Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxury Lakefront 2800 Sq/ft Home near Gaylord/Alpena - aka, Papa Bear

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Luxury Lakefront Home 4BR, 3 Bathrooms, Free wireless Internet (up to 5 users)

Luxury 2800 sq/ft home with a workout room, private dock, 62 inch HDTV, DVD collection, wood circular stairs down to the media room. Third bathroom, and workout room (17 feet by 20 feet) - which can sleep two additional people - are also located on the lower level.

This Non-Smoking home has lots of windows, vaulted wood ceilings, skylights, and an expansive view looking south at the lake and adjoining state land. It's a runner's and hiker's paradise - take the 'Forrest Gump Challenge' and claim a bottle of wine from the house collection if you can master it. Pontoon boat is available for a nominal fee (see below) and 3 Kayak's are included with the rental on this 'no-wake' lake, i.e., no Jet Ski's or fast boats.

Next to the 7000 acre Mackinaw State Park on Crooked Lake. Lake is over one and a half miles long with a beach at the far end. Great fishing.

Three other buildings are also located on the one acre lot including a two and a half car garage, a dog kennel, and a work shop. Also, a concrete half-court basketball area at the back of the garage.

Visit 3 very quaint towns in the area and close to all major Northern Michigan attractions, but without all the traffic!

As other renters have noted 'the pictures don't do it justice!' and 'almost too special to rent out!' Send an e-mail with your mailing address to receive a free CD with more pictures and information.

The house is limited to no more than 10 people.

Amenities and Activities: Amenities: 1. Three Kayaks included with rental.

2. Pontoon boat available for $500 a week, or $150 a weekend.

3. Washer and dryer.

4. HDTV 62' TV with Bose surround sound system.

5. Basketball court.

6. Jacuzzi tub in Master bathroom.

7. Exercise room.

8. Lakeside firepit.

9. Includes all linens, silverware, and pots & pans.

10. Three Satellite TV's including HBO.

Activities: Use the Kayaks to explore the various lakes and rivers in the area. Exercise room with a Trendmill, Nordic Track, heavy bag and weights. Four Bicycles are also included with the rental. Close to many great golf courses including the Garland Golf Resort and Elk Ridge. Elk Viewing tours nearby and hundreds of miles of hiking/snowmobile trails.

Area: Montmorency County has over 135,000 acres of public land and is the headwaters for the Great Thunder Bay River. Atlanta is the Elk capital of Michigan and has the largest herd of Elk east of the Mississippi - more than 800.

The house is 1 mile from Atlanta, 35 miles from Gaylord, and 35 miles to Alpena. MacKinaw Island is 1:15 hr/min north of the house.

More Details

Marc Edwards
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 4, 2017


Atlanta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master bedroom suite has a jet tub and free standing shower. The two other bathrooms have free standing showers. All shower have full soap and shampoo dispensers.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Suite - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Very romantic, large suite, with beautiful views of the Lake as you sit high on a hill among the Northern Michigan White Pines.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • swimming
Small dogs and cats may be allowed for a $150 additional weekly fee. Large dog are only allowed in the outdoor kennel which has two sleeping quarters and two dog runs. Please e-mail or call for more details.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Luxury Lakefront 2800 Sq/ft Home near Gaylord/Alpena - aka, Papa Bear
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews

Relaxing quiet weekend

  • 5 of 5

We have had the opportunity to stay at a few of Marc's rentals. Papa bear is a spacious comfortable home. We enjoyed our weekend at Papa bear and would recommend it to anyone looking in the Atlanta area. The new deck is beautiful. We enjoyed the large yard and fishing from the dock. Always enjoy hearing the loons.

Marc is very accommodating and makes sure that his guests have whatever is necessary for them to enjoy their stay. Thank you for having us.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback guys! Each house is very unique and you have stayed in the largest {Papa Bear) and the smallest (Baby Bear), so you have a unique perspective. The new Trex's deck on Papa Bear has two different levels so you get a great view from either deck. Now all 4 houses have awesome decks, all built in and around trees, so there's no lack of a good view. Guest's always seem to decompress up there from the rat race of urban America. My two cents! Marc Edwards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grosse Pointe Park

Relaxing, fun time on the lake!

  • 5 of 5

Marc was very welcoming and informative upon our arrival to Papa Bear. We utilized the pontoon and little fishing boats and had an awesome time. The hot tub was a great addition to our stay! The loons were so neat to see and hear and the lake was so peaceful. Marc even had a high chair for our baby to use! We would love to come back to this lovely property!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What makes that location special is the beauty of the lake and the area. The Loons, Bald Eagles, Bears and fishing add to the nice accommodations in which to view them. I served for over 20 years on the Oakland Twp Board, and our seal motto was "Curamus Terram" which is Latin for Caretakers of the Earth. I look at my role as being just the Caretaker for other generations. You guys were awesome guests and I hope you can come back to enjoy any of my 4 houses up there. Maybe Clear Lake next time? In any case, thanks for the kind review! Best Regards! Marc Edwards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

House is large with plenty of amenities. Every year we come back for the local Sno*Drift rally and it feels like home.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful family retreat

  • 5 of 5

We live in Northwest Kansas and booked this cabin to get together with our kids and grandkids and this was a central location for everyone. We are so glad we did, the house was clean and well kept. The views from the house were wonderful and the lake was quiet and clean.... We fished, kayaked, went to the beach with the grandkids, took a day trip to Mackinac Island....just overall it was a great time.....the whole transaction went smooth and Marc was helpful with any questions we had...I would definitely stay here again...Great family memories....

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
shelby township

Amazing family getaway

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at papa bear for 4 days. My husband turned 30 and thought it would be nice to celebrate with our families. The cabin was nice, plenty of space to accompdate all of us. The lake view from the deck was amazing . We really enjoyed nighs around the fire overseeing the lake. The owner, Marc was very understanding when it came to our little furry friend( really hard to find a cabin that is pet friendly). Unfortunatly, the pantoon was not available (was not working) for out stay there, but we took full advantage of the 2 kayaks. The water was nice and wam and we swam a lot. The bedrooms were large enough where we could all fit. Our family had the BEST vacation ever and we reslly enjoyed the property. We eill definetly come back.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southgate, Mi

Poor, at best

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at Papa Bear July 8, 2016 around 4pm. Our property tour came to a stop when I stepped on a soaked rug in flooded basement bathroom. We immediately notified the owner who sent his helper to look. We left so he could fix it. Went to dinner at Elk cafe (good food) & grocery shopped before returning around 8pm. Unfortunately, the flooded bathroom was still not fixed or cleaned. We continued our tour and realized the walls, door handles, sinks & counter tops were FILTHY. Luckily, I packed bleach wipes, so I could clean. The closets & drawers had items in them as if someone lives there full time. The fringe & freezer had expired food, ceiling fans were dangling, lots of exposed electrical sockets all over the house, duct tape holding a headboard together & used cover holes. The AC is NOT central air. There are a few window AC units, but didn't the use them due to the dirt. There are several missing screens and broken windows that wouldn't open. The pontoon boat was a deck boat with lawn chairs and the dock was sinking in the water. We finally left at midnight because 2 mice were in the living room.

Even though it was midnight, we immediately called the owner owner, Marc, but his voice mail wasn't set up. We emailed him to call asap. He finally called later the next day after we left. We discussed all the reasons for leaving. He was aware of the problems, including the mice, but said he set traps and the pontoon was up to code! He kept our deposit, but refunded the rest of the payment.

This "home"is completely unsanitary, unacceptable and unsafe -especially for a 3mo baby, 3 & 5 yr old kids. I would NOT recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This client received a full refund and frankly most of her complaints were petty and designed to get a refund. Several other rental house guests at the other 2 houses next door checked it out and had no idea of what she was talking about. She stayed at the house in 2004 and had no complaints. She, and all guest, received a Summer update of any possible issues and she failed to read it, including the that the house didn't have central air, but did have room air conditioners - again she stay there in 2004. I suspect the that the 18 bottles of empty beers that they left behind after 6 hours may have has something to do with their attitude. Funny that the people that left early that day left a review entitled "Dream Vacation" with the comment "It was clean and well maintained". Marc Edwards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Montmorency County has over 130,000 acres of State land - more than 60% of the county. Visit 3 very quaint towns nearby - Atlanta, Hillman, and Lewiston. Many trails, lakes, and rivers to explore! Largest herd of Elk east of the Mississippi.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Pet Fee $100

$500 deposit require to hold dates.
Minimum 4 week cancellation notice required prior to dates

Year Round $1800/week (7 nights with one night free) or $300 per night
Holidays $300 per night
Since the cottage next door was recently purchase, up to 15 people can share both houses. Great for family reunions and a great discount if both houses are rented together! Two docks, two firepits, and both houses have HDTVs (read, awesome picture!) with HBO.
Additional rental cottage next door and a great discount when both are rented.
See other Atlanta listing 316149.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.