check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

KAUAI's BEST RATE!! Pono Kai 2bd2bth Condo! Washer/Dryer

38 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Kapaa Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)


Compare your options:

Option 1: A HOTEL Room: $300-400 for a tiny room, no kitchen, one tiny bathroom, crowded hallways, tiny fridge with expensive food, no living room.....


Option 2: This Beautiful Pono Kai Condo steps from the ocean and the beach!! With full kitchen, dining room, living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, washer/dryer, private patio, pool, hot tub, spa, tennis, exercise room, volleyball, BBQ grills, 3 mile bike path along ocean, etc etc.

IT'S A NO BRAINER!! Book NOW!! We have 3 beautiful condos to choose from at amazing rates!!

(The other two are VRBO Listing #256999 and VRBO Listing #114754)

This amazing garden-oceanview, 1200 square foot, ground floor, two-bedroom, two-bath condo is on what many consider 'the finest family beach on Kauai'. E109 in E Building. Just steps from the pool and beach, this condominium provides the best location for island fun. LARGER GROUP?? RENT ALL 3!!!

No stairs to climb, just exit the lanai to the beach or stroll thru the beautifully manicure gardens to the pool, tennis courts, croquet court, barbecue/picnic areas, volleyball,fitness facility, and shuffle board. Take a short walk through historic Kapaa town for great island shopping, food, and recreation.

This condo comfortably sleeps six people. The master bedroom has a king-size bed, private bathroom, plus a flat screen TV & DVD. The second bedroom has a queen-size bed and the living room has two full size (double)futons plus a flat screen TV, DVD & stereo system. The kitchen is fully equipped with dishes, pans, dishwasher, coffee maker, and microwave with a comfortable dining room. The owner has recently upgraded the Condo with NEW CABINETS and counter tops.

THIS CONDO HAS ITS OWN WASHER/DRYER!!! Ground-floor lanai makes easy coming and going and the entertainment center provides cable TV, DVD and a stereo. Basic internet access in the condo is free for emails. For more robust internet usage (large files) you can upgrade the free service on a daily or weekly rate. (Building E)

Local Points Of Interest

* Coconut Marketplace

* Wailua Golf Course

* Lihue

* Kilauea Lighthouse

* Poipu Beach

* Spouting Horn

* National Tropical Botanical Gardens

* Waimea Canyon State Park

* Lihue Airport (LIH): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 8 miles.


PLEASE EMAIL FOR AVAILABILITY!!! Phone calls may not be returned as promptly as desired.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 5, 2016
Call Owner

About Bryan

We have seven children and 15 grandchildren. Farrah and Rachel (our daughters) manage the rentals for us and will do everything possible to make your Kauai visit a wonderful experience.

Bryan purchased this condo in 2004

Why Bryan chose Kauai

We love Kauai and especially Kapaa and Pono Kai. Our kids love to come vacation here year after year. We always find something new on the island. There are truly 101 things to do!!! We have purchased and furnished THREE beautiful condos for rental and personal use.

What makes this condo unique

The ocean and beach are just steps away. The grounds are meticulously manicured. The 5 mile biking/walking path goes in front of our condo and up and down the island for awesome morning and evening rides/walks. The condo is centrally located on the island (Kapaa) so driving time is minimized. Great restaurants and activities abound all over and we can mingle with the locals and not feel stampeded by tourists. Perfect Hawaiian experience.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Bryan-I don't even know how to begin to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Hawaii I don't think I told you before, but the purpose of the trip was to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Your condo is so wonderful and we all agreed that Kauai was the favorite island of the two. We covered most all of the island, and were treated to some very special activities and sites. The cousin of our friend lives in Waimea, and she spent a day showing us things the average tourist would never have seen. We also took the helicopter tour and that was a highlight! We sure found it to be very comfortable and perfectly located. I could go on, but I really just wanted to thank you for allowing us to make Kauai such a memorable trip for us. Our best, Duane and Nardi Jones
Oct 2004
  • 1 of 1


based on 38 traveler reviews

KAUAI's BEST RATE!! Pono Kai 2bd2bth Condo! Washer/Dryer
average rating of 4.6578946 based on 39 reviews
La Quinta, CA

Dirty, not prepared for guests...many things broken and not working, worst VRBO experience ever!

  • 1 of 5

The condo smelled stale and moldy like wet carpet, during our entire stay, especially when we had been out for the day and had everything locked up.

We were left with a half roll of paper towels and 2 1/2 rolls of toilet paper for the entire condo (2 bathrooms 4 guests) and were expected to replace everything we used. The roosters! ridiculous at 0445 in the morning! This should be in the description!!

There was a lot of termite dust in the cupboards and on the dishes and on the counters in the kitchen. There were a lot of ants on the window sills in the bedrooms and front bathroom. I also found two very old dead lizards on the second bedroom window sills. (hence the ants). Which I ended up cleaning. The window sills had not been cleaned in weeks. The lizard was almost completed eaten by the ants.. There was sand on the floor in the kitchen and hallway when we arrived., which I had to clean up before my vacation even started! The sheets smelled and there were stains on one of pillows and on the comforter. I washed our sheets before going to bed that night, not something i wanted to do on my vacation. There was a broken kitchen table chair that we discovered our first night while sitting down to relax..also most of the patio furniture was cracked and broken. The lock on the window on the right side in the master bedroom was also broken...(not feeling too secure about leaving my things there).When we went to have coffee on Monday morning I discovered that most of the coffee cups were dirty, they appeared to have been put away dirty. Same thing with the pots and pans when we made dinner, we had to wash everything first. When I attempted to make bagels the toaster only worked if I unplugged it in between each toasting, it was also very rusted and dirty...The oven did not heat.. very unfortunate, as I had made chocolate chip cookies to celebrate my husbands birthday...had to cook them on the outside grill. The light in the kitchen stopped working the second night we were there.The clock in the kitchen didn't work, the remote for the DVD player and flashlight had no batteries, couldn't find batteries anywhere. The most frustrating issue was that the TV display was almost to dark to even see the picture display. Half the window blinds were broken, we had to dress in the bathroom and hold the blinds closed. Literally only positive was that the condo was walking distance to town. The "ocean view" is a stretch

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Traveler, this deserves a reply. This guest called me once during their 3day stay solely about the dining room chair that they quite possibly broke. They stated that it was broken before they arrived. Neither the cleaning people nor the guest prior to them reported the broken chair. Sad thing is, the chair is not replaceable because the set is a one-of-a-kind. That was the only call I received during their ENTIRE stay. Only AFTER they returned home did I get an email listing all the minor items in the complaint above. I have come to realize this was done in an effort to receive their $1500 damage deposit and evade any responsibility for the broken items. I was very disappointed that they didn't call me while they were there about the other items. My cleaning lady is very perplexed by their criticism and hurt that they didn't contact her to address any concerns. She washes EVERYTHING, dishes, bedding.....EVERYTHING, and she does her best to control those little Island critters that are everywhere on the Island. It's a tropical Island. Based on experience for a 3 day booking, my cleaning lady estimates how much kitchen and bathroom supplies will be needed. If they were so upset, I could have moved them to another condo (we have 3 in the same resort), but they never asked. There was a brand new TV in the closet still in the box, had they called. It turns out the TV is in perfect working order and the subsequent guests have had no issues. Roosters? Please don't plan on visiting Kauai (Google it) if you are concerned about Roosters. They're everywhere and nobody can control their behavior. That's a head scratcher. I really like to accommodate my guests, so initially I took them at their word and I refunded the full damage deposit ($1500) plus $100 of the cleaning fee. Only after they received the refunds did I receive a second email demanding a full refund or they would contact VRBO (code for a negative review). I asked again for the pictures. The photos never came. Instead, they submitted TWO negative reviews in different names in an apparent attempt to damage my business and reputation. VRBO deleted one. Please call or email us if you have ANY questions about this condo and/or this review. Bryan and Arden
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

E 109

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I rented this comfy 2 bd. 2 bath ground level condo for several weeks. We absolutely loved it. If it was available for a year lease we would have gladly rented it. The property is kept beautifully. It's centrally and conveniently located. It's a stones throw to the beach and bike path. Groceries and shopping near by ( walking distance ) Loved the pool, sauna, gym, tennis, basketball, ping pong & putting greens. Bottom line is we live on Kauai and it doesn't get much better.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Pono Kai

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time while on Kaua'I. I would recommend Pono Kai and I will likely stay there again on our next visit. The premises are clean and well kept and so was the room. It was well equipped with everything we needed from the kitchen to the bathrooms, bedrooms and even things for the beach. The only thing to keep in mind is that the room does not have air conditioner. There is a very nice breeze that comes through the master room and the living room but when it rained, we kept the window closed and turned the fans on high, which the blew around the warm air. When it didn't rain, it was really nice. Othrr then that, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The condo was a great size, comfortably furnished. This is a great location to the beach, in town ea

  • 5 of 5

The grounds are beautifully maintained and had a lot of open space! At first we were concerned because we had not realized there is no air conditioning but it really is no big deal once you open the windows and let that great ocean breeze in! The owner was helpful and accommodating to our needs! We enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

The property is situated within a larger complex but the facility seems private as it is located in a corner at ground level. The sliders and windows are showing their age and can be awkward to open and close. The WiFi in the rooms is sketchy at best, but very clear in the lobby area. The dishes and glasses where replaced by Larry who took care of some concerns promptly and is aware that some updating is required. The rooms where clean and spacious. There is a pool, hot tub, mini golf, horseshoe pits, croquette, tennis, and bouche ball courts on the grounds.

We enjoyed the facility and its easy walking distance to the town of Kapa and paved beach walkway along the beaches.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Nancy. You are the perfect guest!!! We so much appreciate you notifying us about the glasses and cups that were missing. As we are not on the Island (wish we were), it is so very helpful when our guests contact us immediately so we can make your stay as pleasant and carefree as possible. Mahalo!! Bryan and Arden
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA

First time to Kauai

  • 4 of 5

I had such an enjoyable time at this condo. It was everything my family needed. It was spacious and we loved that it was on the ground floor as the kids were able to play outside on the grass. It is less than a minute to walk to the beach. And often there was no one else at the beach. It felt like our own private beach. The pool and jacuzzi were also great. I would definitely come back to this particular condo. We were very comfortable in it. Having a kitchen, laundry, and tv made it feel like home. Also I really appreciated the beach chairs and sand toys for use in the condo. A big plus for kids. I hope to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Nearest Barpub
Kapaa Town
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Wialua Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
Olympic Cafe
Nearest Beach
Pono Kai
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Kapaa Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.25%

Email for last minute bookings as we do have occasional cancellations. Cancellation Policy: If a confirmed reservation is cancelled or transferred for any reason, you will forfeit all monies paid, unless the property is re-rented for the same time period for an equal or greater value. (See Rental Agmt.for additional provisions)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kapaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Washer/Dryer
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Private Bathroom. Flat screen TV.
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Walking Distance to Boutique Shopping, Dining

Partner Offers