check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jan & Eric Horan

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Gorgeous Waterfront Town & Country Home on St. Helena Sound

41 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Saint Helena Island House Rental Photos and Description

Waterfront Home, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Front & back covered patios, Sleeps

Slip back in time on your drive to Lili, our waterfront, private getaway on St. Helena Sound. The entrance to this private residence includes a half-mile drive along the Avenue of Oaks, listed on the National Register of Historic places. En route, you will pass the original, antebellum plantation home (circa1800), once the center of Coffin Point, a pre-Civil War cotton plantation. Your last right turn is home to a two-story private residence, the driveway alongside ancient, Live Oak trees. The home is bordered by native plantings of seasonal flowers on three sides with a spectacular view of the Sound, on the fourth. If the trees could speak, imagine the stories a hundred-year history might reveal. Indulge in the best of both worlds, the natural beauty of the intracoastal waterway with shrimp boats, sailboats, kayaks, dolphins, seagulls and pelican and more. The surrounding, densely wooded countryside alongside St. Helena Sound provides a stunning backdrop filled with the natural sounds of the coastal environment.

Inside the home, guests enjoy custom designed furnishings by the owners which includes an extensive renovations using master craftsmen and local artisans and the natural setting as guides.

Windows open to expansive, scenic views and ever remind guests of the exceptional natural beauty they are emersed.

The colors, textures and fibers of the decor mirror the calm yet dramatic lowcountry environment. The ceilings were raised to expose huge, wooden beams acquired from a local cotton mill. The comfy furnishings suggest the sea, land and sky in a soft, soothing color pallet. The copper counters in the galley kitchen were added for serious cooking and easy clean up. Ware is part of the design exposing its ever changing patina. The line between inside and out has been consciously blurred with plenty of open space inside and natural daylight with floor to ceiling windows in the great room, and more windows room by room revealing the natural life at the seashore that impact all five senses.

Coffin Point's beachfront is a natural seashore. It is manicured only by the ocean tides and its contents - twice daily. It's the real deal, rugged with tons of shells, chord grass and other hardy saltwater treated gifts. Teaming with sea life, this beach is not groomed for swimming but rather exploring, clamming, shelling, fishing and hiking. If you want to swim, pack up our beach towels, chairs & your water toys or rent a kayak, surf board ...and head to nearby Hunting Island State Park -an easy 10 minute drive.

At either beachfront, ours or the State Park, it is common to see and hear dolphin, working shrimp boats and a range of seabird action. What is truly wonderful about living by the sea, is experiencing the changes hour by hour, day by day, week by week.

While at home, you can enjoy both front or back covered patios; oversize deck chair seaside or rocking chairs forest side, or put on your walking, biking or jogging attire to explore the beachfront and dirt road network throughout the neighborhood.

Cooking is meant to be fun and easy in this home. All grocery needs can be satisfied within a 10-minute drive with neighboring fish markets, fishing marinas, fresh vegetable farms, grocery stores and quickstop markets.

Local restaurants and chefs offer catered services while a short drive, increases options to five-star cuisine in town as well as casual dinning at most local diners -- and most feature local seafood. Some have recipes passed down through the generations using ingredients from neighboring farms and docks.

Local favorites include Johnson Creek Tavern, Gullah Grub, Sand Dollar, Foolish Frog, Bella Luna and The Shrimp Shack (referenced in Pat Conroy’s cookbook.) Each with their own specialties and ambiance.

A wide variety of touring opportunities can be found throughout the region from art, history & culture to active sports, sight seeing or plain serious shopping & dinning.

For outdoor adventure we recommend Hunting Island State Park, a 10-minute drive away - where you will find five miles of swimming/surfing beachfront - without the traditional residential over-development. Miles of woodland & seaside biking and hiking. There is a minimal gate pass fee. Swimming, surfing, kayaking, paddle boarding and a variety of fishing gear can be coordinated at the Park's nature center – or in town, plus special & educational family activities are scheduled throughout the summer months right at the park.

Hunting Island has thousands of acres of gorgeous marsh views, tidal creeks, and a dense maritime forest. Here you will find excellent bird watcching and other wildlife and scenic natural views that is becoming rare along our developed coastlines.

Downtown Historic Beaufort is another popular destination - and less than 20 minute drive. Destinations include Port Royal - with it's own beachfront you can drive you car onto plus a boardwalk, Parris Island and the Marine Corp Air station and military bases welcome visitors to their museums with dining options...and a bit further and over a few more bridges you can reach Hilton Head Island, Charleston and Savannah in little over an hour for fun day trips.

Notable regional/seasonal events: Savannah Music Festival (March/Savannah) Heritage Golf Tournament (April/Hilton Head) Family Circle Tennis Cup (April/Daniel's Island) Soft Shell Crab Festival(Apr/Port Royal) Spoleto Festival (May-June /Charleston), Beaufort Water Festival (mid-July), Penn Center’s Heritage Festival (November/ St. Helena Is.), , and many local activities including ghost & home tours, Beaufort film festival (Feb/Mar) plus ever-present art gallery tours and community oyster roast fundraising fun in the winter.

Lili grounds allow for parking with room for your boat or RV. Several boat launches are only minutes away. Or, leave the toys and call on local, experienced guides. Join a boat or kayak tour, photo safari, dolphin watch, deep sea charter or sunset sail along the Intracoastal Waterway. Watch or participate in a regatta at the Lady’s Island Country Club, spin class at the YMCA or yoga class at One Yoga Sanctuary at Lady's Island Marina.

Keywords: Coastal elegance, lovingly titled (Lili) - you are invited to the comforts of town while vacationing in an elegant, private waterfront, rural community. Live Oak forest road and walk ways, natural beachfront, lush plantings, abundant wildlife and minutes from State Park, national historic landmarks, regional and international curltural events.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jan & Eric Horan (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jan & Eric Horan

Owner moved to South Carolina from California and raised her family on Hilton Head. As the family grew up, Lili was purchased as a family retreat. The home was purchased from a neighbor where her own mother once lived. In 2005 a major renovation, raising the ceilings, importing woods and other natural materials were used to expand every space with great attention to detail. Every appointment -- from furnishings to faucets and wall art were consciously and lovingly selected while meeting and befriending local talent.

Jan & Eric Horan purchased this house in 2005

Why Jan & Eric Horan chose Beaufort area

Outstanding view of St. Helena Sound, this property is a blend of elegant, contemporary comforts midst a a rustic and rural, natural environment. This lovely home is part of a unique community that has grown up away from the maddening crown, around the sea and in a friendly neighborhood community in the country that enjoys a safe, quiet and perfect gathering place or getaway for friends and family. This property is made available for the strict purpose of family use. It is not available for special events or parties larger than the registered guests.

What makes this house unique

Scenic waterfront view, natural shell beach, abundant wildlife viewing, 100-year-old Live Oak forest, National Historic landmark community entrance, nearby Beach/State Park amenities, local and regional shopping opportunities, fine and casual dining, fresh seafood and fresh vegetable stands, events and activities for all ages.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed your lovely space! Thank you!
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.6
based on 41 traveler reviews

Gorgeous Waterfront Town & Country Home on St. Helena Sound
average rating of 4.609756 based on 44 reviews
5

You won't be disappointed.....fabulous place!

  • 5 of 5

This was my 6th trip to Beaufort (I just love this low country town) but my first time renting this property. We had two couples and it was the perfect size for us. Having two living areas allowed each couple to have some private time if desired. We all LOVED the house and especially the view. The back deck area is ideal for all times of the day. I asked the owners ahead of time about what was furnished in the way of kitchen utensils and when she said it was fully stocked, she wasn't kidding! They had everything- I also have to admit the beds were more comfortable than mine at home. It was first rate all the way!! The owners were wonderful to work with and we will definitely be back next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Our Summer Beneath the Oaks 💙

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just spent 2 weeks at beautiful Lily. I'm originally from Savannah, GA, spent the last 8 years in Boston and now currently live in Atlanta. Looking to relax and get back closer to "my roots" I decided to book Lili for our family vacation. I was not disappointed! This house was perfect for my husband and I along with our 2 little boys and dog.

To start, the house is not only clean, beautiful and has everything you need, it is situated beneath some of the most beautiful oak trees you have ever seen. It is literally on an old slave plantation and you feel like you have stepped back into time just being there. The views change hourly and while the beach is not a swimming one its beautiful! It's quiet, has lots of beautiful shells and my kids loved going out at low tide to walk out and dig for clams and see the oyster beds. We spent our lazy afternoons on the back porch lounging in the Adirondack chairs, watching the kids play under the oaks, and enjoyed watching shrimp boats passing by and beautiful Dolphins swim by almost daily.

Hunting Island, which if you have never been is an amazing nature preserve with a beautiful beach and lighthouse. It is a short 15 minute drive and historic downtown Beaufort is only a 20 minute drive. Having spent 2 weeks there, I thought I would get bored and drive to Hilton Head, Charleston or Savannah (all easily accessible) but I just loved this area so much, I never wanted to leave!

A few things to keep in mind if you are not familiar with the area:

Bugs... It's the low country and there is no escaping them. I bought citronella candles and bug spray and we were fine.

This house is in a rural area. I was nervous at first driving to it, but I promise once you get there, it's amazing! However, if you like to be surrounded by lots of people, restaurants, etc. this may not be the best choice for you. We loved the seclusion and found several restaurants we enjoyed that were easy to drive to. Our favorites were: Johnson Creek Tavern, Boondocks, Dockside, Gullah Grub, Barefoot Bubbas for free ice cream and we also enjoyed several restaurants in downtown Beaufort.

During our stay we also enjoyed touring the following places: Hunting Island Fishing Pier and Nature Center, Fort Fremont (great beach there too) Chapel of Ease, Old Sheldon Church and the waterfront in downtown Beaufort.

If you love history, are looking to get away and relax, visit some nice beaches this is a great place!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden Gem , wonderful sunrise, Perfect girls trip :-)

  • 5 of 5

I stumbled on this home quite by accident, and if you are here reading this you have stumbled here also. What I found was a wonderful Hidden Gem in paradise. I cannot tell you how over joyed I was upon arriving and equally overjoyed still of the discovery. This was a girls trip - 4 women , ages 55-65. - In all honesty if you can please four women you have a success! Beds are comfy, a whipper whirl lives outside ( I have not heard one in years!!) House immaculately clean, roomy.... Kitchen a Galley type and smaller -( one person type, even that wasn't a bother to 3 out of our 4 women) We enjoyed the migrating of horseshoe crabs - Huge horseshoe crabs, Loggerhead turtle nests; I even saw signs of a new loggerhead nest -- but did not know who to call to report the location-- but it was so cool to have seen the tracks moving up from the water -- to a nesting spot. Wonderful friendly educational neighbors who I met along the Oyster shell beach in front of the house who would explain to me the sea life occurrences-- The beach in the state park is none like I have ever been to... Palm trees, shade and sun, picnic tables... clean, friendly, another hidden Gem - and well worth the 10 min drive to get to. I will note the beach in front of the house is as owner stated not a swimming beach -- it is a naturalized beach where you will see migrating birds and other such sea life - also a rare find. We will return.... many times I am hoping - with girlfriends and also family / grandchildren.. I quite loved it.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing Time at Lilli

  • 5 of 5

My 4 friends and I had an amazing time on St. Helena and in Eric's property although the weather was choppy.

The house has a huge garden with direct access to the beach. The house is hidden between huge oak trees and at the end of a very calm street.

The property is perfect for 5 - 6 people. It has two spacious living rooms, with comfy sofas and chairs. We enjoyed the provided board games, DVD's and books especially when it rained. We did even see dolphins from our living room!!!

The kitchen is very well equipped, even spices, flavor, sugar, oil etc. are existing. Even a grill & coals were available

Furthermore the accommodation was clean and we were provided with fresh towels & sheets.

I have to say it was one of my most pleasant accommodations I found between North Carolina and Florida :-)

I would recommend it to anyone and would love to come back some day.

Hunting Island State Park is the perfect place for a nice beach day. You can hang your hammocks between several palm trees and watch the dolphins playing in the shore. Beaufort is a 15 min drive away and attract with a nice city center and several good restaurants

Thanks again for letting us stay at your beautiful get away!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet, Relaxing Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Overall, the time we spent was enjoyable. The home is quite nice and well-appointed. It could have been more attractive and enjoyable, if the windows had been moderately clean to enhance the view of the surrounding grounds. Also, while the interior appeared to be clean and organized, we noticed lots of cobwebs throughout and a faulty commode valve.

Wonderful old trees and long picturesque, sandy lanes for walking. The private beach is on a shallow bay, not the open ocean, and is full of small shells. Not very conducive to swimming, sunbathing or barefoot walking. Did not try fishing or notice anyone else doing so. However, Hunting Beach is 4 miles away and offers an extraordinary and uncrowded beach experience, on the open ocean, within a beautiful park setting. We spent 2 days there and enjoyed every minute!

The town of Beaufort is just the right size and offers many shops, eateries and sights within walking distance of each other. Clean, uncrowded and well-kept, historic Beaufort is very "user-friendly" to visitors. One can purchase fresh, delicious seafood right down the road at very reasonable prices.

Overall, I would recommend this rental with the reservations mentioned above. It may or may not be worth the price, depending upon what one expects and enjoys. The location and basic residence amentities met expectations, but the beach and general housekeeping were a bit disappointing

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Uli, Thank you for sharing your concerns. We received with a heavy heart wishing that you had not contacted us during your stay. We are delighted that your overall stay was enjoyable. However, we wished you let us know sooner. We provide (2) telephone numbers and (2) e-mail addresses that we check constantly for this very purpose. Your concerns could have been tended to and resolved immediately. We pride ourselves in our accessibility to guests from the initial inquiry to any concerns throughout the stay. We have consciously developed a team of dedicated home maintenance professionals that would make any homeowner sing. Our pest control, plumber and outdoor maintenance crew are onto each concern you shared, unfortunately after your stay. As any homeowner will understand, things will happen overnight no matter how much attention you give it. We depend on our guests staying over time to alert us of items that a cleaning crew in between guests stays, or regular pest control service and plumber on-call cannot. Unfortunately, this forum of public “review” is not the most efficient way to communicate the matters you shared, and our dear readers could interpret as a lack of concern by the owner/ manager or service providers. Let us be clear, this is not the case with ‘Lili,’ vacation rental. We all cherish this home tend it as if it is our own. And most of the providers live in the same community. Regarding the natural elements --- seashore, shell beach and fishing. These are well defined on our website with extensive descriptives and photographs, depicting the property, furnishings, amenities and environs quite accurately including suggestions of favorite places for services that we do not provide. For example, we describe our location on St. Helena Sound (not the ocean) rather part of the intracoastal waterway, a private, rural and natural seashore teaming with shells, excellent fishing and not a swimming beach. We further refer guests to Hunting Island, a 10-minute drive to the best swimming and sunbathing beach. As you referenced being from the Midwest and not familiar with different seashores, dare we suggest that you take more time to do the careful research of information provided by the owners when choosing your next vacation rental. Jan/Eric Horan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely enjoyed the house and the long beach walking. There was so much sea life to explore and the beach changes constantly. The home was so roomy and comfortable. We would recommend to everyone

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Savannah /HH International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Hilton Head Island -- Ferry to Daufuskie Island
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Ocean Golf Course - Fripp Island
Nearest Train
30 Miles
AmTrac in Yemassee, SC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 21
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Publix Grocery
Nearest Ski
355 Miles
Beech Mountain, NC
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Swimming & Surfing at Hunting Island State Park
Car: necessary

Waterfront property overlooking St. Helena Sound. Quiet, , residential neighborhood. Friendly neighborhood that enjoys the natural scenic beauty and rural setting. Shopping, restaurants and diversity of indoor and outdoor activities from Eco tours, horseback riding, surfing, biking to pampering Spa and Health Center, Yoga & dance classes, Historic Beaufort tours, Gullah Culture Museum and Community Center at Penn Center, Hunting Island State Park with fishing pier & public boat landing, Waterfront Park, playground and Historic Downtown Shopping District and local wildlife photo safaris. Downtown Beaufort has an active art community with exhibitions, classes and cultural events, a YMCA and public tennis courts and clinics through Scheper Tennis academy.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Helena Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sep-May
Sep 1 2016 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,250
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,250
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

CHECK IN: 4PM CHECK OUT: 11AM

Guests are asked to purchase renters insurance (cost $49) covering up to $1500 damages. Lilis is a private residence located in a quiet, residential and rural neighborhood made available for family use of the registered guests. It is strictly prohibited for special event gatherings of members outside the registered guests. Pets must be approved in advance. Pet fee begins at $10 daily, per pet.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint Helena Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Full bathroom on each floor. Main floor has bath tub and shower. Second floor bath has large tiled bathroom with seperate, closed toilet room.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Other (See Description) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Not sofa bed foldouts but super size comfy couches fits 6'
  • All bedrooms on 2nd floor. Two bedrooms with queen bed, one bedroom with two twin beds. Sleeps 6.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
All pets must be approved in advance. Lili is an exceptional home in a quiet residential, rural neighborhood and made available for family use only. Special events open to guests outside the registered six members are strictly prohibited.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties