check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marilly Morton

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Northwest Lodging - Hall Creek Cabin (Affordable Ski Cabin)

36 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Packwood Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Find HALL CREEK CABIN nestled amongst the trees in Packwood, WA. Historic Packwood is situated between Mt. Rainier, Mt. Saint Helens, Mt. Adams, surrounded by the Gifford Pinchot National Forest, and at the very center of Washington's White Pass Scenic Byway (Hwy 12), 'Playground of Volcano Country.' It is 7 miles from the southeast entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. 19 miles from White Pass Ski Area.

Inside HALL CREEK CABIN is 800 sq. ft. of coziness with 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and a great room with a queen size hide-a-bed. The living area provides comfort and relaxation and the comfy mattresses in each bedroom, promise swift transport to dreamland with plump pillows and warm comforters. The great room is complete with new (2010) live-edge counters in the kitchen and a well-equipped kitchen.

Outside offers a hot tub, fresh alpine air and a wonderfully wooded area behind the cabin. Hall Creek tempts a visit, as do neighborhood elk.

Keywords: Cabin, Chalet, cottage, bungalow, house, country house

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Marilly Morton (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Marilly Morton

Fred, as a teacher, is a life time learner. His passion is family, reading and sports. Marilly has a passion for family, birds, photography and traveling, visiting Nicaragua, The Netherlands, Germany & Italy. We both visited Hawaii, Alaska, Mexico, Switzerland, Aruba, Vancouver Island & Victoria BC, and Fred managed a sailing trip to Belize with our oldest son. To keep the international flavor in our home, we hosted exchange students including: two German, two Japanese, two Koreans, and one Colombian.

Besides our four vacation rentals, we own 2 Subway stores (in Portland, OR).

Marilly Morton purchased this cabin in 2006

Why Marilly Morton chose Mount Rainier

We love the mountains, and Packwood is very like Switzerland, only the mountains are smaller and farther apart. It is in the center of Gifford Pinchot Nat'l Forest, 7 miles from the southern entrance to Mt. Rainier Nat'l Park, and surround by Tatoosh, William O Douglass, and Goat Rocks Wilderness areas. There is a constant flow of wildlife including: elk, coyotes, raccoon, fox, black bear, bald eagles, beaver and more, and year round recreational activities.

What makes this cabin unique

We spent every weekend for almost a year in Hall Creek Cabin while we built the Rainier View Lodge. We really made it our home away from home. I enjoyed the hot tub under a star studded sky, the song of Hall Creek, wood smoke on the wind and the plethora of passing elk . . . what a combination! It's a great place to dream and build!

Reviews

4.6
based on 36 traveler reviews

Beautiful Northwest Lodging - Hall Creek Cabin (Affordable Ski Cabin)
average rating of 4.638889 based on 36 reviews
Baton Rouge, LA
4

Conveniently located for visiting Mt Rainier NP.

  • 4 of 5

Four of us spent a weekend in this comfortable little cabin and took day trips into the Paradise area for hiking and exploring Mt Rainier NP. The cabin was well equipped for cooking meals and the beds were comfortable. There were other cabins close by, but the neighborhood was quite and the hot tub felt good after a day of hiking.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a wonderful little cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Our experience in Packwood was superb! It was the perfect getaway and the cabin was everything we needed and more. We have two young toddlers, and the house was baby/kid proof with little to no breakables within reach. We appreciated Marilly's kindness and thorough details (her instruction book at the house even gave us a good laugh), and would not hesitate to come back again. The hot tub was the icing on the cake!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Hall Creek Cabin in Packwood, WA (property #314825) August 12-14

  • 3 of 5

We had a very enjoyable time at your cabin. The directions were perfect and we had no trouble finding it. We found the cabin in fine condition, very clean, and well appointed. Everything was as you had indicated and the house rules were spelled out. Especially liked that the kitchen was so well organized and included everything we needed. After two days of hiking, the hot tub was a welcome addition to soothe tired muscles. The only thing that did not meet our needs was the sofa hide-a-bed, which we were required to use. To say that it was uncomfortable would be an understatement. Besides, several of the springs that held the canvas to the frame were missing which caused it to sag to one side and did not give adequate support.

Weather wise it was a perfect weekend and I have never seen Mt. Rainier more beautiful. Marilly, I appreciated our several phone calls that answered any questions I had. Thank you very much.

Frances Howard

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear FH, Thank you for the privilege of serving your vacation needs. I’m delighted my directions made Hall Creek easy to find, that you found it very clean, well appointed, with the kitchen providing for all your needs and well organized. I’m doubly thrilled that the house rules, which can sometimes set people’s teeth on edge, had the desired affect on you, giving directions for an uncomplicated stay. August is a wonderful month for great weather in the Pacific Northwest, allowing views of Mt. Rainier with its many faces and moods. We never tire of looking at her. I was surprised to hear that several springs on the hide-a-bed were missing. In the driving directions I state, “Upon CHECK-IN, take a close look around. If you find anything broken, dirty or out of the ordinary for a vacation rental, be sure to contact us right away…” I received no such call, text or email to suggest a solution or execute a repair. I made an inquiry with the 2 guests that stayed in HCC before you. The Aug. 5th-10th guests used the hide-a-bed without problem, the guests just before you on Aug. 10th- 12th did not use it, and because of your comment, I contacted my housekeeper because she was cleaning for the guests after you and said the springs were in tact, which leaves me confused over their reappearance and a 3-star rating after such a glowing report. I must leave the conclusion to the readers of this review and say, “I never met a hide-a-bed that I liked.” Children don’t seem to mind sleeping on them, but they aren’t particularly comfortable for adults.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cabin in a perfect location for exploring Mt. Rainier NP.

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We used it as a base for daily hiking in Mt. Rainier National Park, but there are plenty of other hiking options in the area as well (and Marilly has a binder full of suggestions to help with planning your stay). The hot tub was a great way to end each day of strenuous hiking! We would definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super clean and nice location

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was in a great location if you like to hike, ski, or just be in the outdoors. It was very clean and comfortable!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear DP, Glad you chose us for your vacation rental needs. Hope you come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cabin with perfect location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay with easy access to Mt. Rainier National Park. This was the perfect place for this. The park entrance was a short drive away! The cabin was perfect. Warm and cozy, and in a great neighborhood which was perfect for an evening stroll. The cabin itself was perfectly stocked with everything you could need for your vacation. we had actually arrived to Packwood an hour earlier than check-in, I called owner to see if it would be possible to check-in early to which she obliged. Not only was she kind and easy to reach when we needed, she was quick to give me helpful and useful advice for the area. I plan to go back Hall Creek Cabin for our next Rainier vacation! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear AR, We love it when guest return. When they do, they become a part of of Beautiful Northwest Lodging family. We have hosted many guests yearly, biannually, sometimes every other year. We had one woman who stayed with us, a guy she had been dating in Nashville (who clearly communicated he wanted to marry this gal) contacted me and together we arranged a surprise. Two years later, they were married and returned to stay in the same house. They went out of their way to meet us in person, and we are in touch to this day. I continue to be in contact with a number of our guests through email and Facebook. So . . . . . hope you join the family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
140 Miles
Sea-Tac (WA) & PDX (OR)/Yakima Regional-75 mi.
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Blue Spruce Saloon
Nearest Ferry
190 Miles
Anacortes, WA
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Ironwood Green Golf Course
Nearest Train
80 Miles
Chehalis, WA Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
White Pass Scenic Byway (Hwy 12)
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Cruisers Pizza
Nearest Ski
17 Miles
White Pass Ski area
Nearest Beach
200 Miles
Washington Coast
Car: necessary

Hall Creek Cabin is 7 miles from Mt. Rainier National Park, and an easy day trip to Mt. St. Helens, surround by William O Douglas, Goat Rocks and Tatoosh Wilderness Areas, where you can disappear all day with an endless banquet of choices. White Pass Scenic Byway (Highway 12), 'Playground of Volcano Country', is a veritable smorgasbord of brown recreation signs where you can satisfy your activity appetite every season of the year with fishing, boating, wind surfing, hang-gliding, swimming, hiking, horseback riding, kayaking, mountain bikes, geocaching, birding and much, much more.

Hall Creek Cabin is just .3 of a mile east of downtown Packwood, WA en route to White Pass Ski Area, just 17-18 miles away. So embark on an adventure of natural scenic delights and wildlife so abundant, you will wonder if you are driving through the heart of a wildlife preserve. Elk appear a natural extension of the downtown landscape. Packwood is considered the dream of recreational enthusiasts, and White Pass Ski Area has great family skiing (downhill & cross country), snowshoeing and snowboard programs, terrain for all ages, and all in stunningly beautiful surroundings. In 2011, White Pass expanded by adding 767 acres, including 2 additional ski lifts, 18 new ski trails, and a mid-mountain lodge.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Packwood Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$115
Fri,Sat,Sun
$645
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
one-time cleaning $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.7%

WEEKEND/HOLIDAY RATE & MINIMUMS: Weekends - 2 night minimum / EXCEPTIONS: MLK Jr. Day, Presidents' Day, Memorial Day, 4th of July (when applicable), Labor Day, and Christmas/New Year's Break - 3 night minimum
CANCELLATION FEE: $50.00, if 31 days or more prior to occupancy, 30 days or less, NO REFUND will be given for ANY reason (see website for complete details). Our language: SECURITY DEPOSIT vs VRBO's "Damage Deposit".
Reservations are not final until monies are received. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Packwood Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen hide-a-bed
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • water skiing
Notes:
Outdoor table/chairs & Chimenea

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties