check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Secluded Lake Front Retreat

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights


Minimum Stay


Mountain Rest House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

Give yourself the gift of pure delight for a week or weekend at Turtle Creek Retreat. Set on a pristine mountain lake and surrounded by acres of woods, Turtle Creek Retreat will help you relax and recharge the moment you arrive at it's door.

Features of Turtle Creek Retreat include a 3 bedrooms 2 baths house that is reminiscent of an English garden cottage. The screened in porch opens onto a grassy yard with the lake only steps away, beckoning you to explore it's water. Enjoy your day on the lake via furnished kayak or canoe. Relax with the sunset from the hammock, remembering how relaxing the day has been. After nightfall, you can gather with friends and family, enjoy your favorite shows in the upstairs den or share stories in the comfortable living room. A fully furnished kitchen and outdoor grill make preparing your favorite meal a breeze.

Keywords: Lake, Secluded, Peaceful, Romantic

  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Karen Blicher
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 9, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner


Is how this leaves me. I thank you for sharing this with us. It's been deeply soothing for me.

Would like to come here again. I will find it hard to leave.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 3


based on 5 traveler reviews

Secluded Lake Front Retreat
average rating of 4.4 based on 8 reviews
Asheville, NC

Perfect Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

I have to say, the photos don't do this place justice. It was absolutely charming, with everything one would need for a respite from a busy life. The lake is serene, and just the right size for a canoe or kayak (the house provides both!). Each bedroom is unique and they suited the various personalities of our group - the early riser adored the lake facing porch room while the sleeper appreciated the quiet back room. The kitchen was absolutely perfectly stocked from blender to cast iron frying pans to a whole shelf of spices, something you so rarely see in rental units. It's as if the owners wanted us to feel at home instead just anonymous strangers. There were yoga mats upstairs and the book collection made us all want to come back just to spend time in the library. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Simpsonville, SC

Very Dissappointed with management

  • 2 of 5

This was our second stay in 2 years and our stay was fabulous as usual. My family and I love this house and so do our dogs. Unfortunately after we left the way we were treated by Tim and Vijay (some sort of management) was unacceptable. We always take great care of this house as we had planned on making it an annual trip but not after this experience. I was contacted a few days after returning from our trip and told that we had broken a door, which we did not do. It was a closet door that simply kept coming off the track. I kept trying to follow up after no response from Tim and Vijay only to finally receive a check in the mail 3 1/2 weeks after our trip along with a handwriiten note that stated we left the grill disgusting, left a damaged skillet and said a key was missing. None of this is true and none of this was mentioned in the phone call. I would urge anyone to take pictures prior to leaving in order to keep this from happening to you. We washed all of the laundry so nothing was left for housekeeping, cleaned out the refrigerator and wiped it clean, brought all cushions and chairs back to the screened in porch, put the umbrellas away, covered the grill and left the house in great shape. We will not be back due to the management of this property. A shame since we love this house and took great care of it each time we stayed.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our lake cottage is owned and "managed" by a group of friends. We bought our retreat four years ago and have been constantly upgrading. We have happily and successfully rented the house to great tenants at the times we can't enjoy it ourselves. This was the first time in these 4 years that we withheld a portion of someone's security due to damages (a whopping $75 to cover 3-4 hours for time and materials to repair a gash in the doorway.) For the most part, we have been fortunate to attract people who have been willing to respect and share our love for what we feel is a very special place. These are the people we are glad to welcome back to Turtle Creek.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States

A wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was fabulous. The family had a wonderful time and we couldn't have had a more relaxing time. The house was clean and comfortable and the entire process was a pleasure. I would go back in an instant.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Simpsonville, SC

Best Vacation Ever!!

  • 5 of 5

This was the most perfect place to sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and the company of loved ones. Four adults and three dogs and we were all in heaven. We canoed, enjoyed the kayack, enjoyed swimming and exploring the area and just floating around on the water on floats. I seriously cannot think of any negatives. I haven't seen my family or my dogs that happy in a long time and we just can't stop talking about our trip. We cooked every meal there and the house was just fantastic. We will definately return!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Melbourne, FL

Even better than expected!

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 8 (6 adults, 2 children) and two dogs, for a long weekend and Turtle Creek Retreat was perfect on all accounts! Frankly, the pictures do not do it justice, this place is so cute and cozy and a lot bigger than we anticipating. We were in awe, the second we opened the door. There is plenty of room for 8 people, we never felt cramped. Turtle Creek is well maintained and very clean. We were impressed with how well stocked it was. The kitchen has everything you need to make meals, all you have to do is bring the food. We cooked every meal there and never felt stumped. The property is large and tucked away, so you have a lot of privacy. We loved that there are cute bird houses all over, it was visually appealing and fun to see the birds. There is a screened in porch, and a great deck outside with a beautiful view of the lake, that is where we spent all of our time, unless we were floating in the lake on the floaties available. The lake is clean and absolutely swimable. The dogs loved swimming in the beatiful lake and running around the grounds and the kids loved taking the canoe and kayak out for a paddle and then enjoying s'mores by the fire in the evening. This is a great getaway from the hustle and bustle to just kick back and enjoy quality time with your friends and family. The entire weekend we kept discussing when we could return, because we are definitely going back! The owners make the process of renting really easy also. You won't go wrong considering Turtle Creek for your get away and we look forward to coming back.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Lots of great hiking nearby (Yellowbranch State Park, Oconee State Park, Issaqueena Falls all within a 5 minute drive.

Whitewater Falls and others about 25 mins. If you need a dose of the world, downtown Cashiers is 30 minutes away.


Rates & Availability

Mountain Rest House Rental Rates


  • $595-$895 per week
  • US Dollars
  • In Season (Apr-Oct) .. $495/weekend (Fri-Mon) .. $895/week (Mon-Sun)
  • Off Season ........... $350/weekend (Fri-Mon) .. $595/week (Mon-Sun)
  • Cleaning fee $125
  • Security deposit $250 (refundable)
  • Pet deposit $100 (returnable)
  • 7% SC State Sales Tax
  • Holidays:add $50/weekend, $100/week. Extended check-out times available w/charge
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Mountain Rest House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Badminton, darts, horseshoes also available.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties