Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Traditional Hawaiian Pole House Nestled On 100 Ft Oceanfront Paradise!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible Bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps 4-8)

Spectacular private Oceanfront Hawaiian-style all wood pole house located on the West Coast of Oahu, just 25 minutes past Ko'Olina (Disney destination resort) and 1/2 mile north of the world famous Makaha Beach. The Hawaiian-style, all wood pole house has 30-ft. ceilings, walls of glass and over 1,100 sq. ft. of covered lanai which wraps around the entire home....great for entertaining, outdoor living, enjoying the fabulous sunsets and watching the whales and spinner dolphins.

The property fronts a beautiful coral reef with lava tidepools and is a great spot to catch some local fish to BBQ or just enjoy the incredible view and sunsets. The home is private and gated. It is walking distance to Makaha Beach (10 minutes - 1/2 miles) walking distance (5 minutes) to Keeau Beach Park with showers and a short drive (5 or so minutes) to the white sandy beaches of Makua Bay. The perfect get-away to enjoy true Hawaiian-style living.

Two separate levels ~ Main level has 30-ft. ceilings with walls of glass that open to the gigantic covered lanai. All walls are natural cedar. The spacious living area with flat screen HD TV, cable & hi-speed wireless internet access, has two Queen-sized futons for additional sleeping accommodations, a full bath with tub/shower and skylights. There is a formal dining area with seating for 6 and breakfast bar with stools.

Adjacent is the gorgeous granite kitchen with Hawaiian koa cabinetry, new stainless appliances and separate laundry room with washer & dryer. The Master Bedroom on this same level, has a great mountain view and sliding glass doors that open to the lanai. the Master Bath has travertine flooring and an oversized shower with seat & custom glass enclosure.

The lower level with it's own entrance, has a Private Bedroom with Queen-sized Bed. There is an adjacent L-shaped Family Room with flat screen HD TV and two Full-Size Futons (sleeps 2 each) for additional sleeping accommodations. There is a custom slate 3/4-bath with shower on this level as well as all tile flooring and sliding glass door opening to yard & parking. The downstairs bedroom & family room are separate and not connected by interior stairwell. Has own entrances and makes it totally private.

You will enjoy incredible views from nearly every room. The property is gated and private with coconut palms and lush landscaping galore. Fully furnished with top-qualify amenities including linens, beach towels, patio furniture and gas BBQ grill.

For liability reasons and the privacy of our neighbors, only registered guests are allowed on the property. No Parties or Weddings involving non-registered guests are allowed.

More Details

Pat White
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

About Pat White

Born and raised on the island of Oahu, we found ourselves on the mainland for many years and reminisced about childhood memories of discovering life in tide pools at our family's beach cottage. After a 10 year search we found a home--the Makaha Pole House--where we can create memories with our children. We love the unspoiled beauty of Makaha and the time we spend watching the waves, seeing dolphins and whales, and enjoying the cooling tradewinds. Simply put, we love Hawaii and Makaha and hope you will love your visit to the Makaha Pole House!

Pat White purchased this house in 2012

Why Pat White chose Oahu

Why Makaha you might ask, because Makaha is a place where time stood still. I can still sit out on the deck chairs, early in the morning and watch fishermen with hand thrown nets waiting for fish to swim by and catch. Where spinner dolphins still entertain you, right in front of your eyes or the warm sun setting in full color from your deck chair.

That is why we waited patiently for the right place to come along.

What makes this house unique

Makaha Pole House is our home. It is where our kids can enjoy the beauty of rediscovering the old tide pools, catch waves on a boogie board or enjoy the spectacular sunsets with ohana (family). The lanai (deck) is where we (and you will) spend most of your time. Pictures can not capture the beauty of the view or the sound of the waves on the coral reef. When you arrive you will walk in the furnished comfortable house (say 'wow') and head to the lanai to watch the waves and look for dolphins and whales. You know that you are staying in paradise!

Guestbook comments from the owner

On Thursday, December 5, 2013, Amy Veysey wrote:

Hi Pat,

We enjoyed everything about the house. This was the fourth house we stayed in and everyone agreed that it was the nicest one. Several times I asked my in-laws if they wanted to go to the beach and everyone said: "Why? We have everything we need right here." The only complaint I heard was that my mother-in-law found the deck too distracting to read her book because she kept having to watch the waves instead of read :)

We did not mind the rain - in fact it was nice to cool off a bit because we're not used to the heat!

Thanks again.


Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1


Mākaha House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Monument View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • King size bed (1) Queen size bed (1) Futons/full size (5)
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    An extra family room containing 3 futons - 3 double , 3 sleep sofa /futon , extended room with many futons
  • Books
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Please NO SMOKING in the home. Due to the concern and consideration of our neighbors, NO PARTIES, LARGE GATHERINGS or WEDDINGS are allowed on property. Only those who are registered guest.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

Traditional Hawaiian Pole House Nestled On 100 Ft Oceanfront Paradise!
average rating of 4.893617 based on 48 reviews

Amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

I wish I was sitting out on that lanai right now! It was gorgeous. The house was clean and well appointed. I appreciated the nice washer/dryer and dishwasher. The kitchen had everything we needed to make great meals and we even used the gas grill a few nights. I was concerned about the lack of A/C because we had a few 85 degree days, but with the windows open and the fans on, it was fine. We had a wonderful vacation and will definitely stay again if we're back on Oahu!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The Makaha Pole House was simply an amazing place for my husband and our friends to stay. We were looking for a place away from Honolulu and Waikiki, rather slower pace and a quieter environment. The Makaha Pole House was perfect!

The awesome lanai completely surrounding a majority of the house allowed us the freedoms to barbecue and eat our dinners outside and lounge in the lounge chairs and sit with our morning coffee with the ocean right in our back garden! We sat in chairs with out feet on the sea wall and took afternoon naps as the sun and the ocean eased the fast pace of everyday life back at home.

Time and time again, the whales would visit - it was amazing to see them far and near shore. And then, the spinner dolphins breached! It was breathtaking!!!

As for the sunrises and sunsets...just incredible... Yes, the Makaha Pole House is away from the hustle and bustle of mainstream Oahu...but that's the beauty of it. We thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility...

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House and property are wonderful. There are a few issues tho

  • 3 of 5

We really enjoyed the home. It is beautiful, here is our list of mentionable pros and cons


-We saw MANY whales just outside

-The ocean right outside is always amazing.

-The home is well laid out and the expansive deck is perfect for taking it all in.

-The kitchen had plenty of dishes and utensils

-Nice little yard off the back and front.

-Amazing sunsets


- we encountered ants (common) and what looked like cockroaches here and there during our stay.

- very little privacy in the bedrooms, especially the downstairs.

- solar hot water seemed to run out and also seemed to have low recovery rate. ( We did experience a lot of cloudy weather while we were there which may have affected it somewhat)

-If you want to explore the island you may experience a lot of frustration driving from this location to north shore or south shore as you will run into all the worst aspects of this islands traffic problems.

-The homeless situation in Oahu seems heavily concentrated around this area. We did not have any encounters with them that were unpleasant but we were a little concerned about them being so close and it's just a downer to see so many people living like that. One of the locals told us it was dangerous to approach them with food or anything.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the deck, whales and the amazing sunsets. We, too, love to spend time on the deck watching the ocean and the waves. Regarding the cons: We apologize about any bugs you may have seen. Although we try to control the insects, it can be a challenge in a tropical environment, especially if food is left out. We suspect that the con about privacy in the downstairs bedroom and hot water challenges arose as you had 8 guests (although you only booked for 6). The house can hold 8 guests, but for inquiries with 8 guests we note that although the house is spacious it has only 2 bedrooms with futons on both levels in the living areas. We would have raised this issue if you had been upfront about having 8 guests. We agree that the homeless situation on Oahu is unfortunate. There are homeless individuals throughout the island, including tourist areas such as Waikiki, due in part to housing costs. The city and state are working on the problem, but much remains to be done. We think the West Side, Makaha, is beautiful and a taste of old Hawaii. At the same time, we realize that Makaha is not for everyone. In any case, we hope that you did get to appreciate the beauty of Hawaii as well as the Aloha spirit. Pat and Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
McKinney TX

Beautiful, secluded spot on the island of Oahu.

  • 5 of 5

This is a truly unique place to live in Oahu, HI. The house itself is well equipped with all the basic amenities, was clean and in good condition (especially for a coastal property). You'll be able to see from the photos that it's design is quite authentic and beautiful. There's plenty of space (my family of 5 never really used the downstairs at all). The owner (Pat) is very helpful and accommodating and we chatted now and again to make sure everything was going well.

The leeward coat of Oahu is very beautiful and fairly quiet. There are several beaches nearby all within a few minutes of the home and Waianae harbor about 8 mins away has several ocean excursion activities. We booked on the Dolphin Excursions and had a great time (the Spinner cafe attached to it is pretty so-so.. but the excursion itself is excellent with an opportunity to view dolphins, whales and turtles in their natural habitat) - the leeward side is best for these type of activities.

Waianae is a fairly poor area of Oahu, so don't expect to be close to a bunch of fancy restaurants (30mins to Ko-Olina for fancy $$$$ stuff), although there's several local dining choices that we actually enjoyed like Hannara and Countryside Cafe and the Chinese takeout "New No One" gives enormous portions!! The leeward side is a really beautiful part of Oahu. You can watch the sun set out on the lanai attached to the home each evening while having dinner (we did that several times) and the surrounding mountains are spectacular.

We rented a car and drove to many attractions like PCC, Dole Plantation etc.. many of which are on the North Shore. Just know that it takes well over an hour to get to some of these places from Makaha (Farrington Hwy tends to get congested).

Waianae is a poorer area of Oahu and a little rougher.. so you will need to take precautions to remove valuable from sight and lock your car when you leave it, if out and about in the area. Don't let that put you off though. The house itself though is away from the highway and is safe and secure.

We went in December. The surf/ocean on the Leeward (where Makaha is located) and especially the North Shore is rougher in Winter - you do need to be careful, but the temp. was always pleasant (low 80s) and mostly clear, although it seemed to rain a lot more on the North Shore.

For those looking for a quiet, more affordable area of Oahu to live with beautiful beaches in a lovely home - this is the place to go!!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for our large family! Local local locals! The best!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house not knowing much about the Makaha area. We were warned afterwards that the area could be pretty rough and "locals only". To anyone who hears this.....don't believe it for a second. The local flavor MADE the trip for us. Everyone was so welcoming and delightful. Bruce, the caretaker of the property, literally took us under his wing for surfing lessons and great food. He is a third generation surfer, all knowing of all things water, and one of the nicest people you will meet. He was full of fabulous stories and suggestions.

Things I appreciated about the house: The View! The beautiful blue water crashing in front of the house. The tidepools. Makaha Beach right around the corner. Great watching surfers. Makua beach up the beautiful and very few visitors. The kitchen is so well laid out and has everything you would need. Comfortable beds and great linens. A plethora of towels. Beautiful, warm and inviting natural wood interior.

Gorgeous, HUGE lanai. Outdoor shower. Private yard. Extra bedding for futons. Highly functional wi-fi. Great communication with Pat and Bruce. Pat was very concerned that our stay was relaxing and wonderful. The dishwasher malfunctioned and she had someone on it immediately. I broke a set of binoculars and offered to pay for them and she would not accept.

Favorite moments: Whales breaching out front. Seals out front. Turtles out front. Body surfing at Makaha and Makua. Surfing at Pokai

Beach with Bruce. SUP at same beach. Great snorkeling at Pokai (rock barriers block waves and create great snorkeling areas). Tamura market. Good prices, friendly service, everything we needed. The Waianae Farmer's Market was the bomb. A week's worth of fabulous produce for $20 and great handmade gifts. Very clean market near Burger King. Sipping wine on the lanai to beautiful sunsets each night. Dancing in the kitchen while preparing fresh seafood meals. Master bedroom had THE MOST comfortable bed and a killer shower. Drives to the North Shore for Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, big waves, Waiamea Valley and falls (swam under the falls), the drive thru the rural farmlands in the middle of the island.

We will return to this home in a heartbeat. It is so peaceful and the process so easy. If you are considering this area, don't hesitate. No hustle and bustle. Laid back. Easy going. Thanks Pat for a great visit!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect and relaxing vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

We spent ten days at this Makaha pole house and loved every minute. Everything about this rental was easy, from the reservation to arrival directions. We had no problems locating the house and gaining entry. The house itself is stunning yet comfortable, with high ceilings and beautiful wood beams. Pat has included everything you could possibly need. We have rented several vacation homes and none have come close to the care taken here for your convenience. The linen closet is full with fluffy towels and good bedding. The kitchen has all the necessities for cooking inside or grilling. There are boogie boards and snorkel equipment for guest use. We both agreed that we could have done the entire ten days out of a carry-on. You don't need anything here but shorts, sandals and bathing suits.

The ocean facing deck and 360 wrap around porch have more than enough seating to enjoy the million dollar views. And there are amazing views - we saw spinner dolphins, sea turtles, eels, seals and whales almost daily and with the waves crashing while sunning on the chaise, it really was hard to leave the house.

The area is more local than touristy and the folks we met were so nice and welcoming. We enjoyed plate lunches and shave ice at the Makaha beach just south of the house. Drive to the north and have the beach to yourself. Park the car when the road ends and walk around the point. Absolutely beautiful.

We enjoyed our time with Bruce the caretaker, with his knowledge of the local history and area. Such a nice and thoughtful man. Many thanks to him for his company and the yellow fin tuna - we enjoyed it very much.

This was a great vacation and we highly recommend this house for its beautiful views and the overall ease and comfort while staying there. Many thanks to Pat for sharing this wonderful home.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Makaha Beach Park
Turtle Beach
"Beautiful Private Beach with tons of marine life to enjoy at your leisure. Whale watching an..."
Lahilahi Point (Black Rock)
"Lahilahi Point (or Black Rock) is a well known fishing spot to locals, and there is also a p..."
Kaena Point State Park
Pokai Bay Beach Park
"Because of its breakwater offshore that blocks high surf, Poka'i is the most protected beach..."
Yokohama Bay
Kahumana Organic Farm & Cafe
"Quiet spot tucked away in the valley. Beautiful butterflies seem to have also found the orga..."
Naked Cow Dairy Farm & Creamery
"Best place to buy organic milk and cheese on the Waianae side"
Kea'au Beach Park
"Keaau Beach Park is a gorgeous, tree-lined park and picnic ground dotted with palms at the w..."
Makua Cave (Upper)
"You want to visit this trail on a cool, slightly overcast day. There is no shade on this tra..."
Makua Valley
Mākua Beach
"It is difficult to award such a presumptuous title as most beautiful beach, but few would be..."
Roy's Restaurant
Wild Side Eco-Adventures
"You should absolutely go on a trip like this, but most importantly you should go with this t..."
Wild Side Specialty Tours
Ko Olina Beach Park
"Anyone who has been to Koolina Resort (Aulani, Ihilani, and/or Beach Villas) has likely been..."
Makaha Golf Club
"Featuring a breathtaking mountain backdrop and the beauty of the Oahu's pristine western sho..."
Waianae Farmers Market at Waianae Mall
"Waianae Farmers' Market At Waianae Mall: Huge Success! Saturday: 9 am to 1 pm Unlike a lot ..."
Wet'n'wild Hawaii
Ka'aha'aina Cafe
"Staying in Waianae has it's advantages. I get to see the beautiful ocean every day! Another..."
West Oahu Sup
"This is what they have to say: "Welcome to West Oahu Sup & Sport on the West Side of Oahu, i..."
Aki Beach Cove
Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Honolulu Airport
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

Makaha Beach is Oahu's second most popular snorkeling site. The clear, aqua blue water with little current is superb for snorkeling in summer. There are underwater caverns, arches, and tunnels as deep as 40 feet. Sea life includes schools of taape, octopuses, several species of eels, green sea turtles, transiting dolphins, and sometimes manta and eagle rays.

Across from Makaha State Beach, is a Souvenir and Ocean sports equipment shop, where you can either purchase or rent various equipment to enjoy ocean sports.

One of the nicest, most peaceful and calm beaches in the area, both summer and winter, is called Waianae Beach at Pokai Bay. Located on this beach is the Recreation Area and the Waianae Beach Resort for the Military. It is located about 5 minutes from the house by car going south, just after passing Seven Eleven, and turning right on Army Street. Park on the street, and bring photo ID to pass the Security Gate. The Waianae Beach Club offers great food, and a fantastic ocean view from the dining lanai. The Club restaurant has restricted times of service. Kayaks, boats, and other beach accessories can be rented right there on the beach. A small store is conveniently located on the beach, stocked with all necessities for an enjoyable time at the beach.

Visit the Disney Resort at Koolina, which is located about 20 minutes south of the property.

For a round of golf or a brunch, check out the Makaha Resort and Golf Club, which is just 5 minutes from the house.


Rates & Availability

Mākaha House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter Whale Rates
Nov 19 2017 - Feb 28 2018
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and yard fee $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.95%

You can cancel if you give more than 60 days notice before your arrival date and receive a refund of up to 100% of your total fee.
1 to 6 guests: charge of $300 a day excluding holiday rates
each additional guest a $50 a day charge
Please no parties, weddings and wedding receptions.
The maximum of 8 guests only
Check in is 4pm and Check out is 10am.
If you have a late flight back home, we would highly recommend booking an extra day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

You might like these similar properties