check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Bob Moore

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Have you seen ASPENWOODS #69716

4 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Davis Cabin Rental Photos and Description



ASPENWOODS offers peaceful short and long views. Stand on the front deck, and notice Timberline resort/Cabin mountain, on the other side of the valley. Or focus on our natural mountain Lake right across the street. This will become your favorite spot to star gaze. You are only minutes from the downhill slopes, the mountain, Whitegrass X-country, 2 state parks, Dolly Sods, a wildlife refuge. in the hot tub or in front of a fire. Ski, swim,downhill or X-country, sit in the hot tub, horseback ride, snow tube, snowboard, fish, hike,bike, etc.etc

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Bob Moore (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

About Bob Moore

Read our description ; then communicate directly with the Owner. WE THINK YOU DESERVE THAT COMMUNICATION.

We have been either a Renter or a Rentee since 1992. Consequently we have lots of referrals, and come-backs, because of things we do that cant be expressed on a web site or in a price; things an ostentatious house can't provide in addition to a clean, orderly well-maintained home ~we give you our cell phone; to make sure you don't get lost, if the home isn't as you expected it or just have questions ~ check with you when you first arrive; find a fishing spot; a hike or the best restaurant.Or just answer questions. ~we have arranged with Paypal and BillMeLater to set up a NO INTEREST payment plan to take the sting out of putting all that money out at one rime (?)~ we have a key safe at our homes for leisurely arrival. Our Guests like to come after work or school Sit in the hot tub, and be there the next morning, ready to enjoy your vacation beginning with breakfast. The key is AT THE HOUSE, SECURELY, WAITING FOR YOU, And no big discussions on who is carrying the key, during your stay! ~we have an after renting feedback, for your comments on how to improve for the next visit; AND we have a Frequent Guest Discount to let you DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN, cost effectively... ~~Trust me when owners who have been Renters are arranging your vacation, it makes a difference!

Bob Moore purchased this cabin in 2000

Why Bob Moore chose Davis

Buy yourself a beautiful home, advertise it, furnish it and then maintain it.

OK. Your schedule, or the budget make it hard to do that.

Fortunately, you have our home already set up for you to walk into.

Our home will provide you with all the creature comforts you crave, at a price you can afford.

In addition you will use the decks, the hot tub, the fireplace, the Master bedroom and the surounding area that will offer a contrast of lots of things to do; and a place to retreat to at the end of the day.

Relax and refresh to start over the next day.

Owning a a vacation home is a labor of love, and some of it is likely to rub off on you. In the meantime you get to 'own' your little piece of Canaan Valley, for 3-5 or 7 days. More with FREE nights.

Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway or a special place to take the whole family, a trip centered around a vacation that leaves you alive, refreshed and relaxed can be the trip of a lifetime.

We rented in Canaan for nearly 10 years before we bought our homes~we know what you are looking for.

We respect that your vacation is your special time. That is why we offer short term getaways, FREE nights, and Frequent Guest Discounts, to entice you to come back and do it again. You certainly can talk to us about owning a vacation rental; but, in the meantime, put some value on your time and the special people in your life that you want to spend that time with.

Contact us soon so someone else doesn't steal that special time

What makes this cabin unique

Now coming to our homes just got easier...

At MyWVvacation:

FREE NIGHTS WITH A 3 OR MORE NIGHT STAY...see what does to the cost per night!!

use PAYPAL CREDIT payment feature on PayPal and take up to 6 months to pay, with no interest charges, and no payments if paid in 6 months.

IMAGINE, start paying in advance, and have your vacation paid for before you go~OR, spread the cost over 6 months....

you don't go on vacation that often, we think it might be easier to spread it out.


you can see we are trying to make vacations at our homes easier.

Canaan Valley is the best 'OUTDOOR RECREATION' area I know of. It is a 4 season paradise. Check out the 500+ activities thru out the state, but you can search on CANAAN VALLEY or POTOMAC HIGHLANDS in that list. You can also take along this site for a virtual tour guide when you go. Search on Google:


Guestbook comments from the owner

Good morning Bob, My wife and I stayed there this past Saturday

It was a great stay. We enjoyed it very much. We posted a well deserved review. I especially appreciate the help you gave me in going thru the process. We will return and plan to stay there again.

Oct 2015
  • 1 of 25


based on 4 traveler reviews

Have you seen ASPENWOODS #69716
average rating of 4.5 based on 29 reviews
Woodbine, Maryland

Great comfortable family house

  • 5 of 5

Bob was super nice to work with us and provided extensive information prior to our departure. As new visitors to Canaan Valley and the surrounding area, the wealth of information was very much appreciated and helped us to plan our trip.

The house is very comfortable and well-equipped for cooking for a family. Don't expect anything fancy. I don't mean that in a negative way. Very comfortable and enjoyed our stay immensely. We appreciated that Bob allows pets (there is an extra fee) and we felt that past visitors had tried, as we did, to leave no signs that our pets had stayed with us.

Everything was quite clean, although the furniture shows a little wear. The house could probably use a coat of fresh paint as well, but as I mentioned before the state not bother us or affect our vacation.

The house is within a few steps of ski slopes at Timberline (it is actually situated inside that resort) and also very close to Blackwater Falls, Canaan Valley resort and other attractions like White Grass.

Were there in December and hoped for snow, but apparently this year is the warmest anyone remembers. Nevertheless, we were able to hike and enjoy the scenery every day. We sincerely enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU for being a Guest in our home. We DO NOT recommend you spend much time in the house…we are not set up for that. OUR PRICES REFLECT OUR VACATION PHILOSOPHY... We are set up that you use the location to get out and enjoy Canaan. It has more outdoor activities than any other place we know. We recommend use all the links and attachments we send, to select things for you and your Group. Get up early, get out and enjoy your day in the Valley. Come home, sit in the hot tub, Enjoy friends and family, go to sleep early, enjoy the sleep in fresh mountain air. Get up early and go do it again. My guess is you will have the best vacation of your life..recharged and ready to go back to your life!! OUR PRICES REFLECT OUR VACATION PHILOSOPHY Then come back when you are ready, to do it again~WITH A FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Value - Complicated to do business with

  • 3 of 5

Everything the other reviews said are true and the price is an excellent value. The place has a great layout and the master is well insulated from sound if you like to let mommy sleep in! Canaan Valley is beautiful and we will return to the area again.

Bob's canned emails are overwhelming. There are 5 or 6 different ones that are supposed to be focused (how to pay, directions etc.), but you weed through pages of oddly formatted text that repeats all the previous messages to get to the point. There is a lot of dated information and numerous points are repeated 4 and 5 times. The emails are 5-10 pages long not including attachments. And the other property information including directions to a different property are included which is confusing. A big deal is made about directions and it isn't necessary. All you need to do is put the timberline resort in your GPS and follow Bob's directions from timberline road. It works fine. And GPS works fine in the mountains, that's the point of GPS. Cell phone is another thing.

Bill me later is referenced on many of Bob's ads and in the payment documentation, but it doesn't work. This is probably because PayPal and bill me later split and Bob doesn't realize it. But don't expect this option to work.

No spray cleaner and only watered down dish soap so bring your own supplies. No tools for the grill. There was absolutely no seasoned firewood in the woodshed. I spent $75 on overpriced bundles. There were no hot tub supplies so we couldn't use it the last couple days as it needed treatment. Past places I stayed provided you supplies and instructions on treating the water during your stay. Many windows don't open which is t an issue in the spring, but could be in the summer. Some odd things like a surround system that doesn't work and vhs tapes but no vcr? I know that may all seem picky. They were mostly mild irritants but they added up.

Overall the place was still a great value and we had a wonderful time. We DO NOT REGRET IT! The location is fantastic. A local man I never met before let me borrow 2 fishing rods when mine broke. With just a little tlc and going the extra mile on some supplies this is any easy 4 or 5 stars. Consider updating and considerably shortening communications. Great value if that's what you're looking for!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For folks thinking about our home, and reading reviews...we recommend you take in ALL the reviews: My response is FOR YOU>>> If you can't find something or something is wrong, we will bend over bacKwards to try and fix it. THAT IS WHY WE GIVE YOU OUR CELL PHONE! We will send you a lot of information because some folks have never been to Canaan before. And being in a strange place, in the middle of the mountains can be intimidating; we know, because we rented in Canaan before we bought. We have "walked in your shoes"! We do tell you, that if we send you information and you don't care about it; it won't bother us if you just delete it. Don't want to use BillMeLater~delete it. BTW~ PayPal Credit is simply the new name for Bill Me Later. You will still enjoy all of the benefits of Bill Me Later, including great savings with special financing offers. Google BILMELATER.COM, and get 6 months interest free for your payment!! :-) I will warn you that I have many people who tell me their GPS and cell phones, don't work..IF YOURS DOES that will be wonderful. If they don't, our directions got you covered. If they do work..delete our directions.. :-) But thanks to the way we do directions, we haven't lost a single Guest in years! Our routine is to call you, the evening you arrive. Make sure directions etc were OK, and make sure everything else's OK. We also send a follow up e-mail, because that and text is many people's preferred communication. We have SEVERAL options on payment. We won't apologize for that. We have made it as simple as possible. As with everything else, if you have questions CALL. We do ask to take the 3 minutes it takes to read it; select which option fits your finances best, and simply, read just that part. We have been told our kitchen and what we have there is the most complete they have ever seen. However, we don't claim to be perfect..just simple, and comfortable, so if you have a favorite item take it along...if we missed something, I and we will fix it. Oh, and we don't supply wood in the warmer months. Too hard to keep up with killing trees. We had the coldest winter on record last year, and Donnie scrambled to keep up. Hundreds of Vacation rentals in the Valley suck up wood quick when it is that cold~SORRY. we like to say don't bother telling VRBO...they could care less. TELL US, because we want you back and we are willing to extend a discount to do it :-) HAV FUN
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Great Vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd time renting from Bob! We just keep coming back. This home is great for so many reasons! The layout of the kitchen / living room is perfect, large dining table too. The bedrooms are comfy and plenty of space - the master is huge! Great for a blow up bed for small kids. Love the fire place too. The resort is perfect for our seasoned world traveled skiers and great for the beginners of the group. You really can't go wrong staying here!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU. You folks are great Guests. We love extending the FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT to folks who appreciate Canaan so much. Come again soon
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Charlotte, NC

Spacious, Comfortable, Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Visited in September, 2013. Very quiet and relaxing. Kitchen overlooks living area, so everyone can be together. Lots of living room seating for the group. Great deck and hot tub. Lots of fun to walk around the resort. Master bedroom was huge, and everything worked beautifully for the group.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: we're happy you enjoyed your stay...isn't Canaan awesome!! Sounds like it is time for return:-) Keep in mind you could get a FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT. And you can go thru Paypal/BillMeLater and take 6 months to pay with 0% interest.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Siriani's at Landis Realty
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Car: necessary

Vacation in West Virginia, West Virginia Rental Cabin, Honeymoon in a West Virginia, Romantic getaway, Family Vacatin West Virginia, beats a Family Beach Vacation, Ski West Virginia, Snowboard West Virginia, WhiteWater Raft West Virginia, mountainbike West Virginia, Hike West Virginia ~~we do it all, Just a Couple Minutes to the Slopes--Timberline Ski Resort, Whitegrass Touring Center, and Canaan Valley Resort/State Park, For a More Cost Effective Ski Vacation, Outstanding Family Vacation Spot for Swimming, fishing, boating, jogging~Downhill Skiing, or Sledding and Tobogganing, Running, Canoeing, Trekking, Caving, White Water Rafting


Rates & Availability

Davis Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 4 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Our owner will customize a quote for you. We believe you deserve that!!
Our already low Cost per night doesn't include our FREE nights!!
Pet fee will be added to our normal rate~$20 PER NIGHT TO A MAX OF $100.
**contact owner for final details
HOLIDAYS PRICED SEPARATELY.e-mail owner for accurate quote for holidays.

FREQUENT GUEST DISCOUNT~ ask owner how to qualify for 10% off your next visit.
MyWVvacation GETAWAY PLAN~ ask owner how you qualify for 6 month payment plan with 0% interest!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Davis Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1) kingg size sleigh bed in the Master Bdrm, Queen size Beds (1) First floor~FRONT bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 twins with a pop-up trundle,(1)a DAYBED WITH A POP UP TRUNDLE IN THE DEN
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
**Cost per night does NOT include FREE nights. (Come stay an extra night and lower your cost per night) **HOLIDAYS ARE PRICED SEPARATELY EVERY SEASON. **Our pet policy will be sent if you will "contact the owner" We will add $20/pet/night to any VRBO quote when you Travel with a pet. We also have a$500 Pet security deposit INSTEAD of the $300 you may see in a VRBO quote **WE WILL ACCEPT TRAVEL PROTECTION instead of or in addition to a security deposit **Be sure to ask owner for a quote. SOOoo many specials, that this chart can't handle them Free nights Pets acceptable 2 night specials Frequent Guest Discount MyWVvacation GETAWAY PLAN

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties