Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Romantic and Cozy Apartment in just outside Burlington, Vermont

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Cozy apartment with flower gardens and open lawns in a lovely rural setting. Walking, cross country ski paths, mountain bike paths just outside your door. Year round outdoor hot tub for the best stargazing. Although the hot tub is shared with our family it is yours while you are here!

Open and hot 24 hours!

Private porch with sitting area or hammock hanging.

Area for bonfire and wood provided for that fun night of toasting marshmallows and making s'mores.

Every season offers something special. Fall is the best with sunny days, magically changes leaves to gold's and reds. Winter with all the different shapes of flakes turning the yard into a winter wonderland. In heavy storms we will share our garage with you! Spring is a joy with the tulips and daffodils. And then that summer heat to swim, bike, and lay in the sun. Private patio with sitting or hammock. All linens are provided.

Pets are ok if approved prior. There are cats who live on the property. Available year-round, weekend rentals possible.

Washer and Dryer are available, but are shared with family. We are happy to help you.

Although I advertised romantic because it is a special spot, I also am a parent of 3 grown children. I welcome families with children. It is ideal to have space to spread out and a separate bedroom for parents. I will provide games, DVDs, toys that are age appropriate given advance notice.

For the 3rd child/person I have a roll away bed, to set up in the living room near the convertible futon. It is so difficult to travel with 3 children in one room hotels I wanted to offer that to larger families.

The area is perfect for parents visiting college students as YOU get a home away from home. Close to the universities, but with room for your child to come visit and hang out and even stay over some nights. Dorm living can get tiresome and a trip to the country can be rejuvenating and relaxing for that student.

There are organic and regular grocery stores and excellent restaurants with 5 minutes of the house. The local factory outlets are also within 5 minutes.

$600/week with one half of the weekly rental required upon booking and the the other half required 2 weeks before arrival. There is a $300/damage deposit required with first deposit. This will not be used and will be returned upon inspection of the property after departure.

Keywords: Own Entrance to Apartment in the Country, But Near Major Vt City and Ski Areas.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About The Owner

Myself, husband and three children have lived at the house on this property for 20 years. It is a wonderful place to hang out. We are hikers, bikers, skiers, knitters, and avid readers. We are in the country, but close to the major Vt city of Burlington (20 minutes), UVM and Champlain College (20 minutes), St Michael's (15 minutes). We love going to all the local ski area. The two closest 16 miles away (Bolton and Smugglers Notch) and the others about 30-40 minutes (Sugarbush, Stowe, Jay Peak). We are excited to share our little corner of paradise with others.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 1994

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing this lovely space with us. It was so quiet! We loved that it was so easy to go visit so many places in Northern Vermont in just 20 minutes! A great jumping off point for us. We are sorry the leaves hadn't started to turn yet, we may have to travel back.

The hot tub under the stars was our favorite part. It is amazing how many stars there are when you step away from the major cities.

Thank you again. Can't wait to return.

Mary
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Essex Town Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Commonly known as pack and play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full size Convertible futon.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Romantic and Cozy Apartment in just outside Burlington, Vermont
average rating of 4.4 based on 16 reviews
5

Cozy cottage in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Rebecca's romantic and cozy apartment is the perfect place to stay if you want to visit Burlington but are looking to retreat from your busy life and feel secluded as we did. So close to amenities but far enough away to see all the stars at night! The apartment really has everything you might need, but if there is something different you need, Rebecca and Kent are very gracious hosts and will be there for you! We had a lovely stay with everything just starting to bloom. It was so nice to come back from a hike and enjoy the exceptional hot tub. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy stay

  • 5 of 5

Warm family, hot hot tub, delicious pancake, close to stowe

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mohammad, It was wonderful to meet you and your friends. Thank you for leaving the apartment so neat and tidy. And we loved hearing you enjoy the hot tub after skiing! We can't hear you your voices, but just the mumbling of enjoyment! Hope to see you again. Warmly Rebecca
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect spot for outdoor fun and Burlington romp!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. Thank you Rebecca! The place was perfect for my husband, son and I, very clean, quiet and cozy, with all the amenities you need. The hot tub was a added bonus. We were able to do all the things we love when escaping to Vermont. We spent one day hiking on Mt. Mansfield, about a 15-minute drive from the apartment. Equal distance to Burlington where we spent the day enjoying the waterfront and shopping on Church Street. Our only complaint, is that we could not stay longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to have you here! I was so glad we had a little bit of snow for all your fun! Please come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sarasota, Florida
4

Fall family vacation 2016

  • 4 of 5

We honeymooned in Stowe two years back during the summer and had we known about this place we would have stayed here! Originally New Englanders, my husband and I were looking to get away from the Florida heat for our first family vacation with our 19 month old daughter. Needless to say we wanted the comforts of a home rather than a traditional hotel. As first-time VRBO bookers, we were pleased to find everything that was offered on the website description of this place-the simple things such as clean sheets, fresh towels, a fully equipped kitchen. More importantly, a comfortable space that allowed us to come and go as we pleased without disturbing others. The apartment has a private enterance, is surrounded by trees, and was convenient to all the places we were looking to visit. The airport, downtown Burlington, and Stowe were all less then a 30 minute drive. Grocery stores, gas, highway, and restaurants were are all within a 10 minute drive.

Rebecca and Kent were wonderful host from the beginning stages of booking our stay to our last evening. She was always available to answer our questions, offer a "local" perspective, and replenish anything we needed! Expecting a young one, she had a Pack n Play and stroller ready for us, and encouraged the use of their wonderful hot tub to unwind-which was such a treat in 36 degree weather-once our little one was down. Had it been summer, the pool would have been used as well.

The one and only minor downside (as dramatically overstated in the negative review below) were a few housekeeping oversights such as dust and few cobwebs that were easily taken care of upon arrival. Judging by the other positive reviews below, that was obviously not the norm for her housekeeping arrangements.

Rather than a front desk receptionist, we were greeted by Kent a few hours after arrival to make sure everything was okay. On our last night, we made sure to meet face-to-face with both our hosts to converse a bit and thank them for our stay. We were happy to know we booked with such pleasant people who offer such a great location for vacationers. We look forward to another stay in the future because all of the extras offered to ensure a memorable stay.

If you are looking for a "Ritz-Carlton" stay, you are clearly on the wrong website. However, if you are looking for a wonderful property, great hospitality, and comfortable lodging while vacationing (all at a great price)..then look no further than this place!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the thorough review! We so enjoyed meeting the three of you the last night. How lucky we were to share a little time with the smiling baby Bella! What a charmer! It was fun chatting with you on the phone regarding plans and things to do.. Please come back again soon! Warmly Rebecca and Kent
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

I have stayed in VRBO homes many times and have always had a very pleasant experience. This time, however, I was deeply disappointed. Although the apartment does have the makings of a nice VRBO, the lack of cleaning and sanitation prior to my arrival was appalling. There were spider webs and spiders in every corner of the apartment and crawling all over the exterior door. When you stay in a country home, you can expect an occasional bug to rear its ugly head, but this was absolutely ridiculous! I even had one drop on my head from the ceiling! I would definitely not recommend this VRBO.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Marsha, I am so sorry to hear about this experience you had. I came down to meet you multiple times and always seemed to miss you. I wish you had spoken to me about this situation, I would have immediately found a remedy. I have a new person cleaning and will look at this issue closely. I also do not want to stay at a place with spiders! Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Rebecca
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Close enough to a variety of things to do and see

  • 4 of 5

This location is away from the urban setting and is a nice quiet get away. It is close enough to Burlington to enjoy the lake, hike through red rock park, tour the chocolate factory and get some history at the Ethan Allen homestead. The other directions can take you to the Ben and jerrys factory or apple cider making. There are plenty of beautiful country sides to drive through.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Burlington International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Jericho Taven
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Williston Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Jericho Tavern
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Smuggler's Notch
Nearest Beach
20 Miles
Burlignton, VT
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Essex Town Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Summer/Fall
May 2 2017 - Nov 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$750
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$750
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 9.0%

The cancellation policy is strict. I recommend using travel insurance to protect yourself from unexpected issues.
This is a pet friendly property, but I would like to discuss your pet behaviors in advance. Thank you

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable