check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Diedre Galardi

Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Homestead condo comfortably tucked in wooded dunes

41 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Glen Arbor Condo Rental Photos and Description

1BR/1BA Condo, sleeps 4 (king size bed and fold-out sleeper sofa)

Everything 'up north' should be - Our condo is private, clean, comfortable, and conveniently located on the property of the Homestead Resort. This means you are just minutes from the beach, bike trail, groomed hiking and ski trails, and the ski village. Just down the road is Glen Arbor, Glen Lakes and the Sleeping Bear Dunes. Glen Arbor offers resort shopping and a choice of delightful restaurants. Spend an afternoon boating crystal clear Glen Lake or kayaking the Crystal River. A trip up north wouldn't be complete without the challenge of climbing the Sleeping Bear Dunes or a visit to 'fishtown,' Leland. The new Heritage trail is perfect for a bike ride. From our villa you are just a scenic drive to all the other Leelanau Peninsula treasures- orchards, vineyards, golf courses, horse trails, historic sites and casinos.

Come, Be Our Guests. Tucked in the northwoods, renters comment on how private, clean, and comfortable villa is. Easy 3-step entry welcomes you to relax in the great north woods. Start the morning with the birds and a cup of coffee on our wooden deck. After a walk through the woods, a day at the beach, a game of golf, or a drive around the peninsula visiting wineries, return to our air conditioned villa and relax in our jacuzzi tub. Visiting in the cooler months? Settle down to a fire in the fireplace and a good movie on the DVD player. Ready for bed, tuck yourself in to comfort in our king-size sleigh bed and dream about returning.

Located between the reception center and the ski village of the Homestead Resort, our villa is a short walk to Lake Michigan, the entrance to the Bay View trail, Cavanaugh's deli and Nonnie's restaurant.

Glen Arbor: Just 40 minutes east of Traverse City is the quaint town of Glen Arbor. Nestled on the shores of Lake Michigan, it's a destination spot in any season. Summer attracts Glen Lake & Lake Michigan boaters, sailors, hikers, dune climbers, cyclists and sun worshipers. The restaurants are open late luring you in with their fare. Some even have live nightly entertainment. The shop doors are open enticing you to buy everything from Cherry wine to carved cherry wood tables. Plan accordingly and you can catch an art, polka, or jazz festival. Fall brings a quietness to the town. It's a perfect time to take a color tour through the scenic hills, catch a game of golf, or walk through any number of groomed trails. Perhaps you'll spot a deer, porcupine, red fox, or raccoon. We have. Winter fun begins on the down-hill slopes or cross-country trails. When spring arrives, everyone celebrates by hunting Morrell mushrooms and spotting Trillium as they poke through the winter leaves. Come, be our guests.

Area Attractions: Come, discover all of the Leelanau Peninsula treasures with us. Be awed by the Sleeping Bear Dunes or Lake Michigan or marvel at the beauty of a wildflower growing along one of the many groomed hiking trails. Tucked throughout the peninsula are vineyards, wineries, golf courses, lakes and scenic lookouts. For the nostalgic is Leland, a turn-of-the century fish town still practicing its trade but expanded to welcome inquisitive visitors. Empire too boasts a maritime museum depicting the wrath and splendor of Lake Michigan travel. Why you can even find a home-made cheese shop and family drive-in theater. For the modern sophisticate is Traverse City, just east on M-72. North of TC is the casino at Peshawbeston. To the south is fine arts school at Interlochen which hosts local and international artists throughout the year. No matter where you go in the area, there is something to do and something to see. So come, be our guest and experience all that 'Up North' was meant to be.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Diedre Galardi (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Diedre Galardi

Private Owners

Diedre Galardi purchased this condo in 1999

Why Diedre Galardi chose Northern Michigan

Outdoor setting and convenient location to so many 'up north' opportunities - hiking, boating, swimming, trails, skiing, horse back riding, fishing, dunes, vineyards, shops, restaurants.

Reviews

4.5
based on 41 traveler reviews

Homestead condo comfortably tucked in wooded dunes
average rating of 4.5365853 based on 41 reviews
4

Great trip and nice condo.

  • 4 of 5

The Traverse City/Glen Arbor area is beautiful! Even in the rain, which we had a lot of. We were visiting for a family wedding that was very close, so the location was perfect. The rental was very clean and nice. It was great to have AC as the humidity was very high the first few days, my sister's family was in a larger condo right on the water and didn't have AC so it was a bit uncomfortable for their first night.

The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is that I do feel that the sleeper couch definitely needs replacing and should have been done quite a while ago. In a previous post, the owner has indicated it will happen in Fall. My daughter slept on it and at only 15yo had a very sore back in the morning and hard time sleeping as the mattress on the couch is shot. The master bed was very comfortable and everything else was great, just felt badly for my daughter. However, would definitely recommend this spot for a couple.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A cute condo with a relaxing view of the woods!

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, convenient and would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just right, especially if you have a small child that needs to nap

  • 5 of 5

This property is just as described, and was perfect for our small family. The price is similar to a local hotel room but the amenities are much better, such as the separate bedroom, full kitchen, and outdoor deck. The walk to the beach is a little far, but the ability to watch TV in the family room or have a glass of wine on the deck while a child sleeps in the bedroom is priceless.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

There's Nothing Chic About This Condo!

  • 2 of 5

I want to preface my review by saying the the owner always responded to our questions and concerns about this condo. This was our first reservation at The Homestead, which is a beautiful resort located near Glen Arbor and the beautiful Sleeping Bear Dunes. We were very excited to see the condo and spend a few days in the lovely surroundings. We pulled up to the unit and noticed it was located near the playground and great little coffee shop and a fine restaurant. It is located on the ground level which made it easy to unpack. The area around the front door was dirty and had not been swept nor had any spider webs been cleaned up. I had that uh-oh moment but hoped that we'd be pleased with the interior. Inside, we noticed the condo had been well cleaned to our relief, however there was a mildew odor especially in the family/living area. The unit had not been updated in many years still having an 80s decor. The sofa and matching chair were well worn with a few pillows with stains. There were large windows which we enjoyed, that were covered with old and outdated micro mini blinds that were bent in places. The kitchen was small and had no table or chairs.The cupboards had china and glass wear, pots and pans, and cutlery. The drawers were unclean. It had a very small stove, dishwasher, and frig. The frig had not been cleaned in quite a while and we did not want to use it. We had been looking forward to a great cup of coffee, however, the coffee pot was filthy and completely unclean. Even though there was a small drop-down table in the family room area, we chose not to use it because the kitchen grossed us out. In the middle of the condo stood a very large jetted tub that we did not use. There was a sink next to the tub that didn't drain properly; and another sink which worked fine in the small bathroom. There was substantial space for hanging clothing and for suitcases on chairs in the bedroom. The bedspread was outdated with a few stains. We disliked covering up with the cheap green and ugly blanket. However, the mattress was very comfortable, but it was somewhat difficult to fall asleep thinking about all the yucky things we disliked. I couldn't wait to leave. If you are particular, you might want to pass up this condo.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. It helps us as owners keep up on our vacation homes. We try to maintain a nice, clean, comfortable villa for our guests to enjoy. So there is no excuse for not having a clean frig and coffee pot. We have already contacted our cleaning lady about those items. She should, and may well have cleaned the front door area prior to your arrival. But we are in the woods and dirt, leaves, and even spider webs can show up literally in a matter of hours. Regarding the decor of the villa, it is exactly as pictured on our site, no surprises when you get there. The same is true with the contents of the villa which are fully described in the ad. There is no room for a table and chairs in the kitchen which is why there is a drop leaf table in the front room of the villa as pictured on the site. The bedspread described as outdated, also pictured, is only several months old. The same with the summer cotton blanket with matches the bedspread. Regarding the mildew smell, we understand what you are talking about. We smell it in all of the condos. I believe it is because of being in the woods. We have thoroughly checked out the building and our villa in particular, and there is no moisture problem. Coincidentally, the weekend you were staying in our villa, we were in Lansing choosing a new sofa and chair. It should be in place some time in the fall along with new window treatments and carpet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful property located in the gorgeous woods

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the condo! Prefect location to walk to the beach, yet set in the forest. The animals were quite tame as people feed them around the resort. The only negative was that the screen door was hard to shut..it stuck. Thanks Deidre!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Condo in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Had a good visit. Great bed and my wife thought the bathtub was 5 stars!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Just east of Traverse Ctiy is the quaint town of Glen Arbor, home of the Homestead Resort. Tucked in the north wood shores of Lake Michigan, it is a perfect get-away destination in any season. Summer fun begins on the shores of Lake Michigan and extends through miles of groomed hiking trails woven throughout the peninsula. The rolling hills and dunes attract bikers and dune climbers from around the country. There is also boating, sailing, fishing, canoeing, and 'rump bumping.' The hills are gorgeous in the fall and salmon fishing exhilarating. Cozy up to the fireplace and plug in a DVD this winter after your fun on the slopes or trails. Then look forward to coming back in the spring to hunt Morell mushrooms and spot the Trillium poking through the winter leaves. Come, stay with us and enjoy all that 'up north' was meant to be.

If you are familiar with the Homestead resort, our villa is a South Village unit located between the reception center and the ski village.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Glen Arbor Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$145
$890
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
$850
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.5%

Holiday prices vary. Please contact owner for holiday rates. There is an 8.5% tax, you can deduct 2.5% if you choose to send a check rather than use the secure online site. Departure cleaning, linens and wood for the fireplace is included. Owner accepts: Checks, PayPal and Credit card payments. There is an additional 2.5% if using PayPal and Credit card payments

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Glen Arbor Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Separate shower/toilet room from the jacuzzi area Linens, toiletries and hair dryer provided
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Comfy king-size bed. TV. Additional fold-out sleeper in living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We do not rent through the Homestead Resort and therefore do not have access to the resort pools nor the beach restaurant.

Partner Offers