Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Owner

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Lakefront! Lake Retreat Farm, Beautifully Furnished Home

28 Reviews
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Flathead Lake House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 15)

LAKE RETREAT FARM

You get your own 68+ FEET of FLATHEAD LAKE PRIVATE SHORELINE.

Sunday to Sunday discount $2900.00 per week. Inquire directly with owner!

Explore the lake shore in our canoe or one of the 2 paddle-boards.

This beautifully furnished vacation rental home features hard wood and tile floors laid with stunning hand knotted Persian carpets; a large outdoor deck overlooking a cherry and apple orchard, Flathead Lake and the dramatic mountain backdrop on the opposite shore. Sunsets are spectacular! Chickens are usually here on the farm (check before booking if this feature is important to you).

This Retreat Rental also includes a large kitchen with a commercial range.

Rent the owners own beautifully furnished home for a week or even a few days! This 3+ Acre Home and Orchard Lake Shore Property offers many delights and amusements.

There is over one acre of fruit trees with all kinds of fruit, in season, to graze through: cherry, apricot, peaches, nectarine, pears, plums, apples, raspberries, strawberries.

You can saunter through our private sun dappled woods, to our PRIVATE LAKE SHORE for a refreshing dip in the lake (250 yards from the house, about a 5 minute walk).

Or just FLOAT YOUR CARES AWAY bobbing lazily on the water. There are also picnic tables, chairs, BBQ, a hammock and a campfire ring at the lake shore.

Keywords: Lakefront House, Lake shore,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

We live here year around and in the summer we move out of the house. We are usually near by and can assist to insure your vacation staying with us is a pleasant experience for everyone in your group. You can visit our booth at the Whitefish Farmers Market during the summer where we sell organic fruit from our farm.(see Photo).

The Owner purchased this house in 1989

Why The Owner chose Flathead Lake

We enjoy all the different seasons as it is a change from So. Calif. where we used to live. We have good air connections here to travel conveniently. Even though we enjoy the rural living, our nearby cities have the entertainment and group activities we also enjoy (theater, music events,dancing and other clubs and groups doing may activities that we can participate in.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy swimming and boating the the summer, cross country skiing in the winter. A good hiking trail is nearby. Biking is fun in the fall when the hwy. traffic is less.

Guestbook comments from the owner

There were 9 of us. Your home is spacious and roomy, the location is convenient to everything from Glacier Park to Polson and everything in between. And of course we picnicked down on your beach several times, pit fire, bar-b-que and all. We fed your chickens, sheep and fish. For a family vacation offering something for everyone.
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 30

Reviews

4.1
based on 28 traveler reviews

Lakefront! Lake Retreat Farm, Beautifully Furnished Home
average rating of 4.142857 based on 58 reviews
5

We all loved it, and we all esteemed the host!

  • 5 of 5

In short: My group of 15 had a great time, and Scott’s accommodations exceeded our expectations.

To explain: My wife and I were recently married about 2 miles up the road at the “Cherry Creek Retreat,” and we rented this cabin for the groomsmen coupled with Jane’s place for the bridesmaids. Whereas Teresa (The owner of Jane’s place) was very upset and discouraging of the bridal party, Scott was incredibly understanding and encouraging. The place is beautifully located about a 3 minute walk from the lake in a beautiful apple orchard. It was generously stocked with both bath towels and beach towels, and an outside BBQ to grill on. There were two refrigerators, lots of beds, paddle boards, a canoe, a bonfire pit, a lot of chairs for the water, and a basketball hoop to accommodate our fun group. It was amazing! And even more importantly, Scott was amazing!

As you may have noticed, I am highlighting how cool Scott was and is. This trip has highlighted the importance of having such a host. One of my guys knocked down the screen and broke one of the small wheels that were welded onto the bottom. Scott simply said, “It gets a lot of use. Don’t worry about it. I will fix it,” and promptly removed it and fixed it without mentioning it again or penalizing our security deposit. When Scott found out it was a bachelor party, he encouraged us to both have fun and be considerate to the neighbors. He even invited us to take paddleboards out to one of the local “Full Moon” parties on the lake.

To contrast: Our other host (Teresa; next door to this rental) threatened to cancel our accommodations the day of our guests’ arrival. She did not like the thought of a wedding party, no matter how responsible or professional we were. The morning after our arrival, she went in the house uninvited, and snooped around the rental with the claim that she had laundry to do. The girls had to walk on egg shells while they were there, and abided by all of the detailed rules of her place. After all was said and done, she cussed out my mother-in-law—refusing us our deposit even though the girls left it cleaner than when they found it. Though we received most of our deposit back with an apology while we were on our honeymoon, she still kept some of it claiming that there were more girls than what we paid for (not true).

To sum: Scott, you are awesome; keep up the great vibe that you have going for your guests! We really enjoyed the most memorable week of our lives at your place!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice owner, but home could use some improvements...

  • 2 of 5

The flowers on the deck were beautiful, the owner Scott was extremely nice and very helpful if we needed anything. And for being an older house, it was VERY clean! We really enjoyed our stay there, however there were several items we would love to see improved on before ever going back. Most of the beds were very uncomfortable, very old bedding (I remember some of the style of blankets from when I would sleep at my grandparents house as a child), flat pillows, just really hard to look forward to a good nights rest after a long tiring day on the lake. The kitchen also needs to provide more space in a pantry/cupboard. We had a weeks worth of food for 15 people, and all of the food had to be set on the counter tops because the cupboards were either screwed shut, or completely full of stuff. There were 2 pantry's, and only 1 was available to use, but even that was totally full of stuff too. We had the same problem with a few of the bedrooms closets. The downstairs room didn't have a dresser or any empty closet space to put a weeks worth of clothing in for one of the couples, so we had to keep everything in our suit case. I would suggest taking the glass case out, and replacing it with a small dresser. There were warning signs everywhere. I get that some things need a sign on it, but the back of a couch where you would like to sit against, but cant because there is a big sign stating not to sleep on it, makes things a bit unwelcoming, and takes comfort and ease out of your stay. There were a lot of little things that could have been done that doesn't cost a lot, but would go a long way. For example the grass in the yard was full of weeds and way over grown, tree branches were blocking off the path way from the deck to the drive way, making it annoying to duck around every time you walked off the deck to the lake, drawers to the bathrooms squeaked so load every time we opened it, it hurt our ears, towels were hard and old, there was not any bar soap (something we thought should be standard for renting a home for a week), and it was extremely hard to find paper towels and toilet paper anywhere. This home is full of clutter. The dishwasher had a horrible small so we couldn't use it. The shore line was a bit dangerous with all the concrete and wood/rock barricades, there were broken down cars, school bus, junk along the way to the lake and that just made it less appealing. I hope this review help both the owner to improve and future renters.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate several of this guest’s comments and suggestions: We replaced the glass case with a set of drawers in the mentioned bedroom, and agree the cotton wood shade tree was hanging down too low, so we had it trimmed. The house is very clean. We encase the blankets on each bed with 2 flat sheets (one on the bottom of the blankets, and one on top of the blankets). We feel this makes things very sanitary for our guests, and the blankets don’t wear out quickly. Even so, it is only the floor futons (overflow sleeping accommodations) that have some older wool blankets. The other beds have blankets that are fairly new. We have pillows of all types, sizes, and thicknesses. One should be able to find a pillow that they like. Some of the mattresses are new pillow top style, others are firm mattresses in excellent condition. This house is lived in by the owners for part of the year. As such, some of the kitchen cabinets are locked. We have found that our guests prefer to keep their food supplies out visible on the counters for easy access. It is our experience that items in cupboards tend to be forgotten. Please look at our photos and notice how much counter space is available. The towels are recently purchased – high quality Turkish towels from a hotel supply company. They are white, thick and nice. We provide old colored towels for beach use in order to keep the white towels nice for house use. Liquid soap and extra toilette paper is provided in all the bathrooms (more is available upon request). We do have signs in the bathrooms making our guests aware that we are on a septic system. Many guests are from larger cities, and don’t know that you cannot flush anything “else” into a septic system without causing problems. This could obviously make a vacation less that fun if the plumbing doesn’t work. We provide beds, futons, and mattresses for sleeping. Therefore, we have a sign on the couch to discourage guests from sleeping on the fabric covered couch. No one would like a sofa soiled and smelly from inconsiderate previous guests having slept on it for weeks. The sign is there because, unfortunately, it is a problem with some groups. We operate an organic orchard, so we do not spray for dandelions on the property. This is a rural area and some of the neighbors do keep old farm equipment and cars on their property. The bus mentioned is on a neighbor’s property to the north. If something is broken please tell us and we will fix it.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Perfect place for a large wedding group

  • 5 of 5

This home and Scott the owner were extremely accommodating for our 16 person group. We're all here for a wedding, all in our 20s and everybody had a blast! There were more than enough beds, we brought airbeds and didn't have to use them! More than enough pillows and sheets too. The kitchen is fantastic, tons of utensils and everything we could have needed for our big breakfasts. The lake is a short walk, with the orchard and some sheep in between, we all thought the walk was really enjoyable, no complaints! If for some reason walking isn't your thing you can drive down to the lake too. WIFI, deck, BBQ, tons of beds & plates and everything you need, more than enough showers, Scott the owner was around and very helpful.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Great Lakefront Home

  • 5 of 5

I arranged to stay here with a few college buddies for a long weekend. The weather wasn't great, but it's an awesome house for a large group who wants to get away, grill, and enjoy Flathead Lake. Plenty of good trails around to hike, too. Definitely a great getaway!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Great Falls, Mt, USA
5

WEDDING STAY

  • 5 of 5

We came and stayed for a week for a wedding with my wife and her family. The home was perfect for what we were looking for. We had 4 family's with kids and there was plenty of room for everyone. We also brought our wakeboard boat to play on flathead lake when the wind was not blowing. I would recommend using the ramp in Bigfork for bigger boats but we did also use the one in woods bay. The owners of the property were very accommodating and easy going we truly felt at home the minute we walked in. The beach front is very cool also it does have a spot to tie up your boat but no dock which worked fine for us. We would highly recommend a say at the Lake Retreat and are looking forward to coming back someday.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad the house worked well for you. We try to accommodate families.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wyoming
5

College friends reunion

  • 5 of 5

This rental was a great choice, excellent value for the price. We had 14 adults and 7 kids ranging from 4 months old to 7 years old. Some had bedrooms and some tented out in the orchard and on the beach, it all worked great. Big meals were easy to make and serve indoors and out. When the babies went to bed the non-parenting adults took the party down to the fire ring by the water. Day hikes and trips to glacier were easy.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Glacier Park International
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Car: necessary

Near Glacier Park and the National Bison Range, Sheep and Chickens are usually on the Farm

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bigfork House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 12 2016 - Sep 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 15 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$320
From
$420
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 15 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $190 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

An additional fee of $20.00 per person per night for more guests then 15 total, will be charged upon check in.

All prices subject to change.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Flathead Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 double , 3 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3),
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
3 full bathrooms, Two 50 gallon hot water heaters for plenty of hot water, Shade Trees, 100+ Tree Fruit Orchard, 68 feet Private Beach, Paddle-boards, Canoe, Fire Ring at the lake, Over 1 acre woodland, Classic Jaguar Car & Antique Truck Collection, Chickens and Sheep usually on the Farm (inquire if this is an important feature for you), NO SMOKING in HOUSE

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote