check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jan Zobel

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

WOW, THE OCEAN IS RIGHT OUTSIDE THE DOOR!! Free WiFi, Washer/Dryer, a/c, Kitchen

24 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Oceanfront Condo, 1 Bedroom + comfortable convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Unit D-3 at the Kona Reef is an absolutely oceanfront, recently-renovated, fully furnished, non-smoking, one bedroom condo with a complete kitchen. The lanai (patio) is located only 30 feet from the ocean. There is terrific tide pooling and exploring in the lava rocks. And if it's sand you want, you need to walk only a few hundred feet to the sandy park next to the condo complex (ocean swimming at the park is for experienced swimmers only.)

This recently renovated and fully furnished condo provides a wonderful place to just sit and relax. From your lanai, watch the surfers during the day and the sunsets at night. You'll also see jet boats, parasailing, and huge cruise ships. During the winter months. you may see whales passing by and it's not unusual to see schools of dolphins. Large turtles are permanent residents in the tide pool area and shoreline.

The Kona Reef is a low-rise oceanfront condo complex located close to the center of Kona. While away from the center of activity, it's an easy 2 block walk from the condo, along the waterfront to shopping and restaurants. Fresh produce, flowers, and macadamia nuts are available at the nearby farmers' market. The Kona Airport is about 7 miles away. Kahalu'u Beach Park, one of the best snorkeling areas in Hawaii, is just a few miles from the condo.

A large oceanfront pool, Jacuzzi, and chaise lounge area makes the Kona Reef a relaxing place to stay. Four gas-fired barbecues provide a great place to cook dinner, which you can eat at the tables and chairs in the barbecue area or take back to your private lanai.

Our condo is fully furnished and stocked with our guests in mind. The bedroom has a comfortable queen-sized bed, tropical furnishings, extra linens, plenty of storage, a TV, and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was recently renovated and has a glass block walk-in shower. We provide plenty of extra-large bath towels. The kitchen has a refrigerator with icemaker, an electric stove, dishwasher and microwave, plenty of cookware (for barbecue or stove), and dishware/silverware for 8. It also has a coffee grinder, a rice cooker, and a blender, as well as a toaster. You'll find most condiments as well as supplies such as paper towels, aluminum foil, etc. The living room has comfortable furnishings, including a 8' thick foam futon double-bed mattress. There's a large TV with VCR and DVD player. A cabinet contains an extensive collection of books, games, puzzles, movies, and DVDs. there's also a stereo with MP3 connector and CD player. Another cabinet contains coolers, beach chairs, beach towels, a boogie board, and other toys for water play. A sliding glass door covers the full width and height of one wall of the living room. And directly outside that door is the private lanai and the ocean.

Our guests have been delighted with the condo and we think you will be too.

Hawaii tax #W01532952-01

NOTE: If our condo is already booked for the dates you're interested in or you prefer to be on an upper floor, please check out our VRBO listing 359614. We've recently bought Kona Reef D-24, on the 3rd floor of the same ocean front building.

Keywords: Condo, ocean front condo, beach front condo, condo rental, rental by owner, Kona condo, Kona ocean front, Kona by the sea, Kona Village, Kailua-Kona, ocean view in Kona, Kona Reef, Kona Reef D-3, Kona Reef D3, oceanfront Kona

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jan Zobel (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jan Zobel

We bought this condo in 2004 after renting it from the previous owner for our Kona vacations for a number of years. We live in the San Francisco Bay Area and try to come for long visits to our condo a couple of times a year. While there, we usually buy some new furnishings or make some other improvement in the condo as we want our guests to enjoy the space as much as we do. We remember what it was like to rent someone else's condo for our vacation and we try to make sure that all the little things (i.e. kitchen condiments, beach chairs, coolers, etc.) are available for our guests. We also never forget that a trip to Hawaii is a once-in-a-lifetime experience for many of our guests and we want them to be thrilled with the condo they've selected.

Jan Zobel purchased this condo in 2004

Why Jan Zobel chose Kona Coast

After visiting each of the Hawaiian Islands, we found that we enjoyed the Big Island the most. The variety of scenery throughout the Island is amazing and we still love to travel over to Hilo side or to the volcano or north to the beautiful beaches in the Waikaloa area. But we were especially drawn to Kona because of the sunny weather and all the ocean activities. We love to snorkel and swim and we've also done some kayaking in the area.

What makes this condo unique

Despite the many visits to our condo (including the times we stayed there before we bought it), we still are amazed when we arrive and open the living room shades and find the ocean right outside. We don't feel like we have to do much to have a true vacation at our condo; just relaxing on the lanai or by the pool is vacation enough. One of the reasons we wanted to buy at the Kona Reef is because it's so close to the activity of downtown Kona without being in the middle of the noise. As we're walking the 2-3 blocks downtown, we see the traffic and people having trouble parking and are so glad we don't have to drive and park, which most visitors to Kona have to do. Another thing we like about the Kona Reef is that we've found the other condo owners and the guests to be especially friendly so we enjoy the general atmosphere. And the condo association is constantly making improvements to the complex so we always feel that everything is being well-maintained.

Guestbook comments from the owner

this condo was all it was advertised and more. Watching the surfers from the lanai is an endless diversion. Great pool and BBQ facilities. Couldn't have been happier with our 9-day stay. Fine value and lots of fun.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 41

Reviews

4.8
based on 24 traveler reviews

WOW, THE OCEAN IS RIGHT OUTSIDE THE DOOR!! Free WiFi, Washer/Dryer, a/c, Kitchen
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 65 reviews
5

great condo

  • 5 of 5

We are regular visitors to Kona and have stayed in a number or condos along Alii Drive. This one ranks at the top because it is so close to town yet quiet and relaxing because it is off of the street and right on the ocean. The unit itself is well equipped with a comfortable bed and though the kitchen is small, it has everything you need to make a decent meal. Really appreciated the binoculars in the cupboard to observe everything that comes and goes on the water. No hairdryer provided, but I left one for others to use. Common space is well tended but we found the pool too warm for the hot August days and evenings. Hope to return one day!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Frisco, Texas
5

Fantastic location. Friendly owner and neighbors. Hope to come here again.

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Great view! The guest book was full of good suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Loved every minute of it.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brea, CA
5

Highly Recommend -- again!

  • 5 of 5

We originally stayed in this condo "D3" back in 2012. We were fortunate to be able to come back to Kona this year, and I didn't hesitate to see if D3 was available again. We stayed a relaxing 12 days, and had a wonderful time. This condo has everything you'd need and is very well stocked with beach goodies, kitchen needs and extras to make you feel comfortable & welcome. The location is very convenient, the complex is clean and quiet. An easy walk into town. Thanks, Jan, for sharing your island home!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Garden Grove CA
5

First class

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Jans ocean view, ocean front condo at Kona Reef for one week. Beautifully decorated, felt like our home away from home. Does not take long to be "consumed" by the Big Island of Hawaii in this setting.

This is your little slice of Hawaii that you are looking for.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location Location Location

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying at Jan's Condo, it was within walking distance of about 40 restaurants in Kailua Kona, the ocean right in front of your Lani, and a great pool and barbeque area. We love exploring so practically every day for two weeks we were off touring the island. Great home base. The condo is stocked with all of your needs and more, it's not a five star hotel, but furnished as most rental units are, very clean and the ocean feet away, so is the pool area very very conveniently close by ( steps away ). One of the prime locations in the complex. The rental process was flawless.

Mahola Jen

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Mahoney
5

Wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This was not the first time we have stayed in this condo, and hopefully not the last! Everything is exactly as described. It was not only clean but had so many extras that made it perfect. The location couldn't be any better - watching the surfers and listening to the waves - couldn't ask for more. it is a pleasant walk into town where there is a great market to buy fresh fruit and veggies. The grill area is well maintained as is the pool and hot tub. The only negative is leaving and coming back to snow and cold :-) Would definitely recommend this property - the owner was very helpful and prompt in replying to any questions. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kona (KOA)
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Queen K Highway to the airport + no. & so. of Kona
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
A wide variety of restaurants within walking dist
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Honl
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Costco
Nearest Point of Interest
Kona Airport (KOA)
Car: recommended

No need to get in your car or find a place to park in 'downtown Kona'. The Kona Reef is just a 3 block walk along the waterfront into town. There you'll find restaurants, shops, bars, the Farmers Market, etc. This is one of the few Kona condo complexes that's within an easy walk to downtown but not in the middle of the activity there. There are monthly concerts and crafts fairs along Alii Drive and you can walk to all of them from the Kona Reef.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Jul 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,040
 
 
Fall 2016
Oct 15 2016 - Dec 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$170
$1,125
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$199
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season 2017
Jan 7 2017 - Apr 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,125
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $130
Damage Insurance Policy $35
Tax Rate 13.42%

As owners, we always offer at least a 10% discount off the rate charged by our property management company.

Rates quoted are for 2 people; $10/night extra for more than 2 people.

There are no charges for parking, WiFi, long distance calls to the U.S. and Canada, or any other fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 611 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Walk in shower with rain-type showerhead
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Tropical furnishings, TV, and plenty of storage space
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The living room has a comfy 8' thick foam double bed futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) The living room has a comfy 8' thick foam double bed futon
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The washer and dryer are inside the condo, there's A/C in the living room plus ceiling fans in every room, there is plenty of dishware and cookware in the fully furnished kitchen, a sandy beach next door (swimming there is for experienced swimmers only), plenty of chaise lounges around the pool and on the grassy area facing the ocean. We provide beach towels, coolers, beach chairs, a boogie board, and other water equipment.

Partner Offers