Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful 5 Bedroom House, Walking Distance to Private Beach

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This vacation rental property has so much to offer! A beautiful custom built home, this property has all the details you'd expect in a luxurious residence.Granite counter tops, travertine tile, custom wood work, and beautiful lighting throughout the property make this vacation home feel like a true retreat. The home sits in a gated community with plenty of parking. The house is three stories with five decks with outdoor furniture for lounging in the Gulf Coast breezes. The living space is very comfortable with satellite TV and big comfy furniture. The kitchen has everything you need: fridge, microwave, stove, pantry, dishwasher and full set cooking utensils - including crock pot, electric griddle, blender and coffee maker. A Publix grocery store is a five minute drive away.

There are five bedrooms. The huge master bedroom downstairs has a queen bed and a walk in glass shower with three nozzle heads. The second floor has three bedrooms. The master features a king size bed with a private deck and large walk in closet and large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and walk in glass shower. The other two bedrooms have a queen size bed and two twin beds. Each has access to the shared deck. A full bathroom is located in the hallway.

The third story has view of the ocean and great deck. We call this 'The Crow's Nest'. It is decorated in true 'pirate ship' style, with sleeping bunks and a mini kitchen. There is also a TV and DVD player. Its a great place for kids to play and sleep.

A hot tub is on the back deck. The backyard fronts a state forest so the privacy is great.

The beach is fantastic - it has rolling sand dunes and plenty of places to set up a tent or lay out and enjoy the sun. The beach is private so it is never crowded. A boardwalk goes from the neighborhood to the ocean. It is a ten minute walk to the ocean from the house.

A club house is close to the house. It has a large pool and exercise room with table tennis. There are also two tennis courts. There is another club house and pool on the other side of the neighborhood.

The area where the beach house is located is perfect, with biking and hot tourist spots like Seaside nearby. Destin and Panama City are both within a short drive with fantastic shopping and other attractions.

If you are looking for the perfect Florida get-away, this is it!

Keywords: beach house

More Details

Owner
Karen Jones
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Karen Jones

This is our 'home away from home' while we are in Destin on business. Our family loves to visit here and it is a great getaway.

Karen Jones purchased this house in 2006

Why Karen Jones chose South Walton

The beach at Grayton is so much bigger and more beautiful than the crowded beaches nearby. Once we saw that fantastic beach, we knew we had to call this place home! The house is near Seaside and Watercolor and in a great location for fun in the sun. Destin is about a 15 minute drive, Panama City about 20 minutes. We loved how the house adjoins the state forest so we have plenty of privacy. There is excitement and activity, or there is quiet and relaxation.

What makes this house unique

We only rent to adults and families.

Guestbook comments from the owner

It was awesome! The house was really beautiful and the beach was the prettiest I've ever seen. I really liked that it was a private beach, so there weren't very many people there. The pool and pool house were lovely and well maintained. The neighborhood was quiet, family oriented. I would recommend it, and would definitely want to go back.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Grayton Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Beautiful, glassed-in tiled, walk-in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Beautiful showers with multiple shower heads, jetted tub in upstairs master
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed , This is a double sized bunk bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Double bunk beds (2) Baby Cribs (1) One Graco Pack and Play available
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Next door to club house with work out room, table tennis and pool. Each bedroom has an attached deck. The third story is suitable for extra sleeping for kids and has a sink and mini fridge. The ocean is also viewable from the third story deck

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Beautiful 5 Bedroom House, Walking Distance to Private Beach
average rating of 4.6 based on 16 reviews
Homewood, Alabama
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

Pictures do not do the properties justice! So close to everything we love about 30a and Blue Mountain!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

This house is amazing!! And we had a good little vacations with some friends and family

  • 5 of 5

House is very pretty and clean.

Have a lot of spaces and is so fresh, I will recommended to my friends.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Area

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in Santa Rosa Beach. The Area/Beach is beautiful. The accommodation was

fine. The house itself is great however, the furnishing needs updating. We would recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience Santa Rosa Beach area.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Vacation of a lifetime

  • 5 of 5

Most beautiful beach in the world! The house is in a sleepy community and was only four miles to the hustle and bustle of shopping and activities and only 10 miles from every restaurant you can imagine. And unlike most vacation destinations, it was extremely easy to get to. It only took us five and a half hours from Atlanta. We had our grown children and grandchildren there and everyone had a great time. It's a short walk to the beach and very close to the pool and tennis courts. We loved the hot tub. You can tell that the people that own this house treat it like their own home. We felt very comfortable there and everything was clean and organized. I would recommend this for people that want a beautiful beach, quaint shops - it's not a crazy place like Panama City. I've been all over the world, and it was without a doubt the best family vacation we've ever had.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Gorgeous and spacious home!!

  • 5 of 5

This house is gorgeous. It is tucked in a very nice, gated neighborhood off of 30A. Publix is right down the street and there are plenty of small shops nearby, and tons more only a short drive further. Inside, the house is very spacious, fitting 12 easily. Everything is clean and well-kept. The bedrooms and bathrooms are luxurious. The private beach is a little bit of a walk but is worth it. The water was crystal clear and the we nearly had the beach to ourselves. Having the private hot tub on the back deck was a huge bonus too. Everyone had a wonderful weekend here and would go back in a heartbeat. Karen Jones was quick to respond and answered all questions thoroughly. I could not reccommend this house enough!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great Potential ... Greater Disappointment ...

  • 1 of 5

This year marked our fourth stay at a property within this community, the previous two of which had been in a home managed by a professional management service. When I first called the owner of this property the single concern I expressed to her related to the speed with which any needs for maintenance would be handled. We had maintenance issues in the past to which the professional management company had responded within hours. “No Worries!!”, she assured me, “we have family right there in the area, and they can be right on top of anything that comes up.”

We did a small load of laundry on Sunday, put the clothes in the dryer and were greeted with a loud squeak that soon became a squeal accompanied by the smell of something burning. We called the local seeming number, left a message, and waited for a reply. None came, so Monday I called the woman to whom I had spoken before. “No problem”, she assured me, “my husband is right there in the area … I’ll have him come right by.”

On Tuesday I called again. It seems her husband got called out of town on business and would be gone for the rest of the week. “I’ll see if I can get in touch with a repair service and try to get someone to come by and take a look at it.” The dryer remained unrepaired when we left.

The real kicker to THIS issue was when she told me that the folks who had rented the place LAST week had already reported the dryer problem to her.

Anybody want to guess how much fun it is to have a family vacation (including a 6-month old baby) at the beach where all the laundry has to be done at a laundromat?

Other physical issues:

The cook top on the electric stove is significantly cracked across its surface.

The toaster oven is useless because there is no rack on which one can toast things in it.

The bathroom door on the second floor won’t lock.

I hesitate to guess at the last time the refrigerator was fully cleaned or cleaned out. Many half and quarter-used bottles and jars and cans of all SORTS of indistinct stuff in there.

The Crow’s Nest, “a great place for kids to play and sleep.”, is a top floor room with windows on all sides and NO SHADES, NO CURTAINS, NO BLINDS –NOTHING AT ALL to dampen the early morning sun.

The woman who owns the house seems like a nice person. It’s just that, for the price we paid to use this place, we expected both nice AND responsive, both a nice owner AND stuff that works and we were sadly disappointed on both counts.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize that the dryer issue was not resolved before you left - however, a repairman did go out on Tuesday afternoon (no one was at home) and determined the problem ( a bearing,but the dryer would still function safely) and ordered a replacement part. Unfortunately it did not come in until you had left. I hate to think your wonderful beach vacation was ruined by a squealing dryer! The cooktop was cracked by a previous tenant who dropped a glass pan from the microwave. The cooktop still functions without problem. We were waiting til the end of season to replace so there would no downtime for renters. As far as the condiments in the frig are concerned, most people appreciate having ketchup, mustard, salad dressing etc on hand so they don't have to purchase these items - but if there were undesirable/expired items left there, I will definitely address that with the housekeeper. The Crow's Nest is on the third level, with complete privacy, and we left the windows uncovered for maximum view and the feeling of being in a "tree house". I see your point about waking up to sunshine, and will have blinds put on the windows. This is the first I've heard about the bathroom door not locking, and I will address that. Hopefully you were still able to have a fun vacation with your family in spite of the inconveniences. Thanks for your comments!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Destin or Panama City
Nearest Beach
Private beach at Grayton Beach
Car: recommended

The house is located directly next to a state forest with miles and miles of hiking and biking trials. Also Grayton Beach State Park is just a few miles away. It features beautiful inland lakes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties