Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

NOTE: Due to some of our visitors not being fully transparent in their expectations, not researching where they want to vacation, what they want to do while on vacation, but expecting us to serve in a travel agent role for itineraries/event reservations/etc., we now require that all potential guests email us (njwhitfield95@gmail.com) to establish a mutual understanding before we accept any online bookings. As a benefit, we are pleased to offer cheaper, cost-effective rates for establishing a rapport. We love renting and truly hope you consider us for your next vacation.

This former upstairs apartment, now newly renovated upstairs home, is the perfect stay for taking a break from life's worries as well as providing easy access to all the local hospitality that Lancaster County has to offer.

When you enter the Spring room, large bay windows surround the North and East sides allowing you to see the Amish buggy teams clopping-by. At night, the open windows allow you to hear the relaxing sounds of the stream that runs just behind it.

Next is a well lit, yellow-pine, log den-library. Here you can can relax in the setting of Native American memorabilia, Westward artwork, and well crafted natural beauty displays while enjoying lighthearted reading.

There is a quaint bathroom providing a shower tub, pedestal sink, toilet, and recessed shelves...very nice.

Past the den-library is the dining room featuring a Pennsylvania German log chinked pattern with Americana motif. Wide beam wood flooring with forged nails. Enjoy eating on an 1800's beautiful dark oak trestle table. The simple lighting is especially calming at night and gives you a sense of early pioneering appreciation, spiritualness, and forging ahead towards good times.

Adjacent to the dining room lies a pleasant country kitchen which has a large counter-top kitchen sink, new stove, new fridge, and champagne glass lighting. There is plenty of cabinet space and a delightful hutch for all your basic kitchen needs.

Lastly, there is a spacious back bedroom with a soft decor and queen sized bed, windows that face to one of the last indigenous Conestoga tribe settlements, and a view of the valley where Amish are often seen working in the fields and Amish children can be seen splashing in the stream.

While it is true at Pilgrim's Progress Retreat, we do not boast having lots of entertainments such as cable television, DVD movies, game systems, table games, a whirlpool, etc., there is a modest sound system for enjoying music as well as WiFi Internet.

That being said when you're tired of the quiet life, historic Lancaster City beckons you participate in its various attractions such as movie cinemas, live theatres, neighboring amusement parks (Hershey Park, Dutch Wonderland), day trips to Gettysburg and Philadelphia, an amazing very nice in-the-country YMCA gym, golf courses galore, art galleries, fantastic museums, and a smorgasbord of restaurants to choose from.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 13, 2017

About Owner/Manager

My wife and I have been married for 22 years. We are Mennonites with her family being descended from the Herrs of the early 1700's. I work as a physician assistant and my wife is a homemaker. We are into outdoor activities, farmette living, church functions, and enjoying our 3 children.

Owner/Manager purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Owner/Manager chose Pennsylvania

It came with the property and thought it would be a fun fixer-upper to invest in.

What makes this apartment unique

Cost-effective, quiet, pleasant get-away with amazing centralization to branch out for fun.

Amenities

Conestoga Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full size sleeper sofa in Spring Room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeping
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Surprisingly cool block structure with overhead fans eliminating dry, circulated air for Summer coolness. Baseboard heating to keep you warm in the Winter. Large open lot for parking. Den-library for reading. Large bay windows for watching the Amish at work in the fields.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Pilgrim's Progress Retreat in Lancaster, Pennsylvania
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 39 reviews
5

Gorgeous, cozy and so welcoming!

  • 5 of 5

Julia and Nate, thank you both for such a warm welcome into your beautiful, peaceful haven. All the sweet, personal touches made for such a happy, comfortable stay. We truly felt like we escaped from our busy and chaotic lives. The tomatoes from your garden and the home-made chocolate chip cookies were wonderful! We are feeling extremely relaxed and content after our stay, and these two grateful guests are already looking forward to an Autumn return. Thank you so much!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You folks were so pleasant to have! We are grateful that you came our way and found a retreat to glean life's good. Your words are so encouraging in our mission to provide a physically restful and mentally recuperative "haven", as you say. It gives us joy to share our bounty with others. You are welcome to visit again in the future. Blessings for the remainder of 2017.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peach Of A Place

  • 5 of 5

We have visited this place twice now and realize we never left any on-line review commentary. Upon returning, we are still so impressed with the rental and really enjoy visiting here. It is a nice getaway from city life and more so a gateway for seeing so much that Lancaster has to offer. It is tidy, quiet, and safe. The Whitfield's make it feel so warmly receptive. Thanks for all you do to make it a fun, stress-free vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Angie, we were thrilled to have received you again as guests. Don't worry about not posting a review sooner but thanks for posting one while still visiting this time. So happy that you and your husband could make a stop in and fortunately the rental was available for a last minute stay over. Glad we got to visit and get caught up on how your family and life are be being blessed and blessing others in return. Please pop-in next time you are traveling through.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Terrible Smell & Many Complaints!!

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival when we first walked in we noticed that the downstairs smelled really strongly of animals or trash or something else but we weren't sure if it was just at that point and we thought it would only smell on the first floor but unfortunately it smelled the entire time. We smelled it upstairs after we were in the apartment. It made our trip very unpleasant. Then after it rained it smelled even stronger due to the humidity. This smell was NOT the outdoor farmland that the owner tried to blame it on. They do not notice it because they live there and are use to it.

The water temperature in the apartment was barely warm so no hot showers here.

Advertised as having wifi and yes you can connect but we could barely get 1 bar of service during our entire visit. We couldn't make calls or use the internet. We tried on our tablet and had the same wifi issue.

No blanket on the bed and the owner said we should have used the throw on the bench in the living room which was not big enough for the bed and smelled like the odor that was throughout the apartment.

There is no outlet in the bathroom so don't plan on plugging anything in there. The bathroom is not right next to the bedroom which makes it very inconvenient.

We wanted to leave the minute we walked into this unit and we should have but we were too far from home to turn around.

The owner lied many, many times during the times that we conversed and promised a refund. He told us he contacted Homeaway several times but that Homeaway closes at 4pm which is not true as Homeaway is open 24 hours a day. He said he left messages and again, Homeaway does not have voicemail.

We would leave zero stars but 1 is the least you can choose.

We would never recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This person vacationed the night of July 28th and compromised their integrity at many levels. I forwarded their emails to HomeAway. The guest self-implicated for having received a thorough and proper walk-through for vetting concerns and yet did not express any notion of an issue of odor for something as serious as supposed trash. Incidentally, there have never been animals in the unit. Also, we do not “live” in the same building but across from the separated structure so there is no case for us becoming ‘acclimated to living in garbage’. This is absurd. They however willingly stayed the night and had every opportunity to express dissatisfaction due to our accessibility after we provided them a complimentary early check-in of 3pm and they could see us, living next door. But instead they opted not to express their dissatisfactions for validating their supposed claims and not allowing us the chance to correct imaginary issues. They expressed a common “string of complaints” that many “con artists” use to force a refund illegitimately. Finally after having nothing positive to say but only complaints, they privately tried to broker through my personal email to “most definitely give a positive review once having received a refund”. For contrasting evidence, this guest’s complaints were deemed nonsense due to the fact that we had an immediate new vacationer (with young child) arrive right after them on the 29th, with only a minimal turn around clean-time of 3 hours. And though there would not be enough time to fix all these “unverifiables,” the new guests stayed noting the rental to be perfectly clean for a 5/5 star rating. HomeAway noted that my “account is still in good standing." Additionally, HomeAway did not refund them their money voluntarily either. However, the guest having lost the proverbial chess match decided to “flip the board” via a credit card chargeback. HomeAway has given us a venue to have their review expunged. We are deciding on whether or not to do this as that we feel our prior reputation and two immediate guests after this incident have validated our credibility with 5/5 star ratings. For now we will keep it as a warning that we won’t be bullied into a bribe/extortion scenario. A lie may come to pass but it won’t pass through us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our 2-night stay in peaceful Lancaster County. This apartment was surprisingly large and there was plenty of room for our group of 4 people. Although the location feels remote it is close to many local attractions. We visited Hershey, antique shops in Strasburg, and Pine View Dairy while we were here.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that not only did you hit some of the major highlights but you took in the local amenities as well. It blesses us to provide a respite for such as you. Glad the apartment exceeded expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte
5

Quaint getaway

  • 5 of 5

Clean and quiet.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You did have a busy 48 hours between a Philly seminar, followed by a "Sight & Sound" show! A single night stopover is always so short but we are glad we could accommodate you. Thanks for the 5/5 star review for finding the rental charming, tidy, and peaceful. Safe Travels, Pilgrim's Progress Retreat
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The property was really nice

  • 4 of 5

We loved it . It was quiet, peaceful, and homey. It was clean and smelled fresh when we arrived. The owner met us as we pulled in the driveway. She was very nice and accommodating, answered all my questions. The property wasn't hard to find. We had fresh baked cookies waiting on us. The only concern we had, was no curtains in the den and the dining room. Also need more lighting in the kitchen. We had a wonderful, relaxing day at Pilgrims Progress Retreat. I recommend this place, very nice. Stay here is you want to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Gina and Guy

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad we could serve as your first vacation rental experience. Happy to know you liked the homemade chocolate chip cookies. We keep the dining room lighting subdued for preserving a wood-chinked authentic setting. The open adjacent kitchen however has 3 bright lights that work on a dimmer switch; we suggest adjusting them since we saw it was on low. Thanks for the comment recommending us for relaxing peace and quiet.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Pilgrim's Progress Retreat is surrounded by numerous amenities such as museums, parks, restaurants, culture as well as nearby Gettysburg and Philadelphia.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

NOTE: Visitors staying longer than 7 days, should call or email owner prior to requesting a booking to ensure availability. Rates are subject to change (typically, significantly lowered) for longer stays, especially for November - April months for those needing temporary business accommodations.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties