check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Charming Historic Home Close to Campus

12 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights


Tuscaloosa House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This charming historic home is located on 1 1/2 private acres of gardens with huge patios and water garden.A great house for family gatherings. There is a large fenced yard and plenty of safe off street parking. There is a nice fire-pit on the patio with big Adirondack furniture for hanging out. The covered porch has nice rockers and unique architectural features. The inside of the home is furnished with family heirloom antiques and art collection. The high ceilings and large decorative moldings make this an interesting house. Special quotes for weddings and company gatherings.

Note!!! Please contact us at (917) 383-3904 before you make the quote to see if the property is available for the period requested. Do not contact through the website because we may delay the response . The best way to contact us is by phone call or text at (917) 383-3904 !!! Thank you

  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Jeanie Carmichael
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2016
Call Manager

About Jeanie Carmichael

James is working on being retired after a long and devoted career as a massage therapist and property manager. Jeanie is a homebuilder, and glass artist.

Jeanie Carmichael purchased this house in 1993

Why Jeanie Carmichael chose Metropolitan Alabama

Tuscaloosa is a great place to be. Our town is not too big or too small. We have an amazing university with all of it's music, theater and dance performances available to the public. There are plenty of restaurants and music venues in town as well. Lake Tuscaloosa is close by with great scenery, wildlife, boating, fishing and swimming.

What makes this house unique

Central location near the mall is very convenient. Mall offers shuttle service to stadium during games. Large private yard lets you forget you are right in the middle of town. Great garden setting for your unique gathering. Loads of historic charm. Sit back and enjoy the fish pond while waiting for your steaks to grill.


based on 12 traveler reviews

Charming Historic Home Close to Campus
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews

Wonderful home to stay at during your visit to Tuscaloosa

  • 5 of 5

My entire family came down for Alabama's parents weekend and we settled on staying at this awesome place. We were immediately surprised at how spacious all 8 adults were able to fit in the house. Each couple had their own rooms and enjoyed relaxing together in the common area when we weren't running around town. I would highly recommend this place if you have a larger group you need to accommodate. The price was affordable, the place was clean and overall very cozy and quiet.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place to Stay for Bama Game!

  • 5 of 5

My 3 friends & I just stayed at this large house for our first Bama game. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay. We looked at hotels but they were more expensive & you obviously don't get your own rooms, big screen tv, & lot of room to stretch out like you do with a house. House has a very large outside area with bbq, proches, etc that we didn't get a chance to use much. The bathrooms/bedrooms were all very clean. Lastly, the owners were very responsive and helpful throughout the rental process. They even found our lost phone & fedex'd it at no charge.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Y'all took great care of our house and you are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for letting us stay in your wonderful home! It is so comfortable and charming! We had a great time celebrating graduation with our whole family! We hope to be able to stay again soon. Love, The Nathanson's and Ourso's, Texas, Louisiana, and Tennessee

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Your house is lovely!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you! Your house is lovely. We loved the gardens and the porch! Roll Tide!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cypress, TX

Do Not Stay Here!!!

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house after reading several positive reviews. We have traveled all over the world with our family and this was by far the worst place we have ever stayed! Yard was overgrown and house was not clean! I'm allergic to cats, and much to our surprise when we arrived, cats lived inside and outside this home (they were locked out while we were here). There was a also a live cockroach in the living room and another one was in one of the cake pans (our daughters wanted to make a cake and the roach jumped out of the pan when they pulled it out of the cabinet)! The owners offered no refund and ignored our phone calls and messages - we had to move out of the house after the first night because of my allergies. We had to spend another $1,000 on a hotel room after spending close to $2,000 to rent this house for 2 nights. Very disappointing. If I could rate with zero stars, I would.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is the result of someone who wanted to cancel their reservation 4 days prior to their arrival date and get a refund. (Our policy is issuing refunds 30 days or more) . Vrbo conveniently offers cancellation protection insurance to travelers to prevent this situation. We have never had a bad review before and are confident we will not have any in the future judging by the overwhelming positive reponses we have always had from other visitors, friends and family. We take extreme care in making sure our home is clean and beautiful, we spend countless hours and dollars on our maintenance, cleaning and landscaping for this historic home to ensure and enjoyable environment for visitors who stay here. See photos for details. This traveler was likely disgruntled before even arriving at 10 pm and immediately started texting complaints. I responded promptly, till I finally went back to bed close to an hour later. We do have an outside cat,( she lives outside by choice) and haven't had one inside the house for years. Perhaps the traveler should have inquired when booking to ask if there were cats living at our home, if she had I would gladly have let her know that we had one on the premises. I have since noted this on our listing under pets for future travelers. We have friends and family with cat allergies who have stayed in our home without any problems whatsoever. Judging by the facts that there were wet towels, unmade beds, used dishes, a big bag of garbage, lots of lights on in the house, cars in the driveway throughout the weekend, it looked to me the several times I stopped by that there WERE people staying at the house through the weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

What a great house for a family gathering. We had a great time here. There is lots of room and everything is set up for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed all the outside sitting areas and the wonderful garden is a nice place to relax. We had all our relatives from out of town come in for graduation and everyone loved the place. Plenty of parking and being back off the street gives a nice private feel. Thanks for sharing your place with us we really enjoyed staying.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
midtown mall
Car: recommended

Great house for gathering, huge open living dining space. Wonderful big old porch for sitting and rocking. Huge patio and outdoor fire-pit with comfy Adirondack furniture.


Rates & Availability

Tuscaloosa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Tuscaloosa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Jacuzzi tub /shower in master
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , master br. with master bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , has 1/2 bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , access to full bath in hall
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , has full bath and futon couch/bed also
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (3)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
Large private, fenced, yard with amazing landscaping and water garden.

Partner Offers