Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Turtle Flambeau Flowage Lakefront Cabin

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,428 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Vacation at one of the finest on the Turtle Flambeau Flowage. With 1,438 square feet of area, you can relax in our living room and look out through large windows onto the beautiful Turtle Flambeau Flowage or sit back and enjoy the fireplace! In every season, this new cabin provides exceptional views of the water and the natural beauty that surrounds it. You can enjoy the fire pit near the lakes edge and listen to the calls of the many loons that the Flowage is famous for. The cabin has its own private dock with a 14 foot fishing boat and canoe. Boat motors, kayaks, and fishing guides can be provided for an extra fee.

Pack a picnic lunch, head out in your boat, canoe, or kayak to explore the famous Turtle Flambeau Flowage with over 19,000 acres of water, 212 miles of winding shoreline and many islands. The Flowage encompasses 9 lakes, three rivers and several creeks, all beautifully free of development and pollution. The Flowage has been officially designated as a protected wilderness area securing its wild beauty and unspoiled character for generations to come. In the winter, the snowmobile trail comes right to your doorstep and ice fishing abounds (you can even monitor your tip-ups from the living room!). There are over 500 miles of marked and maintained snowmobile trails and many miles of cross country skiing trails.

Keywords: Lake Front, Mercer, Wisconsin, Fishing, Boating

More Details

Owner
Claude Dahlk
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017

About Claude Dahlk

We enjoy visiting our cabin and relaxing with our friends and family that visit us when we are there. We built the cabin in 2008 and have enjoyed ice fishing, snowmobiling, boating and buying antiques in many of the small towns near our cabin. We enjoy the sounds of the loons when they call and watching/feeding the bald eagles that nest near our cabin.

Claude Dahlk purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Claude Dahlk chose Mercer

We built our cabin with the intent of enjoying the recreational activities with friends and family. The uniqueness and limited access to private land owners on the Flowage was one of our desires in owning a second home.

What makes this cabin unique

The fishing is excellent, we know and are friends with several great fishing guides on the lake so for a beer or two I can usually pry the information out of them. We routinely feed the bald eagles the fish remains after cleaning them, both in the summer and winter months. We have an ice shanty and can drive out on the lake to catch some nice Walleyes.

Amenities

Mercer Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1428 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Private dock, screened porch, Fish cleaning station with water faucet near BBQ area. We can provide Pontoon rentals: 18' - 24' with a price range of $750 - $850 for the week Fishing boat rentals 16' - 17' with a price range of $500 - $600 for the week Fishing guide for 2 people $225 for 1/2 day + bait $285 for a full day + bait Fishing guide for 3 people $250 for 1/2 day + bait $315 for a full day + bait

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Turtle Flambeau Flowage Lakefront Cabin
average rating of 4.5882354 based on 17 reviews
2

Nice visit, but once is enough

  • 2 of 5

House is nice, kitchen fully outfitted. Spacious home, but furniture beyond it's useful life, including couches chairs and mattresses. It was more comfortable to sit at the kitchen table than in the couch or recliner in this home, with difficulty to even get up from the couch as you sank to the floor unless you hit the support boards. Housekeeping was not the best. The chandelier over the kitchen table looked like it was from the Disney "haunted mansion" with cobwebs, as were all the wildlife mounted on the walls. COBWEBS everywhere.

The pontoon boat rented was functional, but old. Expected better boat for the price paid.

Not the best location if you're a boater, no power at the dock, no room to turn around a trailer on the property. Shallow water at the dock, was challenging, but can be done.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you had some issues at our cabin during your stsy. However, we did talk with the cleaning people about your concerns and they will do better in the future. The cobwebs took me 10 minutes to clean when we arrived, not that many to deal with as your post suggests otherwise. I also fixed the couch per your request however the rest of the furniture and mattresses are in good condition, again not as bad as your post suggests. It's difficult to control the water level as the water fluctuates depending on the rain fall during that week. In late August/September the DNR opens the dam to accommodate the sturgeon spawn down stream and the water within the entire TFF goes down. You do need to back any trailer down the drive way as the lot width limits turning it around, we have a 26' pontoon and back it down for storage. If you have power at the dock you could electrocute family and friends, I would suggest not have power at any dock, pull your battery to charge it or buy a new battery.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great home

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time during our recent stay. The house was great for two young families and the yard had a great area to run or play games. The only negative was the quality of the pontoon, initial lack of anchors (these were dropped off the next day as promised), lack of fish finder/depth finder as the lake is not marked for hazards or depth.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5

9 guys for a fishing weekend.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and we hope to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed our stay. The location was very peaceful and scenic. We took numerous photos of the loons and families of ducks. We caught some nice pan fish off the pier as well. The kayak was a pleasant surprise. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Merrimac Wi
3

Could have been a little cleaner.

  • 3 of 5

The cleaning crew could have cleaned better. My daughter and I spent half of Sunday cleaning the screens and refrigerator . The freezer still had fish guts that was left in there. There was cob webs hanging on the light fixture above the table. The screens on the porch were really dirty. DId catch some fish.The neighbors dog came over everyday. My son-in- law had to take it back and tie it up since we had two young children. Also we were not told what to do with the garbage. They do have nice restaurants in Mercer.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will pass your information along to our cleaning crew, thanks for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little slice of heaven.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I loved your beautiful home it was perfect for our group of 7 . The weather was great for playing in the water and the fishermen were able to catch some fish . We had a wonderful time and thank you for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, we hope you enjoyed your time in the Northwoods.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Cabin

Guided fishing, ATV trails, snow shoeing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fees $75
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties