Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4 BR oceanfront; Unobstructed ocean views; Recently renovated; Pet Friendly

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5+ Baths

Our exciting oceanfront condo is ideal for families looking for a fun-filled, relaxing vacation. Just walk down the driveway and over the dunes to the beach. These special accommodations offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the ocean from the living room and upper master bedroom. There are partial views of the ocean from the second master bedroom on the lower level.

A large cozy couch in the newly-renovated living room and completely renovated, modern kitchen with brand new appliances await your arrival. But you don't need to be stuck in the kitchen. Barbeque your own dinner on the top-end gas grill while listening to the ocean. Or better yet, enjoy many of the wonderful local restaurants and night clubs within walking distance.

The front deck overlooking the ocean is a great place to enjoy your morning coffee or happy hour with the family and friends. Or relax with a book on one of the four decks.

Outdoor sand shower. Parking for three cars. Additional street parking available with town permit in peak season. Saturday to Saturday rentals in peak season. Rental dates are more flexible in the off-season.

The Town of Dewey Beach offers FREE family-friendly movies on the beach on Monday evenings in peak season and bonfires on the beach every Wednesday in peak season. There are also fun activities on the beach including yoga on the beach, and kids activities on the beach including tetherball, skim boarding, kite flying, and volleyball.

We are uniquely located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. When you return from the beach at the end of the day, you can watch the sunset on the bay. Biking, water park, car racing, outdoor concerts, kite flying, wave runners, miniature golf, antiquing, paddleboarding, skimboarding, parasailing, canoe rentals, historical buildings, movie theatres, outlet shopping, and state parks are all available.

.

Keywords: Beach, Shore, 4 Bedroom, Oceanfront, Sand, Dewey Beach, Delaware; Collins Avenue

More Details

Owner
Diane
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2017

About Diane

We purchased our first home here in 1998 and we loved it so much, we bought two more! Now we are retired and live here permanently. We rent the other two properties. We love meeting the people who visit here in summer and especially enjoy watching the little children play in the sun, sand, and surf as well as watching the dogs romp on the beach. I have been very active in the town as Town Commissioner for 10 years, serving as mayor for 6 of those years .

Diane purchased this condo in 2000

Why Diane chose Delaware

Enjoy sunrises and moonrises from your bed or one of the three oceanfront decks. Even your family dog can enjoy a vacation in dog-friendly Dewey where dogs are allowed on the beach after 5:30 p.m. and before 9:30 a.m. in peak season. Our condo has been completely remodeled over the past few years, including new mattresses and carpeting. And the owners live one block away in case you need help with anything.

What makes this condo unique

If you enjoy ocean waves, beautiful sunsets on the bay, and a cocktail on a deck with a light sea breeze, Dewey Beach is the place for you to vacation. Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the serene Rehoboth Bay, Dewey Beach is a favorite seaside resort for young and old alike. Only one mile long and two blocks wide, you can easily walk anywhere in town. With old fashioned cottages among more modern condos and single family homes, Dewey has a charm of its own.

It is a perfect place for a family vacation with activities for the children such as movies on the beach every Monday and bonfires complete with marshmallows to roast, on the beach every Wednesday evening in summer. With our rentals being a very short walk to the beach, it’s easy and convenient to take the kids back for a nap or lunch or to go to the bathroom!

Tetherball, volleyball, and skim boarding are allowed on the beach in specified areas. With our beaches less crowded than neighboring Rehoboth and Lewes, there’s plenty of room to build sand castles and bury each other in the sand. And you’re sure to spot dolphins while sitting right on the beach. Sometimes they even jump out of the water, putting on a little show for the sunbathers. Dewey Beach even has its own playground on the bay side. Sunbathe at the beach in the afternoon and watch the sunset from the bay in the evening.

These are some of the reasons why many families return to Dewey year after year.

Amenities

Dewey Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , powder room
  • Two full baths; one powder room, and an outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has a double and a single bed on top of it
    LIving room with pull out couch - 1 queen
  • Note: The town does not allow us to advertise for occupancy beyond 2/bedroom + 2 additional such as a pull out sofa. However, there are actually 4 bedrooms (one which sleeps 5) and a pull out couch that total 13 beds. Children under 5 do not count toward occupancy. The layout of beds is as follows: King size bed (1) King bed in master bedroom on the first floor, Queen size Beds (3) Queen beds in three different bedrooms, (1) Pull out couch in living room, Bunk Beds (1) Twin on top and double on bottom sleeps 3 plus a queen bed in the same room sleeps a total of 5 in this bedroom which is ideal for all the kids to have fun!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dewey Beach is the perfect place for a family vacation with beautiful ocean beaches combined with bay activities, tax-free shopping, sports, and wildlife watching, movies on the beach every Monday and bonfires on the beach every Tuesday and Wednesday evenings in summer. Yoga on the beach daily. Tetherball, volleyball, and skim boarding are allowed on the beach in specified areas. And you’re sure to spot dolphins while sitting right on the beach. Dewey is very dog friendly with your favorite hound allowed on the beach year round.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
18% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
4 BR oceanfront; Unobstructed ocean views; Recently renovated; Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 27 reviews
4

terrific location. lovely beachfront. spacious beach. older home in need of repairs.

  • 4 of 5

lovely location. big spacious beach. waves break hard at shore. good swimming once past breakers. well guarded beach. pet friendly but restricted hours. not great dining in the immediate area. quiet street. condo on 4 stories. not good if you can't climb stairs constantly. water 72 degrees good for swimming. never trust weather report. just make your plans and go. nice drive from Baltimore or DC. property had a lot of issues. WiFi and cable went down immediately and took most of week to get repaired. screens torn. cook top charred. washer unreliable. owner will be making repairs. older property. very small TV in den.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location - needs work.

  • 3 of 5

It's a beach house so we weren't expecting a 5 star experience. That being said, the house needs a "Mr. Fixit" to take care of a bunch of small issues. They also need to hire a different cleaning firm.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: One of the best things about renting from us is that we live only a block away and are able to remedy most problems quickly. If you had let me know there was a problem, we would have had if fixed immediately. I'm so sorry you had a bad experience. Lots of little things break by the end of the season that are only obvious if you are actually inhabiting the facility and using the appliances, lights, etc. so we depend on people letting us know if there is something wrong. I'd be glad to give you a free weekend off season to make it up to you. Let me know. Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Views, Clean house, Good location

  • 5 of 5

We were very surprised how big the house is compared to the photos online. More than enough space for two families. The house is clean and had everything we needed for a great week. We all (dogs included) had a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sure your dogs enjoyed the beach where they can run and play with other dogs. I'm glad you found the condo to be roomy. Proximity to the beach is also a great convenience. We hope you will return next year. Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a wonderful family trip!

  • 5 of 5

We've been coming to Dewey for almost 20 years with our extended family, but this was our first stay at Diane's beautiful oceanfront home. We hope we can return next summer.

The location is amazing. As you sit in the living room or on one of the oceanside decks, you feel like you are basically sitting out on the beach, but with all the comforts of home. And it's a short walk to the beach, so you can shuttle back and forth easily from your spot on the beach.

The living room and dining area were a great size for our group. There were 7 of us (and one dog) staying in the house, but we had other family members a few houses away and we'd sometimes have the whole group over for dinner. There was enough space to accommodate everyone comfortably. And the kitchen is well-stocked. We cooked almost every night, and grilled once.

My husband and I stayed in the master bedroom on the ground floor, with a comfortable king-sized bed. But the great thing about this room is that it was easy to bring our dog out for her evening walks, just down the stairs off of our deck, and then across the parking lot. In the mornings we often took her out to the beach. She was exhausted every evening. I loved the outdoor shower, as well.

It's a gem, this house. Thank you for hosting us, Diane!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The proximity to the ocean and the magnificent views are definitely one of wonderful features of our ocean-front condo. And many dog owners have mentioned the ease of taking the dog for a walk directly from the bedroom or down one flight of stairs. i"m sure your dog loved the ocean and had fun romping with other dogs on the beach after 5:30 p.m. or in the morning. I'm so glad to hear you liked your stay in Dewey and we certainly hope to have you back next year. Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location great. Property very good.

  • 4 of 5

1st time at Dewey after 30 plus years in Rehoboth. Will think seriously about Dewey next year. Dewey needs to upgrade sidewalks​ on route 1. No problem for the 55 to 65. But older parents had issues walking on them.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great week at the beach.

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautifully situated with lovely views of the ocean and easy proximity to the beach. It was nicely furnished and comfortable. One thing did not work for us. The top bunk seemed too unstable for a child of 8 to use. My daughter said it was a design flaw and could not be rectified.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The views are magnificent and the close proximity to the beach is certainly a big convenience especially for groups with children. I wish you had told me about the bed while you were here and we would have had it replaced. I didn't know there was a problem. i will take a look at it and get it replaced as soon as possible. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Philadelphia, Baltimore, MD; Washington, DC
Nearest Barpub
Rusty Rudder; Nalu; Que Pasa; Dewey Beach Club
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Cape May-Lewes Ferry
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Baywoods, Old Landing, Bear Trap
Nearest Train
100 Miles
Wilmington, DE
Nearest Motorway
Route One
Nearest Restaurant
Two Seas; Nalu; Que Pasa; Dewey Beach Club
Nearest Beach
Dewey beach
Car: recommended

Dewey Beach has some of the cleanest water in America, having won the Super Star Beach award (one of 5 beaches nationally) for 5 years in a row. In season a beach vendor offers food and drinks for sale and beach chairs and umbrellas for rent. The Town offers FREE family-friendly movies on the beach on Monday evenings in peak season and bonfires on the beach every Tuesday and Wednesday in peak season. Yoga on the beach is offered daily in peak season.There are also fun activities on the beach including kids activities such tetherball, skim boarding, kite flying, and volleyball.

We are uniquely located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. When you return from the beach at the end of the day, you can watch the sunset on the bay. There are many activities available including biking, water park, car racing, outdoor concerts, kite flying, wave runners, Miniature golf, bounce park, antiquing are all available.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $150
Damage Deposit $500

I require a signed lease which clarifies what is provided and what is not, as well a rules for the property such as parking and grilling.
Pet fees are $150 for the first dog and $100 for each additional pet.
Travel insurance is advised in case of serious storms or other issues that may require evacuation or make the property uninhabitable. Under such circumstances, there will be no cash refund under short term cancellations. However, a rental at a similar time in the future will be arranged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties