check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Edward Brink

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Awesome Northern Michigan Townhouse.... Golf & Ski, 1 Bedroom + Loft

25 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Custer Township Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Northern Michigan 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 & 1/2 Bath Townhouse, sleeps 6

Enjoy some affordable accommodations in a neat 1 & 1/2 story redecorated Sudendorf complex townhouse located in Schuss Village at Shanty Creek Resort...the very popular golf and ski resort located near Bellaire, Michigan. The expansive Schuss ski slopes are under three minutes away by car or resort bus. A private pool for the complex is located directly across from the front of the unit, while a sliding door to the rear of the unit leads to a large deck overlooking the dense woods. If cooking is in your plans, utilize the Weber grill located there. The cozy, memorabilia filled unit has one bedroom with a queen bed, a loft with two twin beds, and a pull out double in the living area. There is a full bath on the main level and a half bath in the loft. The unit can sleep 6 comfortably, and is perfect for two couples or a family. A fully stocked kitchen, new Flat Screen TV,

DVD, and Stereo are there for your use and there's lots of firewood available for the living area fire place.

Amenities:: A fully stocked Kitchen, Microwave, TV, DVD, Stereo / CD / Cassette player, wood burning fireplace (wood furnished) and a Weber grill on the large wood deck.....Free WI-FI is available in the lobby of the indoor pool building (just three minutes from our unit) located in the Village Circle at the base of the ski slopes.

Summer & Winter Activities:: ...In the summer, enjoy the pool located just steps from the townhouse (open from Memorial Day to Labor Day) or the outdoor and indoor pools in the Schuss Village Square area that are open year-round, golfing at the four high quality resort courses....Cedar River(Weiskopf), The Legend(Palmer), Schuss Mountain Course, and Summit Course... or others nearby, hiking and biking. You could also do a little fishing, boating or other water sports in Torch Lake or nearby Lake Bellaire, or take a 2-4 hr. Jordan River Canoe Trip.

...In the Winter, enjoy the large Schuss Village ski area or the ski area at nearby Summit Village..including night skiing. Summit Village also has a great tubing facility. Complimentary shuttle service is available from our complex to either area. There are also many groomed cross-country trails as well as the indoor and outdoor pools in the Schuss Village Square. Try the apres ski entertainment, etc. at Ivan's at the base of the slopes at Schuss Village.

General Info:: Shanty Creek Resort is comprised of Schuss Village, Summit Village, and Cedar River Village. all of which are within 2 or 3 miles of each other. There is very good signage to assist one in getting from one village to the other. There is nothing prettier than the October color changes in the wooded areas.

There are programs available, in both the summer and ski seasons, for young children. Child care and babysitting services are also available through the resort.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Edward Brink (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 25 traveler reviews

Awesome Northern Michigan Townhouse.... Golf & Ski, 1 Bedroom + Loft
average rating of 4.88 based on 25 reviews
5

Charming find!!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I took our boys up for a short trip to see all the sights in the area. Even before arrival Ed was more than accommodating and extremely helpful with his vast knowledge of the area and helpful hints. Upon arrive we were pleasantly surprised at this clean home stocked with anything you could need. We were a bit skeptical as there was no air conditioning in the unit and it was a HOT weekend, however with the trees in the area this unit never became uncomfortable during our stay. The pool was very close and we sure did make use of this amenity! Upon leaving I was emailed by Ed about a swim suit left behind, apparently in my haste to make sure the boys didn't leave anything I over looked mine! Ed made sure this was returned to me which I am very grateful for. Wonderful rental, excellent location and great owners, we look forward to a return trip to Schuss!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property Full of Charm

  • 5 of 5

My wife and two of our children rented this property at the last minute so we were skeptical of what w might get. What we got was a spectacular property with all of the comforts of home. The townhouse has photos and memorabilia all over the walls lending to its incredible charm. We loved reading through the guestbooks that date back to the 1970's. It is evident that the owners love the place and want their guests to love it too. We took a couple of day trips to Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake that were very convenient. We didn't get to experience the pool or the lodge. We would highly recommend this property and we intend to rent there again the next time we are in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a nice family vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

I spent this July 4th weekend at Ed's cottage with my family and we had an awesome time. The property was exactly as described in the listing, very clean, well maintained. The kitchen had everything to cook a tasty meal after a long day outside. And the amazing part was the swimming pool right in front of the house!! There was also place for camp fire where we had a relaxing late evening chat!

The cottage is also at a prime location, and has a lot of attractions within couple of hour's drive (Sleeping Bear dunes, Traverse City, Torch Lake among the few)

Ed was very hospitable, a great host and was very quick in responding to any request/questions.

I would definitely recommend this place to my friends/family visiting that area.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had a perfect winter weekend at Ed's place. It was perfect. It has a great loft space above the living area with two twin beds and a small bedroom. The kids had their space (loft) and we had ours (bedroom.) The decor is groovy and classic mid-century - the fireplace.....oh that fireplace. It has a beautiful view out the back deck to the woods, is perfectly appointed and located. We cannot wait to return for another ski weekend!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a family ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four stayed here four nights and skied at Schuss every day. The condo is a two-minute drive to the base of Schuss. There's enough room in the foyer for all your ski gear and plenty of heaters and a fireplace to dry everything off. The kitchen allowed us to make breakfast and dinner every day (we ate lunch at Ivans). The second bedroom is a loft with a tight spiral staircase. It was great for us, but something to think about if you have really young kids or anyone who is unsteady on the stairs. We would come back.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great comfortable condo for the family!

  • 5 of 5

We spent New Years at this condo for the second year in a row with our three kids (ages 5, 7, and 9) and were highly satisfied. The owner takes time to ensure that you are comfortable in the condo and renting was hassle free. We've rented a couple other places in the area and like the family feel of this place the best. The snow skiing and tubing was great for the kids--it was also pretty cool to be hanging out in the heated outdoor pool while Schuss was making/blowing snow right in front of us.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Antrim County Airport
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Routes 131 and M-88
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: necessary

Schuss Village of Shanty Creek Resort is located just off of M-88, between Bellaire and Mancelona, Michigan. From here, it's about an hour's drive southwest to Traverse City, and its nearby Leelanau Peninsula, which holds the breath-taking Sleeping Bear Dunes. You could also visit the many wineries or the casino located there. Head northward from Schuss, about an hour, to the unique towns of Charlevoix or Petoskey... or go even a little further and visit Mackinac Island for a day. Rent a pontoon boat and cruise world renowned Torch Lake... only a 20-minute drive away...or canoe the nearby Jordan River. Play one of the many beautiful golf courses in the area or do some fishing in the numerous rivers and lakes you'll find close by. Take a walk in the woods, go cross-country skiing or just relax at the pool with a book in the summer. There's so much to do!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Custer Township Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 6 2016 - Nov 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$90
From
$125
Fri,Sat
$570
 
 
Winter Season
Nov 21 2016 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$160
Fri,Sat
$720
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $60

No Smoking & No Pets;
Nightly rate is for Sunday thru Thursday. Weekly includes one weekend.
Please inquire, as Holiday Rates do vary
Inquire about possible Specials in April and November, and for possible discounted rates, both early and late in all Seasons.

*A Deposit of 50% is due within 7 days, with the balance being due 30 days prior to rental.
*Refundable 45 days before reservation arrival date or, if rebooked prior to reserved date, a prorated share of the rental fee for each day we are able to fill, less a $25 cancellation fee.
*A $200 refundable security deposit is required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Custer Township Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 925 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 twin/ single
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull out double
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers