check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Lisa A. Oweis (Owner)

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Beautiful & Spacious Home by the Sea w/Pool and Dock!

25 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Fort Lauderdale House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This beautifully furnished four bedroom, three bath house spans over 2000 square feet (7000 lot total) and is only a block from the Beach of the Atlantic Ocean! The master bedroom has a pillow-top king-size bed and French doors leading out to the 18ft round heated pool and relaxing jacuzzi.

The second bedroom has two single beds placed together, the third has a queen-size bed, and the fourth has a daybed. The living room is furnished with a leather couch and love seat, 60 inch HDTV, and there is an alcove off to the side which has an office area and seating with two chairs. The dining room has seating for six.

In addition, there is a Florida room which is like another living area. It has a sectional sofa, two chairs, a television with VCR and a dining set for four. It serves as a great play area for the kids. We are children-friendly and happy to provide crib, high chair, and playpen. Another great feature is that the home is a one-story, split, bedroom plan which means you have two bedrooms and two baths on one side of the house and two bedrooms and one bath with its own entrance on the other side. Perfect when traveling with the kids and the nanny, or a large family. Pool has a removable safety ladder and spa has a cover.

All of the comforts of home are provided: dishes (serving for 12), utensils, linens, eight cup coffee maker, blender, baking pans, cappacino maker, towels, beach chairs, cordless telephone with answering machine, barbecue grill, and much more. The backyard is completely fenced in for peace of mind with the kids or your pet. There is also a dock about 50 feet from the back of the home which is a great for fishing or watching the boats.

Some of the extras include spa robes, spa soaps, Pur water filter in kitchen, and a high efficiency antimicrobial AC filter to ensure clean fresh air. Maid service, groceries, and activities can also be arranged at your request.

Keywords: Beach Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Lisa A. Oweis (Owner) (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Guestbook comments from the owner

We would like to thank you for making our vacation more exciting and comfortable. The house was more than we expected- beautiful, comfortable and clean. We will always keep this home in mind for our next vacation.

Gracias!

Maria C. & family from Colombia S.A.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 37

Reviews

4.3
based on 25 traveler reviews

Beautiful & Spacious Home by the Sea w/Pool and Dock!
average rating of 4.28 based on 62 reviews
Pennsylvania
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

Booking a vacation rental online and from a private owner is something that we were somewhat hesitant about. However, this home is everything it promises to be! Even with nine people (six of them teens), we never felt crowded. It is very spacious and clean. The beds were fabulous and all the furniture is very nice and comfortable. We all thoroughly enjoyed our much too short stay here!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2007
  • Stayed: May 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
17 4
1

House needs good cleaning!

  • 1 of 5

The layout of the house is really good for a large group. The backyard also has a nice layout.

However, the house was just not clean. The kitchen cabinets had drips and food smudges. The garbage pail was dirty on the top and the outside. The silverware container and the silverware needed a good washing. The small appliances(coffee maker, blender,etc) were dirty. There were a number of appliances in the lower cabinets, but they looked unclean and disfunctional. The cookware was in bad shape, especially the non-stick kind. They were pitted and scratched and unusable.

The mattresses were OK, but the mattress covers needed washing. I spent hours the 1st day cleaning & washing. We also bought a coffee maker, some pans, towels,etc. While the backyard seemed very pleasant, the cushions on the chairs were moldy(4 of us have allergies and couldn't use the backyard table for that reason). My youngest grandson wanted to use the pool, and spent a long time cleaning out the bamboo leaves(they never stopped falling)

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Property not as advertised

  • 2 of 5

The property is not as presented on the website--it is shabby and in poor physical condition: pool does not adequately heat and remained too cold to use during our entire one month stay; walls and furniture are scratched and stained; refrigerator had no rails on the door and had a badly broken drawer with jagged edges; hot tub is badly warped and had no cover. House was very dirty and grimy when we arrived; toilet seat broken, TVs not operating; clearly not readied by owners for our occupancy. At our request, cleaning person was sent three days after we arrived. Location is farther from beach than one block, but it is a short walk. Two stars because beds and furniture are comfortable and location is quiet; otherwise, one star. Overall, the house is not worth the rent charged.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sparkie, I am sorry that our home did not meet your expectations. As I explained in my email response February is high season and the pricing is at its peak. Regarding the items that you feel were misrepresented, I have to disagree. The couches that were in the photos on VRBO were both replaced with leather seating and would be considered an upgrade by any standards. The white leather sectional in the living room retails for $2500 at Z Gallerie and was placed there a few months ago. The dining chairs are also from Z Gallerie ($690) and are just 2 months old. The capiz shell chandelier ($400) in the dining room replaced the old ceiling fan. We also replaced the area rugs in the living, kitchen and bedroom at a cost of over $1000. We are also in the process of painting with master and living/dining area complete as of your stay so yes the home looked a bit different than the photos but it was because we were upgrading those items! As far as the the tile, counter top, cabinets (yes they do have some wear) and there are the rooms that still need to be painted but these are NOT items that would impact the enjoyment of the home in any way. I did not advertise the home as having granite countertops or top of the line stainless steel appliances! The refrigerator is missing a shelf and drawer but was in working condition and cooling properly. We have since replaced the refrigerator with one that has an ice maker. As you mentioned in the memo that Ken was able to repair most of the items and tried his best with the pool heater even purchasing a new pump for $275. The spa although not perfect aesthetically was fully functional and was heating properly. In fact Ken noted it was on full heat during all the times he was there. I also apologized that some cleaning issues needed to be addressed and you stated you were satisfied after they returned. As far as the walk to the beach I was happy to provide exact address for you to see the home on a satellite map and the home is about 2 blocks (2 minute walk to the sand) and the intracoastal is just seconds from backyard. It is my goal to provide a home away from home that serves as a great retreat for those who want to enjoy the south Florida weather, ocean breezes and the beautiful atlantic ocean. I am truly sorry that the home did not live up to your expectations and I appreciate your feedback. Regards, Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Santiago, Chile
4

Relaxed Stay

  • 4 of 5

Excellent and relax house to be there. Very close to the beach ; close bythe house there is a strip center where you can buy all your forgotten staff.

Only regret is one shower didn't work, but owner was so kind to try to fix it.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent place for Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We spent a few days in this beautiful property, with the beach close to the house and family good times, thanks to Lisa treated us well and always attentive to the needs very friendliness.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Chris, Thank you so much for choosing our beach home for your family vacation! I hope you and your family were able to create lasting and wonderful memories to cherish for a long time. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I look forward to having you and your family visit again soon! All The Best, Lisa Oweis
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

unbelievable

  • 1 of 5

my family & I were only supposed to check in at 3pm 7/6/2015 but Lisa called me around 11:30 am the same day & said that the house is ready & that I could go there as soon as I wanted to & because I had flown in from NJ the night before I was more than ready to settle in the home I rented & start my family vacation. we got to the house & it was a pig sty. I have no idea who stayed in the house before we did, but it was a mess. for Lisa to call & tell us that we could go to the house earlier was a bad move on her. there was throw up on pillows & stains on the couch that would definitely not come out. there was food everywhere. the pool & the hot tub were not clean, blood outside, the kitchen was disgusting-- no one would ever feel comfortable cooking in there. &plus, there were was no cleaning crew there because they had to go out to get help.

I tried calling Lisa multiple times, emailed & texted her & she ignored me. finally after a while, she TEXTED me instead of calling & apologized & said that she shouldn't have let us in the house earlier & that we should come back LATER because the house would be ready. so we did. we went out for lunch & decided to show up at 3pm because that's what I paid for. upon our second arrival, there were 2 females and a CHILD no more than 14 years old cleaning the house. tried contacting Lisa again & she ignored mine & my families calls and only after a couple tries did she finally reach one of us back. then she proceeds to disrespect my mother on the phone & continue saying that we have to stay there & the house will be clean and that it'll look a lot better once it's done. my family and I requested a full refund because we no longer felt conformable staying there knowing what it looked like before. Lisa told us that we could not get a refund. then she started bribing us to stay and come back the next day and she would refund us the night and get us a new couch, but my family still did not want to stay there because we had already wasted an hour of our rental, the house was no where near clean and there was too much damaged to be salvaged so we left and found somewhere else to stay.

Lisa then texts me at 6pm saying that the house is clean and that her husband will be there to clean out the pool and hot tub, and if necessary he'll have the couch replaced. again, I told her that we would not be staying there. the next day she still texted me saying to go there that it was all clean.

embarrassing & unprofessional.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you had this experience and It is not my goal to disappoint guests that have waited and looked forward to a relaxing beach vacation. My goal is to exceed expectations because I know how important vacations are to families looking to reunite and unwind. This was a very rare and unforeseen situation where the previous guests left the home in extreme conditions. Most of our guests leave the home in immaculate condition. On your check in day we spoke before noon and you asked if you could check in early. I explained that I was not sure if the cleaning lady was finished but that you were welcome to place luggage in home and then have lunch or go to the beach if it was not ready. Unfortunately the home was not done and upon touring the unfinished home you viewed the mess left behind by the previous guests. When you texted me at 12:21 pm I explained that the cleaning lady was getting extra help and that I would rectify every issue -the home would be cleaned and sanitized, the pool treated and spa drained and refilled. I apologized and was embarrassed that you had to view the home in such a bad way. I assured you I would take care of everything and was not ignoring your calls-I explained that I was in an area with poor service and at around 3;45 I spoke with all members of your family trying to apologize and reassure. I even promised that the couch would be swapped out to a leather sectional to make you feel more comfortable. By 6 pm the home cleaned, pool /spa treated and later that eve my husband brought the leather sectional.. Again it is not my goal to disappoint but I feel I did everything possible to resolve the situation including a $500 refund for the inconvenience. I am sure if you saw half the hotel rooms prior to cleaning you would be disgusted. My previous guests were a large family that included 2 infants and a toddler but there was no irreparable damage to the home which was livable and ready to enjoy that same evening. I have used the same cleaning lady for 7 years and she sometimes brings her daughter along but I certainly did not hire a 14 year old to clean! She was just trying to help her mom who was trying to do her best.I feel a little patience would have led to a much better outcome. I was trying to accommodate your family arriving early and I am truly sorry for the experience you had. Regards, Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
FLL (Ft Laud/Hollywood Intl) PBI (Palm Beach Intl)
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Captain Jack's Oceanfront
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Ft Lauderdale Marina
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Coral Ridge Country Club
Nearest Train
5 Miles
FTL- Amtrak/Tri-Rail
Nearest Motorway
3.5 Miles
I-95 (North/South)
Nearest Restaurant
250 Metres
Beachcomber Ocean Grill
Nearest Beach
Private Access
Car: not necessary

Home is 2 blocks north of Lauderdale By the Sea in pompano beach part of the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. It is a ten minute drive to Deerfield Beach, 15 mis to Boca raton, close to Childrens' museums, Boomers amusement Park, Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Ice Skating Rink, Bowling, Pompano Racetrack with live harness horse racing, casino with Las Vegas-style slot machines, live poker & fantastic restaurants are all within 10-20 mins away. Palm Aire Golf Course is 10 mins away and if shopping is desired the Galleria Mall is 10 mins to the south and Town Center Mall in Boca Raton is about 20 mins to the north. Craving South Beach excitement? A water taxi is available a short distance away which cruises to South Beach! Beachcomber resort is 2 blocks away!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fort Lauderdale House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$255
$1,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Cleaning $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fort Lauderdale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
3 HDTVs, Wi-Fi and wired Internet, extra Linens. There is a small shopping mall 1/2 block away which has a small grocery store, dry cleaners/tailor, hair salon, restaurant & gift shop, There are 2 major hotels directly on the ocean (The Beachcomber and Wyndam) which have restaurants and a tiki bar open to the public. Just minutes away is the Marriott located directly on the ocean where you can treat yourself to a facial, massage, an aqua-aerobics class or pampering at the salon, *We are proud to announce that we are members of the We use Bi-O-Kleen cleaning products which are non-toxic, safe for the environment, biodegradable and do not contain carcinogens or polllutants, We use Xact Natural all natural pest control , high efficiency AC filters, and do not allow smoking in the home. We are conveniently located between Deerfield Beach and Lauderdale By the Sea, 30 mins south to Miami and 20 mins north to Boca Raton/Palm Beach.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...