check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Fall weekends and booking next summer.

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
nights

Description

St Joseph House Rental Photos and Description

SUNFLOWER COTTAGE near Lake Michigan and Downtown St. Joseph 2BR/1BA

This sweet vintage home was renovated and is ideal for your beach getaway. The home is located in the historic district of St. Joe and is an easy walk to SIlver Beach on Lake Michigan. The downtown area is just a few blocks away, along with Krasl Art Center, Curious Kid's Museum and St Joe's Public Library.

The house has a large living room with separate dining room. The bathroom has been completely renovated with a new vanity, fixtures, white tile flooring and tub area, etc. The kitchen has been gutted with new cabinets, counter, appliances, etc. It is fully equipped with coffee maker, toaster, microwave, etc. There are two bedrooms along with a sleeper-sofa in the living room. There is a washer and dryer and room A/C units in the home. There is also a front porch and a private back yard with outdoor furniture. The home is nicely furnished with art and antiques.

DVD/TV, Cable, AC, microwave, new dishwasher, washer and dryer, front porch with furniture.

Swimming, sunbathing, walk to town, Kid's Curious Muesum, playground on the beach, art classes at Krasl Art Center, festivals, shops, restaurants, wine tasting, state parks near by, walking trail, bike riding, library, beach volleyball, Kayak rentals, charter fishing, golfing, St Joe's free trolley, etc.

Historic downtown St. Joe is a short walk away. The town hosts a variety of festivals, art fairs, antique shows throughout the summer months. The chamber has bike rentals (for free). There is plenty to due in town and Lake Michigan is a short walk away.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Property Manager
Jennifer Davis
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016
Call Manager

About Jennifer Davis

HI there,

Yoga instructor, writer, social worker, mother of two kids and one big chocolate lab named, Hershey. Grew up in Michigan and plans to retire in St. Joe. I do my very best to be accommodating and very responsive to inquires and questions.

Why Jennifer Davis chose Southwest Michigan

Nothing cookie cutter about any of my properties. Want something a little different? Something where you can feel comfortable, something fun and whimsical in an awesome location? You found the right place and my pricing is very reasonable. An entire house for the price of one nice hotel room.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location. Walk to everything and feel right at home in a historic and charming neighborhood.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Fall weekends and booking next summer.
average rating of 4.478261 based on 23 reviews
Wheaton, Il
5

Super cute cottage by the beach

  • 5 of 5

This is our 5th year spening a summer week in St. Joe's with our 2 small children. It is always much looked forward to summer trip, and have never been disappointed. St. Joe's is "Our Summer Town." We have rented from Jennifer and Ken before and have always been impressed at their attentiveness and professionalism. we look forward to next summer! Thank you Jennifer and Ken!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted when families return to one of our properties. Thank you for staying with us again and please come back to "Our Summer Town" soon! Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Adorable Little Home Nestled in the Trees

  • 5 of 5

This home is truly my little "home away from home". Nestled in this beautiful, tree lined community, its quiet and comfortable, but still so close to the beach and to town!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The perfect place to relax and write a book!

  • 4 of 5

I spent a week at this charming cottage writing and researching for a book, and what a perfect getaway place! The location couldn't be more ideal. The cottage is just a few short blocks from town, the library, the beach, the restaurants (including my favorite, Silver Beach Pizza), the carousel and splash pad, and the bluff. I barely needed my car at all, except for a trip to the grocery store. I was pleased to have a garage to keep my car and bike all week. The cottage was so charming and had just the right amount of space for four (my husband and two boys joined me over the weekend). The open-concept dining and living rooms made the space feel bigger than the pictures suggest. I had plenty of space to sprawl out all my research and writing on the over-sized dining room table. All of the rooms were clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated, particularly the main bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was large and had plenty of storage space for all of us. I had some initial trouble getting into the lock box but the owner was so helpful! She immediately responded to my texts. The neighbors were also very friendly and helpful. But my favorite part of the house was the front porch. I spent many a morning outside with a cup of coffee, my computer, and the morning walkers. A very enjoyable stay in a quiet, neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love the fact that you stayed at the Sunflower to write a book. When your best seller is published please don't forget to add the Sunflower to your credits...lol! I'm delighted that you found the quaint house comfortable, clean and conducive to being creative! I agree the front porch is the perfect place to relax and you enjoyed the walk to town/beach location. Thank you so much for staying at the Sunflower and please come back soon! Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming historic house in prime location

  • 5 of 5

Jennifer is very easy to do business with, she's very friendly, accommodating and responds to questions promptly. We have stayed in 2 of her properties with no issues.

The Sunflower is exactly as described and offers all the conveniences you need for being in a touristy beach town. Downtown and Silver Beach are within blocks and offer a beautiful walk through a historical part of St. Joe.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I appreciate that you found me easy to work with and accommodating! I love the location of the Sunflower and the ease to get to the beach and downtown and glad you found it convenient. Thanks, Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cute Place, great location, needs TLC

  • 2 of 5

Cute Place, has potential just needs TLC which is under the HO's Control. Disappointed in overall cleaning with dirty surfaces, food crumbs, human hair on the floor, dog fur (thought no pets?) on the couch and welcome mat. Yard is not maintained, had zero desire to use backyard, unsightlyness and smell of the neighbors dog poop. Then plumbing issues with raw sewage backing up in basement. Granted HO did offer to send Cleaning person back, but since I own a Cleaning Business it was BEST to clean myself. For the Price one could have stayed at the Boulevard for a few more dollars. Not expecting White Glover Service, but the effort was lack luster and would look to Rent elsewhere next trip to Saint Joseph.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry for the delayed response, I've been out of the country and had a death in the family. Sorry you didn't find the house spotless. My policy, as outlined in my rental agreement, clearly states if someone is not happy with the cleaning I will immediately send my cleaning person back in (but most of my guests are more that satisfied with the cleaning based on nearly all five star reviews). Regardless, I offered to send my crew back in, but you refused. Also sorry the pipes backed up during your stay, but that is something beyond my control. What I can control is my response to the situation and when I learned about this I had a plumber out within two hours which you failed to mention. Hopefully, people understand pipes backing up and neighbor's dogs pooping in my yard are beyond my control and have nothing to do with "TLC." It's an historic house surrounded by other lovely older homes-- so old and imperfect (like me, lol). I am a human being not a "HO," and did my very best to respond to all of your concerns when you contacted me about the cleaning and the pipes. I'm disappointed it didn't meet your expectations and if you want to spend more money to stay in a hotel room rather than getting an entire house (with a yard, laundry, kitchen, dinning room, garage, etc) that is, of course, your choice. Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable Comfortable Little Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We have been visiting St Joseph for almost twenty years and have been working with Jennifer for about 5. We love all of the properties that she has available. This little cottage is perfect size for my husband and I and we even have room if our son want to bring a friend to stay. We love the neighborhood, it is a little haven tucked away amidst the trees on a quiet little street, but totally within walking distance of town and beach....wonderful

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Rates & Availability

St Joseph House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 11.0%

Longer stays are welcome and discounted during the off season.

Cleaning fee is an additional charge.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

St Joseph House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
Entertainment:
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties