Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Abbey Rose

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english

Abbeys Affordable Hideaway - Beautiful and Economical - Very Private

28 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Northern Michigan Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom 1 Bath Beautifully Furnished attached Mothers-in-Law Suite

We are located 5 miles from Charlevoix and 7 miles from The Castle.

Abbeys has 2 SUITES available. The Executive Suite SLEEPS 4 and was designed and built to serve as Mothers-in-law quarters. With its own private entrance, it is nestled among 30 year old evergreens that tower 35' above you. This is a beautifully appointed apartment and was decorated with the executive in mind. The 1100 S/F floor plan offers a queen-size bed in both the master bedroom and the guest bedroom. It has central AC and a fully equipped kitchen including a dishwasher. It also has satellite TV and Wireless Internet. The Jacuzzi Hot Tub (seasonal) is outside in a screened in porch for your bug free enjoyment.

The Serenity Meadow Suite SLEEPS 6 and is a very nice second story 2 bedroom apartment WITH 2 queen size beds. It also has a queen pull out in the living room for extra sleeping space. It has central AC and a fully equipped kitchen including a dishwasher. There is a deck with a table, chairs and B-B-Que that overlooks rolling meadows and woods. It also has satellite TV and Wireless Internet.

Biking and Skiing: Charlevoix has a bike path called Little Traverse Wheelway: It runs 26 miles from Charlevoix to Harbor Springs. The trail is mostly “dedicated” and mostly asphalt. It is by far one of the nicest bike paths in all of Michigan. The Little Traverse Conservancy owns and manages more than 164 public nature preserves in this area.

Boyne Mountain, one of Michigan’s premier ski locations is only 19 miles away. Downtown “Charlevoix the Beautiful” is only 5 miles away while Petoskey, with its great shopping and casino is only 18 miles away. And if you still need some more skiing, there is Boyne Highlands and Nubs Knob just 27 miles away. Don’t forget about all the groomed snowmobile trails, ice fishing and cross country skiing located in all directions from this location. Between the beauty of the area, the fine appointments of the unit and the savings reflected in our pricing, this is by far the best value to be had compared to any other choices in Boyne Country.

Amenities:: The City of Charlevoix was ranked #2 on Midwest Living's list of 100 Best Small-Town Getaway's. Charlevoix County has a long reputation for being one of the most picturesque getaway's in Michigan and when you come spend some time in this resort town, you'll see why it is called the crown jewel of Northern Michigan. Set in the midst of Lake Michigan, Lake Charlevoix and Round Lake, its beauty is as engaging in January as in June! The waterfront, galleries, boutiques, and restaurants add to the appeal as is the fact that this casually elegant destination will present vacation memories that will be treasured for years to come! Enjoy Charlevoix AFFORDABLY and stay with us here at ABBEYS. Don't limit yourself to just one beach. Stay at Abbeys and go to different beach everyday and use all the money that you save to treat yourself to

Beaches - Oh the Beaches: There are so many beaches to choose from, too many to list, but let me just start here. Directly west of town is Lake Michigan Beach. The beach is south of the pier that the light house is on. There is a playground, concession building and restrooms.

Adjacent to the old train depot museum on Charlevoix Lake, there is another wonderful beach with play equipment for children. The water in this Lake is considerably warmer than that of Lake Michigan.

Further south on Charlevoix Lake is Ferry Beach with wonderful play grounds and covered picnic areas.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Abbey Rose (Property Manager)
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english

About Abbey Rose

I live in the main house at Abbeys and take pride in my properties. Because I live there also, I can be more responsive to any of my renters needs including dealing with my guests directly – from key exchanges, to cleaning, to repairs, and anything in between. These beautiful Suites are fully furnished and have all the amenities of home combined with the beauty of that “up north” experience.

Reviews

4.9
based on 28 traveler reviews

Abbeys Affordable Hideaway - Beautiful and Economical - Very Private
average rating of 4.928571 based on 28 reviews
5

better than expected

  • 5 of 5

We rented the Executive Suite. I must say, it really is desinged with the Executive in mind. This apartment had the privacy and the up north feel that we were looking for. Very nicely appointed. Super clean. The screened in, enclosed hot tub was wonderful. Looking up through the tall pines with a backdrop of a star studded sky. It doesn't get much better than this. We loved this place and are planning on coming back up in the fall for 3 day romantic get away.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2006
  • Stayed: Jun 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
17 2
5

Relaxing Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Abbey Rose was very relaxing and enjoyable. Loved the quiet, woodsy setting and comfortable accommodations. Nicely decorated, nice size bathroom, hot tub enjoyable after a long bike ride!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Thomas. I also enjoyed having you stay with us here at Abbeys. It is always nice to know that you have been part of someones happy experience when they are on a holiday! Gods blessings. Abbey <(((><
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Beautiful in every way

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the executive suite over the 4th of July weekend. It was beautiful inside and out. Very peaceful surroundings were welcome after the hustle of downtown. The inside is exactly as the pictures show and it was immaculate. There were only two of us but it could have accommodated another couple or kids. Very close to downtown Charlevoix, 20 minutes to Boyne City and 30 minutes to Jordan. The hot tub was a welcome sight in the evenings. Abbey was a pleasure to work with from the start. We never saw her after we checked in but she was available if we needed anything. This place was a true gem and we are lucky to have found it. It won't be the last time that we visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Peaceful Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just returned from a two-night stay at Abbey's Executive Suite. It was perfect! The apartment was very neat and clean, plenty of space, and surrounded by beautiful pines. It was just a short drive to town and we thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere upon returning from daily excursions. Will recommend to family and friends and plan to stay again in the fall!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kristy for such a nice review. I was very happy to have you and your husband stay with me here at Abbeys. I would love to have you two back... Remember to remind me that your are a returning guest so I will be sure to discount your rental fee by 10%. Gods blessings. Abbey <(((><
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great, Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Serenity Suite. It so quite and peaceful. Nothing but open land and plenty of room for the kids to play. We didn't see anyone during the three days that we spent there. It felt like it was our own home!! The apartment was large and spacious and very clean. The deck was a nice size deck. It was great to be out of the hustle and bustle of town and be able to relax yet be only a short drive from it. The owner was great, easy to work with and very accommodating. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well thank you Elena for such a wonderful review. I enjoyed having you and your sons stay with us here at Abbeys and would welcome you back anytime. Make sure you remind me who you are so I can extend a "returning guest" discount. I hope all went well for you and yours while you spent time up here in Charlevoix the Beautiful. Gods blessings on your family. Abbey <(((><
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Convenient to Charlevoix

  • 4 of 5

My sister and I stayed in the Executive Suite for two nights while travelling through. Cozy accommodations that worked for us. The kitchen was handy for coffee in the morning. Hot tub was beautiful and a nice way to end the day. Guests may want to bring their own TP (type supplied not good) and Facial tissue. Noise from the unit upstairs each morning at 6am was an issue. Overall a good place to stay with friendly owners.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy that Abbeys accommodations worked for you and your sister. Since you also own a Vacation Rental, I know that you can appreciate how we, as host's of Abbeys, really try to anticipate the needs of our guests. It might seem cozy, however, our fully stocked kitchen is mighty.... Our guests have the options of preparing a fully cooked meal or just a quick cup of coffee. Regarding the TP... We are on a delicate septic system of which, in the past, we have experienced some issues. Our contractor has recommend a few acceptable choices of TP to use with this system that regrettably precludes us from using the over the top soft and fluffy brands! :-( I, myself, am happy with the middle of the road softness of the TP we supply. (Who would have ever thought that the subject of TP could be so voluminous!) Regarding Kleenex. Kleenex down the toilet was one of the reasons for septic issues to begin with... enough said. Of all of our 24 reviews, of which 22 are 5-STAR ;-), you were the first one to ever comment on noise at 6 a. m. My husband and I live above the Executive Suite. Since my husband and I do not even rise until 8 o'clock or so, I was not sure what to think. So I went back to my calendar to see what was going on at Abbeys during your stay. (Sidebar: Normally we do not schedule any family visits during our High Season but October is usually a slow time for us and a good time to catch up with family.) I then realized that I had my sister and her family over for the same weekend that you and your sister stayed and yes – they are early risers. Not sure what noises disturbed you, but there is no denying that this is what you heard. For this I truly apologize. Thank you for taking time to leave a review for a fellow vacation rental host. Gods blessings.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: recommended

Perfect vacation spot * in the center of Beaches, Biking trails, Fishing, Golfing, Water sports, Shopping, Snowmobiling, Hiking and the list goes on. All of this within a few minute drive. We are centrally located between Charlevoix, Boyne City and Petoskey. And lets not forget that we are only minutes from the best downhill skiing in the Mid West. This is a beautiful, world class resort area. Come on up!

Golf: There are too many golf courses in this area to mention. So -- bring your clubs and enjoy.

Ski: Boyne Mountain, one of Michigan’s premier ski locations is only 19 miles away. And if you still need some more skiing, there is Boyne Highlands and Nubs Knob just 27 miles away. Don’t forget about all the groomed snowmobile trails, ice fishing and cross country skiing located in all directions from this location.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Charlevoix Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2016
May 20 2016 - Oct 24 2016
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$930
$3,330
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50

We don't charge an up front cleaning fee because we believe that when you give your guests the opportunity to clean up after themselves to save the cost of a cleaning fee - they always do clean up after themselves!

99% of Abbeys guests have been extremely respectful of our property. Abbeys deposit policy is simple. Leave the unit the way you found it and you will get your deposit back. End of story.

Refundable Security Damage Deposit required to be in place to secure your reservation. Refundable Security Damage Deposit required to be in place to secure your reservation. You can cancel within 30 days of reservation and get a full refund of your deposit. Your rental fee will be due upon arrival. We prefer cash. We will supply guest with a receipt upon request.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northern Michigan Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • The Executive Suite sleeps 4 in beds and the Serenity Meadow Suite sleeps 6 in beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Well behaved dogs are allowed and welcomed here at Abbeys with owners written permission. There would be an additional $50 pet security/damage deposit that is fully refundable as long as you leave the unit the way that you found it. We provide a vacuum and extra sheets to act as furniture covers for the use of our 4 legged shedding buddies and of course we expect you to pick up after your dog. Be advised that if housekeeping has to clean or vacuum up pet hair, a portion of your deposit may be withheld. If you plan on leaving your dog while you are out we will require a cell number in which we can contact you if we have concerns about your dog.

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the manager to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote