It has become our primary residence with the possibility of adding a rental cottage on that property. We love the lake life.

Winston Wilson purchased this house in 2000

Why Winston Wilson chose Olympic Peninsula

We had lived in the home we are currently renting on VRBO since 2000. We love Lake Sutherland and bought a cabin across the lake that has becoming our new home. The mountains that surround our lake give the feel of being in one of the great western mountain resort settings.

What makes this house unique

I love to go out on the lake and Jetski, water ski, wakeboard, tube, pull our grand kids behind the boat, or just sit out on the dock and read a book.

Amenities

Port Angeles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Each bedrrom has its own bathroom with shower or tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) a single hidabed couch & a futon in loft. There is a loveseat hidabed in the livingroom.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have four kayaks, 1 paddle board, and a row boat available for our guests to use while staying with us.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

Unique - One of a Kind Lakefront Home - You'll Love it!
average rating of 4.870968 based on 62 reviews
Meridian ID
5

Amazing house with heavenly view!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this house for 5 days! It was our first time visiting Port Angeles, we came for my first marathon race (North Olympic Discovery Marathon). We are so happy that we stayed in this gorgeous home! The view is breath-taking!! The house is specious, cozy, and clean. You can definitely see that the owner took a lot of pride, hard work, and love in building the house. My kids (6 year old daughter and 2 year old son) LOVE the lake, they enjoyed fishing and kayaking the entire weekend!! My daughter actually caught her first fish, which is pretty AWESOME! They are having so much fun that they don't want to leave. :) We look forward on staying in this house again on our next visit in Port Angeles. Winston and Connie, thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home!!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great review. I often ask our guest to take the time to put in a review, I wish more did. We do appreciate the time you took to write up a review and the fun story about your daughter catching her first fish. I was about her age when I caught my first fish and at the age of 63, I still remember it clearly. Thanks again Winston and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Beautiful lake house in a fantastic location for exploring the peninsula

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in this lake house with a group of friends over a long weekend in February, and we had an absolutely lovely time. The house was well-kept and super cozy with plenty of beds, blankets, and a wood stove in the living room. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking equipment, and we enjoyed making communal meals together, eating either in the little breakfast nook or in the dining room overlooking the lake. The house had 4 kayaks and a row boat that we took out onto the lake, and we enjoyed paddling on the water and watching the clouds flow through the surrounding forest.

With regard to location, the house was a 5 min walk to a little convenience store and gas station, and a 15-20 min drive to Port Angeles, which was convenient for picking up food and supplies. The house was also situated very close to the entrance to Olympic National Park and Hurricane Ridge, and an hour away from the coast.

Winston, the owner, was very responsive when I reached out to him with questions about the house, and it's clear that he and his wife take good care of the house.

All in all, we are very grateful for our stay there!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great house with lot's of space to relax!

  • 5 of 5

So much fun in this space, we will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, every review counts and is appreciated, Winston and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home for a family get away

  • 5 of 5

This lovely home is as beautiful as the photos depict. It is well appointed with everything needed for a get away. Because of the weather, we were stuck inside most of the days we were there so thankfully, the home was comfortable and roomy for our family of 6 adults and two babies. We encountered a minor issue and while the problem was unavoidable, Winston did his best to help. We would love to visit again in the summer when we can enjoy the lake.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the weather conditions at new years. We felt bad that the work on the neighbors water line cut through the phone line that supplied our internet connection, and that because of it being over the weekend we couldn't get service restored until later in the day that you left. Somethings are unavoidable. Even in these conditions the lake is beautiful and taking a walk or playing card games with family can be priceless. Come again, Winston and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Christmas on the lake

  • 5 of 5

This is the second year we have had Christmas at this house and it was wonderful once again. It is a great venue for a family holiday, close to lots of hikes, comfortable and spatious. We live in Australia and our boys were really excited to see snow but are not very cold hardy so the proximity to Hurricane Ridge, and the more mild beach and the Olympic National park rainforests is ideal for us.

The house is thoughtfully and well appointed with bedding, dishware and cookware. It can be hard to cook at rental houses because they don't have a full kitchen or basic cookware but this is not a problem here, with exception with specialty items (like a fondue pot, which we wouldn't really expect at a rental house anyway) we found everything we needed in the kitchen. All three bedrooms are really nice and comfortable and there are lots of places for kids to sleep while still having adult space to chat in the evenings. Love this house and highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your gracious review. It always surprises me to find guest coming to our lake house from all over the globe. Coming for Christmas from "down under" (where it is summer) to our winter surroundings, I hope was a bonus. Because we are located in a coastal weather environment our winters are often mild, sometimes we only get a couple dusting of snow through a winter at cabin level. Usually our mountains are picture perfect with snow and that can be the best of both worlds. Seeing the snow but not having to deal with it. We do hope you can continue your tradition of coming this way for the holiday, again thanks for visiting our lake house. Winston and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, WA
5

Stunning!

  • 5 of 5

The craftsmanship that was put into this home is remarkable. The interior, while stunning and functional was absolutely spotless. I never would have thought this home was a rental. Just bring your clothes and food and everything else is there. Plenty of linens, toilet paper, Kleenex, paper towels, soap. It has a kitchen with all the dishes, bowls, pots and pans you need. Seating for dinner and lounging. Great sofas and beds. Easily accommodated my family of 4. We spent the week after Thanksgiving in this home and it was very enjoyable. We plan to go back in the summer to enjoy being right on the lake with the dock. The location of the house is spot on. It's a quick 15 minutes into the Safeway in Port Angeles. During the week we were able to do day trips out to Forks, the Hoh rain forest, Rialto Beach, La Push and First, Second, Third Beach, Hurricane Ridge, Salt Creek Park, Marymere Falls, Ediz Hook and be back to enjoy a nice dinner, relax and play board games. Our daughters, 8 and 5, loved the trip and the house was great for them. With two living areas, and three bedrooms, there was space where one could play and the other read, Mom could rest and Dad could cook and everyone was happy. I can't recommend this house more. It's fantastic and the owners are too. They truly created a one of a kind getaway that you will love.

Was the listing description accurate regarding the location, layout, amenities, etc ? Yes.

Was the property clean and well-maintained ? Yes!!!

Did the owner provide good customer service ?Yes.

Would you recommend this property to your friends or relatives ? Absolutely.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a great review. We appreciate the fact that you gave such good information not only regarding our home but also the area sight seeing adventures. A lot of our love went into the designing and building of this lake house. It is always such a blessing to know that it ha s been a source of refreshing and renewal to our guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Fairchild Airport, Port Angeles (Kenmore Air)
Nearest Ferry
14 Miles
Black Ball ferry (to Victoria BC)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Granny's cafe

We are located on the edge of the Olympic National Park, and its hiking trails, mountain biking trails, beaches, waterfalls, and rainforest. Hurricane ridge is only a short drive away, we are a 20 minute drive to the ferry that goes to Victoria, BC. The Olympic game farm is a 45 minute drive away, it is filled with all kinds of wild animals.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Angeles House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Feb. - March 2017
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$205
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$245
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
May 15 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4th Holiday
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid to Late Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Sep 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$345
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
September 2017
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$345
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$210
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Fall 2017
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$210
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter Spring 2018
Jan 2 2018 - May 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
$210
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
May 15 2018 - Sep 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$335
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$215
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
cleaning $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.4%

There is an additional fee of $20.00 per person over four (4) guests for event pricing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Partner Offers