Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Chesapeake Bay Deal Island Sunrise~Sunset Cottage with beautiful water views!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

- 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6 2 bikes, 2 kayaks and canoe

Year round 2017 Reservations Open

#1 New Year Resolution is to spend more time with family and friends! Reserve your relaxing Chesapeake Bay Adventure vacation now.

Sunny days ahead.! Great fishing and crabbing. No Need to pay expensive prices catch your own!

Free high speed wireless internet, New Smart internet ready flat screen TV. New gas grill. Canoe, 2 kayaks , 2 bikes! In season.

Relax and enjoy a vintage Chesapeake Bay vacation in this modern custom built 3 bedroom, 2 bath home. Completely equipped, this is your home on MD's eastern shore. Spectacular views from the second story living area. Bedrooms are downstairs. Living area is upstairs with beautiful raised ceiling in an open room full of windows to take in the views. Upstairs includes dinning area and kitchen. Off the dinning area take in the fresh air and Bay breezes from the screened porch and raised deck with gas grill.

Come for a visit and enjoy all the outdoor adventures the Bay has to offer. Use our kayaks, canoe, and bikes. Take long walks around the Island. Do some fishing and crabbing and relax on the Deal Island beach. Rent our 14 foot motorboat .Play games on the large 1/2 acre lawn or have a campfire and make s'mores on the lawn under the stars!

Enjoy bay views and beautiful sunsets from the living room.

Modern construction; custom built home.

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths screened porch, deck

More property info: We have two (2) Satellite TVs...

Gotta a boat? Park it on our 1/2 acre lot. Wenona Harbor boat ramp is directly behind us.

Pets welcome on an individual basis

Public beaches, over 9 miles of trails, 7 miles of scenic roadway/observation areas & 5 public boat ramps

Activities: Bird watching, Canoeing, Cycling, Fishing, Hunting, Kayaking, Photography, Power Boating, Reading, Sail Boating, Walking & the like. Eating seafood! Campfires!

Wenona Harbor info: The 'Sunrise Sunset' House sits on the point of the tiny harbor village of Wenona located on the most southerly point of Deal Island. You will be staying in a vibrant seafood industry harbor town. Home to 38 boats ,15 Charter Boat captains. And, one of the last harbors in the world to dock commercial 'Skipjack' sailboats. Walking distance to the harbor that was renovated in 2011 includes boat ramp and fishing pier free to the public.. In 2012 Arbys General Store opened Arby's Bar & Grill; just a short stroll from our home with a beautiful view of the harbor and fishing boats.

More Details

Owner
Patty Lichtfuss
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wonderful house ,beautiful views. We enjoyed walking the nature trails at the Deal Island wildlife management area, and got some great pictures of Bald Eagles!

The absolute best part of Deal Island are the people. Treated us like we were old friends. Had a wonderful Friday night hanging out at Arby"s listening to great live music and talking with the locals. If you get a chance check out Mike's dancing -he's a joy!

Next time we plan on getting some fishing in.We had a great stay
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 12

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Salisbury Wicomico Regional Airport
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Whitehaven
Nearest Motorway
18 Miles
Rte. 13
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Deal Island Public Beach
Car: recommended

Welcome to the lower Eastern Shore of Maryland.Within 150 miles of Baltimore ,DC, and Philly. This is the Tangier Sound region of Chesapeake Bay country where crabs, fish and oysters are still plentiful...caught and consumed locally. Have a campfire on the front lawn overlooking the Chesapeake Bay...Beautiful bay view vistas rule in this small harbor village. Enjoy great fishing, birdwatching, and the like! Hike ,bike, or kayak thru the Deal Island Wildlife Management area which runs throughout the island. Relax on the Deal Island beach or Little Deal Island beach...

Ellen of Westminster Md wrote ' We had such a wonderful time on Deal island. It is definitely a special place-a lovely shore home, nice and interesting people, fascinating local history and culture and many opportunities for outdoor adventure. The best part was being together and watching the cousins have fun! We enjoyed your motor boat ,fishing ,crabbing , and... digging for muscles on Little Deal Is

Other Activities: kayaking

Golf: Great Hope Golf Course is less than 30 minutes from our home. It's public. For more info call.

Amenities

Deal Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Check in is after 3pm Check out is before 11am. early check in or late check out $60 fee please arrange with owner ahead of time
  • Total guest including day guests is 6. 3 vehicle limit
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 full bath rooms 1 upstairs and 1downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sofa bed
  • The Sunrise~Sunset House is our home away from home. Bedroom #4 is actually our upstairs 'great room'. Upstairs includes a queen size incredibly comfortable pullout bed, Internet ready TV with direct TV service, a 2nd full bath and raised screened porch and deck off the dinning area...Very romantic...There's nothing like waking up to a spectacular Wenona Harbor sunrise and picture window view of the Bay. Bedrooms 1, 2 & 3 and full bath are downstairs. Br #1 has queen bed Br # 2 has satellite TV. & twin trundle bed. Br # 3 twin size bunk bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
'Private Community'. We are one of 15 homeowners in the private 'Manokin Trail' subdivision. Quiet & scenic! Convenient day trips to Chincoteague VA , Ocean City Md. Click on links tab to locate the link to our website with area information. Harbor boat slips accommodate up to 40' boats and have electric. Average boat slip rent is$40/night. Property 'fire pit'. We roast oysters, cook, relax etc from it.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Chesapeake Bay Deal Island Sunrise~Sunset Cottage with beautiful water views!
average rating of 4.86 based on 62 reviews
USA/ Wheeling, WV
5

Unique stay

  • 5 of 5

This is a really quaint house and area. The home suited myself and two daughters for a birthday weekend get-away. We were grateful to be able to bring my daughter's two dogs. The house had everything we needed, we used the kayaks just two minutes away. The home was clean. The surrounding area is really laid back and quiet. We ate at Arby's which is a must! Can't say enough about the help we got from Wanda when we needed it. The owners were also quick to correspond with us. If you are looking to see a different part of Maryland, and if you are looking for a quiet get-away, this is the place.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate your communication throughout. Together with Wanda and her team of caretakers our goal is to provide a relaxing and enjoyable stay four our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1446 Harwick Ct
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Want it to be gone for a couple of days and this house gave me what I was looking for, the place is comfortable and well maintained, the kitchen has all the perks you need to cook your meals, even a BBQ located just right on the spot, the view is amazing. Thinking about my bed well don't the master bedroom is very cozy and a convenient bathroom just in front of the bedroom. The rest of the bedrooms are comfortable for those who has kids nicely decorated. I have to mention the neighbours are very good people and make you feel right at home, so don't be busy with what they think you are most than welcome in Deal Island from the guy at the market on the back of the house to the front neighbours they are all very kind and welcoming folks. There is a convenient church right closed by so you won't miss sunday service. And one more thing bring fresh water if you are not used to coastal water taste this can feel a bit salty for you, there is a market just right back of the house you can go and buy some.

Thank you Wanda and family for having us, very nice meeting you, hope to see you again on summer.

Peace and blessings be upon you.

Aisha Salem.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice place

  • 3 of 5

I must say the house was lovely, quaint and very well kept. Three adults and three little ones, quite enough room for all. Jody, the neighbor across the road, let us use her dock to fish and crab. Thank You, The kids loved it. Sunsets were awesome, water was warm and the fishing was so so. Kids caught fish so that was the intention. House was well stocked with most items you would ever need. Grounds well kept and easy access in and out in a quiet quaint little community. Now the downside. Unfortunately the house was not ready when we arrived and was a late checkin, which was ok, we were busy anyway site seeing the area and putting our boat in the water. There was an infestation of fruit flies that we lived with for 4 days, had to keep garbage on porch. The garbage disposal did not work and I think that is where the fruit flies came from. The mosquitoes and biting flies were just awful. Went through two spray bottles of bug spray in 4 days and still covered with bites. Overall, I know location is on an island and lots of swamping area around, so be sure to bring your bug spray. The house was accommodating and the area was beautiful.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your flexibility and understanding and for your positive comments and description. You had requested a early check in and we informed you we unfortunately could not accommodate that. Although you did arrive early. Our house keeper was dealing with a family emergency and had a short delay.You called with some questions the day after arrival and Wanda checked with you to be sure everything was OK. We were not notified of the fruit flies . I stayed at the house after you left and found a small number in the kitchen which have been resolved. The garbage disposal was fixed by pushing the reset button. The bugs outside on the property were few. Our property is regularly treated with a spray non toxic to wildlife and people. We are always available and to help' to be sure your stay is enjoyable.Your feedback will help us in making sure this issue is prevented going forward. It is regrettable that we did not have the opportunity to assist with the problem during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
State College, PA
5

Great place for a family!

  • 5 of 5

When we arrived the cottage was very clean, and my wife liked it right away. It is a great place for kids with plenty of space. The two floors provide some privacy. We met the locals at Arby's and everyone was very friendly. I highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! Private and incredible view. We will definitely come back some time.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peacefully area!

  • 4 of 5

Was clean and we enjoyed the quiet location! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $125
Pet Fee $50
cleaning $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

When reserving online be sure to click on payment details and review charges this is where you can check pet fee for one pet that has been approved by owner.
$10 per night per person up to 2 extra guests above 6

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties