check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alan Beckham

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Gulf Shores Plantation -- A Family Vacation Resort

63 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Gulf Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description

1BR/1BA Private Bdrm, Sleeper Sofa, Bunks, Sleeps 4

>>> SPECIAL <<<

July 14-16, Total $280. Must contact owner.

<>

Affordable Family Vacation Resort. This inviting one Bedroom condominium provides peaceful views of the Gulf of Mexico. The balcony has a direct view of the Gulf allowing you to watch the wave from the comfort of your cozy living area and as far back as the hallway. Dinette is beside the side window allowing you enjoy two views of God’s creation.

Enjoy your morning brew or outdoor meals on your private balcony. Table and chairs provided.

Private bedroom and sleeper sofa have extra thick queen-size mattresses. Kids have the option of sleeping on a bunk bed recessed in the hallway. Even has a curtain so they can enjoy a hideaway or just want some privacy. The top bunk can also be used to store your items

This condo has been tastefully decorated and furnished in a lighthouse theme representing “He is the Light.” Yes there are Christian symbols in the condo but only recognizable by those familiar with the Word. Items such as fishing net, rainbow, eagle, lighthouse, etc

Your family will enjoy the convenience of an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room all in the same building as your condo. We have SEVEN pools to choose. The outdoor Aquatic Center is designed for all ages that enjoy the water.

A short stroll takes you to the resort’s private beach with over 2,000 feet of white sand accompanied by waves from the Gulf of Mexico. Spectacular sunrises and sunsets provide backdrops for an unforgettable vacation. Come create memories that will last a lifetime.

<> No stopping to a rental agency to get a key. Late arrivals are no problem. The gated security is available 24/7. When you register your vehicle a security guard will direct you to your condo.

After paid in full you will be provided a code that you can change to a personal number everyone will know. Any 3-6 digit number can be used as long as the previous is not the same.

<> 2 night rentals between existing rentals are accepted and discounted. I must personally request payment for a 2 night rental else the website will require a 3 night minimum.

<> Inquire directly, not through website, to inquire if discounts are available.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Alan Beckham (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Alan Beckham

Alan -- born and raised in Birmingham, AL then moved to Smoke Rise, AL. Son of Neal & Gaynell Beckham. Met and married Denise. We built a home and have lived in Cullman for over 20 years.

Denise -- born and raised in Cullman, AL. Daughter of Coleman & Willodene Johnson

Alan Beckham purchased this condo in 2002

Why Alan Beckham chose Alabama Gulf Coast

While staying in a condominium in Orange Beach my daughter (then 10) was very uncomfortable with the busy highway next to the sidewalk. As she squeezed my hand I knew then this was no place for my family. We were lead to the Gulf Shores Plantation with 19 acres of private manicured landscape.

The seclusion of this resort has been the choice location to bless our pastors and other ministers we know. It's also a great place for spiritual retreats and time to refresh.

What makes this condo unique

When we entered the condo for the first time we were in awe of the view.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for the pleasure of staying at your condo! It was wonderful as always. We enjoy renting from you and will be in touch for the next vacation I am sure! Thanks again

Sent from my iPhone
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.8
based on 63 traveler reviews

Gulf Shores Plantation -- A Family Vacation Resort
average rating of 4.7936506 based on 66 reviews
4

Small but cozy. Nice weekend getaway.

  • 4 of 5

Condo was smaller than we probably needed with two adults and two teens. However, it met our needs for a long weekend stay. Slight problem upon arrival with ants but owner was very helpful and had someone at the condo spraying within a half hour. Easy access to the beach and very quiet. Pools were nice and clean. Far enough away from town to get out of the hustle and bustle, but close enough to get there easily.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just right for our family!

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean, well equipped and a great size and location for our family of three. My husband has a disability and he was able to maneuver fairly easily. Excellent communication from the property owner.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great resort - condo needs repair

  • 2 of 5

We (mid-40s couple) stayed this condo for three nights in mid-July. We loved the Gulf Shores Plantation resort. We found the beach was great and the grounds were very clean. I didn't see a bee or a piece of garbage on the ground anywhere on the resort. Impressive considering how many people were around during the busy summer season. The resort itself earns 5 stars.

Unfortunately, I can't say we were impressed with this condo. We had looked at all the pictures and I had read every one of the 59 reviews so we weren't expecting a fancy place. We found the place was clean so the cleaners had done their job but the condo is in need of some serious repair.

Most importantly, there are some very serious safety concerns. There is an extension cord running under the tile in the bedroom which can't possibly be up to code and it seems like a fire hazard. The stove looked so old and had crooked burners that I didn't even consider cooking on it. The bathroom is in need of repair as well. The top of the cold water faucet on the sink kept popping off (which I had read about in an earlier review), a light cover is missing on the vanity lights and we had to turn the water off mid-shower to allow the water to drain. Scratches had been painted over with mismatched paint and repairs weren't made to the wall when a mirror was replaced. It honestly looked like a bad gas station restroom. Like I said, we weren't expecting a fancy place at all but we were expecting a place in working order.

The starting supply of towels, soap and even toilet paper (1 small roll) is minimal so come prepared. We would have liked to sweep the inevitable sand out but could not find a broom. I understand this is a bring-your-own place but I don't think it's reasonable to expect people to bring their own broom.

My parents have their winter place on VRBO when they aren't there so I understand the concept of VRBO and that is not a hotel but, given the safety concerns and run-down condition of this property, I couldn't possibly recommend this condo to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great 👍🏻

  • 5 of 5

Great place 👍🏻

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for Two!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a week and didn't want to leave! Very clean and had a great ocean view. If you want to be away from the loud, busy part of Gulf Shores this is a great place for you. Beach wasn't crowded at all. However, it's about a 20 minute drive to get from the condo to all the restaurants in Gulf Shores, but that didn't bother us.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful View!

  • 4 of 5

We had such a great time! Lots of things to do. Five pools! 2 are indoors in case you burn at somepoint! The indoor pools are really well ventilated and well maintained. The indoor dome pool is chlorine and the indoor one near the gaurd shack is salt water. You also can rent a jet ski, parasail, or ride a banana boat! There is a nearby very clean water park and fishing. I think you have to bring your own pole for that though. We did not spend much time in the room but to eat and sleep. It did not matter that this room does need very minor updating because the view was soooo worth the room. Only writing this next part for the owners. The remotes in your condo need replacing not new batteries. You type in the numbers of the station you want in the bedroom and it does not work. Also, I think the buttons maybe damaged internally as it is very difficult push the up and down channel button for both remotes. The bathroom needs new faucets and a new tub.The cold faucet in the bath sink keeps popping out. Also, needs to ditch the popcorn ceiling thats peeling in a couple spots. Overall, thank you for allowing us to stay in your condo! We have wonderful memories to treasure forever!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Foley Airport
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Dalphin Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
Kivia Dunes, #1 AL golf course, is next door
Nearest Motorway
Hwy 180 is outside of resort driveway
Nearest Beach
On site
Car: recommended

The Gulf Shores Plantation Resort is located 12.5 miles from Gulf Shores, 8 miles from Fort Morgan. Onsite or Nearby: Swimming pools (one indoor pool & 6 outdoor pools), jacuzzi, sauna, steam Room, seven lighted tennis courts, seven lighted basketball courts, cabana, game Room, volleyball, shuffleboard, horseshoe, barbecue grills, picnic area, putting green, laundry facilities, fishing, swimming, walking distance to Kiva Dunes Championship Golf Course (The #1 rated golf course in Alabama.

Other Activities: historical site

Golf: Walking distance to Kiva Dunes Golf Course. Rated # 1 in Alabama and # 68 in USA

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn
Aug 15 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$109
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$109
$659
 
 
Spring (early)
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$109
 
 
Spring (late)
Apr 28 2017 - May 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$119
 
 
Summer (early)
May 19 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$159
 
 
Independence
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$169
 
 
Summer (mid)
Jul 10 2017 - Jul 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$159
 
 
Summer (late)
Jul 31 2017 - Aug 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
Autumn
Aug 14 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$109
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$129
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $84
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 8.5%

Condo door lock may not activate until check-in time. However you may enjoy the private beach and any of the many resort amenities except for the indoor pool. Access key to this pool is located inside condo. We do have six(6) outdoor pools.
Rates subject to change until reservation is convirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Elevator
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Queen size
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper Sofa (queen)
    Hallway - 2 child bed , Recessed Bunkbeds
  • Queen size bed has built in drawers. Bedroom has closet and 12 drawers to accommodate your storage needs.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck Furniture
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • In Ground Pool
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
In condo: phone (with voice mail), central air, two cable TVs, VCR, CD/tape player, linens & pillows provided, kitchen equipped with stove, refrigerator w/ice maker, microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, & utensils. No smoking environment.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers