check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Private Oasis & Stunning Ocean View

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1

Description

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Enjoy spectacular panoramic ocean views in your home away from home in this large, 700 sq ft guest house complete with private covered patio and pool located in one of Kona’s most exclusive neighborhoods.

Turn this home away from home into an unforgettable vacation. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from every room. Unwind at the pool overlooking the ocean, or enjoy barbecuing on your own private covered patio while enjoying killer sunsets. The kitchen is fully equipped with coffee maker, French press, toaster, blender, microwave, and rice cooker along with everything else to enjoy meals on your private patio or indoors with a view. Cool travertine floors, marble top vanity, and granite counter tops are just some of the details of this quiet and clean guest house. We provide AC in the bedroom during the summer months of July, August, and September.

Going to the beach? The guesthouse comes complete with beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach towels, cooler, two boogie boards, snorkel equipment.

Make sure to make use of the free 100/Mb WI-Fi, 50" 4K HDTV, washer & dryer, safe, and iPod speaker dock.

This vacation rental comprises the first floor of a beautiful two-story luxury home in one of Kona’s most exclusive neighborhoods. It is very private as it is not connected to the top floor by stairs or a door…it even has its own private driveway. As an owner operated vacation rental, we take pride in making sure the unit is spotless before your arrival. The pool is located off to the side of the home and it is reserved only for our guest.

We are one of Kona’s top vacation rentals with over 70 five star reviews.

Contact us for a complimentary copy of our guidebook: THE BIG ISLAND, Hawaii’s Adventure Guide.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only

Owner
Amy & Paul Blessington
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Owner

About Amy & Paul Blessington

Authors of THE BIG ISLAND Hawaii's Essential Adventure Guide

Amy & Paul Blessington purchased this house in 2009

Why Amy & Paul Blessington chose Kona Coast

Finding the perfect location in Kona is not so easy. You want to have great ocean views in a quiet neighborhood away from the highway, while still being minutes away from the beach, restaurants and shopping. The Registration ID# for this property is: GE-162-723-4304-02

What makes this house unique

Less than 10 minutes away is Kahalu’u beach. Kahalu’u is widely regarded as one of the top snorkeling spots in all of Hawaii. The variety and quantity of tropical fish at Kahalu’u is fantastic. For those first getting used to snorkeling, the private pool is a safe and easy way to get used to wearing a mask and snorkel. The location is also close to many other beautiful beaches, restaurants and shops. Choose among a wide variety of ocean and outdoor activities or simply just relax on the patio enjoying an intense ocean sunset.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for a very relaxing 2 weeks. The place has been just what we needed. We're really going to miss the swimming pool & Beautiful view. Hope to see you again.



Mahalo!
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(79 traveler reviews)

Private Oasis & Stunning Ocean View
average rating of 4.924051 based on 80 reviews
Fairport, NY
4

Comfortable Retreat

  • 4 of 5

We stayed 3 nights in this comfortable and convenient home. The rental is in the lower level of the owner's home, in a quiet and what seemed to be a very safe neighborhood. The rental was clean and well appointed. We were pleased with amenities including a small but functional kitchen, generous bathroom, comfortable family room and bedroom, washer/dryer, and several ceiling fans to keep things dry. We were not thrilled with the electric grill; had we been staying longer, we would have been disappointed. Excellent beach gear was appreciated!

Paul and Amy made the rental process very simple. We valued the privacy we were given, but the only thing we would change, would be to have the opportunity to meet the owners. Given that we were actually staying in someone's house, while they are home, we both felt as if we would have been more comfortable if we had met the owners at check in.

The price for this spotless, comfortable home is very reasonable. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this rental to family and friends.

Yes, the view is truly BEAUTIFUL.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love sharing our passion of the Big Island so much, we even wrote a guidebook, THE BIG ISLAND, Hawaii’s Essential Adventure Guide, an interactive GPS guide to all the best spots on the island that is free for everyone. We also respect our guest privacy and while we go out of our way to answer any questions in person, we do so by the request of our guest. Since the Delonghi electric grill is not a hit, we have replaced it with a traditional gas grill. Aloha, Paul & Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, CA
5

Dreaming of our favorite place...

  • 5 of 5

It's late October and it's only been 4 months since my husband & I spent a week in June 2016 at this rental, for the fourth year in a row - and we cannot wait for our return #5 in 2017 (already booked!) I don't exaggerate when I say that this special place - from the first visit, and continuing - feels like your own when you stay there. Paul and Amy are both amazing, conscientious, and interesting people who truly "get" how important it is for mainlanders to have a special place to get their "Hawaii on." And they work hard to create that for every guest. From the ease of the renting process, they do all they can to avoid creating stress while planning for your vacation; to the comforts of the rental itself - it's the perfect spot for two.

One of the exquisite amenities of staying here is not only the stunning view (pics are accurate), but the quietness filled with birdsong. There is nothing like getting up at dawn to catch the moonset as pink & mauve colors paint the sky and ocean while the birds are beginning to sing, as your coffee perks a new pot and you just stand outside pinching yourself. The elevation of the rental is in a sweet spot, in our opinion. Granted weather is weather, and things can change on the Hualalai Mountain from hour to hour - and we have experienced everything from torrential downpours (exciting) to sunny hot days that would bake any frigid snowbird's bones. Yet, that's Hawaii!

Our first two years we took off nearly every day to get to our adventures - the rental's location being perfect. And then we couldn't wait to get back and have drinks and pupus at sunset. You will take about 800 sunset pictures. You will. Then, the last couple of years we just missed this rental too much while we were out and just craved the quiet days of lounging by the pool ALL DAY. What a way to recharge in your own way! Paul and Amy let you feel as if it is YOUR pool, as for the first three years of staying we never saw them - but were always available on the phone if we needed anything.

We've since recommended this rental to friends (two couples) & they also loved this spot. The bed is super comfortable, the wifi reliable, the bathroom roomy, generous, and stylish, and the kitchen compact yet fully efficient. I love the barstool table to maximize the view, too. So I could go on and on, just because thinking about it takes me there. But we still have to wait 8 months to really be back. But maybe you don't!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Lovely, private retreat on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5

We spent three weeks here in mid-August through Labor Day. This place was truly outstanding! We have been coming to Hawaii for many years, and this by far was our favorite trip. The property is very well-maintained with wonderful amenities. It is located in an exclusive neighborhood—very quiet, safe, and secluded. The views from the lanai were awesome! We used the pool almost daily, and it was so nice having our own private drive. Amy and Paul are delightful people who truly care about their guests, and it shows in their attention to detail. They were very easy to work with and quick to respond to any e-mails. Last, but not least, we found Paul’s book on The Big Island (Hawaii’s Essential Adventure Guide 2016) to be invaluable. We used it almost daily. Thank you Amy, Paul, and Cola for making our stay so very special! The Craters, Raleigh, NC

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Jose, CA
3

Beautiful, but flawed amenities

  • 3 of 5

This is a beautiful property, as the photographs on the listing accurately reflect. It has a commanding view and is located in a quiet, upscale neighborhood. The unit itself is compact, and has everything you need, perhaps with the exception of a dishwasher. It was immaculately clean.

Sadly, we found the two amenities most important to us to be lacking. The swimming pool, the most important reason we chose this property over others, was so cold, despite the advertised solar heating, that we could not use it. On the first full day we were there, we asked if the heat could be turned up, and were told they would see if they could turn it up a few degrees. This either never happened or was unsuccessful, because the pool remained very cold.

Second, when we arrived, we learned that the owners have replaced the gas barbecue with a table top electric unit, reportedly because they were having problems with bugs and geckos getting into the barbecue. This very small unit, which requires you to put water in a drip pan, is a very poor excuse for a barbecue, something that was important to us. We used it twice, each time with poor results, once with fish and once with beef. The water in the drip pan ends up giving things cooked on the unit a sort of a poached result, which does not work well, especially with meat.

The owners note in their listing that they provide an air conditioner for July, August, and September, so we were not surprised that nothing was made available while we were there. However, we were there in early October, and several days were quite hot and humid. They might want to rethink having AC available only during the months they have chosen.

We booked this unit for nine days, but left after six and went elsewhere. We were unhappy enough to lose, unfortunately, the cost of three days we had paid for. Leaving early in this manner is something we have never done before, and we have travelled extensively. In this case, it was worth it.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When it comes to pool temperature, what is too warm for some is not warm enough for others. Typically pool temperatures are set between 77 and 82 degrees; our solar heated pool averages from 82 degrees to 86 degrees. When you mentioned the pool was too cool, I checked the pool temperature: it was 85 degrees. All the same, I increased the solar heater time from 4.5 hours to 5.5 hours. We strive to make our guest as comfortable as possible. If we knew you were not happy with the electric barbecue, we could have replaced it with a gas barbecue. After seven years of countless satisfied guests, and 77 five star reviews, you are the first guest that was not completely happy with your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Stunning views and a comfortable environment.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at here and the views are truly incredible! It was convenient with our own parking spot, and we loved the personalized signs they had upon our arrival. The living area was comfortable and the food they left in the fridge for breakfast made it very covenient. Overall they were very helpful and we have nothing negative to say.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, private retreat from reality

  • 5 of 5

This property is exceptionally well-maintained with wonderful amenities. The beach gear was a great plus and the air conditioning in the bedroom was perfect to help us nod off to sleep. It is wonderfully secluded but with quick access to a main highway. The view is brilliant and the sunsets stunning. Five isn't enough stars.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Hapuna Beach Park
Pu‘uhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park
Kona Town Tavern
Waipio Valley Lookout
South Point
Mauna Kea Beach
Hapuna Beach
Waipio Valley
Manta Ray Experience
Laaloa Beach Park
Honokohau Marina & Small Boat Harbor
Pololu Valley
Kailua Pier
Lava Tube Cave
Splasher's Grill
Sima-Ichi Sushi
Lemongrass Bistro
Nearest Airport
11.9 Miles
Keahole-Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4.3 Miles
Sam Choy's Kai Lanai
Nearest Golf
4.8 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1.8 Miles
La Bourgogne French Restaurant
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Lymans Surf Spot
Car: necessary

Soak in the views while being minutes away from some of the best snorkeling, surfing and bogie boarding beaches in Hawaii.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$140
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 724 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach cooler, beach bag, beach umbrella, beach chairs, beach towels.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties