check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Greg Smith

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Last Minute-October 22-29 - $890! November Weekly - $850! Thanksgvng 19-26-$950

30 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Plantation House Rental Photos and Description

Nice,Cozy Home, Private Beaches, Bob Sikes cut, WIFI, Great Rate and more...

The Palms is the vacation Florida beach house with a panoramic view of Gulf of Mexico, private white beaches and paved Bike Path. Bob Sykes Cut (One Of The Best Fishing spots) is minutes away from the house.

The Palms is located in The Plantation, 24/7 gated community, which hosts a new, large swimming pool.

Upstairs kitchen, dinning room, living area, two furnished decks and screened porch provide a great place to enjoy a view of the Gulf. The large kitchen is completely furnished with dishes, microwave, grill, ice maker, pans, coffee maker, blender, etc. You can enjoy the view of Gulf while preparing your meal. The Bay side screened porch provides a great place to enjoy any evening.

Four bedrooms with queen size beds and a second living area are downstairs. Please take a look at our video at the bottom of this page.

The Palms is pet friendly home.

The Island and The Palms, all of the pleasures of the good life will be yours here

A second living area is downstairs and is also equipped with a cable TV/VCR.

The downstairs has four large bedrooms (2 of which are masters), 2 baths, and the living area. Each bedroom is provided with a queen size bed. Two bedrooms have TVs, and one bedroom has a PC computer with Microsoft Office XP and connection to the Internet.

Our guests have easy access to the pools and tennis courts provided by the Plantations. We have several bikes, beach chairs and beach toys in our storage. You are welcome to use them when you stay in our house. The natural beauty that surrounds The Palms Retreat offers all sorts of entertainment: Enjoy watching the birds during the day with binoculars. We provide a handbook so that even the beginning bird watcher can learn about birds. Also watch the planets and stars with our telescope in the evening.

An early morning stroll at the beach is almost a guarantee to see dolphins put on show for you in the Gulf. It's not uncommon to see them swim up as close as 150 feet to the shore, and you will certainly be impressed by their power. The sidewalks in the neighborhood offer a great opportunity to jog, bike, roller blade, or walk. The island is also a great place to catch up on your fishing, either from a boat or the coast. We are located a 5 minute walk along the beach from the rocky canal at the Northwest end of the island that is known as a prime fishing spot.

Please visit our home page to learn more about the house.

Amenities:4 bedrooms/3 baths, 2 master suites. Bed sizes: 4 queen, 1 sleeper sofa. Washer & dryer; fully equipped kitchen; 4 TVs, 2 VCRs, CD/radio player, computer with Internet connection. Outside hot/cold shower, fish prep area, charcoal grill.

Relax in chair of our furnished sun decks. Wonder at some of the most fabulous stargazing you may ever witness. You will enjoy a 'dark sky' that reveals magic Milky Way views. Fishermen and nature lovers adore this beautiful, natural, island setting featuring 26 miles of sand dunes, sparkling gulf waves and abundant bay waters. Park style grill and fish cleaning table provided for outdoor enjoyment. Or let the local adventure companies to take you on boating, biking or fishing adventure. You will love it.

2 furnished sun decks, 1 screened porch, bikes, beach chairs, community pool, tennis courts, and more.

You are welcome to take a look at our own site below and to learn more about our house!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Greg Smith (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 30 traveler reviews

Last Minute-October 22-29 - $890! November Weekly - $850! Thanksgvng 19-26-$950
average rating of 4.766667 based on 30 reviews
5

Perfect House for a Fabulous Ten Days on St. George Island

  • 5 of 5

Just home from a fantastic ten days staying in this terrific house. It was everything we could ask for, clean, comfortable, easy access to the beach, open airy floor plan, great decks for a Gulf view. Will definitely consider renting again!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. Hope you will come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
3

No big complaints...but not what we expected

  • 3 of 5

I don't have any big complaints, but I also can't say it was what I expected or would have chosen. Overall, it could use a few simple updates to make it much more comfortable. Big updates are needed and it just didn't have a clean feeling because it is older and dated...., but just starting with things such as new bedding and towels would make a much better impression.

The owners were great to work with, prompt in responses.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that the house did not meet your expectations and we value your input. We do not advertise our house as a new house or one with major renovations. However we maintain the house and service our appliances regularly. As an example, this year we replaced the roof, decks and replaced several minor furnishings inside the house. We do ask that complaints or problems with cleanliness be expressed shortly after check in, so we can give chance our cleaning team to correct the situation or at least know what was wrong. We take our responsibilities seriously and are always trying our best to provide our guests with comfort and a clean environment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lawrenceville, GA
5

Perfect home for our extended family!

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely and spacious home. The decks and screened porch added even more room. There were eight of us but we never felt like we were in each others way. The kitchen is well stocked for when you want to cook and the beds are comfy too. All in all it was a great experience and we are making plans to come back next year.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another great vacation at The Palms

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from the island where we spent two wonderful weeks.

Everybody in our family of eight had a great time. The weather was good, the house was comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed the multitude of birds, herons, owls, bald eagles; sugar white beaches and awesome bike trail. This is our second year on the island and at The Palms. The owners are taking good care and very accommodating. We noticed some changes since last year, such as upgraded TVs and a new carpet. We'll be back again next year.

Thank you!

N. Trangucci

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Trangucci Family: I am glad that your family had a good vacation time. We are trying to do the best for our guests. Welcome back. Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A place to return to

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful time we had here in the aptly named “Palms Retreat”, and what a great place this is!

The 2-story, 4-BR house was exactly as described in the listing. If your idea is to get away from the crowds and enjoy a stunning, never-ending beach in a beautiful setting, the Palms Retreat is your choice. Spacious enough to accommodate a multigenerational family, with two great decks, an open design, and a fully equipped kitchen, this house is perfect for a getaway from our busy schedules. We enjoyed the long walks on the beach, went swimming on Christmas, took the bikes in the shed to explore the island, and spent hours and days just relaxing. The Plantation is a private residential community, beautifully landscaped but with several large areas left wild where you can watch herons, egrets and turtles, with bike trails, tennis courts and a pool area. We spent most of our time on the beach, watching pelicans and cormorants fish or fly by. On our last day, a large school of dolphins spent hours hunting and playing right off the beach – what a show!

The house is clean and well maintained. Arrival and departure were easy, and well-prepared by Vieta. It was hard to leave this little piece of paradise, and we are sure we will be back. A friend of ours already expressed interest after we told him about our Christmas experience!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad that your family had a great time on the Island! Thank you for taking time to write this review. Welcome back!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

We'll be back

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time and vacation on the island. The Plantation, Gulf, beach and the house were great. Everybody was happy. The house has very comfortable floor plan, with 2 living areas. It was spacey for our extended family. The kitchen had everything what we needed. The distance to the beach is very short. It takes about 2-4 minutes and you are on the beach.

It was also a nice surprise that one of the best fishing in Florida is located at Bob Sikes Cut, which is about 10 minutes walking distance from the house. We spent a lot of times fishing there.

Great rental property. We had a wonderful time and we are definitely will be back.

Stayed in December 2015

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do everything that we can to make our house comfortable for our guests. We will be glad to have you back. Our repeat renters are getting 5% discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Tallahassee or Panama City Beach
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Harry A's
Nearest Golf
35 Miles
St James & Port St. Joe
Nearest Train
70 Miles
Panama City Beach & Tallahassee
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
98, 65, 300
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Blue Parrot,Harry A's,Firehouse,Eddie Teach & more
Car: necessary

You will not find high rise condominiums, congestion, or crowds. Swimming, shelling, fishing and sunning all await you here; if you want a peaceful getaway, this is the place to be. Wonderful seafood restaurants are located on the island and in nearby East Point, Apalachicola, and Carrabelle. Also, enjoy nine miles of scenic beauty in St. George Island State park located at the eastern end of the island.

Please take a look at this map. Leisure Lane is banding towards The Gulf and brings our house very close to The Gulf.

And this is where you want to be. We are also very close to Bob Sykes Cut. About 10 minutes walking on the beach. It is a very well known and one of the best fishing spot in Panhandle Florida. Only Plantation owners and their guests could fish their.

Other Activities: dining, shopping, swimming, fishing, biking, watching the birds, walking on the beach

Golf: St.James Bay

Beautiful 18 hole Golf Course, Public Welcome! 160 Laughing Gull Ln. Carabelle, St Joseph Bay Country Club

Restaurant/Bar/Ofc, Pro Shop/Poo, 700 Country Club Road, Port St. Joe, FL 32456,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Plantation House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
October
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 8 2016
4 night minimum stay
$190
$950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
October
Oct 21 2016 - Oct 29 2016
4 night minimum stay
$190
$890
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
November
Oct 30 2016 - Nov 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$180
$850
$2,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
$950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
December
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 17 2016
4 night minimum stay
$200
$950
$2,900
 
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
$1,190
$3,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
January
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$190
$990
$2,500
 
 
Winter
Jan 29 2017 - Feb 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$190
$970
$2,670
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2
Feb 26 2017 - Mar 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,130
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 1
Mar 5 2017 - Mar 11 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,290
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 2
Mar 12 2017 - Apr 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 3
Apr 2 2017 - Apr 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,560
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Apr 9 2017 - May 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Low
May 21 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,395
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 28 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,330
 
 
Summer
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,990
 
 
Summer
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,790
 
 
Summer
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,690
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 9.0%

Number of guests (adults and children older 3 years old) in the party is limited by number listed on the inquiry/Rebtal agreement. This would include all daily visiting guests. Any additional visitors must be approved in writing by owner.
Add $15 per night, for each additional guest above standard occupancy of 8 people, up to 10.
Pets are allowed only on a pre-approved basis during reservation.
Military/Repeat Renter discount - 5%, not 4th of July week; 7 nights minimum. Can not combine with Special Deals.
Rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Coouch, one person can sleep comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Household amenities include:4 TV’s, 2 VCR, 1 DVD players, washer, dryer, full kitchen including microwave, dishwasher, high chair, 2 baby gates, kitchen place settings, grill, fish cleaning area, 2 decks with great view of gulf, covered parking area, and screened bay side porch. Community amenities include: Pool, tennis courts, bike paths

Partner Offers