Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Lake Front Cottages

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10-14)

We invite you to a vacation retreat the likes of which you won't see anywhere else. These 2 cottages have been in our family for 5 generations and now we look forward to sharing them with you. Watch the sunset from the beach or on one of the porchs. Enjoy the advantages of having 2 cottages and 2 kitchens. The beauty of knotty pine throughout gives the feeling of a true vacation retreat.

The large cottage is called 'Twix Pines'(amongst the pines) . It has 2 bedrooms with double beds and a third bedroom with bunk beds. Laundry is located on the second floor. The living room has a couch that opens to a queen size bed. The porch is spacious enough to accomodate dining plus an area that includes chairs and a plush futon. Plan to spend plenty of time here eating, relaxing and playing games late into the night.

The second 'honeymooner' cottage we call JaTo (J-toe) after our father and uncle. It is a favorite with everyone. It has one bedroom with a double bed. The cozy kitchen and living area is bright and fully equipped. The couch folds out to a queen size bed. French doors leading to the porch provide privacy for relaxing or sleeping on the futon while listening to the lapping of the waves below you.

The huge 250 feet of private beach front means lots of room for relaxation and entertaining or playing a game of horseshoes. There's a firepit for all to gather at in the evenings. If you're staying on Labor Day weekend get some flares and enjoy the 'Ring of Fire' with all the other 'lakers'.

Cross the gully bridge on the beach and pitch a tent for camping fun. There is a rowboat and 2 kayaks for your fishing and paddling pleasure. Walk across the road and you can hike over 12 acres of woodland, have a scavenger hunt or picnic. Climb up the gully and look for salamanders. If you want to rough it pitch a tent in the clearing. (camp fires on the beach only)

We're sure you will create treasured memories and we hope you become a part of our extended family by making Twix Pines a family tradition.

These cottages are not rented separately.

Keywords: lakeside, cottages, beach, private, boat hoist, hiking

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2018

About The Owner

We are a multi generational family who are scattered coast to coast. On the west coast we have families in Portland, OR and on the east coast families in Rochester and Syracuse NY.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1937

Why The Owner chose Keuka Park

Our grandparents bought Twix Pines during the Depression when cottages were few and far between. They added JaTo, named after our father and uncle, after WW II so they would have a special place of their own. They loved the beauty and peace of Keuka lake. They enjoyed all the seasons with hunting, fishing and summers spent relaxing and entertaining.

What makes this cottage unique

West Bluff Dr. is quiet and very pedestrian friendly. People enjoy walks with the family and bike riding. There are many activities to enjoy in the surrounding area from golfing or playing a game of tennis at picturesque Keuka College to antiquing, visiting the Windmill Farmers Market or touring the many wineries. Choose a lakeside restaurant or take a cruise on the Esperanza Rose and then up the hill to dine at the historic Esperanza mansion which overlooks the lake.


Keuka Park Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 queen
  • Double Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (4) futon on porches in Twix and JaTo pull out couch in living rooms in Twix and JaTo, Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
2 cottage compound, 8 wooded acres to hike, large private beach, horseshoe pits, raft, kayaks, fire pit, dock, extra parking across the street


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
27% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Lake Front Cottages
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
Williamsville,New York

Great place for a large private vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our week at Twix Pines. The two cottages are furnished comfortably, nothing so fancy that that you have to worry about touching anything, but nice enough to feel like you are on a quality vacation.

The remodeled porch in the big house was great for group meals and for evening card games. The wireless worked great, even down on the shore.

The dock is great and having the lower fridge made things much easier than lugging around a cooler. The lake level garage was loaded with all of the things that you forget to bring… Chairs, anchors, beach toys, etc. Huge beach area gives everybody his or her own space if desired.

Parking was awesome. Plenty of room for many vehicles as well as trailers. Quiet road with a low speed limit made a nice running route to the nearby State Park.

In summary, we had a great vacation at Twix Pines. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5

Our third year at this cottage and it is perfect for our family of 12. We love the seclusion along with the awesome beach front spanning beyond the cottages. All the kids enjoy the swimming, scuba diving, boating, kayaking, fishing, hiking, and just hanging out. We all have fun around the campfires at night and playing games together around the large table inside as well as plenty of yard to play our Corn Hole tournaments. The cottages are comfortable and roomy for all of us giving privacy to those who need it and openness for those who like being with the "crowd". Twix Pines is close enough to other areas on the lake for sightseeing, shopping, and dining out. And, I can't forget how great the owner is. She is easy to talk with and gets back with you as soon as she can concerning all areas of concern. After growing up on Keuka Lake, I was so pleased to find this awesome place to share with my family so they can have great memories of lake time too. Just wish we could stay longer.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Buffalo, NY

We love Twix

  • 5 of 5

This has been the best vacation property we have rented in the Finger Lakes. The first time we stayed here was in October 2013, we also rented Twix in September 2014 and we will be there again in September 2015. We stayed there with our friends and some family. Being there in October was gorgeous. The leaves were just turning color and the weather was perfect. There were just 9 of us and we had more than enough room. The water was too chilly to go swimming but we were able to use the row boat and the 2 kayaks that were there. My sister brought her 2 kayaks to add to the fun. The row boat can hold up to 5 people and it has 2 sets of ores. We spent a lot of time in the row boat and kayaks and at the fire pit, that weekend. We gathered a lot firewood while hiking. During the evenings, it got really chilly and there were space heaters that warmed up the houses. When we went in September we had so much fun. This time, there were 11 people that came with us. The weather was so warm during the day, that we spent most of the time in the water. Even the dog played in the water and went swimming. There was very little seaweed, it just ran along the shore but once you got past it, it was great. We brought some inner tubes and there were some there, already. This time, we had wood delivered to the house soon after we arrived. It was easy getting the wood to the beach. We barely spent time in the house, but we could get wifi signal down on the beach, which was awesome. Having the 2 houses was great. We were able to have the morning people in the small house and the late sleepers in the big house. And with the amount of space between the houses and the beach, noise was not an issue. We love that the fire pit is on the beach, we had a fire going every day, all day until we went to bed. In the mornings, we cooked breakfast and coffee on the fire pit as the sun was rising over the trees. And in the evenings, most of us would be sitting around the fire as we settled down for the day and watch the sun set over the lake. Some of us used the kayaks and row boat to go fishing in the early morning or in the early evenings. There is a garage under the small house that you can access from the beach. It houses the kayaks, ores, and random floatation devices. It had plenty of room to store the extra kayaks and other random things that we brought. With having 2 houses, a large secluded beach and lots of land to go hiking, this place is ideal.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Syracuse, NY

Great property!

  • 5 of 5

Spent a week here with extended family in July. Have rented numerous Keuka Lake cottages over the years and this was the best yet. Lots of waterfront, good dock with a hoist for our boat. Kayaks were handy - added to our own made quite a "floatilla". Enjoyed having 2 buildings - used one for "early risers" and the other for the late sleepers. Gas grill was handy and parking was a breeze. Walk-in shore was great for the kids as was the float. Appreciated being able to bring our dog. Have already put down our deposit for next year.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canton, Ga

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the location and all the extra toys to play with. We revisited Seneca Farms, The Windmill and some of the wineries. The fishing was great and 3 people in our family caught their first fish. Everyone gave it a thumbs up even though the dishwasher was not working and the cabins could have used a good cleaning. The worst was the mold in the bathroom. We have passed the Keuka Lake experience to two more generations. Everyone agreed life is great at the lake.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Reviews of our guests matter! We tried a new cleaning service this year and unfortunately they were unable accomplish all cleaning tasks within the short period of time between renters. As a result we will be going back to our original cleaning company. We're also improving the bathrooms including installing tile floors and a new shower. Twix Pines is a special place and we will work to keep it that way.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful setting

  • 3 of 5

The location of these cottages was great. It is by far the largest and most private beach on the lake. The pictures accurately reflect the cottages; they are older, but that is part of the charm. The only down side was the cleaners had done a poor job of preparing the rental. When this was reported to the owner, she resolved it fairly.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're addressing your concerns. See the info. in our response to the above review. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0





Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties