check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Log Cabin-Trout Stocked Creek on 23 Acres of Forest.

32 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bryson City Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin ,2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Carolina Mountains are unlike any other.Whether you're looking for a relaxing vacation or an adventurous one, this beautiful cabin covers it all. Stay at this secluded mountain retreat with a trout-filled creek snuggled in the Western North Carolina Smokey Mountains in Bryson City.

Log cabin with 2 bedrooms downstairs with queen beds in each and a loft upstairs that has a full bed and two twins , 2 baths (one upstairs and one downstairs) on 23 acres with a rushing creek that borders the U.S. Forest Service. You'll love the huge rock fireplace, wood floors, majestic woodwork throughout, cathedral ceiling, gourmet kitchen, french doors open to the large deck. On warm days, enjoy the cool breeze from the swing on the covered porch that is outfitted with ceiling fans. Savor the comfort of a rocking chair with a cup of coffee or tea, while experiencing the serenity of the sound of the rushing creek from the large open deck.

Test your luck with a fishing pole in the trout stocked creek. Hike the forest filled 23 acres, or hike less than a mile down the road to the waterfalls. The kids will enjoy their hours of freedom exploring the forest, playing hide and seek and wading through the creek.

When ready to relax, snuggle up in front of the huge hand-crafted, stone fireplace and enjoy the view through the double french doors. Our cabin is secluded and remains free of cable and outside interferences to interupt your vacation. The kids will enjoy the foosball table and assorited games in the spacious loft which contains a full size bed and two twin beds. After a day of playing in the creek, enjoy the outdoor fire pit while roasting marshmallows. Our cabin is outfitted for those who want a mountain side retreat or an adventure filled destination.

We are centrally located for ALL of the Smokey Mountain activities!!

Just a few minutes away from Bryson City you can rent a tube for a couple of bucks and exciting ride down Deep Creek.

Take a ride on the Smoky Mountain Railroad Train through tunnels carved out of mountains to the Nantahala Gorge for white water rafting or kayaking and enjoy lunch or dinner overlooking the Nantahala Gorge.

Other excursions include Day Out with Thomas the Tank, Polar Express, Mystery Dinner Theater Train and other themed events.

Shop on an old -timey main street with coffee shops & country stores.

In the Area!

Tsali- World class mountain biking- 30 mins

Nantahala River is just 20 mins. down the road and is one of the nation's most popular white-water rafting & kayaking areas in the South East. rom Class I to Class V rapids, offers great options for kayak instruction for all skill levels.

Strike it rich and pan for gold!

Lake Fontana- fishing, swiming, skiing, go boating, tubing, rafting and kayaking

Cherokee Indian Reservation - experience the rich cultural heritage of the Cherokee Indians and Harrah’s Casino

Ashville - Biltmore House -Old Vanderbilt Mansion - just 1 hour away

Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Tennessee and Dollywood

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

* Check-In after 3:00 pm and Check-Out by 10:00 am.

* Signed Rental Agreement Required

* No smoking

* No pets

Keywords: Mountain Cabin

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin

Growing up in Florida, my family loved our vacations to the mountains of North Carolina. Once I married,my husband and kids continued the tradition and have made more wonderful memories of our own. We vacationed in many places in North Carolina until we visited a friend in Bryson City and fell in love with it. We bought the perfect piece of property with a creek and camped on it for a few years until we built our cabin. Just walking along the creek listening and enjoying nature is a gift. We enjoy having so many things to do in one area. We love the small town feel and yet so close to Cherokee, Smokey Mountains, Blue Ridge parkway, Asheville, Nantahala George, too many to list. We are sure you will love it as much as we do.

Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin purchased this cabin in 2004

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have new beautiful log queen beds and a new leather couch for your enjoyment!
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.3
based on 32 traveler reviews

Beautiful Log Cabin-Trout Stocked Creek on 23 Acres of Forest.
average rating of 4.3125 based on 35 reviews
4

Great peaceful location!

  • 4 of 5

Our 3 families really enjoyed our stay at Alarka cabin . Very peaceful location, you could hear the stream while sitting out by the campfire. Whitewater rafting , deep creek tubing and picnicking were all within 30 min. Cherokee about 45 min away . A lot to do and beautiful place!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Unpleasant erperience

  • 1 of 5

We arrived to find the property with dirty floors and overall not what we expected. I would not personally recommend this property to anyone. It has been over 30 days and we still have not received our deposit back. I spoke with the owner about the cleanliness of the property and she said the stove top was cracked its possible but not by my family. We only stayed there 2 of the 3 nights as we were in the mountains to take our daughter to enroll in college. We did not even use the stove as we did absolutely no cooking. Bad experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure talking with you. Please know that we have taken action to assure our guest are pleased with their stay at the cabin. We like to remind our guest that the security deposits are refunded to the same account the reservation was made under.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Our family has vacationed in the Bryson City area many times. This was our first, and and will be our last, time staying at this particular property. While the Alarka Creek cabin has many desirable features, there is room for improvement, and the owner's description on the VRBO website is misleading in some areas.

I received the exact address and directions from the owner 15 days prior to our arrival, although I booked the rental over three months in advance. “Just a few minutes away from Bryson City” – subject to interpretation. While the drive from Hwy 74 to the cabin on Alarka Road is very scenic, it is also very twisty and narrow in places, which is to be expected – you are in the mountains. I have lived in the NC Mountains and I am an experienced driver. In planning your day, I suggest you allow a minimum of 20 minutes to reach the juncture of Alarka Road and Hwy 74 from the cabin.

Bring a kitchen chair if there are more than five in your party. The table seats six, but there are only five chairs. (Look at picture number 6, and read previous reviews).

“Gourmet Kitchen” – subject to interpretation. I would suggest you bring utensils if you do not want to run the dishwasher after every meal. There is no disposal in the kitchen sink.

The upstairs loft area sleeps up to four people, yet the bathroom has no fan.

Under the heading of “Location Type", it says “Mountain View”, and “Waterfront”. There is a nice view of the mountain opposite the cabin, and the property is bordered by a short section of Alarka Creek. But you cannot see the creek from the cabin; it is close by and you can indeed hear it.

If you have young children, advise them not to lean on the railing in the loft where the foosball table is located. Several bannisters are loose. The same is true of the railings on some of the deck stairs. Some of the rocking chairs on the deck need repair, use with caution.

The owner advises that you should use their directions, and not to rely on GPS. I would recommend that you do use GPS, which directed me to turn onto Deep Gap Road from Alarka Road. Deep Gap Road reconnects with Alarka Road near the cabin. This route will avoid a single lane section of Alarka Road.

Lastly, although I have rented many vacation properties and have never felt the need to do so before, I would advise you to have the caretaker meet you upon arrival, do a walk through, photograph and document any existing damage.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your ideas on ways to better accommodate our guest. We caution our guest using GPS base on reports of our guest being guided the wrong direction. We take pride in offering a beautiful, clean and relaxing place to vacation and have a caretaker thats available at any time for your convenience. It's important to us that our guest enjoy their stay and would have loved the opportunity to fix anything that wasn't acceptable to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cabin with a beautiful creek

  • 5 of 5

We just stayed here for the second time. We love this place. The cabin is everything we were looking for. You can't see a single neighbor from the cabin. The boys love to roam the woods around the cabin and fool around in the creek. We never caught any trout, but that probably had more to do with our trout-fishing skills than anything else. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Kentucky
3

Great memories!

  • 3 of 5

The cabin setting was pristine! Large decks/porch and fire ring, hiking trail, trout stream....we had family pictures taken with kids swimming in the creek. My husband fished the stream (it's small but knowledgable fly fishers won't have trouble).

The mattresses on the beds were soft, too soft to be comfortable and the interior of the cabin was not as clean as I would've liked. We had to sweep the floor and the porch before feeling settled. The countertops and kitchen table needed to be cleaned, etc. It's a terrific cabin but needs a bit more detailed cleaning between guests.

Overall, we enjoyed our vacation thoroughly!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I loved the mountain cabin and the beautiful setting. The creek that runs on the property that you can hear from the front porch.... the cows grazing at the bottom of the hill.... the fireplace inside..... the entire setting was so peaceful and relaxing. While this visit was for mom and dad to relax we will be returning with our children. This is the perfect retreat for a couple who needs quiet time away and for the couple who has three children who love to explore and be outside. Beautiful setting with the convenience of being right down the street to quaint Bryson City.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bryson City Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 4 2016
2 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Christmas
Dec 5 2016 - Dec 26 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Winter
Dec 27 2016 - Jan 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Winter
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Summer
May 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Independence Day
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
Summer
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.75%

10% military discount-Spring 135.00 Summer 157.50
Rent 6 nights 7th is free

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bryson City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • Downstairs are two bedrooms with a Queen Bed in each, upstairs in the loft is a full bed and twoTwin beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Enjoy the quiet setting, beautiful living area with wood burning fireplace. Fantastic porch with swing, seating, picnic table to melt the stress away.

Partner Offers