check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

mary spire

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful, open space house , includes all amenities, 3 min walk to the beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dillon Beach House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6- queen and double beds, and a sleeper sofa

On the first floor: 2 Bedrooms-with 1 Queen and 1 double bed - and 1 bathroom with walk-in shower/tub. Additional double size bed- sofa in upstairs living room. The house Sleeps 6 comfortably. The house is fully equipped with good, comfortable beds. Upstairs the living room has 2 full sofas, a smaller sofa and a comfortable big chair with ottoman. Wonderful for relaxing, chatting, watching TV, movies and reading- seats 6 easily. The dining area seats 6. The kitchen is fully equipped: coffee maker, electric kettle, toaster, microwave, mixer. Lots of dishes, glasses, cups, pots and pans. New appliances.

Newly Remodeled, this house has an Open Floor Plan for Living, Dining and Cooking. No one will miss out on the fun! With a high ceiling and lots of windows, the main living area has lots of natural light and opens out onto a back deck with great views of the hills and partial view of the ocean - perfect for sunbathing, grilling and entertaining.

Nature abounds - Deer on the hillside and singing birds everywhere. You can hear the ocean from the house and feel the ocean breeze. The house is naturally wind-protected so reading and sunbathing on the decks is great. It's a short easy walk (about 3 minutes) to the beach, cafe, general store and post office. You can walk the beach all the way to Tomales Bay and dogs are allowed on the beach.

Keywords: Beach, House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
mary spire (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About mary spire

'Hawks Hollow', home of a musician, artist and therapist, is a relaxing and peaceful place to be. The house is clean, comfortable and ideal for any occasion.

mary spire purchased this house in 2001

Why mary spire chose North Coast California

I love nature, the sea, ocean breezes.

My house is a short walk to the beach where I can take my 2 labs to run and play. Dogs are allowed off leash, if they are under your control. I find it very invigorating and yet soothing to stay here- very relaxing and enjoyable.

What makes this house unique

The quiet of the area is especially important to me- I am free to relax, think, create and have quality down time- no pressures from the outside world. It's an oasis!

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house is really wonderful: fully equipped kitchen, comfortable furnishings, short walk to the beach. With the open living/dining room set up, we could entertain our guests while we prepared our meals. The smell and sounds of the ocean were an added bonus. Waking up to the sounds of the ocean, seagulls and other birds and watching a family of deer wander around on the property were amazing! - and added to the overall ambience of this house. I highly recommend this place for a weekend get away or a longer visit.



Steven
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)
Beautiful, open space house , includes all amenities, 3 min walk to the beach
average rating of 4.48 based on 26 reviews
California
5

Enjoyable, Pleasant, Peaceful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

'Hawks Hollow' is such a wonderful place! You get to see plenty of wildlife such as turkeys, deer, wildcats, and cows. You can walk to the beach in approx. 10 min. The beach house was clean and well maintained. Love that the kitchen had what we needed for cooking. We would definitely like to stay at this beach house again. : )

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were great guests! book in advance for the upcoming holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

not up to par

  • 5 of 5

We had a good time at Dillon beach, but the ad for the house is miss leading. Beach is great. The house was not up to the ad description. House had no ocean view, smelled very musty that we had to get air freshener for this and had a broken sliding screen in the bedroom. Screen was old and rusty, so probably has been that way awhile. So, I do not think this house was recently updated. I expect to get my full damage refund, because we left the place better than when we came. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for the info about the sliding door. I shall have it replaced next week. By the way, in case you didn't know- The cleaning service reported, after you left:" Someone puked all over the bedding in the master bedroom. Yuck.The garbage and recycling was over flowing with the wrong things in the wrong cans." Not OK. I keep the house in excellent condition- it is always clean and ready for guests. I had to pay extra to have all the linen washed after you left. Please re-read the rental agreement which outlines my guest policy, including the garbage and recycle cans.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
40 west of Houston, TX
5

GREAT beach getaway!

  • 5 of 5

A long time friend and I spent a week at this cottage. It was quiet, comfortable, clean, and well stocked. The beds were great!!! The pictures tell the story - nothing hidden or making for a surprise. The kitchen is well stocked w/utensils and necessities. I liked the fact that a key wasn't necessary - the door comes equipped w/a code. Parking by the front door was great for unloading and loading. The cable TV worked just fine.

Of course, the weather was, for the most part, cloudy and foggy. This is natural during the summer when the temperatures inland are high. I found it a wonderful relief! The house is situated at the beginning of a lovely neighborhood, making for a nice walk up and down. It is close to the beach, very walkable. If you choose to drive instead, the parking is $8 per day. The beach is beautiful, pup-friendly, and not too crowded. One can walk quite a way in both directions.

It was nice seeing groups of deer close by, as well as wild turkeys. As far as restaurants, we spent a fair time driving to other close-by towns. If in Dillon beach, go to the Parkside Café - they serve delicious fresh seafood! In Sonoma, we ate twice at the Plaza Bistro - absolutely yummy! Don't bother w/Lucas' Wharf in Bodega Bay - very ordinary. I would also suggest that one stock up on food - there is no large grocery nearby.

I would definitely come here again, should I be in the area - the cottage is a winner!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive review. I appreciate that you also emailed me directly to let me know details about your experience staying at my house for a week.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice stay

  • 4 of 5

The house was a nice place for our family of four to stay while at Dillon Beach. Loved the open area upstairs with the kitchen and living room. Our favorite moments were playing board games there. The kitchen had lots of counter space which was great for cooking. It's a nice walk to the beach. (Unfortunately the day we were there the weather was very foggy and a little too cold and windy).

A few things seemed a little old and in need of repair. The stubborn screen doors (upstairs and downstairs) were extremely difficult to slide open/close which was a little frustrating when we wanted to go in and out. Also it would've been nice to have an enclosed backyard for our dogs. And to repair the hole in the fence in the back. Our dog escaped through there to the backyard neighbor's. Also an electrical outlet downstairs (large bedroom) was loose and I think had a chipped plate. Extra towel racks in the bathroom would be helpful too.

Overall we had a good getaway.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the house and had a great stay. And thanks for the heads up about a hole in backyard fence! Didn't know about that. I appreciate when guests let me know about things that need attention. The screen door has been replace since your stay there- with all of that salt sea air they need to be replaced often. Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Small but nice.

  • 4 of 5

Loved the house..wild life all around

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, I love the wild life- deer, turkeys, birds of all kinds- with hawks flying overhead. And I always look forward to the quiet and peaceful surroundings- with the added bonus of the sea breezes and sound of the ocean.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

CLEAN BUT SMALLER THAN YOU THINK

  • 3 of 5

The pictures are a bit misleading for this property. There are 2 bedrooms on the floor you walk in on in addition to the bathroom. THen upstairs you have the living and kitchen area. It was very clean and comfortable but we were a group of 6 people so 2 had to sleep in the living room and were always woken up earlier than they wanted because someone wanted to get in the kitchen. I

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry that you were disappointed: The listing clearly states that it is a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom house, with a sleeper sofa in living area available for extra guests. The 2 bedrooms and bathroom are on the entry level and the living/ dining/kitchen area is upstairs. The photos reflect that.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Car: recommended

There are many things to do in and around Dillon-the obvious one is walking on the two mile, long sandy beach( dogs allowed off leash). I especially enjoy hiking at Point Reyes National Seashore and swimming in the ocean at Dillon Beach( wet suit recommended). Another fun thing to do is to hang out in the town of Tomales ( 4 miles east of Dillon) where you will find a nice antique store, a general store, post office and many good places to eat. I especially enjoy and recommend K&A Take Away on Dillon Beach road and the Tomales Deli And Café on Highway 1. The oldest saloon in California is the William Tell Saloon: it is a friendly place where many locals go to drink and eat- it has a full bar and excellent food, including oysters- in the restaurant.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dillon Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 10.0%

House (2 Bedrooms) House has 1 bathroom with walk-in shower/tub. bathroom. House sleeps 6 -one queen bed, one standard and a double size sofa sleeper bed. No more than 6 guests. Parking on street, in front of the house.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dillon Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom #2 - 1 double
  • Queen size Beds (1) Master Bedroom - sleeps 2; Double Beds (1) Second Bedroom - Sleeps 2; Deluxe sofa bed- sleeps 2- in living room area.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers