Townhome, 3 Bedrooms all with views, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)
Hello! I came to Hood River to windsurf the year Mt St Helens blew. I knew then that it would become a world class destination. Today it has everything anyone could want. I enjoy being on the river for sure but also like to ski on Mt Hood, ride the gorge on motorcycles, play golf, & white water raft. Dodie loves to ride, fish and vist all the wineries. Problem is we have to work, and play here in the gorge is serious; work gets in the way!
Robert purchased this Townhome in 1995
Why Robert chose Hood River
704 was built as a Gorge Home in the Mid 90's for the views and it's close location to downtown Hood River. With its 3 decks and great views and hot tub, sometimes I don't even leave! This is a house we live in, but please feel free to use items in the kitchen. You will also find a stocked bar, beer, wine, soda in the fridge and snacks for you when you ck in. Plus, always a pizza in the freezer if you arrive hungry and tired and just want to kick back and relax after a long traveling day.
What makes this Townhome unique
Short 5 block walk to downtown. Central Location. Million $ Views. Lots of parking. This is the Gorge!! Your looking for a rental here because you know The Gorge is FUN CENTRAL for all ages!!!!!. Please check the notes in the rates section for discounts.
Pool / Spa
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
Children allowed - Bring them along. Bring them along.
Pets allowed - $100 dog fee. Blot problems asap. call us$100 dog fee. Blot problems asap. call us
Max guests: 6
- NO EATING IN HOT TUB. NO SMALL CHILDREN IN HOT TUB. PLEASE RINSE OF BEFORE YOU HOT TUB IF NEEDED. NO GLASS IN HOT TUB.
- USE TWO PLEAPLE TO TAKE OFF HOT TUB COVER
- CLEAN UP IN THE YARD AFTER YOUR DOG GOES. CONTACT US IF YOU NEED FURNTURE AND BEDDING COVERS FOR YOUR DOG ......WOOF!
We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend in this cozy townhouse. Even woke up blanketed in snow. The house worked well for three couples.
Good house for getting closer to Mt Hood
Check in and out was very easy. Master bedroom bed could use a replacement. The two twin bed mattresses that make up the king bed are very very worn out.
Perfect Girls Getaway Weekend!
This was a great spot for a weekend getaway and we had a great time! The rooms were comfortable and the neighborhood quiet and close to downtown Hood River. We LOVED the views from all the rooms and especially the deck. The owner had lots of "extras" to make us comfortable and it was very nice to be greeted and given an orientation to the house when we arrived - loved the personal touch. Highly recommended!!
Unprofessional Owner/Manager Communication + Extra Fees
The house itself is mostly nice, but the first thing we noticed was the missing front door deadbolt and the hole stuffed with aluminum foil. On a positive note, the beds were comfy, and the fridge was clean with plenty of room for our food. Location is walking distance to downtown Hood River.
The negatives: The "private" hot tub was relaxing, but there was a random man in it during our stay. Sure the place is "dog friendly" but we accidentally missed a pile on the deck and the yard so we were charged a significant damage fee despite paying a non-refundable dog deposit up front. We had also paid a considerable cleaning fee. Please note that this cleaning fee only covers prepping the house for your arrival (including bolting doors, kitchen cupboards, and drawers closed to keep you out), and does not cover any cleaning from your stay. There is a fee schedule in the back of their home manual which lists additional cleaning charges that will be deducted from your deposit if you do not empty garbage, remove bedding, run the dishwasher... etc. This information should be advertised prior to booking your stay.
The property manager was pleasant, but did not email the promised check-in information, was not there to meet us, and lost her phone while traveling. The owner was astoundingly rude and unprofessional. He seemed to take the dog poop as a personal insult instead of an accidental oversight, and proceeded to angrily text pictures and messages, demanding more money and claiming almost 2 hours of cleaning time.
If we had known about the additional fee schedule for typically included cleaning or the unprofessional interactions, we would have absolutely opted for anywhere else.
We are sorry you didn’t totally enjoy your stay with us. We try to really give everyone a great stay. Our high return guest rate confirms that.
Our fees and guest requirements are on par with other places.
Taking out garbage and starting a dishwasher is not an unreasonable request.
You were given early check-in and late check-out at no cost.
We did not bring up the fact that you had eight pickup trucks parked in front of the house even though this is a code violation .
We make it very clear that while the hot tub is there for guest enjoyment, the owner might use it briefly in the morning between 6am to 9am. The owner would never interfere with guest usage.
We apologize for the deadbolt situation but as you had requested an early check-in we were unable to take care of this in time.
The owner does reserve the right to maintain certain locked spaces for supplies.
Regarding the mess from your dogs.
We charge a dog fee for normal wear and tear. This is for things like cleaning dog hair off furniture, etc We understand that a dog owner may miss a pile in the yard. In this case your dogs where sick and had diarrhea. There where 7 large runny messes to clean up. This was deemed excessive.
We sent you pictures so you would understand the amount of cleaning required. It took over two hours to get the deck pressure washed, cleaned and to clean off the surf boards under the deck where the diarrhea had seeped through.
We have many repeat guests that are responsible dog owners.
Robert and Dodie
Lovely house with amazing view
A few friends and I stayed here for a wedding in Hood River, and it met all of our needs beautifully. The house contains everything you need for a nice trip, and there's a lovely view of the gorge from the living room and porches. The property manager was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the place!
Contact us about Paragliding in The Gorge!!! Or for info on surfing and sailing the coast. AND don't forget summer skiing on MT Hood!!! Contact Robert or Dodie about discounts
for Skiers, Fishing and Motorcyclist!!!!!! We do all three when it's not windy!!! AND if you XC Ski check with us about free XC skies in the winter when you stay with us.