check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Karen Matson

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Luxury Custom 3500sf Hacienda with Private Boat on Arrowhead Lakes

18 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Arrowhead Ranch House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10,Lake and Mountain Views

You deserve this! Why stay in a normal house when you can stay in this luxury custom Hacienda actually on the water in prestigious Arrowhead Lakes? This beautiful home sits on one of the best lakefront lots on the lake and was custom designed to maximize the incredible Lake and Mountain views from your back entertaining area as well as from most of your living areas in the home. Immerse yourself in true elegant Southwest living.

Whether a family vacation or a corporate getaway retreat, the Hacienda has the space and amenities to make your stay a memorable one!

Enjoy views of the famous Arizona sunsets as they reflect off the mountains and lake from your fire pit seating or the negative edge pool and spa. Enjoy a glass of wine as you cruise the winding lake on your own private boat, conveniently docked out your back door. Set out your front door to the mountain preserve only steps away for a wonderful nature walk or hike the trails that are suited to both beginners or experienced hikers. Don't forget your water bottle! The wildlife preserve a block away is a perfect setting for those picturesque photos to remind you of your Arizona vacation. Whether you are fishing (catch and release) or simply enjoying a leisurely boat ride, sunset cruises are a must!

The large kitchen area is perfect for relaxing or sharing a meal while taking in the breathtaking views. The 'disappearing' glass doors open up the kitchen/dining area to the outdoor living area creating an outdoor living experience while relaxing inside. Enjoy the 60inch tv for your favorite sports with motorized screens to adjust the sun to your liking.

If you are mixing business with pleasure the grand dining room boasts a large custom wood table that easily seats 12 to 14 for those necessary meetings. It also makes the perfect setting for those special holiday meals and gatherings. In total there is dining seating for 20 comfortably indoors.

Easy access to Peoria Sports Complex, Westgate, the Coyotes Hockey Arena, the Arizona Cardinals Football Stadium, Lake Pleasant Marina, Scottsdale shopping, restaurants and so much more. Multiple golf courses nearby. You feel like you are secluded in your private lake and mountain enclave, when in fact you are only minutes away from everything.

Amenity Information:

All bedrooms have inviting decor and comfortable beds with luxury linens. The Master retreat has a king sized bed and ceiling to floor glass windows to take in the million dollar views. Bedroom 2 also has a King sized Bed, and Bedrooms 3 and 4 have Queen size beds. Bedroom 5 has both a Queen and Full/Double Bed. Dine outdoors and enjoy the breath taking views. There is a formal dining room with a custom made table for 12. You'll have plenty of space here to both enjoy some privacy and for big family or corporate gatherings. The electric pontoon boat is easy to manage and is stocked with life jackets. The owners live nearby and are available for assistance during your stay. Ask about the optional personal chef who can either prepare meals or provide a fun cooking lesson where you will learn how to cook easy Southwest food specialties complete with Arizona Margaritas!

Fantastic Nearby Restaurants:

Steaks/Seafood- Arrowhead Grill on Union Hills near 83rd Ave

American- The Rogue Tomato on 59th Ave (great burgers, pasta and sandwiches)

Chinese- George and Sons Asian Cuisine on Beardsley (101 freeway)

Awesome BBQ and great Sports Bar with a lot of tv screens-

Dillons (you can walk to this one) on 59th Ave

Sushi - Sakana on 59th Ave

Mexican - Popo's on 59th Ave

Italian - Pomo on 59th Ave

Additional Rate and Property Information:

*No smoking (inside) - No Pets

*Deposit required to secure reservation. Deposit is non-refundable 30 days or less prior to event.

*Cleaning Fee: $250.00 Tax: 7.89%

*Pool heating is optional at an additional cost of $250.00

*Rates subject to change for holidays and short term rentals

*Summer has a utility premium for stays longer than 21 days

*Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency (US Dollars) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner / advertiser.

*Instead of paying a $1000.00 Security Deposit a one time charge of $89.00 is added to your booking in lieu of holding your security deposit.

Keywords: 5 Bedrooms, Lake Front, Phoenix, Glendale, Hacienda, Luxury, Pontoon Boat, Close to Baseball Stadium, Minutes from Scottsdale, Easy Access to 101 Freeway, Home, House, Game Room,3 bath, heated pool, boat dock with pontoon boat. CALL FOR LAST MINUTE GETAWAY DEALS!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Karen Matson (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Karen Matson

We also live in the Arrowhead Lakes community and love the beauty and serenity of the area. We so love living here that it is hard for us to go on vacation because we feel like we live in a resort area. You will feel the same way staying in Arrowhead Lakes.

Why Karen Matson chose Glendale

To have the unique ability to live on a lake in the desert, with the incredible mountain views, makes this an ideal vacation rental area for people looking for an upscale area that is quiet, breath taking, yet so close to the 101 freeway that you are literally minutes away from all 'the fun stuff'.

What makes this house unique

Besides the breathtaking views the location on the lake affords you the ability to take leisurely boat rides and capture the sunsets on the water. Fishing is great, but 'catch and release'. It is hard to describe because this area is so unlike the rest of Phoenix, it is a true oasis in the desert.

Reviews

4.8
based on 18 traveler reviews

Luxury Custom 3500sf Hacienda with Private Boat on Arrowhead Lakes
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
5

Great property manager

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. The property manager Judy was extremely helpful and very responsive. The only item that was not right was the garage door would not work. I had to manually lift it every time. Reading the reviews it looks like it has been a recurring issue. Time for the owner to spend some $ on that. Otherwise - a solid property.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks John! We did have it repaired several times, it was time for them to simply replace the springs :) Hope to have you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little bit of paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had the opportunity to stay at the Hacienda for a week during USA Baseball 17u National Championships. There were six of us which included three dads and three 17 year old boys. The house was clean upon our arrival with an incredible view of the vanishing edge pool and lake. There were plenty of beds and lots of room for everyone to spread out during the week. Each bedroom had a television and there was even one on the patio. The boys had a great time fishing every night after the games. They caught catfish, bass and sunfish. The pontoon boat allowed them to access a couple great areas on the lake to catch a handful of fish each excursion. The pool was refreshing and clean. It was very easy working with the owners. A great time by all.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great Area Overall

  • 3 of 5

My family and I recently stayed at this home for over a week. Initially Karen was very tough to get in touch with, so be prepared to not have your questions answered right away. Once it got closer to our stay, Karen's assistant Judy got in tough with me and she was very responsive which was great.

The home itself is beautiful, however some things were broken prior to our arrival. We were staying during a record breaking week and the AC units froze. I contacted Judy right away and she had someone come out immediately to fix the issue. Unfortunately it kept happening but she kept sending someone out each time. In addition to the AC, the garage door did not work so our cars were very hot sitting out in the sun. Also, the boat would only work for a short period of time and then stall out (which we did not know until we took the boat out after dinner for a cruise). Someone came to fix it towards the end of our trip but at the point we were too scared to take it out since he mentioned some issues. There were other small things that happened throughout the time, but we made the best of it.

I just think that Karen needs to just take some time to fix everything before she books another family for vacation. The house was perfect for us, and the location is great! It was close to everything and had everything we needed. Judy was quick to respond to any concern we had throughout our stay and did everything she could to accommodate our needs.

I would recommend this place to anyone, just make sure to ask that everything is working first :)

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were heartbroken to receive your review after everything that transpired with your stay. First, you did not mention that your group was responsible for freezing the a/c unit and causing it to shut down. When the technician arrived (within hours of your call to us) he saw that you had the unit down to 60 Degrees and asked how long it had been set there. A member of your group admitted that they had turned it down to 60 degrees (in 115 degree weather)when they arrived. The tech told you that put tremendous stress on the unit and caused the coils to freeze up. It took a day and a half with multiple trips from the tech (and great expense) to get the unit functioning again. We offered to move you to another of our properties which you declined because you had already unpacked and would make do with the remaining functioning a/c unit. You took the boat out several times and then informed us it wasn't functioning. We immediately called our boat guy out (again within hours) and he inspected the boat and showed a member of your group how to properly operate the boat. These are slow moving pontoon boats, they are not built for speed. We also responded quickly to your call regarding the garage door and the garage door guy came out promptly and did adjust the door during your stay. Even though the failure of the a/c was caused by your group you requested and received a very generous refund for your stay that you said was satisfactory. That is why we were so shocked to see your review. Both I and Judy try to be very responsive to our guests questions in a prompt fashion and felt we did so with you. We can only hope that prospective guests will read all our other reviews for a better sense of the condition of our beautiful home and the responsive service we try to give all our guests. This is our first and only 3 star review and this really distressed us because it truly is not reflective of the quality and condition of our home and the level of service we try to provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

The views are spectacular. Imaging getting up in the morning and sliding your glass kitchen wall doors to the side. Your vacation home becomes open to the beautiful pool, mountains and lake. Our boys brought their Xbox and played Video games on the outdoor large screen tv. They caught catfish, bass, and coy from the dock and from the pontoon boat. We watched movies in the evening outside. The adults enjoyed a daily cruise around the lake with a quiet electric motor. Morning runs on a mountain trail that starts one block from the house. Grocery shopping only a few blocks away. This was an amazing vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay! Yes, the evening pontoon boat rides are great, so peaceful and serene! You were great guests! We hope we get the privilege of hosting you again for a future stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Loveland, Colorado
5

Great relaxing retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay. The open kitchen exceeded our expectations. The rooms were divided in such a way that all of us had privacy. The pool was perfect and the nightly boat ride we took was relaxing and peaceful. Beautiful neighborhood yet very private yard. We totally enjoyed our stay! We found our annual retreat. Looking forward to staying year after year.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sue, So very happy you enjoyed our Hacienda as much as we do! Thank you for the kind review! It was really great meeting all of you, you have such a fun family and you were great guests, thank you for taking such good care of our home! Looking forward to seeing you all next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Regina, Sask
4

Good location.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed the location of the house on the lake. The boys enjoyed the boat rides and fishing off the dock, catch and release program. We had issues with getting responses from Karen when doing the initial booking. We had asked for pictures of the fire pit and hot tub for months. Never got them, the fire is a table with a propane tank so it doesn't throw heat. The hot tub was in need of being cleaned and Karen's husband was very good to come when we called about an issue. The kitchen set up with the disappearing doors was wonderful. At a premium price we were surprised to have to buy paper towels and garbage bags. There was one bag but the garbage compactor didn't work, and the garbuerator didn't work so we did need lots of bags. There were no hangers or dressers in at least two of the bedroom so living out of the suitcase for a week. We kept waiting for someone called Judy to pop by for some of our questions, neither she or the basket ever arrived but the bottle of wine was wonderful! Overall the house is nice but could use some attention to the details that would make it a great house.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Darlene, We were so bummed to get the 4 out of 5 stars as we have only received 5 stars since we opened the Hacienda! You can rest assured we are addressing your concerns. We placed hangers in each bedroom's closet; it is possible that previous guests moved them around but we will make certain to place more. We do try to be very responsive when guests have a question. We had a same day check out the day you checked in and the pool/spa guy couldn't get there before you arrived but he did come the next morning. The trash compactor has been repaired. We do provide paper towels and trash bags so not certain why you needed to purchase them; we will gladly replenish with a phone call. Glad you enjoyed the disappearing doors, they do make it nice by combining the indoor kitchen with the outdoor entertaining space. Am happy you also enjoyed the boat rides and the fishing and of course the bottle of wine we brought over to greet you with. We hope you visit us again soon to see we took your suggestions to heart :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Arrowhead Ranch House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$475
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
4 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Christmas & New Year 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
Spring Training 2017
Feb 10 2017 - Mar 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
2017 NCAA FINAL FOUR
Mar 31 2017 - Apr 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 4 2017 - May 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pool Heating (Optional) $250
Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning Fee $250
Tax Rate 7.9%

$50.00 additional for each person above a total of 6 during October through June. $25.00 for each person above a total of 6 during July and August.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Arrowhead Ranch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Spacious Master Retreat
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 double
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Double/Full (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
Notes:
Great hiking trails just down the street. From beginning to advanced hikers, there are hiking trails in the mountain preserve behind our home to satisfy every level of hiker/walker

Partner Offers