check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mike and Phena Loftin

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Dogwood Point Lake House

23 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hot Springs National Park House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 10) 2 full living areas

Dogwood Point lake house is located 5 minutes from Central Avenue but is still secluded and privately located on the lake. It is nestled in the trees on a point overlooking the lake.

Our home is unique because it has a lakehouse/cabin feel. It has two living quarters. The den is original to the home and is built of cedar and has a native stone fireplace. The living room is more modern and the entire lake side wall is constructed of glass. Birds and wildlife are abundant. Enjoy the array of Dogwood trees and other plants and flowers native to this area. Boat/jet ski rental is available on the lake and we have a boat/swim dock and jet ski docks as well. We have everything you need to make it your home away from home.

R.V. HOOK-UP WITH WATER AND EL ECTRIC AVAILABLE

Note: Water level on Lake Hamilton is lowered in the Fall.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Mike and Phena Loftin (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful home!! The furniture and beds wre so comfy. We enjoyed the different moods of your living areas.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.3
based on 23 traveler reviews

Dogwood Point Lake House
average rating of 4.347826 based on 26 reviews
5

Excellent little getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I decided to visit Hot Springs in order to check out the tourist attractions we've heard so much about such as the Arlington, Spas and trails that lead up to the lookout tower. After looking around the internet for places to stay we came across Dogwood Point Lake House, which came highly recommended to us from a friend. Overall, the Lake House was beautiful and filled with creative art pieces. It made us feel like we were staying at a beach house. It had that "waterfront atmosphere" we were looking for. The location of this house is perfect because its only 5 minutes from town and yet feels so far away from it. We had privacy, which was important to us. The Lake is right outside the back door and we were able to swim. We will definitely be back. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a great Hot Springs experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Will never rent a home again.

  • 1 of 5

The house was orderly although the layout was different than expected. The stairs leading to the dock were steep and uneven. There was a busted board on the dock. When the kids went swimming they complained of the ladder hurting their hands. After getting in the water we saw a sign at the neighbors warning of an electric current in the water and warned to swim at our own risk. A storm blew through on day 2 and felled a tree in part of the driveway. The powers went out and stayed out. We're stayed for night 2 but had to go to a hotel for night 3 due to the heat. On night 4 we left back to Texas (a day early) as the power was still out and there were no hotel vacancies. Over $200 of food in the refrigerator had to be thrown out. I asked for a partial refund for nights 3 and 4 since it was uninhabitable. There was no A/c and no power to cook. I was told I should've bought the insurance. The insurance is only good if you cancel your trip after paying it does not cover the house being unloveable and electric currents in the water. Wasted vacation. Will never rent a home again. Am giving one star only because no stars is not an option.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry for the unfortunate weather circumstances that this guest incurred. However, they were notified at time of reservation that insurance should be purchased with a vacation rental as we cannot be responsible for weather and weather related conditions. Most docks have a possible shock warning sign posted for insurance purposes so that is not an unusual thing to see . However, we never turn on the electricity while swimming and we do not give our guests the option to turn on electricity to the dock at all. Unfortunately these guests found a way to turn it on without permission. Our swim dock is cleared for swimming by a certified electrician so we know it is safe, but we DO NOT swim with the electricity on just as an added precaution.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Norphlet, Arkansas
5

Burton

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful view of lake and nice waterfront scenery, home was well kept and clean, also very organized! Quick commute to town, thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great family trip

  • 5 of 5

Great family trip to beautiful Lake Hamilton. Clean house, well furnished no surprises. I grew up on Lake Hamilton and look forward to taking my kids back once a year.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The lake house was extravagant!

  • 4 of 5

The lake house had great artsy finishes that were personal touches from the owner. The beds were extremely comfortable! I was pleasantly surprised because I have been to several different VRBO rentals, and these beds were on a different level and better than the rest. The surrounding property was beautiful and the view of the lake was great! Right out back there is a large oversized porch that has a walkway that goes all the way down to the personal dock! It was beautiful. My family and I came over the Christmas holiday, and the house handled ALL of our holiday cooking needs! I was impressed. The reason that I am giving this 4 out of 5 stars is because the dock that I described was out of commission due to some storm damage. In addition the level of the lake is seasonal. They pretty much drain the lake from the fall into the winter. That was not described at all by the owners so it allowed for my expectations to be a little more inflated than necessary.

Overall it was a wonderful trip and the place was gorgeous! It would be great for a large family too!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize for the inconvenience of the dock being damaged due to the storm. We are on the list to be repaired as there was numerous homes with damage due to the unusual storm. We will be sure to include in our listing that the water level is lowered every November thru April on Lake Hamilton. Again, we apologize for theses inconveniences and hope you will be return guests. Thank you for the positive description of our home and the grounds. We strive to make it something that families can enjoy and appreciate and we hope they can take fond memories back home with them.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice house with lots of space

  • 4 of 5

We had a good stay at the dogwood point lake house. The space is large and there are nice decks to sit on.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hot Springs National Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
off-seas0n
Sep 1 2016 - May 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning and taxes $150
pay online booking fee $20
Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200

Special rates of $125.00 are for for a party of two during off season.
Always consider cancellation insurance protection as we are not responsible for weather or weather related issues. It also covers you in case of a cancellation due to death in family, job loss, etc. Call CSA at 1-800-349-8218 or go online at vacation protection.com.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hot Springs National Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
R.V. hook-up boat/swim,jetski dock, 2 living areas, 2000 sq. feet home. privacy fence, ironing board, crock pot, coffee pot,

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties