check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Judy Kilgore

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Waterfront Cottage on Kentucky Lake

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Buchanan House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-12)

Nestled in a Kentucky Lake Penninsula in Buchanan, Tennessee, this quaint, country cottage has a dazzling view with a back patio and steps leading right to the water's edge. Fish for bass, catfish, and bluegills right from the large, private dock or just set back and enjoy the nostalgia of a cabin that once was the getaway place of Merle Kilgore. One of Nashville's greatest country music industry music moguls and a multi-hit songwriter, Merle used to come here all the time to write and to relax. Sometimes even stars like Hank Williams Jr., Kid Rock, Uncle Kracker, and others would end up hanging out here with Merle at this quiet, lazy, lakehouse retreat. Affectionately named 'The Boogie Shack', there are still many pictures of Merle and various celebrities on the walls so that you can enjoy the place's history. It'll almost make you feel like you are staying at a little, waterfront museum.

Conveniently close to the the Paris Landing State Park, you really just can't beat the location. It's rather spacious, too. Having the capacity to sleep twelve with 5 pull-out beds(4 doubles and 1 queen-size), one four-post bed(also a queen) in the main bedroom, a large living room with cable TV, a complete kitchen, a bathroom with a shower, and a washer and dryer, you'll have everything you need. Whether you are planning a family vacation or a fishing trip with your buddies, boogie on down to the Boogie Shack. You won't be disappointed.

You can visit http://parislanding.org/ for scheduled Paris Landing Fishing Tournaments.

More Details
Judy Kilgore (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

Pleasantly surprised to find this vacation house much nicer than expected ... pictures do not do it justice. Owners supplied much more than most do. Very clean and ample EVERYTHING! If you are a country music fan a tour of the pictures will give you much enjoyment .... thanks to the owners for offering this rental, we will be back. "M"

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)
Waterfront Cottage on Kentucky Lake
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 18 reviews
Chicago area
5

Letting Go Of Your Everyday Stress

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at the Boogie Shack numerous times arriving full of the everyday stress and letting it all disappear during our stay. The cabin is always immaculately cleaned and filled with all our needs and so much rich country history. Dealing with the property manager has always been a great experience as she has always been available to help with our stay . We highly recommend the Boogie Shack for those looking for a peaceful stress free vacation spot on beautiful Kentucky Lake

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good Times

  • 4 of 5

We have had a wonderful time at the Boogie Shack. This is what Lake houses used to be like and we have really enjoyed staying here.

If you are looking for a "Fancy Place" keep looking. I worried that my wife and grown daughters would not survive with only one bathroom but it worked out fine,

We were fortunate to be able to extend our stay here, Yvonne is very easy to work with.

The AC works very good. We have been under a heat advisory during our entire stay and have been very comfortable inside.

As with all older properties there is constant need for maintenance. We were able to dock a pontoon boat but had tone careful where we stepped. I left a list of things that I think should be looked at.

We are already discussing our return next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very cool little get away

  • 5 of 5

We loved the boogie shack, clean and very neat place to stay. Very nice view of the lake, we caught some great fish and it was very relaxing. I will stay again for sure. Loved all the pics and the neon sign.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bardstown, ky
4

Great little place

  • 4 of 5

Had a wonderful time staying at the Boogie Shack!

No complaints here it was perfect for our weekend bachelor party and the fishing was excellent. Would definitely recommend for a friend to stay and loved the history behind the place.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cozy cottage but boat dock in need of repair

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at the cottage for 4 nights. We brought our boat with us. The launch ramp was a minute away but the boat dock was in severe need of repair and did not have power. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful lake. The cottage was cozy and relaxing but a bit dark. The decor was as if you stepped back in time. We enjoyed looking at all of the old photos on the walls. Overall, we had a good time but not sure if we would choose this property again.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, we are well aware that our dock is in need of repair. We are at a stand still due to the high water levels. We have two slips for boats and only one slip is affected by our damage. We will have the dock repaired as soon as we can. Thank you for letting us know about no power at the dock. I am notifying someone today to check it out and get it fixed. All of the wood in our cabin makes if darker than what most people are used to. I am so glad you enjoyed the pictures. The cabin has a lot of wonderful history. As the saying goes, "If these wall could talk." A lot of creative people have stayed at the cabin and wonderful songs have been written here. Thank you so much for staying with us. Yvonne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not quite as advertised

  • 2 of 5

Although our overall experience was ok , the property was not as advertised. The private dock was nice to have but had significant damage that did not get fixed before our stay. The grill was nasty, looked as if it had never been cleaned. There was still full trash bags in the cans in the house and the cans outside were literally overflowing with trash. The toilet did not work properly either.

On a positive note , the owners were very nice and easy to deal with. The lot location was perfect and the dock was a plus as I did not have to put the boat in and out every day.

I would not recommend this property to friends or family.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feed back on our cottage. The grill not being cleaned has been reviewed with our cleaning staff. Our new staff now know that the grill must be checked and cleaned after every stay. The dock is in the process of being repaired. We are at a stand still now due to high water level. We are so lucky to have two boat slips and only one of them are affected. Thank you so much for the about letting us know there was a problem with our commode. It has been checked out. The garbage was not picked up due to the cans being down at the cottage and not at the road. Our cleaning staff has bee advised that the trash cans are to be kept at the road at all times so it can be picked up by the company we hired to do so. I am so glad you let us know about these issues so that we can improve and make your vacation a wonderful experience. Yvonne
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Paris Landing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Buchanan House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 14.25%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Buchanan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master Bedroom, Double Beds (4) 4 sleeper sofa's in sunroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sofa bed in livingroom
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties