Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Santa Barbara Beach Getaway - 2 Blocks to Beach & Town

Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Welcome to our Santa Barbara Beach Getaway which is the best value for a 2BR/2BA in Santa Barbara. It is unmatched for its location, quality and price!

There are 200+ 2BR/2BA vacation rentals (780 in total) in the 'Santa Barbara Area' and of these, 125 are supposed to be in 'Santa Barbara'. So how do you chose - location, location, location! And then compare our quality and price....

We are not in Carpentaria, Goleta, Summerland or Montecito. We are also not in the suburbs of Santa Barbara such as San Roque, Mission Canyon, Los Positas etc.

We are in the coveted Historic West Beach area, steps from the beach, Las Banos Public Pool, Stearns Wharf, Harbor, world-class dining, and downtown shops, including our own local farmers market. We are not next to the railroad tracks, highway or on a commercial thoroughfare.

Leave your car and associated traffic/parking worries behind. We even offer RARE off street reserved parking.

The Beach Getaway resides in a historical turn of the century building and retains the charm of the day’s bygone. It has been lovingly restored to reflect Santa Barbara's style including hand cast plaster, 10 feet vaulted ceilings and Waterford fireplace giving it both a romantic and European feeling.

The large and private courtyard is encased with green shrubbery and offers Italian fountain, dining table and chairs, chaise lounges and stainless steel BBQ to enjoy the local favorites.

The sparkling open and fully equipped kitchen was designed with high quality construction, including granite countertops, hardwood floors and custom cabinets that are complimented with all appliances: Refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher, microwave and washer and dryer. Its granite counter tops include a dining area for 5.

The warm and cozy living room has hardwood floors, Waterford fireplace, pull out couch, 46' TV and a view of the private courtyard through the french glass door.

The queen bedroom has a sliding glass door with garden view, that leads to a private patio and is accessible by this bedroom only. The second bedroom has a king bed, small desk and wireless internet throughout.

Each bedroom is complimented with a full bath, each with a shower/tub combination. The bathrooms offer limestone floors, granite countertops and French white tiles.

When you book with us, you are booking directly with the owners, which means you are not dealing with a management company, or a 3rd party call center, or a computerized mobile application. Often times the 3rd party does not live in town or even know the property. We know our properties intimately, as we both own and manage them, and have a 15 year track record. Our seventeen independent FIVE star reviews speak for themselves, including our cleanliness. Also our history as a vacation rental ensures that the property will be delivered. Unfortunately there are some fraudulent offerings and sometimes rental agencies have the ability to 'substitute' your property with another.

Upon booking, directions are emailed along with our contact information, Restaurant Recommendations, Winery and Activities Recommendations and Welcome Notes providing detailed information about the Beach Getaway. In this way, you can drive right to the Getaway, which has a lock box where you’ll use your unique code to enter. There is no need to set up an appointment. Inside, you'll enjoy premium amenities: shampoo, soaps, paper & cleaning products, and 5 star quality bath and beach towels, linens and cleaniness.

And we offer complimentary champagne upon your arrival.

While priced slightly higher than most 1BR/1BA’s, the Beach Getaway offers a comfortable stay for 2 couples or a small family. Most of the single hotel rooms are priced higher and yet our Beach Getaway offers so much more.

Or you can upgrade to our Santa Barbara Ocean Getaway VRBO #20308 which offers approximately 1/3 more square footage and slightly higher amenities. Or rent both, which are side by side, for 4 bedrooms and 4 baths.

We welcome a comparison to the 200+ vacation rentals and Hotels as we are unmatched in location, quality & price!

More Details

Melanie Cava
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Melanie Cava

My husband and I own and manage our property which enables us to give attention to detail and to our guests. We work hard to retain our 50% repeat business and it shows in the warmth, cleaniness and quality of our property.

Melanie Cava purchased this condo in 2003

Why Melanie Cava chose Santa Barbara

This is truly the way to enjoy Santa Barbara. We are walking distance to all - the beach, harbor, public pool, Stearns Wharf and the main street downtown (State Street) that hosts the best restaurants, shops and theaters. We also offer rare private reserved parking, enabling you to park you car freely. Why waste time in traffic or looking for parking as parking in Santa Barbara can be a challenge and the highways do experience significant traffic delays. We are located in a residential area, not a commercial thorough fare or next to the rail road tracks or highway. We also offer a large private courtyard with Italian fountain, chaise lounges table and chairs and gas grill, that enable you to relax and enjoy the sun, or cook you local favorites on our gas grill. You will not find a comparable vacation rental when comparing location, quality and price!


West Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - Twinpull out couch in the living room
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Complimentary Pak n Play and Highchair available The queen bedroom has glass doors that lead to its own private patio with garden views.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Unmatched IN SANTA BARBARA for the location, quality and price!, Wireless High Speed Internet access, Private reserved parking, Private courtyard with Italian fountains, chaise lounges & Gas grill, Waterford Fireplace, Washer/Dryer, phone CD and stereo, stove, 2 queen beds and full size pull out sofa, 2 full baths, linens provided, Lovingly restored turn of the century building, Antiques imported from Europe and dating to the late 1800's, Steps to Beach, Stearns Wharf & downtown. ALL FOR LESS THAN THE PRICE OF A SINGLE HOTEL ROOM.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

Santa Barbara Beach Getaway - 2 Blocks to Beach & Town
average rating of 4.714286 based on 35 reviews


  • 4 of 5

Coffee pot leaks water, so unfortunately, no morning coffee...

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback which is one of the best ways we keep our properties maintained in their best condition. For future guests, please do email or call us during your stay as we are more than happy to take care of any matters and ensure you have the most enjoyable stay. We provide our contact information to all guess in advance of their stay and in this case a new coffee pot could have been provided within an hour - we have extra's on site.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quite Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

This property had such great reviews, but I was quite disappointed.

First the good: We were very pleased with the close proximity to the beach and the wharf; the kitchen looked nice and updated.

And now for the not-so-good: While the owners sent very detailed instructions on how to find / access the property via email, they were not very helpful. We arrived after dark and circled around the block numerous times trying to first find the property (unmarked and shrouded by bushes), then the alley to park, and then our actual gate to our unit. All very confusing. Perhaps it it was light out we would have had better luck.

The condo looked clean as we walked in, but as we looked around a bit more, it was apparent that the place hadn't been cleaned very well: a cracker under the kitchen island; filthy highchair caked with old food and crumbs; a giant glob of who knows what (praying it was lotion) crusted onto the bathroom doorknob. The real offense was the opening of the dishwasher. It smelled like an animal had crawled in and died. It was truly one of the worst smells I have ever smelled, and it permeated the whole place each time it was opened. We ended up doing our dishes by hand just so we didn't have to open it.

The most frustrating thing, though, was the incessant banging early Friday morning. It started about 8:30AM - my mother woke up in a panic thinking there were men in her room. They were outside in the hallway, but the walls are paper thin. The main stairway shared a wall with one whole side of our unit, and these men were ripping out the old carpet and installing new. My mother went out in her pajamas to tell them they had to stop because the baby was still sleeping. They said they owner said they absolutely had to replace the carpet right then and that they couldn't stop. It went on for 4 hours, incessantly. Woke up the baby. My mother and I both had some work to get done, some calls to make - clearly that couldn't happen. Couldn't even talk over the banging. It was so incredibly loud. I had just spoken to the owner a few days prior and let him know I'd need a highchair for the baby, etc. so he knew we were going to be in that unit, and with a baby nonetheless. We were floored by how awful an experience this was.

And finally, we were not automatically refunded our security deposit in a timely manner. I waited almost a month after departure and had to ask the owners for it.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry this guest had difficulty finding the location and did not enjoy their stay. We've been in business for 15+ years and have worked hard to earn our 4.5 ave. rating with 34 reviews. Our reviews address the cleanliness of our Getaways along with the A+ location and quality of our property. I encourage future guests to confirm this by reading our reviews. The dishwasher is brand new. We take complaints very seriously and as soon as we received this review, we checked the dishwasher and were not able to replicate the complaint. Note - we were not contacted by this guest during their stay and would have addressed any concerns in order to make their stay enjoyable. With regard to the carpet, it was scheduled at 11:30 am and the carpet installer confirmed they installed at 11:30. None of our other guests complained. As owners, we are responsible for maintenance and cleanliness and are reachable for any complaint and do our best to address any them. Re: the damage deposit, it is automatically returned by VRBO within 10 days of check out, we do not do the returns. We also did not hear from them about the tardiness of their return and would have facilitated the return if we knew there was a problem. Interestingly, none of our other guests who booked through VRBO/Homeaway have complained or had the same issue. We do not want our guests to be unhappy and are available to all guests. We would have been happy to respond to any of their complaints to make their stay enjoyable and were disappointed to learn of this only after their departure with our first 2 star review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely Appartment, Amazing Location

  • 5 of 5

Thus is a truly lovely appartment, with every comfort you could wish for, the rooms are all light and airy, and all conveniences for modern living are here. The location of this appartment is fantastic, everything is within walking distance, so you can leave your car in the secure parking space at the rear of the property and enjoy the delights of Santa Barbara on foot, the best way to discover anywhere. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone, it truly was lovely, all of the Beds were exceptionally comfortable, the wifi was very easy to connect to and worked extremely well. The Kitchen was well equipped for any type of cooking from a full blown meal to just making snacks. Great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well appointed, great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with another couple over Christmas weekend and were so pleased with this place! The location was easy walking distance to both Sterns Wharf and State Street, and even a small market right around the corner. The kitchen was well appointed (we ate in for several meals), beds were comfortable, and the water pressure for showering was nice and strong (my husband in particular really appreciated this detail!).

The only very minor complaints I have, and they were extremely minor, was that there was no DVD player as advertised (so we weren't able to watch a couple classics we brought along for Christmas time) and the fountain outside either didn't work or maybe wasn't hooked up (flipping the switch on the wall next to it did nothing) so we missed out on that when we were lounging outside, but again, very minor details that were not a big deal at all.

We look forward to renting this place again in the future if we come back to SB. It was a gem!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grants Pass, OR

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Nice stay....the house was clean and well laid out. Nice new appliances and fixtures.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice rental

  • 4 of 5

Clean, well appointed, and close walk to beach and Funk Zone.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Santa Barbara Airport
Car: not necessary

Check in time is 4 PM.

Check out time is 11 AM.

There are 900+ vacation rentals in the 'Santa Barbara Area'. Vacation rentals pricing follow the same trend as real estate pricing - location, location. The farther out you go out of Santa Barbara, the less expensive the real estate and the better the vacation rental pricing.

We are located in the best area of Santa Barbara - the Historic West Beach Area - 2 blocks to the Beach and downtown Santa Barbara, yet not on a commercial thoroughfare, not next to the railroad tracks or not adjacent a highway. And we offer private reserved parking.

In addition to location, look at our property and compare amenities and pricing. We are unmatched.


Rates & Availability

West Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring break
Mar 11 2017 - Apr 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Easter Weekend
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
2017 High Season & HOLIDAYS
May 20 2017 - Sep 10 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Thanks Giving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
X'Mas & New Year
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 15.0%

The 15% tax rate is for 12% TOT Tax and 3% Homeaway Booking fee to owner.

$300 refundable damage security deposit.

Higher Season rates apply for Holidays & Graduation weeks.

3 night rate reduced the longer the stay, i.e. 4 nights versus 3, 5 nights versus 4 etc..

Inquire for monthly rates which depend on length of stay and season.

Maximum occupancy up to 5 but 4 are recommended due to size.

50% of the rent, tax, cleaning fee & damage security deposit are required to confirm a reservation with the remaining 50% due 30 days before check-in

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties