check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Central location close to many tourist attractions!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
nights

Description

Deadwood House Rental Photos and Description

Completely Furnished 4BR, 2BA with a Loft. Living room kitchen combination.

This newer home is nestled on a 1 acre lot among the pines, next to the National Forest in Alpine Acres, South Dakota. This Central location puts you just 20 minutes from casino gambling in historic Deadwood, 20 minutes from Rapid City, Hill City, Pactola Lake, Sheridan Lake, Deer Mountain & Terry Peak. It is also close to the Mickelson Trail for biking & close to the Experimental Forest for snowmobiling or 4 wheeling.

This home is completely furnished, so whether you are sitting in the great-room watching TV or enjoying a barbecue on the elevated deck, you will be as comfortable as sitting at home.

Planning a family vacation, an annual hunting trip, skiing or snowmobiling or attending the Sturgis Rally? This home offers room for everyone.

Sleeps 10 - 12 comfortably.

Amenities: Large elevated deck with gas grill and picnic tables. Loft is furnished with 4 twin beds. The main level of the home has two bedrooms each furnished with a Full and twin size bed. With plenty of closet space. Two other bedrooms are located on the walk in level of the home. Each is furnished with bunk-beds and a full size bed. Ceiling fans throughout the upper level, TV, VCR, DVD player. Fully equipped kitchen with small appliances, cooking and eating utensils, linens, blankets, towels and all basic necessities are furnished. Washer and Dryer are located on the lower level. Horseshoe driveway for off street parking.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only

Owner
Carolyn or Terri
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

Central location close to many tourist attractions!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
1

Convenient location, not very well kept property.

  • 1 of 5

The description of the amenities was not as clear as other properties we searched, for example they omitted there is no AC ( not air conditioning). The property was not well kept when we arrived, we found many dead insects in the kitchen area, we even found a live worm in one of the kitchen pans we tried to use; the furniture in the rooms was very dusty, the bedspreads smelled "musty".

Really bad customer service since the owner broke the contract, as she required a deposit fee ( a check and she stated we would get it back) she cashed it quickly BUT after receiving payment in full for our complete stay (7 nights) she never answered our emails again and, of course, a week after we are back we have not received our deposit back (as she stated in writing) or any form of answer to our emails.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you want to lose money. We enjoyed the area and surroundings in spite of the HOT evenings (in the property) with no AC and NO disclaimer about it.

We are truly dissapointed since it put a bad experience in our first time in the area and probably will not ever use this website again after this type of unprofessional owners taking advantage of tourists.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Martha, Sorry I wasn't able to respond to your email when you checked out. I was traveling during your stay and without internet. It's unfortunate you didn't try to reach me by phone while you were there since we communicated by phone frequently when you booked your stay. I mailed your deposit check on the 31st of July when I returned which was within 7 days after your departure. I am sure you have the check by now. We take great pride in our cabin and have many returning visitors, all of whom love the location, the property and amenities. I've never received anything but positive reviews, including last weeks visitor who was there right after you who said "Thank you for letting us use your beautiful cabin." The property does not have air conditioning and I am in the process of talking with homeaway/vrbo about how to detail this since the settings only let you check a box if you have air, but don't give you the ability to highlight that you don't. In the 10 years of having multiple families stay there, including my own, the lack of air has never been an issue due to the wonderful black hills climate. Carolyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 10 attending the Sturgis Rally, looking for a house to rent for 2 weeks away from the crowds. We were worried at first that this rental would be too far away from all the action but were actually happy with the location based on the long day rides we took and easy access. The gravel road/driveway was not an issue. We had plenty of space to park our 3 mc trailers. The beds were all very comfortable. There was plenty of room for all of us as we gathered for meals and happy hour in the open kitchen/living room areas. Overall a great house reasonable priced.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent place to stay. Senic and peas full.

  • 5 of 5

As a group we all thought it was an excellent place to stay. The owners were very accommodating to allow us to use their place for 12 days. We would definitely go there again. A very nice area and accommodations.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Rapid City, SD
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sugar Shack & Cousins Pizza
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Tomahawk Lake Country Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
1880 Train in Hill City (tourist attraction)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sugar Shack & Cousins Pizza
Nearest Ski
24 Miles
Terry Peak
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Pactola Lake, Sheridan Lake & Roubaix Lake

Other Activities: Mount Rushmore & Crazy Horse Mountain, 1880 Train, Casinos in Deadwood, Lead Gold Mine, Tomahawk Golf Course, Trout Haven, Prairie Berry Winery, Buffalo Roundup, Sturgis Rally, Mammoth Dinosaur Dig, Harney Peak Hiking, Terry Peak Skiing, Moonshine Gulch Bar.

Rates & Availability

Deadwood House Rental Rates

Notes

  • from $250.00 a night
  • Rates subject to change without notice. Deposit of $250.00 required to guarantee reservation. The deposit will be refunded less $50.00 if cancellation is made at least 45 days prior to arrival. No deposit refunds will be made with less than 14 days notice. Full rental payment is due 20 days prior to occupancy. Cleaning fees are included in rental price.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Deadwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties