check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Ivie Baker

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond

35 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Northern Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

2 BR 1 Bath on 5 Wooded Acres, near Sugar Springs (Sleeps up to 4 Adults)

Cute home on 5.5 wooded acres with a pond. Enjoy this secluded property surrounded by woods and nature.

This home has a large fireplace, living room, family room, laundry facilities, kitchen with wrap around cupboards and breakfast bar. There is also a paddle boat at the pond for your leisure. Home is located within 2.5 miles of Sugar Springs Resort, 2 golf courses and Lake Lancer access. Also within 5 miles from Secord Lake (2000 acre all sports lake) and very close to 1000's of acres of state land and snowmobile trails. Lots of wildlife in the area!

Email us for a link to our web site with more photos and a virtual tour of the cottage.

(Check in 5 pm - Check Out 1 pm)

Amenities: Fully furnished. Satellite TV, VCR, DVD, Stove, refrigerator, washer, dryer, coffee maker, fireplace, pond, paddle boat, full bath, dishes, linens & more.

Activities: 2 Golf courses within 3 miles. Several lakes nearby for boating swimming, etc. Fire pit & charcoal grill next to pond. And MORE!

Also just 20 minutes away from the West Branch Outlet Mall! If you are looking for all sports lakes, there are several lake just minutes away. The Secord Lake boat launch is just 8 minutes away from the house. There are also several other lakes in the area for you to enjoy.

Area: Within 15 minutes from Gladwin, 20 minutes from West Branch, 20 minutes from Pruddenville, 25 minutes from Houghton Lake. 2.5 miles from Sugar Springs.

Sleeps up to 4 Adults ONLY. (Will allow up to 6 people ONLY if two are minor children 17 or under)

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Ivie Baker (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

About Ivie Baker

We have been renting the Retreat in the Woods to guests since August of 2001. We are happy to have people visit the Retreat to make memories that last a lifetime.

Jim and I are originally from Pinckney MI and moved up north in 1992. We fell in love with the area and decided to set roots here in Gladwin County. Jim and I are both Real Estate Brokers and just also is a paramedic for Gladwin County.

Ivie Baker purchased this house in 2001

Why Ivie Baker chose Northern Michigan

We came across this property in 2000. We fell in love with the secluded setting nestled in the woods with a clean artisan fed pond full of large fish. Our kids and dog love to play and swim in the pond.

What makes this house unique

The Retreat offers a quiet, private setting surrounded be woods. Lots of privacy! Watch deer, turkey and other wildlife from the back yard. Great location for those looking for a private setting surrounded by nature.


based on 35 traveler reviews

Retreat in the Woods - Secluded 5 Acres w/Pond
average rating of 4.885714 based on 35 reviews

Fantastic Mini Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an amazing time at Retreat in the Woods. Ivie was wonderful she scheduled us at the last minute as we had previous plans that fell through and met us at the house. She had a map for directions around the area and spots to visit. She took time to show us on a map where we could go.The pond was great. My daughters absolutely loved the fish and turtles they would swim up to you when you threw in hotdogs. My youngest caught a huge bass. The paddleboat and canoe was alot of fun. The girls swam and fished and had so much fun. My girls was down at the pond the entire time we was there. It was an absolute wonderful time there. Thank you Ivie.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needed a fall getaway to see the colors.

  • 4 of 5

The property is absolutely beautiful and the trees were full of color. We loved how it was away from it all, the hot tub was amazing and they even had a canoe which we used. I have a story that goes along with the canoe, we also brought our puppy she had never been in a boat before.. it was my idea to put her in the canoe, my husband was afraid that she would not stay in the canoe. I assured him that she would be ok, well the moral of the story is she was not OK, and she jumped out of the canoe and my husband tried to save her from jumping into the water and as he leaned over to grab her, we all fell in!! We were laughing so hard that we barely made it back to shore. We got the canoe finally back to shore and we were all in one piece but let me tell you it is near the end of October and the water was cold!! And lo and behold waiting on the shoreline for us lol. If you need a great getaway this is the place to come and stay!! Thank you so much ivy for a wonderful stay!!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great time. Sorry you got wet in the cold pond, but it makes for funny memories. Please feel free to call us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great get away for the whole family!

  • 5 of 5

Very happy staying there! The kids loved it! My husband and I always have a great time sitting out by the fire! Very peaceful and quiet. I really like the owner Ivie. She is really nice and you can tell that she cares about the property! We have been there the last 5 yrs. And we will be back! Thanks Ivie! Stacey L. From Roseville, Mi.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolute Retreat!!!

  • 5 of 5

This experience was absolutely perfect. My family spent hours swimming and fishing on the pond. My son and niece seemed to spend all of their time on the paddle boat chasing a turtle (they never did catch it). I had the pleasure of flipping over in the canoe with my daughter. Lol. The fish in the pond are very spoiled and will absolutely eat everything you throw at them...perfect for my kids who never been fishing before. It was a culture shock for my family who have never been outside of the city but they adjusted really fast to the country living. Now I have to buy my kids a hot tub because they loved it so much. I can't think of what wasn't included because it seemed that absolutely everything was thought of. Definitely will be returning in the future. Thanks for such a wonderful relaxed experience!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you are your family had such a great time. It is such a quiet and peaceful location and the fish and turtles are fun. The fish pretty much, have it made. Everyone tends to feed them hot-dogs, cheese and lunch meat. That's how they got so big. I assume you had turtles begging too. They sometimes do that. Please feel free to call us again and enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Rubey Vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the little home in gladwin. The beatiful view was wonderful to wake up to. The lake was wonderful to swim in. We especially enjoyed the paddleboat and the accomodations the owners made for us to have a dog there. It is overall a great place!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time. It looks like the weather cooperated. Please feel free to contact us again if you'd like to get away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing outdoor escape, house needs serious work

  • 3 of 5

I rented 5 years ago with my kids, and we had a very nice time. Came back to visit friends this summer. Just as before, the outdoor space is wonderful. I love the pond, hot tub, fishing and grounds. In both cases, I spent 90%of my waking time outdoors. I would stay again because I love the grounds that much. However, the condition of the house is not that of the outdoors. If you are an indoors type of person, you will not be happy.

The sliding glass door does not open and did not open 5 years ago. The walls in the home have large gaps at the floor and ceiling because they weren't finished with mouldings. There's a hole in the kitchen floor where my shoe got stuck- had it been my bare foot, it would have been a trip to the ER. There is a hole in the bathroom where the other half of the towel bar used to be. There are exposed pipes in the bathroom next to the toilet. All-in-all, it looks as though Jim has allowed the place to deteriorate while the rental fee has not gone down.

I really do love the place because I like the outdoors, but my husband will not join us (he's a stay indoor and rest while not working type of a guy), and I doubt I would bring friends who have never visited in fear they would be disappointed. Time to take some pride in your rental property - after all, you are in the hospitality industry.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you had a bad experience. The house is just as it was 5 years ago, other than we need to replace the towel rack that a guest pulled off in the bathroom wall. Unfortunately, we had some young people in there whole pulled that off early this summer. The sliding glass door does open, but we have the blanket box in front of it because guests bring in dirt onto the carpet from the sliding glass door. There is another back door for people to go in an out of. I an not sure what you are referring about the kitchen floor. There are no holes or gaps. It is wood laminate flooring and it is in good shape. The bathroom has always had the pipes along the interior walk, like they now. It is a cabin. Again... sorry you were disappointment, but the house has not changed other than the towel rack that will be replaced once our guests are gone for the season, because it requires glue and tile grout to dry and that we moved the blanket box in front of the door to prevent people from bringing in the dirt.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Camp Sports Bar - Great food and service!
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Sugar Springs Gold Course & Lakeside Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
Highway I 75
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Camp Sports Bar - Great food and service!

Located on 5.5 acres with a large, clean pond. Approx 15 minutes from Gladwin or West Branch. Also within 25 minutes of Houghton Lake and 3 miles from Sugar Springs Resort.

Golf: Just 3.5 miles from the Sugar Springs Golf Course (18 hole) and Lakeside Golf Course (9 hole).

Ski: Snow Snake Ski Area is just about 35 minutes away.


Rates & Availability

Gladwin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
Jul 1 2016 - Oct 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 27 2016
2 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Oct 28 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 6.0%

$780-$860/Week, $330-$346 Weekend, $130-$150 per night (Rates vary per rental season - High - Mid - Low)
Rates are for up to 4 adults (children under 18 are free). $15 additional per day for each extra adult for the entire rental period, to a maximum of 6 occupants per rental period (8 w/children). Deposit of 1/2 of rental required to secure reservations, remainder due 2 weeks prior to arrival.
Credit Cards, Cash, money orders & personal checks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Northern Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • Full bath with shower and tub.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • This home has a queen bed in the main bedroom and bunk bed with a double lower bunk and twin upper bunk, in the second bedroom. There are also two double sized sofa sleeps (one in the living room and one in the family room).
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Pedal Boat
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers