Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Waterfront Town & Country Home on St. Helena Sound

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Waterfront Home, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Front & back covered patios, Sleeps

Slip back in time on your drive to Lili, our waterfront, private getaway on St. Helena Sound. The entrance to this private residence includes a half-mile drive along the Avenue of Oaks, listed on the National Register of Historic places. En route, you will pass the original, antebellum plantation home (circa1800), once the center of Coffin Point, a pre-Civil War cotton plantation. Your last right turn is home to a two-story private residence, the driveway alongside ancient, Live Oak trees. The home is bordered by native plantings of seasonal flowers on three sides with a spectacular view of the Sound, on the fourth. If the trees could speak, imagine the stories a hundred-year history might reveal. Indulge in the best of both worlds, the natural beauty of the intracoastal waterway with shrimp boats, sailboats, kayaks, dolphins, seagulls and pelican and more. The surrounding, densely wooded countryside alongside St. Helena Sound provides a stunning backdrop filled with the natural sounds of the coastal environment.

Inside the home, guests enjoy custom designed furnishings by the owners which includes an extensive renovations using master craftsmen and local artisans and the natural setting as guides.

Windows open to expansive, scenic views and ever remind guests of the exceptional natural beauty they are immersed.

The colors, textures and fibers of the decor mirror the calm yet dramatic lowcountry environment. The ceilings were raised to expose huge, wooden beams acquired from a local cotton mill. The comfy furnishings suggest the sea, land and sky in a soft, soothing color pallet. The copper counters in the galley kitchen were added for serious cooking and easy clean up. Ware is part of the design exposing its ever changing patina. The line between inside and out has been consciously blurred with plenty of open space inside and natural daylight with floor to ceiling windows in the great room, and more windows room by room revealing the natural life at the seashore that impact all five senses.

Coffin Point's beachfront is a natural seashore. It is manicured only by the ocean tides and its contents - twice daily. It's the real deal, rugged with tons of shells, chord grass and other hardy saltwater treated gifts. Teaming with sea life, this beach is not groomed for swimming but rather exploring, clamming, shelling, fishing and hiking. If you want to swim, pack up our beach towels, chairs & your water toys or rent a kayak, surf board ...and head to nearby Hunting Island State Park -an easy 10 minute drive.

At either beachfront, ours or the State Park, it is common to see and hear dolphin, working shrimp boats and a range of seabird action. What is truly wonderful about living by the sea, is experiencing the changes hour by hour, day by day, week by week.

While at home, you can enjoy both front or back covered patios; oversize deck chair seaside or rocking chairs forest side, or put on your walking, biking or jogging attire to explore the beachfront and dirt road network throughout the neighborhood.

Cooking is meant to be fun and easy in this home. All grocery needs can be satisfied within a 10-minute drive with neighboring fish markets, fishing marinas, fresh vegetable farms, grocery stores and quick stop markets.

Local restaurants and chefs offer catered services while a short drive, increases options to five-star cuisine in town as well as casual dinning at most local diners -- and most feature local seafood. Some have recipes passed down through the generations using ingredients from neighboring farms and docks.

Local favorites include Johnson Creek Tavern, Gullah Grub, Sand Dollar, Foolish Frog, Bella Luna and The Shrimp Shack (referenced in Pat Conroy’s cookbook.) Each with their own specialties and ambiance.

A wide variety of touring opportunities can be found throughout the region from art, history & culture to active sports, sight seeing or plain serious shopping & dinning.

For outdoor adventure we recommend Hunting Island State Park, a 10-minute drive away - where you will find five miles of swimming/surfing beachfront - without the traditional residential over-development. Miles of woodland & seaside biking and hiking. There is a minimal gate pass fee. Swimming, surfing, kayaking, paddle boarding and a variety of fishing gear can be coordinated at the Park's nature center – or in town, plus special & educational family activities are scheduled throughout the summer months right at the park.

Hunting Island has thousands of acres of gorgeous marsh views, tidal creeks, and a dense maritime forest. Here you will find excellent bird watcching and other wildlife and scenic natural views that is becoming rare along our developed coastlines.

Downtown Historic Beaufort is another popular destination - and less than 20 minute drive. Destinations include Port Royal - with it's own beachfront you can drive you car onto plus a boardwalk, Parris Island and the Marine Corp Air station and military bases welcome visitors to their museums with dining options...and a bit further and over a few more bridges you can reach Hilton Head Island, Charleston and Savannah in little over an hour for fun day trips.

Notable regional/seasonal events: Savannah Music Festival (March/Savannah) Heritage Golf Tournament (April/Hilton Head) Family Circle Tennis Cup (April/Daniel's Island) Soft Shell Crab Festival(Apr/Port Royal) Spoleto Festival (May-June /Charleston), Beaufort Water Festival (mid-July), Penn Center’s Heritage Festival (November/ St. Helena Is.), , and many local activities including ghost & home tours, Beaufort film festival (Feb/Mar) plus ever-present art gallery tours and community oyster roast fundraising fun in the winter.

Lili grounds allow for parking with room for your boat or RV. Several boat launches are only minutes away. Or, leave the toys and call on local, experienced guides. Join a boat or kayak tour, photo safari, dolphin watch, deep sea charter or sunset sail along the Intracoastal Waterway. Watch or participate in a regatta at the Lady’s Island Country Club, spin class at the YMCA or yoga class at One Yoga Sanctuary at Lady's Island Marina.

Keywords: Coastal elegance, lovingly titled (Lili) - you are invited to the comforts of town while vacationing in an elegant, private waterfront, rural community. Live Oak forest road and walk ways, natural beachfront, lush plantings, abundant wildlife and minutes from State Park, national historic landmarks, regional and international curltural events.

More Details

Property Manager
Jan & Eric Horan
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

About Jan & Eric Horan

Owner moved to South Carolina from California and raised her family on Hilton Head. As the family grew up, Lili was purchased as a family retreat. The home was purchased from a neighbor where her own mother once lived. In 2005 a major renovation, raising the ceilings, importing woods and other natural materials were used to expand every space with great attention to detail. Every appointment -- from furnishings to faucets and wall art were consciously and lovingly selected while meeting and befriending local talent.

Jan & Eric Horan purchased this house in 2005

Why Jan & Eric Horan chose Beaufort area

Outstanding view of St. Helena Sound, this property is a blend of elegant, contemporary comforts midst a a rustic and rural, natural environment. This lovely home is part of a unique community that has grown up away from the maddening crown, around the sea and in a friendly neighborhood community in the country that enjoys a safe, quiet and perfect gathering place or getaway for friends and family. This property is made available for the strict purpose of family use. It is not available for special events or parties larger than the registered guests.

What makes this house unique

Scenic waterfront view, natural shell beach, abundant wildlife viewing, 100-year-old Live Oak forest, National Historic landmark community entrance, nearby Beach/State Park amenities, local and regional shopping opportunities, fine and casual dining, fresh seafood and fresh vegetable stands, events and activities for all ages.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed your lovely space! Thank you!
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Saint Helena Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Full bathroom on each floor. Main floor has bath tub and shower. Second floor bath has large tiled bathroom with seperate, closed toilet room.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Other (See Description) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Not sofa bed foldouts but super size comfy couches fits 6'
  • All bedrooms on 2nd floor. Two bedrooms with queen bed, one bedroom with two twin beds. Sleeps 6.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
All pets must be approved in advance. Lili is an exceptional home in a quiet residential, rural neighborhood and made available for family use only. Special events open to guests outside the registered six members are strictly prohibited.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

Gorgeous Waterfront Town & Country Home on St. Helena Sound
average rating of 4.6086955 based on 49 reviews
5

You won't be disappointed.....fabulous place!

  • 5 of 5

This was my 6th trip to Beaufort (I just love this low country town) but my first time renting this property. We had two couples and it was the perfect size for us. Having two living areas allowed each couple to have some private time if desired. We all LOVED the house and especially the view. The back deck area is ideal for all times of the day. I asked the owners ahead of time about what was furnished in the way of kitchen utensils and when she said it was fully stocked, she wasn't kidding! They had everything- I also have to admit the beds were more comfortable than mine at home. It was first rate all the way!! The owners were wonderful to work with and we will definitely be back next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay on St. Helena Island. There are many nice walking routes on and off the beach, the house is perfect, and there are some very nice restaurants not far away.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina, USA
4

Great quiet, secluded place to stay

  • 4 of 5

Overall the house was great. The beach was even closer to the house than we thought from the pictures, you can hear the waves from the house. The drive down the road with the trees overhead was nice. It has lots of really grand trees all around the house. The house had all the amenities we needed. It was priced quite well and we were quite pleased with our stay and you should certainly consider renting it for your vacation. The owners also e-mailed us and let us know that if there was anything at all we needed to let them know. So they seem great :)

Four minor negative points I wanted to mention though:

1. No screens on the windows. This meant we couldn't keep the windows open for a nice breeze or to hear the waves because being in the south spiders and insects would get in. The downstairs patio door had a screen door though and that was nice to use. Having no screens may be due to the windows having to be hurricane proof or something or just the design of the windows, not entirely sure. It's not a huge deal though since you can just relax outside on the patio or go walk along the beach.

2. The kitchen has a copper countertop. While it looks cool, it's metal and due to the humid air down here in the south and being so close to the ocean, the counter-top gives off a metallic acidic odor. Kinda smells like wet batteries, slightly acidic and metal smell. It's not too strong, mostly limited to a few feet around the kitchen area and is easily ignored and you get used to it, but my wife's nose seemed supper sensitive to it and thought others may want to be aware of it. There really isn't a solution though, short of removing the entire countertop and replacing it with something else which would be expensive and a bit of a shame since the countertop is quite pretty.

3. The utensils appear to be made out of real silver. While I can understand the appeal of this, the humid environment of the south and being so close to the sea means that almost all of them had some corrosion/rust on them. I myself have never used real silver before, so maybe they just need polished, or maybe this is just how they are, but it was a bit off putting. We just used the cleanest ones we could find in the drawer :)

4. All the towels are white and over the years have accumulated a minor stain or two. It wasn't too bad, very minor blobs (except the wash cloths which were much worse). Maybe they were not bleach cleaned early on, or maybe the towels have just been around for a while. It's

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robert, So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the four star endorsement (!) and your comments. We are looking into each one. In fact, we've already found the smell in the kitchen was due to moisture under the sink, not the counter and has been solved. Happy travels and thanks for your visit. Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very nice place to relax - enjoyed it very much

  • 4 of 5

loved this little home on the water - cute as can be. We really enjoyed our stay. Coffin Point is a gem to experience. Only note: the neighbors dog(s) run loose, and got into the trash can. We had to keep "shooing" them away.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
charleston, SC
5

This is a very special and beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

I could not have been happier with the house, the location and overall vibe of this special place. It's a gorgeous retreat from it all. If you are looking to escape, this is the place to be. The home is well furnished and stocked as well as beautifully appointed. The neighbors are fantastic. It's a great location to also get a run in the surrounding neighborhood. The water view and beach are spectacular. I will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mandy, Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so happy you found us --- and hope you will visit again soon! Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house in great, quiet location. Great view of the harbor. So lucky to have found this gem.

  • 5 of 5

The house is clean, very well maintained, beds are quite comfy and the location could not be better. The photos on Homeaway reflect what we saw when we got to the house, it is as beautiful as the photos show. Sitting on the back porch, watching St. Helena Sound is so relaxing. The upstairs bathroom and shower are nicely laid out and it was easy for both of us to use at the same time. Internet speed is excellent. The kitchen is stocked with basic spices and all the appliances/pans/utensils that you would need were there for us to use. The grill outside worked well, there is a good assortment of grilling tools, but you will have to purchase charcoal. Also loved that the neighbor stopped by and we became instant friends. There are nearby restaurants that serve Low County food, that were great, we would go back again, especially the Foolish Frog. Jan and Eric take great care of the place and both of them are very responsive to texts and/or emails. There are grocery stores on nearby Lady's Island with good selection of food, wine and beer. Unfortunately, we had to cut our stay short by a few days due to Hurricane Matthew.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brenda, So glad you were able to enjoy the stay that you did have before the storm - and that you will give us another chance. The weather here, especially by the sea, is really lovely most of the time. Thanks again for your visit! Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Savannah /HH International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Hilton Head Island -- Ferry to Daufuskie Island
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Ocean Golf Course - Fripp Island
Nearest Train
30 Miles
AmTrac in Yemassee, SC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 21
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Publix Grocery
Nearest Ski
355 Miles
Beech Mountain, NC
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Swimming & Surfing at Hunting Island State Park
Car: necessary

Waterfront property overlooking St. Helena Sound. Quiet, , residential neighborhood. Friendly neighborhood that enjoys the natural scenic beauty and rural setting. Shopping, restaurants and diversity of indoor and outdoor activities from Eco tours, horseback riding, surfing, biking to pampering Spa and Health Center, Yoga & dance classes, Historic Beaufort tours, Gullah Culture Museum and Community Center at Penn Center, Hunting Island State Park with fishing pier & public boat landing, Waterfront Park, playground and Historic Downtown Shopping District and local wildlife photo safaris. Downtown Beaufort has an active art community with exhibitions, classes and cultural events, a YMCA and public tennis courts and clinics through Scheper Tennis academy.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Helena Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sep-May
Sep 1 2016 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,250
$3,500
 
 
June-Aug
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$5,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,250
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

CHECK IN: 4PM CHECK OUT: 11AM

Guests are asked to purchase renters insurance (cost $49) covering up to $1500 damages. Lilis is a private residence located in a quiet, residential and rural neighborhood made available for family use of the registered guests. It is strictly prohibited for special event gatherings of members outside the registered guests. Pets must be approved in advance. Pet fee begins at $10 daily, per pet.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties