check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Fine Fish House - Gulf Front Cottage

25 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Gulf Shores Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 BR with loft, 1 bath Beach Front Cottage, sleeps 9 and is pet friendly

Fine Fish House - Not a condominium, this is a BEACH FRONT cottage located about 12 miles from Gulf Shores and next door to the Bon Secour National Wildlife refuge. One of the most private homes you can find in this area. The cottage has a master bedroom with a Queen size bed and a second bedroom with two full size beds. There is also a loft that has one twin bed and a fold-out sofa sleeper that sleeps two people.

Close to historic Fort Morgan. Take the ferry to Dauphin Island and Fort Gaines; great fishing in the Gulf of Mexico with a full service marina just a few miles away.

Amenities: Welcome - just bring your bathing suit and toothbrush! All sheets, towels, pillows are provided. There is a washer and dryer and a large deck for enjoying the breathtaking sunrises and sunsets! We also have a cable television with approximately 45 channels (and growing), VCR, stereo system with cassette and CD capabilities and wireless internet. Close to the Tanger Centre (outlet shopping), numerous approved golf courses, and transportation to the casinos of Mississippi and Louisiana.

Just past Mile Marker 10, Fort Morgan Road (U.S. Highway 180 West), (Gulf Shores), Alabama, approximately twelve miles outside of Gulf Shores, Alabama.

We are strategically located along the flight path for practice runs made by the Blue Angels of the Pensacola Naval Air Station and other aircraft. Historic Fort Morgan is only ten miles due west along the scenic peninsula highway. The trip to Fort Morgan is a must to be able to walk its haunting corridors, walls, and perimeter where Admiral Farragut proclaimed: 'Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead.' The museum and its artifacts are a chilling reminder of our heritage and history along the Gulf Coast.

Gulf Shores is located approximately twelve miles due east on a scenic ride through the miles long brackish water lagoon behind the Gulf Coast as it becomes the 'Diamond Coast,' including the beaches of Gulf Shores, Romar, Orange Beach, Ono Island and on into the Panhandle of Florida.

You can enjoy the unparalleled serenity of being on the beach and yet be within minutes of the substantial amenities that have come to pass in the Gulf Shores and the Panhandle. Golf courses abound, water sports thrive, fishing is world class (with charter boats readily available from local captains), and amusement and theme parks of a substantial nature are all available.

2 BR/1 bath, pets are considered.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2016


based on 25 traveler reviews

Fine Fish House - Gulf Front Cottage
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews


  • 5 of 5

The description is accurate regarding the location, layout, amenities of Fine Fish House.

The Property is always very clean and well maintained.

The manager always provides excellent customer service, is easy to work with and is always responsive. She is easy to contact and willing to do whatever is necessary to make sure we have a relaxing, fun vacation.

We would recommend Fine Fish House.

We love the quiet beach.

We have completely enjoyed every stay at Fine Fish House in the Spring and Fall.

It is perfect for our family.

The house is very comfortable, always clean and in good condition.

We have been coming down since 2001 and have never had a problem

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, nice place, terrible furniture

  • 4 of 5

We have been going to thend fish house for years. Mary Waters does a great job. We love the location and house. The only complaint that we have year after year is the furniture. It is the same furniture other than one piece that was there 6 or 7 years ago. It is so broken down and uncomfortable that we will not go back until it is replaced. We brought this to Mary's attention the last time we stayed. She said that she would relay concern to the owner. I question it just rents so well that the owner is not willing to put money back into it. We will be renting a different house next year. We love the area.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Stay at the Fine Fish House, Again.

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd stay at the Fine Fish House. We loved the new carpet, it was so soft. We spent most of our time on the beach and enjoyed meals in the house. Our family enjoyed fishing and finding shells. Thank you, Mary, for always making it so easy for us to come visit our home away from home. We wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Little Rock, AR

Fine Fish House just as FINE as ever!!

  • 5 of 5

I love being at Fine Fish House! Just finished a family birthday celebration there and had a great time. I try to go back every time I can. I love the laid back, throw back vibe of the neighborhood. Kind of makes me sad that this cottage has "caught on" and is rented so steadily. It's just such a great place and holds such special memories. And Mary is the best!!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Little Rock, AR


  • 5 of 5

We had another awesome time at Fine Fish House. It feels like home to us. We love the house, we love the beach and we love the neighborhood! Thank you Mary!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and that you feel at home at the cottage. You are truly a considerate guest a pleasure to work with. Hope you are looking forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

DAY 1- HOUSE WAS NOT CLEAN WHEN WE ARRIVED. & TO WAIT TO CHECK IN. Wet spot in middle of double bed & sippy cup with ruined milk in it under bed. AIR QUIT. Bucket under leak in air system on dryer that we have to dump every hour or it over flows (really!?!) DAY 2- AIR STILL OUT. owner states someone is on the way to fix it...arrives around 10 am leaves 10:30 says it fixed.... 4pm it is now 98 in house & still no air. My son & I both have asthma & mom is on dialysis. Guy comes back out finally gets air going takes all night & most of the next day to lower temp in the house. MISERABLE. Owner offers free night on next stay that is already reserved for July 2 2016.OK all is well. Checkout I take pictures time/date stamped of ENTIRE HOUSE AND GROUNDS. (because i expected retaliation for complaining on housekeeping)When I booked I told them I have 6 kids, myself & my husband. My mom was a last minute addition as well as her dog.......Sorry for that, but the house does say pet friendly... This dog is very well trained as she is a service animal for my mom, but she did chew a cord in her boredom and probably frustration from being so HOT!....So We had 9 people and service dog....Dog pooped in yard we cleaned it up or buried it deep in sand..In October I emailed the owner because I had not received my deposit. Her response: (I apologize for taking so long to get back to you and I appreciate your understanding about the a/c and bedding issue. There were several towels and a pillow case missing, the trash can in the bathroom was broken and the cord on the lamp in the living room was chewed off. I will have to replace these. Also, there was dog urine on the deck, in the dining area and on the stairs to the loft. There were also piles of dog feces outside that had to be cleaned up. The stove was dirty, there was food on the table on the deck, fishing equipment/beach toys left out and a box of bait with bait in it left on the ground. It took 2 people over 4 hours to clean the cottage. I also had 3 neighbors complain about your dogs running loose and being aggressive. The lease also stated that the maximum number of guests is 9. A neighbor told me there were 15 guests at the residence.) & says she wont rent to me again. REMINDER I HAVE PICS OF HOUSE WHEN WE LEFT! All of the above are lies (except the light cord) But thats beside the fact its OCTOBER & JUST NOW you say you wont honor a reservation made 3 months ago. Now nowhere is available. Thanks! :-(

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In a case like this I will just stick to the facts. The cottage was not clean upon arrival because this guest arrived before the scheduled 2:00 pm check in time. She sent an email about an issue with the bedding and I offered a refund. When the AC went out I contacted the owner and he called the repair service. It took 2 trips to repair it. I did offer to get a hotel room but this guest stated she would prefer to stay at the cottage. When the AC was repaired she sent a message all was good (I have this email on file). I offered her one free night stay on her next visit which she had booked. However, the lease states if no excessive cleaning is required the deposit will be returned. It took 2 people 4 hours to clean the cottage. I will say that was excessive. In lieu of the free night I returned her deposit and the refund I told her I would give her, I also told her I would not rent to her again. I don't think any photos she has will show any of the damage that was done. Also an FYI burying dog poop in the sand is not acceptable.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Pensacola Regional Airport, Pensacola, FL
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Car: necessary

This cottage is located in lower Alabama on the white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. It's perfect for just relaxing by the water or within driving distance of many sighseeing opportunities. There is a bike trail on Ft. Morgan Road and this cottage is just minutes from historic Fort Morgan,which hosts candlelight tours during the summer. It is within driving distance of the Pensacola Navy Air Station where you can visit the flight museum. Or take a day trip and visit Mobile or Biloxi. Mobile has the USS Alabama for touring, Mardi Gras, the Exploreum Museum, which boasts a hands on section for children and an IMAX theater, a historic homes tour in late March and of course Bellingrath Gardens & Home which is open year round and has a special Christmas light show during the holidays. There are many festivals during the year in the surrounding area and Biloxi is not far with entertaining show or try your luck at the casinos.

Other Activities: National Wildlife Refuge located immediately adjacent to property! nice bike trails and walking trails on Ft. Morgan Road.


Rates & Availability

Gulf Shores Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mid Season
Sep 11 2016 - Oct 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
Nov 27 2016 - Mar 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
Spring Break
Mar 12 2017 - Apr 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
Pre Summer
Apr 30 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $105
Pet Fee $100

Check or money order only.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gulf Shores Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Washer and dryer closet in the bathroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom has a queen bed. Two double beds in the second bedroom and a single bed in the loft. Queen sleeper sofa in the living room.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Wood Deck
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers