Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SPACIOUS BEACH RETREAT.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,326 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Three minute walk to beach. EZ walk to beautiful Marina and Cape Cod Village.

Clean, well maintained, lovely Row home in Oceanside's newer area. Two story home has two bedrooms plus an office/loft. Enjoy the ocean breezes from either the patio or roof top balcony. The home is located in the million dollar row homes area recently built close to the ocean. Walk to downtown Oceanside where you'll find several fine dining and casual restaurants. Also live theatre productions, surf museum, Museum of Art, Farmer's Market every Thursday and more. Enjoy the longest wooden pier on the west coast: Oceanside Pier, Oceanside's Marina, Cape Cod Village. Catch a half day fishing boat or enjoy the quaint little shops by water's edge. 10 minutes to LEGOLAND; 35 minutes to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and Gas Lamp Quarters. Disneyland is an hour away. One and a half hour North to Los Angeles and Hollywood.


Property Manager
Lillian Shine
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 14, 2017

About Lillian Shine

My name is Lillian Shine and I have been managing this row home for the owners since 2011. I have been managing properties for over 30 years in this area.

Lillian Shine purchased this house in 2011

Why Lillian Shine chose Oceanside

This property is in a great location to enjoy all that beautiful North San Diego County has to offer. Restaurants, the longest wooden Pier on the West Coast, long sandy beaches, Oceanside's beautiful Marina, Cape Cod Village, Movie Theatres, Live Theatre, Oceanside Museum of Art, Surf Museum and more are all a short walk away. Enjoy Farmer's Market every Thursday.

What makes this house unique

Two blocks to beautiful Pacific Ocean. Walk to Oceanside's beautiful marina and Cape Cod Village.

Amenities

Townsite House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2326 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • There is a powder room on the main floor/ two full baths on second floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Master Suite - 1 king
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , There is a day bed in the loft area
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Large sofa in living room, large sofa in family room.
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Two blocks to beach. We strive to provide a clean, fresh, vacation home for your enjoyment. Walk to Marina and Cape Cod Village. Ideal location for Southern California Vacation. Less than an hour to Disneyland, Knott's Adventure Park, Queen Mary and Acquarium of the Pacific. 35 minutes to San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Downtown San Diego, 10 minutes to Lego Land. Spacious home with large living room, large dining room, large kitchen/family room combo, huge master suite with soaking tub, loft area with trundle twin beds, computer desk. King Bed in Master Suite. Twin Beds in 2nd bedroom.

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

SPACIOUS BEACH RETREAT.
average rating of 3.4285715 based on 7 reviews
4

Nice location and access. Private

  • 4 of 5

Overall the condo needs some work. Cheap blinds fall apart when trying to open and the plumbing fixtures were in need of repair. Master bath sink faucet fell apart in my hand and the kitchen sink was ready to break. All construction quality. Was disappointed that there were no basic spices or sugar or anything. I even had to buy dish soap.

Nice location and would rent again.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location 3 minute walk to the beach.

  • 4 of 5

We will definitely return to this home for our annual family vacation back to Oceanside. Very clean and well stocked home. Walking distance to countless opportunities, great restaurants, retail shops and everything you need for the beach. A must morning walk to a Quaint pastry shop with great customer service, "Petite Madeline's" pastries are out of this world. After dinner head to Davinas Cabo grill, best drinks west of Vegas.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you and your family here in Oceanside. Thank you Tyson. We hope to see you again. All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Don't Stay Here

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival we thought we'd be happy with this house. We were wrong. It was on the newer side, large, clean, and only a few blocks from the beach which are the things that made me choose this house to begin with. Problem #1) The home is situated 25 yards from the train tracks! VERY ACTIVE TRAIN TRACKS that run all day and ALL NIGHT while BLARING the horn right outside the bedroom windows making it impossible to sleep- even while sleeping with boxfans and earplugs in (which we went out and bought first thing the next morning). This relates to problem #2) There is no air conditioner- meaning we had to sleep with the windows wide open making the train noise even more unbearable. These are problems indeed, however nothing compared to Problem #3) The home was broken into in the middle of the night and we were burglarized. The sliding glass door does not latch & lock properly and when I woke up in the morning and came downstairs it was completely wide open and our things were stolen. We didn't hear a thing because we all had earplugs in and boxfans going! I filed a police report and when the police officer arrived he informed us that the area of the home is crime ridden with transients, drugs, and gangs, which is quite apparent when you look around. Needless to say, we did not have a pleasant experience at this house. It was supposed to be a relaxing vacation in sunny San Diego, and it turned out to be nightmare. I guess I can't call it a nightmare, because that insinuates you are asleep... and as you have read- between the train noise and wondering if we were going to get burglarized again- we did not sleep. I hope this review helps you with your decision. I did not read the reviews on this property, I wish I would have- I surely wouldn't have stayed here.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our other guests have been happy with our home. . We did everything possible to satisfy this guest and he still felt a need to punish us by writing the review he did. We do not advertise that we have air conditioning, because we don't. This guest did not research our amenities thoroughly. The train tracks run along the coast of Oceanside and Carlsbad. Other vacation homes have the same issue. All the multi-million dollar homes along the coast of Oceanside have the same issue. The train tracks! Oceanside is working on a plan along with Santa Fe Railroad to eliminate the train whistles but can't say for sure when they will have that completed. We are very disappointed that this guest felt he had to write a bad review. He did mention our home is clean and close to the beach. We strive to make staying at our home a wonderful experience for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Very Nice Home

  • 4 of 5

The property was very nice and clean and they also had a welcome basket full of goodies. Unfortunately we stayed while having a heat wave and with no AC the first night was uncomfortable. We ended up going to the store and buying fans. Thankfully once I let the owner know they were nice enough to drop off 4 fans the very next morning. I thought that was very considerate of them. I'm sure once the heat lets up and the breeze starts again an AC will not be needed. The location is great it is within walking distance to downtown which has a lot of coffee shops, restaurants, beaches, movie theater etc. The ONLY downfall with the home is that it is located right in front of the Train Station. The train runs all night and they blow their horn every time it leaves the station. Its very loud. My 4 year old was scared at first and kept covering her ears when she knew it was coming. That was the ONLY downfall. Other than that I would recommend this property. The price is very fair and again it is a very nice home parking is easy and convenient.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Place was great BUT the train is in your backyard.

  • 3 of 5

Train made it hard to sleep. The first night we all woke every time it passed by, every hour! Had to by ear plugs.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Juneau, Alaska
3

Trade-Offs

  • 3 of 5

This home is all about trade-offs.

First the good: The house is large and located close to the beach and downtown Oceanside. It is very convenient to the activities that take place on Thursdays: Farmer's Market in the morning and the Street Fair in the evenings. Both are popular and with parking at a premium, you'll be happy with this house as there is parking in the back. The other thing about this house is the rooftop terrace. Since the sun disappears from the front side of the house late in the morning and early afternoon, the rooftop is a delightful place to hang out. The house has wi-fi and you can get a signal from most rooms.

Now for the trade-offs: There does not appear to be any follow-up to the check-in process. They said they would email the codes to get into the house. That never happened. It took a call to VRBO/HomeAway to get a secondary phone number. After waiting on the phone with VRBO and then making attempts to contact Savannah, a good hour went by. Once inside, there is no welcome guide/manual in terms of how to access the wi-fi, how to use the TVs, suggestions for local food options, nearby activities and shopping, and the like. Whatever happened to hospitality and welcoming someone in person?

As for the furniture, the most comfortable place to sit in the house was the computer chair, followed by the outdoor furniture off the front patio. Everything else was uncomfortable beyond description. We ended up buying two lawn chairs and used them in lieu of what was in the house.

But the most irritating and annoying aspect about this house is its proximity to the train tracks. A prior reviewer said that you get used to the noise. Not a chance. We rented this house for a month and never did get used to the noise. That's because the trains run through the night and blast their horns right in the vicinity of where the house sits. There are trains at 10pm, 2am, 4 am, and then they run quite frequently from 5am onward. More than likely, you will wake up multiple times throughout the night.

Before booking this rental, you need to place a monetary value on comfort, peace and quiet. Our advice: sleep on it.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We appreciate knowing how to improve our service. We desire to offer the very best service to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience at our beach retreat.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palomar Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
333 Restaurant Ocean View by the Pier (beautiful)
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Coronado Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Oceanside Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
AmTrak
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
I-5
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
333 - Ocean View - great atmosphere
Nearest Ski
125 Miles
Big Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Oceanside Long Sandy Beach
Car: recommended

Great location - 10 minutes to Legoland, 30 minutes to Sea World, 60 minutes to Disneyland. . Google the location. Two blocks to beach. This home is surrounded by million dollar newer homes two blocks to the beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Townsite House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn/Winter/Spring
Jan 11 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $195
Property Damage Protection $79

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Manager Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties