Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Oceanfront ~ NEW Oceanfront Pool~Complimentary Health Club

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2 - 4 (2adults/2children))

Our one-bedroom oceanfront villa, Dunes' Edge Villa, is located on Hilton Head Island, SC. Hilton Head Island was ranked the #3 U.S. island in the Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards in October, 2016. The villa is in Ocean Dunes Villas, a small complex comprised of only 84 units on South Forest Beach, one of the most famed and beautiful beaches on the East Coast. There are over 14 miles of Atlantic coastal beaches, 60 miles of bike trails, 15 public golf courses and hundreds of tennis courts.

With a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean from the oceanfront balcony, the villa is just steps to the beach and oceanfront pool. It is nestled between Marriott's Grand Ocean Resort to the south and Hilton's Ocean Oak Resort to the north--a perfect location for meeting friends and family who might be staying at either of these resorts. It is ideally located to help make your vacation enjoyable and memorable! The second floor villa, accessible by elevator, was completely renovated. Renovations included a full kitchen with granite countertop, an enhanced open floor plan and new furnishings and artwork. The freshly painted villa comfortably sleeps four in a queen bed in the bedroom and a queen sleeper sofa in the living room.

NEW AT DUNES' EDGE VILLA IN 2017:

- NEW oceanfront pool with pool/beach restroom facilities

- NEW outdoor showers at the beach entry/exit points

- Access to the new Oceanside Bar & Grille and Marketplace at the Ocean Oak Resort, just next door to Ocean Dunes, with breakfast, lunch, dinner, poolside bar, Starbucks and outdoor fire pits

- NEW oceanfront landscaping with boardwalk access to the beach

- NEW T-Fal cookware

A link to our personal website and video is below in our listing.

AMENITIES:

- Queen bed in the bedroom with the same mattress as used at Marriott Hotels and Resorts. We’ve also added a new down alternative mattress topper, comforter and pillows from Downlite, one of the leading bedding suppliers to hotels and resorts worldwide.

- Queen sleeper sofa in the living room (Comfort Sleeper by American Leather, considered the best sleeper sofa available)

- Two flat screen TVs (42” in living room and 32” in bedroom)

- Digital television including HD channels

- Bose Wave III stereo system with an adaptor for external music devises and smartphones

- Streaming video with complimentary access to Netflix, Amazon Movies and numerous other streaming channels

- High-speed wireless Internet/WiFi

- Internet phone service with unlimited calling within the US, Canada and Puerto Rico

- Answering machine

- Granite kitchen countertop

- Oceanfront pool with restroom facilities accessible from the pool and beach

- Outdoor showers at the beach entry/exit points

- Picnic and grill area

- Complimentary access during your stay at the nearby Fitness Center at the Players Club which includes exercise equipment, a 50' indoor heated lap pool, indoor/outdoor whirlpools and locker/shower facilities

We do use a management company to facilitate our rental transactions and to provide entry keys. We are most comfortable with this arrangement as it allows our guests with immediate access to their services should anything be needed during their stay. The management company is conveniently located directly across the street from Ocean Dunes Villas.

PLEASE NOTE-CANCELLATION POLICY -> The Request to Book option and the Rules & Policies section of our listing do not allow us to properly display our management company's cancellation policy. Our management company's cancellation policy as reflected in their Rental Confirmation (Terms & Conditions) is: Reservations of four (4) days or more must be cancelled Ninety (90) days prior to arrival for refund. Reservations of three (3) days or fewer must be cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival for refund. All cancellations will be subject to a $75.00 cancellation fee. All reservations are made subject to strikes, failure to vacate, or causes or conditions beyond our control.

HOUSEKEEPING: Housekeeping of our villa is of paramount concern! We have secured a private cleaning service which does a superb job and which also provides linens that are of higher quality than other services. Duvets are exchanged after each rental with freshly laundered replacements.

RENTAL PERIOD: While our rentals are generally for seven nights or more, shorter rentals are considered based on the season and availability. Our weekly rates are discounted. We are happy to provide you with a quote for rental rates of stays less than seven nights when they can be accommodated.

Airports:

- Hilton Head Airport (SC)– 4 miles

- Savannah–Hilton Head Airport (GA)– 47 miles

- Charleston, Int’l Airport (SC) - 108 miles

- Columbia Metropolitan Airport (SC) – 165 miles

- Jacksonville Airport (FL) – 170 miles

- Myrtle Beach Airport (SC) – 200 miles

- Greenville/Spartanburg Airport (SC) – 265 miles

- Charlotte-Douglas Int’l Airport (NC) – 265 miles

- Atlanta–Hartsfield Int’l Airport (GA) - 285 miles

Dunes' Edge is both a SMOKE FREE and PET FREE villa!

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 28, 2017

About The Owner

Greetings! We have owned our vacation villa on Hilton Head Island since February, 2006. Our love of travel has graced us with ability to visit many amazing locations around the US and throughout the world. It's also made us keenly aware of what we expect when we travel and what's important when it comes to the accommodations we select. We have made it a priority to create a vacation experience for our guests that meets the same high standards that we expect when we are traveling. There's no better compliment than a guest raving about the great vacation they had at our villa and referring us to others. We have had a ton of fun along the way in creating this experience.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2006

Why The Owner chose South Forest Beach

Location! Location! Location! Just like the realtors say. The location of our villa, just steps from the beach on Hilton Head Island took our breath away. Its location led us to calling it "Dunes' Edge Villa." The small size of the complex, Ocean Dunes, where our villa is located and its location away from the more populated beach areas of the island was important to us as well. It's a villa that we can arrive at and immediately feel a sense of peace and tranquility. We know our guests will feel the same way! The clincher was speaking to several guests during our search who had returned to Ocean Dunes year-after-year and from generation-to-generation. Many of our guests have been returning to our villa, Dunes' Edge, each year since we purchased in 2006.

What makes this condo unique

There is no better way to start a day than by watching the sunrise and dolphins from our oceanfront balcony with a nice cup of coffee. The views and colors change throughout the day based on the sun's position. And there's no better spot to gaze at the stars than from that same balcony.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for such a great stay in your condo on HHI. They called for rainy weather all week & they were wrong! The weather was great & we had a wonderful time. The villa serves as a perfect spot for chillin’, not rushin’ & doing only what you want to do. We appreciate the hospitality, the comfort & all the nice touches. Hope to be back soon. (Guests from Medina, OH 10/14/17) – Loved staying in your beautiful villa! You make the visits so wonderful by continuing to keep your place beautiful and welcoming We had great weather every day so the balcony views were amazing every morning especially at sunrise. The pool is so nice and the property is maintained beautifully. Met may nice people while we were here which made it even more fun! Can’t wait to come back, HHI never disappoints! Thank you so much! (Guests from St Louis, MO 10/6/17) – We enjoyed our stay here. The views are wonderful. It was a perfect distance to everything. We will definitely stay here again (Guests on 9/4/17) –This is a wonderful place. You have thought of everything to make it comfortable and special for your guests. Thank you for the thoughtfulness in all the details you’ve provided. Thank you for this special experience (Guests from Dallas, TX 5/9/17) – I loved every moment and everything-both great and small-about staying here! The condo is cozy & cheery and you can never beat the view and proximity to the ocean. Fabulous. Simply divine. Thank you for all the personal recommendations about what to do & see-and thank you for letting us experience a little bit of heaven, (Guests from Nashville, TN 4/16/17) – Another great stay in this villa. The condo is clean and cozy. It’s just the right size. It also lends itself to the perfect sunrise. So, grab a puzzle, enjoy the sunrise and an unhurried cup of coffee and enjoy the stay. Also, thanks to the owner for being a class act (Guests from Mentor, OH)
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 8

Amenities

South Forest Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen bed in the bedroom with the same mattress as used at Marriott Hotels and Resorts. We’ve also added a new down alternative mattress topper, comforter and pillows from Downlite, one of the leading bedding suppliers to hotels and resorts worldwide.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Elevator - Complimentary access to nearby health club - Coin operated washers & dryers are located on each floor of Ocean Dunes Villas

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Direct Oceanfront ~ NEW Oceanfront Pool~Complimentary Health Club
average rating of 4.8 based on 33 reviews
Selbyville, Delaware
5

Great Relaxing Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time. Everything was perfect. From the initial contact with the property owner, who was very friendly and helpful to our arrival check-in, the weeks stay and departure. We could not have asked for it to have gone any smoother than it did.

The property was exactly what we were expecting. We walked in and saw exactly what was pictured and everything was very clean and welcoming for our arrival. The new pool was very nice. The beach is just steps away and we took full advantage of it while there for our stay .. Morning visits and evening walks. It was just fabulous to have full beach access so close. We enjoyed the ability to cook our own meals several evenings while there with fully stocked kitchen supplies and local grocery stores to purchase what we needed as well as dining out at local restaurants that were really a nice treat. We enjoyed an afternoon/evening trip to Charleston mid-week. Coligny Place and Hatbor Town were favorite spots as well.

This was our first visit to Hilton Head Island and our first visit at this property. We couldn't have been more pleased to have found this gem and we would highly recommend it. We are look forward to returning in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Medina, OH
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time and will definitely come back to 206. We came down for our anniversary and the condo is big enough for the two of us. The location is very convenient and if you are looking for an easy vacation with no fuss and plenty of R&R, this is a great choice. You can't beat the beach front spot and when it is on a beach as nice as Forest Beach, it is awesome.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place to stay and beautiful location!!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in this beautiful condo and have nothing but positive things to say about the location, the owner, and the property team. The decor of the villa is very relaxing and up-to-date. The kitchen, bedroom, and the living area are very clean and you have all the amenities you would need, and then some, for your stay. We loved staying here even before the new hotel and updates to the pool and the grounds took place recently, but when we stayed here in 2015, it was equally as nice and a perfect fit for us. Close to all the great shops and plazas in HHI, and you can bike or walk easily to Coligny Plaza. Sea Pines and Harbour Town is close by as well. Love that view from the deck of the villa!! A peaceful place to have a glass of wine and relax, watch the sunset and listen to the waves....and such a short walk to the beach. Dale, the owner, went above and beyond to answer all of our questions and stayed in contact with us upon our arrival and after. In fact this last trip there for us was cut very short due to the Hurricane. We had to evacuate after a short stay and then could not return, but Dale communicated with us throughout to give us advice and to assist with our travel plans even outside of HHI! He is really one of a kind when it comes to personal service to his guests. He will check in with us while we are there to make sure we have everything we need. We can not wait to get back and experience all that HHI and this beautiful villa have to offer..highly recommend it:)

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Head again soon under better weather conditions. Happy 2017 to you both and to your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved Dunes Edge Villa and Hilton Head Island

  • 5 of 5

Our first visit to Hilton Head and Dunes Edge Villa was in April 2016 and we had a fantastic time. Dunes Edge Villa is in a great location overlooking the beach and ocean with beach access just below the condo. Sunrises from the deck were beautiful!

Our experience at Dunes Edge Villa was outstanding beginning with the friendly and helpful people at the management company when we checked in. The condo was beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained. It was obvious that the owner had put much effort into making sure the guests would enjoy their time there. The furniture was very comfortable and the kitchen was well appointed with appliances that looked new. Binders with restaurant recommendations and suggestions for things to do on Hilton Head and the surrounding areas were appreciated.

In addition, the owner contacted us during our stay to make sure everything was okay. He was very helpful when we mentioned we wanted to go to Savannah for the day but didn’t want to drive ourselves. He looked into several alternative travel options for us that we hadn’t considered.

We loved our time in Hilton Head and at the Dunes Edge Villa so much that we have already reserved a week to go back in 2017.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of our villa! We appreciate it and are so pleased that you will be returning in 2017! We are excited for you to see the finished product now that redevelopment of the adjacent property is complete and the new Ocean Oaks Resort is open for business.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Most Perfect Getaway Ever!

  • 5 of 5

Let me start with the interior of the condo. Spotless, super cheery, sunny, cozy, and incredibly comfortable in every way. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in; as soon as my head hit the pillow I pretty much fell into a coma for the next 8 hours. Even the pull-out sofa is comfortable! Quality was not spared in any way! All of the comforts of home are right there at your fingertips, right down to the beach chairs. There are two separate air conditioner/heating units so you know you will be completely comfortable no matter where you are in the condo. There is even a dehumidifier centrally located to alleviate the summer humidity! It truly is so cozy and cheery and bright, and everything is fresh and new inside.

Now to the location and the view.... neither can be beat! It's on the 2nd floor, with an elevator nearby (as well as luggage carts for guests' use), and a laundry room is just down the corridor for guest use, as well. The balcony of the condo overlooks the ocean, which is mere steps away. You can literally sit in your robe and slippers with your morning coffee and watch every bit of the glorious sunrise right from your own balcony! If you want to watch it from the beach, the path to the beach is RIGHT below the balcony and you're on sand in seconds.

Next door is the new Hilton, and only feet away is their outdoor bar and grill, which is open to the public. You can get a cup of coffee and bagel or muffin, or you can get a beer/cocktail and lunch or dinner. Then you can sit on their gigantic patio full of cushioned patio furniture and fire pits and enjoy! There are also tons of other eateries nearby, many within walking (or bike riding) distance.

The pool for the villas is beautiful and you can see it from the balcony. There are palm trees and all sorts of greenery to make everything beautiful, everywhere you look!

The owner is fantastic and really cares about your stay. This truly is the perfect, most comfortable, coziest condo in the best spot you could ever imagine!! I am so thankful to have experienced this!

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our villa and look forward to another visit in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very Bad. Old, Run Down, Smelly.

  • 1 of 5

I have been going to Hilton Head Island since 1977 and Ocean Dunes is showing it's age …… badly. The Condo had an AC unit that must be 30 years old and was VERY loud. Because the unit is so prone to mold and mildew, the owner also requested that you run a full size dehumidifier that is also VERY loud. Of course you only find this out once you have arrived. The unit is very, very small. Smaller than many hotel rooms on the island. There is NO WAY 4 people could stay there. There would be no place to put your things and not enough space to move. It’s tight for TWO people. If the pool on the property is important then this is NOT the place for you. The pool may be fairly new, but is extremely small. The beach access is terrible with only one walkway. Also, there is only one foot wash when you come off the beach so you wind up standing there waiting in line to use it. Not much fun when you are trying to get back to your condo to use the bathroom!

For anyone that cares about their cars do not park in the Ocean Dunes parking lot. Everyone’s cars were getting covered with pine tree sap! It was really bad. I had to go out and get rubbing alcohol to help the other guests get the sap off their vehicles and mine as well. One lady was actually crying!

The best thing about this location is that it is next to Marriot Pool Bar Jims, however Pool Bar Jims moved and is no longer there!!!!

I would never stay at Ocean Dunes again. Stay away from here at all costs! It was terrible. Many of the guests I talked to were complaining. You are MUCH better off staying in the Palmetto Dunes area. It is MUCH nicer!

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the spirit of the season, Happy Holidays to you and your family! We are dismayed to read your review. It’s our belief that there’s no substantive truth to it and that you have instead used this platform to exact revenge on us, our management company (MC) and Ocean Dunes Villas (ODV) for denying a refund after your vacation was cut short due to work demands. In a nutshell, after spending time in our villa with no communication of problems of any sort, you were called away due to work. To quote you from an email sent 4 days after you left: “Unfortunately had to leave because of work.” There’s no mention of problems of any kind. You had also informed our MC that all was great but work required you to leave. You were fully aware of all policies and acknowledged this when you stated “All sounds great” after receiving an email from us prior to booking (and another from our MC) that detailed all policies. There were no valid complaints warranting remediation. Your credit card co. also declined your dispute after examining email correspondence between you, us and our MC. We are truly sorry that your vacation was cut short by your job. In the spirit of hospitality, we offered you a discount on a future booking. We are saddened that you resorted to slandering our villa due to not receiving a refund. We strive to be excellent hosts and go above-and-beyond to make our new and many repeat guests’ experience memorable. Rarely does a guest not receive a call from us, at least once, to make sure all is perfect. Any concern raised from a guest has been addressed immediately. We have not had a bad review in the 10yrs we have been hosting. FACT(F): we are a 4.5/5-star-rated property on our MC website F: of the 21 reviews on HA/VRBO, 19 are 5star, one is 4star and only one (yours) is 1star F: our villa is in the top tier of our MC’s portfolio of properties F: there are two beach walkways with 3 showers, 5 foot washes, private pool/beach bathrooms (1 walkway was closed due to construction which you were aware of prior to booking) F: A/C’s are 1yo & 3yo (our MC, available 24/7, could have addressed any noise concern) F: villa size is stated in our listing along with current/accurate photos F: Hilton Head’s climate is humid/sub-tropical-the dehumidifier has been appreciated by guests and it’s use is entirely up to their discretion F: our new pool is smaller than the previous one but is now for ODV guests exclusively F: ODV has undergone many renovations to remain current.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

The villa is conveniently located within walking and biking distance of the shops, restaurants, theaters and galleries at Coligny Plaza yet far enough removed to ensure a quiet beach vacation.

Other Activities: wildlife viewing, mini golf, boating, shopping, kayaking, racquetball

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Clean $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

--$25 additional fee if sleeper sofa linens are required.
--RENTAL PERIOD: While our rentals are generally for seven nights or more as reflected in our rates, shorter rentals are considered based on the season and availability. Our weekly rates are discounted and include a departure cleaning fee . We are happy to provide you with a quote for rental rates of stays less than seven nights when they can be accommodated.

SOME OF OUR MGMT COMPANY KEY RENTAL POLICIES (a complete list of rental policies outlined in SAMPLE RENTAL AGREEMENT):

AGE: All guests (other than a family checking in) must be at least 21 years old. In the case of married couples at least one of the individuals must be 21 years of age. The individual signing the rental agreement must occupy the accommodation the full length of the rental term.

DEPOSITS: A deposit of 50% of the rental rate is due at booking and the balance due 30 days prior to arrival. Any reservations booked less than 21 days prior to arrival must be guaranteed in full by credit card.

CANCELLATION POLICY: Reservations of four (4) days or more must be cancelled ninety (90) days prior to arrival for a refund. Reservations of three (3) days or fewer must be cancelled 72 hours prior to arrival for a refund. All cancellations will be subject to a $75.00 cancellation fee. All reservations are made subject to strikes, failure to vacate or causes or conditions beyond our control.

NO SHOW'S/EARLY CHECK-OUT'S: There will be no refunds for "no shows". Early check-outs will not be refunded.

CHECK-IN TIME: Check-in Time is 4:00 p.m.

CHECK-OUT TIME: Check-out time is 10:00 a.m. Check-out time is strictly enforced due to the time needed to clean and inspect the villa for the next arrival. All keys must be returned to management office upon check-out.

TRAVELER INSURANCE: Recommended and available from our management company

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties