check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

FEBRUARY 14 - 20 OPEN!! South Kihei Best Beaches, close to restaurants, shops

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Maalaea Condo Rental Photos and Description

Studio Condo across from Kamaole Beach 11 Close to all amenities

Nicely renovated studio condo, located at the popular Kihei Akahi resort, across from Kamaole Beach #2, one of the best swimming beaches on Maui. This bright and cheery condo is on the ground floor with its own private garden lanai to sit out and enjoy your morning coffee. Although this unit has an air conditioning unit, it is often not needed as the Trade winds provide a comfortable enviroment along with the overhead fan. The Pool is just a short walk around the corner of the building. The barbecues are located here and accessed easily without the need of using elevators or stairs. The kitchen is fully equipped and has a full size refridgerator and gas stove. There is even a Washer and Dryer in the vanity area for your convenience! The grounds are spacious and beautifully landscaped with a huge variety of tropical plants. There is also a tennis court for the more energetic types. Other amenities include Air Conditoning, large screen TV, DVD player, free WiFi internet access and free long distance calling to North America.

Keywords: condo

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Mary Carr
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 26, 2016
Call Owner

About Mary Carr

We are retired teachers living on Vancouver Island, BC. Canada. As a part-time business we breed and train horses and dogs as well as give riding lessons. This pretty much keeps us busy although I enjoy being able to pack up at the last minute and sneak off for a couple of relaxing weeks in the sun 2-3 times a year.

Mary Carr purchased this condo in 1981

Why Mary Carr chose Maui

When we purchased our little condo there was not much happenening in Kihei. The beach was virtually empty and the odd car would pass by on the road fronting the complex. Although we enjoyed the peach and tranquility of those times it has been fun watching Kihei grow providing a variety of entertainment and places to go in walking distance. Because we are located in D building, away from the street noise we still have the quiet and solitude that our private corner unit provides.

What makes this condo unique

Kihei only has a few inches of rainfall a year so you are practically guaranteed beautiful weather for your vacation. The beach boasts beautiful white sand and a safe sloping approach to the ocean with just enough surf needed for a fun time boogie boarding. Also there is great snorkelling at the points of the reef on either end of the beach. We have enjoyed many refreshing margarita's over the years at the restaurant now called 'Freds' which fronts our complex without the worry of driving. Taco Tuesday at Freds is a must that we never miss.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

FEBRUARY 14 - 20 OPEN!! South Kihei Best Beaches, close to restaurants, shops
average rating of 4.428571 based on 28 reviews
5

It is the perfect place to get away to and escape the Hussle of everyday life. Brilliant condo

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying in this condo for 22 wonderful days. It was perfect for walking to the beach took all of 2 minutes, the pool and barbeque was only 30 seconds away brilliant for cooking at night. The facilities were faultless and not one bug to be found. We spent mornings eating breakfast on the lanai very private. We hope to go back to Maui next year and would love to stay here again.

Thanks for some wonderful memories Greta and Bob

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Greta for taking the time to write a review that reflects the true experience of staying in our condo. We always hope our guests have a great holiday while in Maui and am glad you enjoyed our condo and it's convenient location to everything. We are upgrading the bathtub and shower this month with new tile to make our little place even more inviting. Hope you come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not What We Expected

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in Mary’s condo in Feb/March of 2016. We can concur with most of the positives that other reviews have mentioned. We did, however, have a problem that “plagued” our stay. There were multiple cockroaches in the kitchen and a few in the bathroom. They were seen in drawers, cupboards, on counters and under the sink (along with droppings). Mary supplied sticky traps and (later) poison bait traps and we captured over 100 during our stay (we photographed the bugs in the traps). Because roaches can carry disease, we felt it necessary to rewash our clean dishes and utensils just prior to each use (to insure cleanliness). We took precautions by keeping all kitchen surfaces clean, and kept all foods (including dry goods) in the fridge (which fortunately is large). We never left our toothbrushes out in the bathroom. Mary confirmed the building was sprayed two weeks before we arrived, but our experience indicates this wasn’t enough. By the time we left, the number of roach sightings in the unit had diminished due to the traps. My assumption is that that unless the source of the problem is addressed, or the traps are left out at all times, the numbers will grow again. Mary said to us “Unfortunately paradise comes with bugs.” I would word it such that bugs can make it less than paradise. Hopefully Mary will reduce the number of roaches to an acceptable level for future guests. On a positive bug-related note, there were no mosquitoes or flies to worry about when sitting on the lanai.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you were able to get the bugs under control with the traps. However I am very sorry for the discomfort you experienced due to these pesky critters. I know the complex does have a spray program every three months but nothing is going to eliminate all the bugs as they enjoy living in paradise too...it is a matter of control and keeping there number to a minimum. My daughter and I were there just before you and really didn't notice any roaches. I have been talking to other owners and they say that these bugs love cardboard and if you shop at Costco do not bring your groceries in the condo in the cardboard boxes provided and throw out all cardboard containers immediately. This information I will pass on to my future guests in case this is what caused this invasion. I also informed the office manager to do another outside spraying as well. I hope you enjoyed your complimentary dinner at Café Ole and that a nice evening out helped to compensate for your inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Not what we expected!

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in Mary’s condo in Feb/March of 2016. We can concur with the positives that other reviews have mentioned. We did, however, have a problem that “plagued” our stay. There were multiple cockroaches in the kitchen and a few in the bathroom. They were seen in drawers, cupboards, on counters and under the sink (along with droppings). Mary supplied sticky traps and (later) poison bait traps and we captured over 100 during our stay (we photographed the bugs in the traps). Because roaches can carry disease, we felt it necessary to rewash our clean dishes and utensils just prior to each use (to insure cleanliness). We took precautions by keeping all kitchen surfaces clean, and kept all foods (including dry goods) in the fridge (which fortunately is large). We never left our toothbrushes out in the bathroom. Mary confirmed the building was sprayed two weeks before we arrived, but our experience indicates this wasn’t enough. By the time we left, the number of roach sightings in the unit had diminished due to the traps. My assumption is that that unless the source of the problem is addressed, or the traps are left out at all times, the numbers will grow again. Mary said to us “Unfortunately paradise comes with bugs.” I would word it such that bugs can make it less than paradise. Hopefully Mary will reduce the number of roaches to an acceptable level for future guests. On a positive bug-related note, there were no mosquitoes or flies to worry about when sitting on the lanai.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was submitted twice so please see response in March 17 reply
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Quiet and Secluded, Close to the Beach

  • 4 of 5

The property itself was very nice. Having a private lanai was very relaxing and quiet. Shower/tub was clean with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels! Full kitchen was well-stocked with dishes, utensils and cookware. There were even board games, exercise weights, beach gear, etc available for use. However, the AC did not seem adequate for the size of the condo as it was directed towards the kitchen, leaving the bed side a little warm. Also, we were told that parking passes were not needed on arrival and later received a notice from a warning notice from management so you should check in with the front desk to receive a visitor parking pass.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you found it a little warm for sleeping. There wasn't much choice as to where to put the Air conditioner unit as it had to fit into a window slot, so it was either going to be sticking out into the Lanai or be less obtrusive on the east wall side. We thought with the overhead fan in the middle of the room it would move the air around enough to be comfortable. In answer to the parking situation, you are not charged any fees for parking but you do need to check in at the office for a parking sticker. This is necessary for security reasons to make sure there are no uninvited guests parking at the complex. I guess I should have been more clear about this when I answered your question asking about parking fees. Sorry for the misunderstanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

We loved our vacation in Maui. Our condo was a good size for the 2 of us, it was clean, comfortable, and had all the emenities we needed. The wifi worked great, we loved the free long distance for calling home to our kids, and we were very grateful for the air conditioning as it was extremely hot while we were there. We highly recommend this condo. It's a great price and a comfortable and convenient place to stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alberta Canada
5

Best of the best!

  • 5 of 5

Where do I begin? Mary's studio condo is the place to stay when in Maui. Kihei one of the most stable weather areas on the island seems to always boast sunshine and no rain. This condo is located on the ground floor allowing easy access in and out throughout the day whether you head to the pool, to BBQ, the beach or and outing further away. The size is an ideal comfortable size with washing facilities right in the condo! Clean, very quiet, great air circulation only requiring the ceiling fan to keep temperatures perfect day and night. I never needed to use the air conditioner. Her private garden lanai as I refer to it is ideal to sit and read and relax on throughout the day and evening. Morning walks along the beach or snorkeling with the turtles at Kam II is a minute walk down the driveway of the complex. It was a wonderful time and incredible experience staying here. Thanks Mary for making this a possibility. Mahalo

  • Submitted: May 19, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 13 2016
2 night minimum stay
$89
 
 
Peak
Dec 15 2016 - Apr 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$95
 

Additional information about rental rates

Registration and cleanin $100
Tax Rate 13.42%

Hawaii State Tax ID# W30616950
A deposit of 25%(minimum $200) is required at time of booking
Balance due 45 days prior to arrival (60 days in peak season).
Cancellations for Peak season will incur a minimum charge of $200.00. Within two months of arrival a charge equal to 4 nights stay will be imposed.
All other season cancellations will incur a minimim charge of $100.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties