Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fully Staffed Luxury Villa - Family Friendly, Beachfront, Truly Elegant!

Sleeps24
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms11
Space 15,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 8 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 10+ Baths, (Sleeps 16-24)

* NOTE: For those travelers whose vacations were upset by Hurricanes Irma or Marie, let us know so we can make special pricing accommodations for you *

Eight (8) spacious bedrooms overlooking the ocean, each individually air conditioned with full en suite bathrooms, provide luxury accommodations for you and your family or group. Our 15,000 sq. ft. luxury villa is fully staffed, including an executive chef, so your every need is looked after and catered to while you are in residence. The vacation rental is located within a prestigious gated community and is adjacent to a 600' semi-private golden beach you can enjoy at any time, day or night. And to help accommodate very large groups of up to 20 adults / kids, we offer various day beds and inflatable beds located in the bedrooms.

Throughout the villa and particularly in the bedrooms you will find stunning hand-painted frescoes and murals reminding you of the Tuscan inspiration for our vacation home. We selected the Dominican Republic to build the home because of the warm, friendly people who welcome you to their island paradise and Cabrera because they are the nicest of all!

Bedroom Descriptions

Master #1 (Firenze Suite) - King Bed, Walk In Closet, Bathroom w/two person tub, separate shower, toilet & bidet.

Master #2 (Siena Suite) - King Bed, Walk In Closet, Bathroom w/two person tub, separate shower, toilet. Handicap accessible.

Guest #1 (Fiesole) - Queen Bed, Armoire, Bathroom w/glass-walled shower overlooking the ocean, toilet.

Guest #2 (La Spezia) - King Bed, Wall Closet, Bathroom w/shower, toilet.

Guest #3 (Viareggio) - King Bed, Wall Closet, Bathroom w/shower, toilet.

Guest #4 (Lucca Suite) - King Bed, Day Bed, Wall Closet, Bathroom w/shower, toilet.

Guest #5 (Pisa Suite) - Two Double Beds, Wall Closet, Bathroom w/shower, toilet.

Guest #6 (Dolce Vita) - King Bed, Two Day Beds, Wall Closet, Bathroom w/shower, toilet (perfect teen room).

Each of the bedrooms is fully air-conditioned with individual controls for personal enjoyment. The two master suites have additional seating spaces as does the Lucca Suite. All of the suites have direct access to a deep, shady terrace. All bedrooms have hair dryers.

Game Room

The villa game room is fully equipped to help entertain you while you are in vacation here in the Dominican Republic. The villa bar is located adjacent to the game room and rapidly becomes one of the busiest locations in the villa. The rest of the game room includes: 15' custom-designed championship shuffleboard table, poker table, foosball table, pool table, ping-pong table and, of course, large flat screen television with satellite and a vast DVD collection.

Private Swimming Pool

The private swimming pool is a massive, freeform, zero-entry swimming pool with over 3600 square feet of surface area! The 60' x 60' swimming pool boasts a diving rock, separate hot tub / spa, peninsula and swim thru. The zero entry end is perfect for kids to play since it is so shallow and provides safer handicapped access should that be necessary. The swimming pool is large enough to accommodate an entire family group with everyone having their own space.

Come and experience a vacation as you have never before experienced. See why Fodor's Travel Guide rates it a 'Fodor's Choice' destination and why MSNBC's 'On the Money' highlighted the villa.

Additional Features of this fantastic Caribbean vacation villa rental by owner include:

- 2 Huge Living Areas; one a splendid grand living room for entertaining, the other a totally equipped game room for relaxation

- Formal Dining, Al Fresco Dining, Private Dining and Grand Terrace Dining areas

- Massive 18' deep, shady grand terrace with luxurious furnishings for outdoor living and relaxation

- Two Gourmet Kitchens for Entertaining Large Groups

- Twin 60Kv Cummings Diesel Generators, Batteries & Inverter System for Uninterrupted Power Supply

- 44,000 Gallon Underground Cistern with Redundant 55psi Water Pumps

- Private Wine Cellar with Individual Temperature Controls Holds 600+ Bottles

- 3 Elegant Hand-Carved Coralina Fireplaces with Gas Logs & Remote Ignition

- Gorgeous Hand Painted Ceilings and Wall Murals by International Muralist

- Full Exercise Facility including Elliptical Runner, Recumbent Bike, Bow Flex, and Free Weights

- Spa-Quality Luxurious Padded Pool Chairs and Chaise Lounges

- Interior and Exterior Sound Systems w/iPod Docs and CD Players

- Direct Access to Our Romantic 600' Secluded White Sand Beach

- Portable Beach Lounge Chairs & Umbrellas

- Children's Beach / Pool Toys & Board Games

- 4 Hole Onsite Putting / Chipping Greens and nearby Playa Grande Golf Course

- Italian Hand-Carved Marble Entrance Fountain; perfect for romantic pictures

- Romantic, Secluded Garden Areas Overlooking the Sea

- Spectacular Hand Built Stone Privacy Wall Surrounds the Villa

- Fully Trained Staff including Chef de Cuisine, On-Site Concierge, Masseuse, Laundress, Housekeepers, Gardeners & Security

- Handicap Accessible Ground Floor Master Suite, Gardens and Zero-entry Pool

- High Speed (DSL) Wireless Internet Throughout

- much more...

Romantic Island Wedding Destination: Imagine a destination wedding in a tropical island paradise and you have imagined Villa Castellamonte. Nestled within 2 acres of daily manicured, tropical gardens next to a golden sand beach you will find many locations for your wedding vows. Most of our happy brides chose the lower garden because of the stunning and sweeping views overlooking the azure blue ocean waters. Receptions as large as 200 people (and as small as 10) have enjoyed the ambiance and beauty of the stone deck surrounding the private pool. Your wedding planning is coordinated with our dedicated wedding planner who has years of expertise and experience designing and managing weddings of every size. Leave the details to our destination wedding planner while you enjoy paradise!

Keywords: Villa, Dominican Republic, Luxury Villa, Fully staffed, Family, Wedding, Beachfront, Vacation Rental

More Details

Owner
Jason
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Jason

We built Villa Castellamonte as a family vacation retreat and are happy to help others experience the luxury, relaxation and total enjoyment available here in the Dominican Republic.

Jason purchased this villa in 2002

Why Jason chose Orchid Bay Estates

Our property was designed with family in mind so it lends itself beautifully to larger groups such as destination weddings, family reunions, corporate retreats and similar sized groups.

What makes this villa unique

This luxury villa is truly a unique and unusual vacation rental for a number of reasons. The architecture as a Tuscan villa in the Caribbean is further enhanced through highly detailed hand-painted frescos and murals by an international artist. The Siena Suite is a fully handicap accessible suite with direct access to the zero entry pool, enabling guests of all ages to easily enjoy the entire villa easily. On grounds putting and chipping greens provide guests with excellent opportunities to sharpen their short game before visiting the nearby Playa Grande Golf Course. These are only some of the many unique attributes of the villa!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We've just returned from another fantastic week at Castellamonte and wanted to express our appreciation to the amazing staff at the Villa. We stayed last year as part of a family reunion and loved it so much that we immediately booked a week with our friends. Everyone had a great time - they loved the Villa, the food, the pool, the beaches, but most importantly the staff. Felicita, Freddy, Felix, Edison and Gabrielle are simply the best. They make everyone feel welcome and part of their family. As we write this we are currently plotting a way for us to return again next year. Thanks again for a wonderful vacation. We hope to see you all again very soon.
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 3

Map

Dominican Republic
Chicos Tropical Cafe
"Wonderful food prepared by caring staff who help you truly enjoy a meal in the Dominican lif..."
Manny's Bar Restaurant
"A funky little jewel of a place located right on the malécon (boardwalk) in Cabrera overlook..."
Playa Grande
"One of the Top Beaches in the World according to Conde Nast Traveler is less than 5 miles fr..."
Playa Grande Golf Club
"Designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr and updated by his son, is one of the most magnificent go..."
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Manny's
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Playa Grande Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Chico's

Amenities

Orchid Bay Estates Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 15000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 11 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
    Bathroom 8 -
    Bathroom 9 -
    Bathroom 10 -
    Bathroom 11 -
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • Firenze Suite - 1 king , Very large room, walk-in closet and separate bath.
    Siena Suite - 1 king , Handicap accessible, walk-in closet, separate bath
    Lucca Suite - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Extra large room, separate bath, terrace access
    Pisa Suite - 2 double , Large room, separate bath, terrace access
    Viareggio Room - 1 king , Near swimming pool, separate bath, terrace access
    La Spezia Room - 1 king , Near game room, private terrace, separate bath
    Dolce Vita Room - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Garden views, separate bath, ultimate privacy
    Fiesole Room - 1 queen , 2nd Floor, separate bath, gorgeous murals & views
  • King size beds (6), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (2) We also have Pack n' Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fully Staffed, incl. Private Chef

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Fully Staffed Luxury Villa - Family Friendly, Beachfront, Truly Elegant!
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 12 reviews
New Rochelle, NY
5

Abstolutely stunning Villa, Location and Staff

  • 5 of 5

As great as the Villa looks in the photos, it is even nicer in person. We were a group of 10 people, but could have easily been 16 or more and never felt crowded as the Villa is enormous and the beautiful grounds provided ample opportunity and space for everyone to spread out and have privacy when not all spending time together. The entire villa is extremely well appointed and the grounds meticulously maintained. Each of the 8 bedrooms is larger and nicer than a high end hotel and it was great the way they were spread out across the Villa for even more privacy. As you can see, the pool is really large and our group loved floating around and engaging in some pool volleyball, ping pong and pool during out stay. There is a really nice beach accessible down a beautiful stone stairway in the backyard of the Villa and we enjoyed two fun bonfires on the beach. It is hard to say enough about the daily staff as they catered to us all day and night. The chefs, butlers, maids and landscapers are all top notch and super friendly. We had two chefs and a restaurant manager in our group of guests and the chefs were really wonderful at accommodating any and all of our numerous requests. We even had a really fun whole pig roasted one night, and the staff that sets up the beach bonfire brings down to the beach a full bar and music and the all important smores. Thankfully we did a lot of swimming and other activities or we all would have gained a lot of weight. Finally, it is hard to say enough good things about our host/concierge Michelle. We were communicating long before we arrived and settled on menu and wine and liquor selections and she stopped by every day to check on us and was just a text message away whenever we had a question. She arranged transportation to and from the airport for all of our guests (who were arriving at different times) and she arranged for local tour companies to stop by after we arrived to explain different excursions that we might want to do. She helped us arrange some excursions on our own and we also used available tour companies for a couple of great snorkeling adventures and for horseback riding and two great lunches on Playa Grande beach. The villa staff and hosts all are really experienced and made everything go smoothly. This really is a perfect place for a large family gathering or a gathering of couples/friends (our group) or corporate retreat and, of course, a destination wedding in the beautiful backyard. Hope to return.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your open and honest review of Villa Castellamonte. We truly enjoyed meeting you and helping you to have a wonderful vacation. Your comments about the staff are particularly welcome as we know they work tirelessly yet happily to make vacations truly special here. We hope to see you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Run down property with inconsiderate owners.

  • 1 of 5

Avoid this place at all costs. Air conditioners in multiple rooms were not working. There would be no running water or electricity for hours or days at a time. We spoke with the owners and concierge multiple times and received no apology or help. In addition, multiple guests had items and money stolen from their rooms. I am disappointed and embarrassed to have spent time here and invited guests to spend time here.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, I do want to thank you for visiting our lovely home and I'm sorry you had a negative experience. We've been renting our vacation home for over 15 years and have never, not once, received such a negative (and inaccurate) review. The recent hurricanes apparently caused damage to an a/c unit and our power generator that went undiscovered until they were used. The a/c unit was replaced the same day and the power generator had worked for the entire time until the last day. I'm not going into a "he said/she said" about your 3-day stay with us but I will remind you that you received 1/3rd of your rental money back as our form of apologies for the discomfort. Everything works in our villa as our current guests will happily attest to once they are done with their week-long vacation. I'm sorry you felt otherwise and am equally disappointed in the accuracy of your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

A highly memorable trip!

  • 4 of 5

We just returned from the beautiful villa and have to say it was one of the MOST AMAZING vacations ever. We were 17 of us - 10 adults and 7 kids and there was ample room for all. The staff were wonderful and we were thoroughly pampered from morning to night. The food was outstanding and plentiful. Thank you Rupert, Felix, Felicita, Joel and all those who made this family reunion such a memorable one. The reasons I did not give it an Excellent rating is because the air conditioning did not work in half the rooms and despite us bringing this to the staff's attention on more than one occasion, they could not fix it. This resulted in many family members being uncomfortable at night due to the heat. I just feel for the price we paid we should have been able to get this resolved or been given some credit back on our stay. Other than that, no issues with the villa. Other watch-outs for future visitors - it is far from airports. Flights to Samana are more expensive and not as much choice of airlines. The drive from Santa Domingo is about 2-2.5 hours. Once we got there however, being remote did not bother us at all (in fact we enjoyed the privacy and lack of other tourists). Regarding the beach access below the villa - it is rocky and not ideal for swimming. There are beautiful beaches about 10-20 mins away that we ended up visiting but you need a car or taxi. Overall, a fantastic visit and I would highly recommend staying here. There is something for all ages. It will be hard to top this trip. Thank you Jason and family for sharing this place with us!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the a/c unit causing problems, unfortunately things tend to break when they are least expected to. Our sincerest apologies and we'll definitely give you a credit should you decide to return!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Virginia
5

Family reunion at villa castellamonte

  • 5 of 5

My family of 16 just celebrated our parents 50 th wedding anniversary at the villa, for 9 days. We had an absolutely amazing time. The chef is a fabulous cook, and all the staff was friendly and accommodating and enhanced our stay. The villa is beautiful and we had the best time floating in the pool, taking advantages of local excursions and even weathered tropical storm Chantal with no worries. I would highly recommend this villa!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the wonderful review, we appreciate it and hope others will follow your lead to paradise.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
United States
5

Fabulous Villa with Outstanding Staff

  • 5 of 5

The excellent accommodations and outstanding view at the Villa are surpassed only by the fantastic and attentive staff. The staff was great and had just the right combination of being there when you wanted them and not being over your shoulder all the time. The cook was great and was flexible enough to cook for the people who liked seafood, the people who didn't like seafood, and our one vegetarian. There was more than enough room for the 17 of us. My one complaint is that some of the destinations were a bit of a drive from where we were, and the airports are also 2-3 hours away. We did enjoy the Ocean World excursion and the scuba. I'd highly recommend this place. Best vacation we've ever had.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves! Next year, try to use Samana Int'l (AZS), only 40 minutes from the villa, or Puerto Plata (POP) only 90 minutes. But please do come back to enjoy paradise with us!
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Wisconsin
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had the best vacation EVER...the staff and beauty of this villa was more than we expected....we even saw whales one morning while having coffee. It was the most relaxing trip ever and we were truly pampered. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79

*Special weeks such as President’s Day, Easter, Thanksgiving and July 4th are premium weeks @ $3400/nt. Holiday Rates for Christmas and New Year are noted. Please contact owner for up to date rates for these high demand weeks. Purchase of our meal plan and a 12% staff gratuity are mandatory. Max 2ppl per bedroom, add'l persons may have additional fees. Smaller groups using 4 bedrooms or less can save $$, contact us.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.