Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ski in / Ski Out Home - NICEST in Schuss Mountain / Shanty Creek: 4+ Bedroom

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths2
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights


About the property

Northern Michigan Log Home. Golf & Ski. 4BR + Loft, 3.5BA Sleeps 16

Ski-in / ski-out Log Slopeside Home - Considered the nicest rental at Schuss / Shanty... and in all of Michigan! Custom Luxury Home set in the woods directly on the Schuss Mountain Ski Hill and only a short walk from the Schuss Village pools, sauna, lodge with wireless Internet, restaurant, Cedar River Village and more. We’re within minuets of Shanty Creek's Legend and Cedar River's Tom Weiskopf golf courses.

Three story, log home with 4 bedrooms, a huge loft (open style 5th bedroom), 3 & 1/2 baths with heated floors, sleeps 16. Enjoy our six-person outdoor Hot Tub. Master Bath and Walkout level bath both have jetted tubs. Large natural Fireplace! Heated Floors. Gourmet Kitchen. Outdoor fire pit.

The open plan on the main level with vaulted living room, and fireplace, creates a warm and comfortable space for gathering. Relax after golfing or skiing in our 6-person hot tub below the large wrap-around deck overlooking Schuss Mountain's Chicken's Choice ski run.

Amenities: Fireplace, Heated Floors (you're going to love this one!), Air Conditioning, Golf & Ski Storage, Two Gourmet Kitchens with all necessities: microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, all cookware and dishes, washer/dryer, linens and towels for baths and bedrooms, Satellite TV and DVD/VCR, BBQ gas grill, Great Views, Garage and storage areas. Cross-country ski trails, Downhill Skiing, Golf, and more. Flexible checkout times if available at nominal additional cost to get in that last hole of golf or final ski run.

Mother Nature can dump lots of snow on the drive and area roads; 4WD is highly recommended if not required during the ski season.

More Details

Property Manager
Rick Schoonover
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 13, 2018

About Rick Schoonover

Avid skier, mountain biker, biker, camper, sports car racer... overall adrenalin junkie!

Rick Schoonover purchased this house in 2002

Why Rick Schoonover chose Bellaire

We built our dream log home right on the nicest ski hill in Michigan.

What makes this house unique

Great for groups of people - especially if some ski and some don't; or if some golf and some don't; or if some want to sleep in and others are early risers... great home for friends and family to enjoy the beautiful Shanty Creek Resort - we overlook nothing except all of Michigan!


Bellaire House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , double sink & 2-person Jetted Tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Half Bathroom -
  • Three and one-half custom tile / stone baths with heated floors! The upper-level master bath has a two-person jetted tub, two sinks, and a shower built for two in a luxurious room with heated floors. The main level has two more bathrooms: a full bath with very large shower, and a ½ bath complete with full-size washer and dryer. Both bathrooms have heated floors. The lower level bath has a full bath with jetted tub / shower combo. You will love the warm floors in the winter or on a cool night any time of year!
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single
    Other - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Loft Area
    Other - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower Great Room
  • This 3000 square foot luxury home sleeps up to 16 in 10 individual beds (including 1 futon) in four bedrooms, a large sleeping loft (with two futons that have been converted into permanent beds) and the second lower-level great room. The upper level of the Log Chalet sleeps two in the huge master suite’s custom cedar twig-log bed. Just outside the master suite is a large loft with 2 very comfortable futon converted to beds four more guests. The main level has two more bedrooms: The second bedroom sleeps two in a custom log queen bed, and the third bedroom sleeps four more in two sets of log bunk beds. The lower level sleeps 2 in the queen bedroom and 2 on a sleeper futon.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Whirlpool
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Relax after golfing or skiing in a 6-person hot tub below the large wrap-around deck overlooking the Chicken’s Choice ski run. Warm up to the fireplace in the great room or make a fire in the outside fire pit. Swim indoors or out in the Shanty Creek resort pools at Schuss Village.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Ski in / Ski Out Home - NICEST in Schuss Mountain / Shanty Creek: 4+ Bedroom
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
Columbus, OH

Great trip, great house!

  • 5 of 5

This house is a great find! I had never experienced ski in/ski out before and now wouldn't want anything less! It was so convenient and less stressful than packing everyone AND all the equipment in the SUV each day. The house is beautifully maintained and was clean and ready for our arrival. We were already talking about a return trip before we even left. Don't change a thing!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: February 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the compliments. I'm glad you had a good time. I know just how you feel about the ski-in / ski-out feature or our home... when I travel with the family I'm forced into renting the same in CO, UT, etc. because once you've experienced the convenience of slopeside lodging nothing else will do! Thanks for being our guest. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Perfect Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 12 that stayed in this beautiful home Jan 4-7 and it was as advertised - "Nicest in Schuss Mountain" Our group enjoyed the access to ski slope, hot tub, heated bathroom floors, outdoor fire pit and proximity to Ivan's for apres ski activities. We would rent again without hesitation!

Leah Iglehart

Cavatini Ski Club

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

Hum Bug Owner

  • 1 of 5

Very expensive but willing to rent since we were trying to make a special Christmas holiday even after mom's death.

Arrived after power outage and had to clean freezer of someone's melted ice scream. No snow but if there was it would have been perfect location. Had nice fire pit outside. Since no snow ...looking forward to hot tub. Wasn't working. Owner contacted and said he would send someone. No one came and owner avoided calls. Kids decided to swim in pool at the main lodge. When we went there, desk staff informed us that our owner failed to pay the $75 fee. Lovely place and location BUT very expensive and we also felt deceived by owner. No rebate or compensation offered. At least we had each other for the holiday and made the best of it.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This individual was NOT our guest. Our guest contacted me and we attended to the inoperative hot tub - which was a USER ERROR in that the tub was set to "sleep" mode. Once the actual guest read our policies and I communicated to them they set the tub to "normal" and all was good. The person that wrote this defamatory review was a "guest of our guest". Also, we always pay our Pool Maintenance fees and I don't know why this person claims to have not had access to the pool. We leave a Pool Pass for all our guests to use at our home and have never had such a complaint in the past. Clearly this individual (who was a "guest of our paying guest") had some chip on their shoulder... but had they just asked at the front desk they would have been granted access to the pool. Or, had they took the Pool Pass with them all would have been OK. I give ALL guests my cell phone and am happy to take calls day and night from our valued guests. However, there can be periods of time when I'm tied up which is why I have all our guests review not only our rental policies, but our rental info -- how to run the hot tub, who to call for snow removal, etc. prior to their trip. All this info is on our web site which is made available to all our guests immediately upon booking. Please don't let this one bad apple of a "sort of guest" spoil your impression of our home. We welcome all input and are constantly tying to improve our guest experience. Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
7 3

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Perfect multi-family ski vacation rental. We have rented this home 3-years in a row. Comfortably accommodates all of us (6-adults + 8-kids). Truly the best location at Schuss Mountain. Kids can come & go as they like while adults can join them or hang out at the bonfire slopeside. Home is well -kept and is furnished with everything we need.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Waterford mi


  • 5 of 5

Amazing location. Close to so many different events and activities. We will most assuredly return.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous log house on perfect ski hill location. Beautiful and cozy inside with lots of sleeping space. My family & extended family were able to stay together with room & personal space. Family time has so much more quality when you all stay together.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We've been doing all that we can to accommodate our many amazing guests since we first built and started renting our home in 2001. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to our home sometime in the future. Cheers, Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Schuss Mountain / Cedar River / Legend
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Lake Bellaire
Car: recommended

Considered the best location at Schuss Mountain in the Shanty Creek Resort - Directly on the Ski Hill... Ski-in/Ski-out. Great Vista Views in this private wooded setting. Never get cold... the fireplace is nice even in the summer and the bathroom and walkout level floors are heated! Just a short walk to the Shanty Creek resort pool and Golf Courses.

Once you stay in our ski-in / ski-out home you will never go back to off-mountain accommodations again. Allow the early birds in your group to get on the hill for first lift up while others sleep in. Stop by for hot coco or a dip in the hot tub between runs.

Centrally located, Shanty Creek is only 20 minutes from Boyne Mountain, and 45 minutes from Traverse City. Enjoy a sunset over Torch Lake (only 15 minutes away and voted one of the ten most beautiful lakes in the world). Enjoy downtown Alden. Sail on Lake Bellaire, or collect Petoskey Stones on the Lake Michigan shoreline. Charlevoix is only 30 minutes away.

Golf: Four golf courses in the Shanty Creek Resort: The Legend, Cedar River, Schuss Mountain and the Summit. Close to Boyne's Monument, The Bear, Hawkseye, The Chief and more.

Ski: Ski-in / Ski-out home directly on Schuss Mountain's Chicken's Choice Ski Run. Best location in the resort; possibly the best ski home in Michigan!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250
Tax Rate 6.0%

We make every attempt to keep this site up-to-date; however, prices are not guaranteed until confirmed.
Weekends are three nights minimum - any booking that includes a Friday or a Saturday is a weekend. Additional nights (beyond three) are at our lower mid-week rate.
Holidays are priced accordingly -- see our web site below or email for details. Holidays have minimum stays that might not be accurately reflected on the HomeAway site (due to their site structure)
3% convenience fee applied to PayPal bookings - the majority of our guests send a personal check to avoid the PayPal fees.

Please see our web site Best Vacation Rental Homes dot com for full current rates.
Or... the easier to type BVRH dot info
YOU know... YOU need to do the correct typing to get to our site!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties