check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

John Peters

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Secluded, Pet Friendly, 4 BR Mountain Chalet Near Golf Courses, State Parks

68 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Crab Orchard Chalet Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8-10

Renegade Mountain, Crossville, Fairfield Glade, secluded, mountaintop, pet friendly, hot tub, wireless Internet, whirlpool tub, porch, shaded, swimming pool, tennis, gas fireplaces.

Relax in our secluded chalet located high (2550 ft) on Renegade Mountain in Crab Orchard, TN. Located 100 miles east of Nashville, 60 miles west of Knoxville, and 60 miles northwest of Chattanooga, we are centrally located for many major vacation destinations in the Southeast. Located just 5 miles off of I-40, you are only minutes away from Crossville, Fairfield Glade, and numerous great public golf courses, state parks, wineries, and antique stores such as Elsa's in Crossville.

Amenities and Electronics Available: For the technically oriented guest and/or workaholic who needs to stay connected, our chalet has high speed wireless Internet, a computer and multi-function printer, a 46' LCD TV with surround sound in the den and a 50' plasma TV with surround sound in the guest house master BR. The 3 smaller BR's each have a 19' TV. All TV's have a separate DVD player. Telephone service, including free long distance, is provided. (Cell phone service, especially AT&T, is not good on Renegade Mountain.) The computer has over 8000 songs cataloged in i-Tunes play lists for your enjoyment. Genres include classical, pop, instrumental, 50's, 60's. 70's - 90's and country. If you like head banging music, bring your own - we don't have any.

About Our Location: Spend pleasant spring, summer, and fall days on our large, shaded, wrap-around porch reading, resting, or meditating while listening to the sounds of nature. For sore muscles or tired feet, our very private 8 person hot tub offers great therapy under the stars; or you can enjoy the solitude and privacy of the whirlpool tub in the guest house bath.

During your drive up the mountain to the chalet, and from our porch and chalet once you arrive, expect to see deer, wild turkeys, an occasional bear, and numerous squirrels, birds, and other assorted mountain critters. The only thing that isn't wild is the living. Come often, every season is a different adventure at Renegade Golf Chalet.

Local Golf Courses: Bear Trace at Cumberland Mountain - 407 Wild Plum Lane Crossville, TN 38572-1117 (931) 707-1640

Briarwood Golf Course at Cumberland Gardens Resort - Hwy 70 E Crab Orchard, TN 37723 (931)484-5285

Deer Creek Golf Club - 445 Deer Creek Drive - Crossville, Tennessee 38558 (931) 456-0178

Dorchester Golf Club - 576 Westchester Dr.- Fairfield Glade, TN 38558 (931) 484-3709

Druid Hills Golf Club - 435 Lakeview Dr - . Fairfield Glade, TN 38558 (931) 484-3711

Fall Creek Falls State Park - 2009 Village Camp Road -Highway 111 Pikeville , TN 37367-9803 (423) 881-5298

Heatherhurst Golf Club, The Brae - 421 Stonehenge Dr - Fairfield Glade, TN 38558 (931) 484-3799

Heatherhurst Golf Club, The Crag - 421 Stonehenge Dr - Fairfield Glade, TN 38558 (931) 484-3799

Lake Tansi Village Golf -5050 Shoshone Loop - Crossville, TN (931) 788-3301

Renegade National Golf Course - Renagade Mountain Parkway - Crab Orchard, TN 37723 (931)484-5285

River Run Golf Club - 170

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
John Peters (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About John Peters

John and Melanie Peters are the happy owners of the Renegade Golf Chalet along with Melanie's sister Suzanne Moore. We reside in Decatur, Al, but we love the time we spend at our chalet. We have just finished an extensive and exhausting renovation of the property and we look forward to sharing it with our rental guests.

John Peters purchased this chalet in 2009

Why John Peters chose Tennessee

We chose to buy on Renegade Mountain because of the secluded, but secure nature of the mountain location (elevation 2550 ft)in a gated community. The presence of the Renegade Golf Course at the top of our mountain and the close proximity to Fairfield Glade and many other golf courses and state parks also played an important factor in our choice of properties. Even though our Chalet is in Crab orchard, we are members of Fairfield Glade and our guests can enjoy all the benefits as Fairfield Glade guests, including special golf rates.

What makes this chalet unique

We enjoy the feeling of total isolation in our chalet, even though it is close to many golf courses, restaurants, shopping, and state parks. Day trips to Dollywood, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg are also a great way to spend our leisure time. Our co-owner, Suzanne Moore, loves to visit all the wineries in the area to sample their wares. Since the roads are all curvy, nobody can tell how many samples she actually had.

Reviews

4.9
based on 68 traveler reviews

Secluded, Pet Friendly, 4 BR Mountain Chalet Near Golf Courses, State Parks
average rating of 4.9117646 based on 68 reviews
Nashville
5

Wonderful Getaway - Very Spacious

  • 5 of 5

This home is amazing. So much room - would be a great home for a large family with so many sleeping areas. We stayed mainly in the Guest House which was a large bedroom with huge TV and a spa-like bathroom. We used the kitchen and grill for meals which were fully accessible and stocked with everything we could need for cooking. It rained all but one day so we slept in and stayed up late watching movies. We had the pizza from the market mart/gas station you see when you get off I-40 to head towards property twice! It was great. Short drive into Crossville for groceries at the Kroger. Saw a deer one day and a very friendly dog from the nearest neighbor. Was sad to see a for sale sign as this is a great property. Just down the road from the owner's other rental which is fabulous as well.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

LOVED our weekend get-away at this mountain chalet!

  • 5 of 5

This rental would be great for a family, lots of sleeping spaces and a private master suite. It's super-clean and comfortable, we loved the fire pit and the hot tub! I enjoyed reading on the deck with a cup of coffee to start the day, then we were off to hike in the nearby state parks. It was a wonderful weekend - we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good layout and secluded

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. We had 12 guys on a golf trip stay here. The kitchen was well appointed to meet our cooking needs. The house basically had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the outdoor area as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Well stocked and updated mountain cabin with beautiful back porch view

  • 4 of 5

The chalet was a perfect spot for our women's reunion weekend this summer. We slept 12 comfortably. The kitchen is fully stocked, so we were able to have big home made breakfast. The back porch overlooks tall pines, with several hummingbirds buzzing around the feeders. We took a long walk about the neighborhood and the climate and cool mountain breeze was delightful. There are window units in the master cabin, living area and one of the upstairs bedrooms (I recommend leaving doors open upstairs to share the AC with the other bedroom!). There are not a lot of food options nearby, but we picked up fajitas for family style dinner at home at Cancun Mexican Restaurant. The owners were very available to questions and flexible with check in and check out times.

It is about a 5-10 minute drive up the mountain from the entry point.

I would recommend this rental to friends.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Middle Tn
5

Third year and once again a perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year staying here for our Annual Golf Trip and again we had a blast. I do want to say THANK-YOU for the new grill!!! It worked perfectly and was a MUCH needed upgrade! Mr Peters is a great property owner, very responsive any time we have had questions. 7 rounds of golf in 5 days, a hot tub to keep our backs loose and a nice comfy bed to sleep in at night!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very good

  • 4 of 5

Our family liked the chalet very much and really enjoyed our time there. It was very peaceful and quiet which we liked.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Grassy Cove Segment of the Cumberland Trail
Windless Cave
Obed Wild & Scenic River section of the Cumberland Trail
Cumberland Mountain State Park
Ozone Falls
Frozen Head State Park
Cracker Barrel
Crossville
Taco Bell
McDonald's
Vegas Steakhouse and Lounge
Arby's
KFC
United Grocery Outlet
Subway Sandwiches & Salads
Fairfield Glade Community Club Restaurants
River Run Golf Club
Bear Trace - Cumberland Mountain
Stonehenge Golf Club
Dorchester Country Club
Druid Hills Golf Club
Deer Creek Golf Club
Plateau Golf Llc
US Golf & Tennis Center Inc
Rockwood Golf & Country Club
Big Boy's Barbeque
Cancun Mexican Restaurant
Forte's Restaurant on the Square
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Knoxville, TN
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Lefty's
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Fairfield Glade
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
McDonalds
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Beech Mtn
Car: necessary

Renegade Golf Chalet is located in close driving distance of a number of fine wineries, most of which provide free samples to those knowledgeable of the culture of wines. If you sample very many new wines, you might need a designated driver to get you back up the curvy Renegade Mountain Parkway to the chalet.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crab Orchard Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
$3,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20
Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $250

Reservation deposit is non-refundable if reservation is canceled prior to check in. Reservation deposit converts to a refundable damage deposit upon check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Crab Orchard Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1) King Bed in Master BR, Queen size Beds (2) Queen Bed in Downstairs BR and One in Rear Upstairs BR (Also with Twin Bed Built Into Open Closet), Double Beds (1) Double Bed Built Into Open Closet in Front Upstairs BR, Also with 2 Additional Twin Beds, Twin or Single Beds (3) 2 Single Beds in Front Upstairs BR, also with Twin Bed Built into Closet. 1 Single Bed Built into Closet in Rear BR, also with Queen Bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Located in Gated Community for Security, Doggy Door, Hiking Trails,

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties