check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jeanie Carmichael

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Charming Historic Home Close to Campus

11 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Metropolitan Alabama House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This charming historic home is located on 1 1/2 private acres of gardens with huge patios and water garden.A great house for family gatherings. There is a large fenced yard and plenty of safe off street parking. There is a nice fire-pit on the patio with big Adirondack furniture for hanging out. The covered porch has nice rockers and unique architectural features. The inside of the home is furnished with family heirloom antiques and art collection. The high ceilings and large decorative moldings make this an interesting house. Special quotes for weddings and company gatherings.

Keywords: Charming, Historic, Convenient, Large

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Jeanie Carmichael (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Jeanie Carmichael

James is working on being retired after a long and devoted career as a massage therapist and property manager. Jeanie is a homebuilder, and glass artist.

Jeanie Carmichael purchased this house in 1993

Why Jeanie Carmichael chose Metropolitan Alabama

Tuscaloosa is a great place to be. Our town is not too big or too small. We have an amazing university with all of it's music, theater and dance performances available to the public. There are plenty of restaurants and music venues in town as well. Lake Tuscaloosa is close by with great scenery, wildlife, boating, fishing and swimming.

What makes this house unique

Central location near the mall is very convenient. Mall offers shuttle service to stadium during games. Large private yard lets you forget you are right in the middle of town. Great garden setting for your unique gathering. Loads of historic charm. Sit back and enjoy the fish pond while waiting for your steaks to grill.

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Charming Historic Home Close to Campus
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
5

Great Place to Stay for Bama Game!

  • 5 of 5

My 3 friends & I just stayed at this large house for our first Bama game. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay. We looked at hotels but they were more expensive & you obviously don't get your own rooms, big screen tv, & lot of room to stretch out like you do with a house. House has a very large outside area with bbq, proches, etc that we didn't get a chance to use much. The bathrooms/bedrooms were all very clean. Lastly, the owners were very responsive and helpful throughout the rental process. They even found our lost phone & fedex'd it at no charge.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Y'all took great care of our house and you are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us stay in your wonderful home! It is so comfortable and charming! We had a great time celebrating graduation with our whole family! We hope to be able to stay again soon. Love, The Nathanson's and Ourso's, Texas, Louisiana, and Tennessee

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Your house is lovely!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you! Your house is lovely. We loved the gardens and the porch! Roll Tide!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cypress, TX
1

Do Not Stay Here!!!

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house after reading several positive reviews. We have traveled all over the world with our family and this was by far the worst place we have ever stayed! Yard was overgrown and house was not clean! I'm allergic to cats, and much to our surprise when we arrived, cats lived inside and outside this home (they were locked out while we were here). There was a also a live cockroach in the living room and another one was in one of the cake pans (our daughters wanted to make a cake and the roach jumped out of the pan when they pulled it out of the cabinet)! The owners offered no refund and ignored our phone calls and messages - we had to move out of the house after the first night because of my allergies. We had to spend another $1,000 on a hotel room after spending close to $2,000 to rent this house for 2 nights. Very disappointing. If I could rate with zero stars, I would.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is the result of someone who wanted to cancel their reservation 4 days prior to their arrival date and get a refund. (Our policy is issuing refunds 30 days or more) . Vrbo conveniently offers cancellation protection insurance to travelers to prevent this situation. We have never had a bad review before and are confident we will not have any in the future judging by the overwhelming positive reponses we have always had from other visitors, friends and family. We take extreme care in making sure our home is clean and beautiful, we spend countless hours and dollars on our maintenance, cleaning and landscaping for this historic home to ensure and enjoyable environment for visitors who stay here. See photos for details. This traveler was likely disgruntled before even arriving at 10 pm and immediately started texting complaints. I responded promptly, till I finally went back to bed close to an hour later. We do have an outside cat,( she lives outside by choice) and haven't had one inside the house for years. Perhaps the traveler should have inquired when booking to ask if there were cats living at our home, if she had I would gladly have let her know that we had one on the premises. I have since noted this on our listing under pets for future travelers. We have friends and family with cat allergies who have stayed in our home without any problems whatsoever. Judging by the facts that there were wet towels, unmade beds, used dishes, a big bag of garbage, lots of lights on in the house, cars in the driveway throughout the weekend, it looked to me the several times I stopped by that there WERE people staying at the house through the weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

What a great house for a family gathering. We had a great time here. There is lots of room and everything is set up for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed all the outside sitting areas and the wonderful garden is a nice place to relax. We had all our relatives from out of town come in for graduation and everyone loved the place. Plenty of parking and being back off the street gives a nice private feel. Thanks for sharing your place with us we really enjoyed staying.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Central Alabama
5

Summer Graduation

  • 5 of 5

I needed an affordable place for my family to gather to attend my graduation in Tuscaloosa. It was a beautiful place. The accommodations were perfect for our whole family. It was like a home away from home.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Bryant Denny Stadium
Mellow Mushroom
Chucks Fish
Dreamland BBQ
Panera Bread
Wings Sports Grille
Starbucks
Red Lobster
Panera Bread
Buffalo Wild Wings
Iguana Grill
IHOP
Kobe Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
Five Guys
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
birmingham
Nearest Train
3 Miles
amtrak
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
midtown mall
Car: recommended

Great house for gathering, huge open living dining space. Wonderful big old porch for sitting and rocking. Huge patio and outdoor fire-pit with comfy Adirondack furniture.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tuscaloosa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$795
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $60

100% refund (minus processing fees) for reservations cancelled 30 days or more before check-in date. No refund offered for cancellations less than 30 days from check-in.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Metropolitan Alabama House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Jacuzzi tub /shower in master
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , master br. with master bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , has 1/2 bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , access to full bath in hall
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , has full bath and futon couch/bed also
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
Notes:
Large private, fenced, yard with amazing landscaping and water garden.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties