Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Relaxing Lakeside Retreat

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Browns Pond House has been our family retreat for the past forty years. It is comfortably rustic retro . Please join us in enjoying this wonderful spot with your friends and family or for a romantic getaway. The property is perfectly situated to give you whatever you desire - it is secluded on a quiet country road but it is only 10 minutes outside of Rhinebeck. Rhinebeck offers restaurants, shopping, movies and historic sights. You can also have dinner at the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park(reservations need to be made in advance)or cook a feast in our large kitchen.

Other day trips and attractions include Woodstock, DIA, Rhinebeck Aerodrome, Alpine & cross country skiing, the Omega Institute, Dinsmore Golf course is 10 minutes away, Bard College & the Frank Gehry designed Performing Arts center offering concerts all summer, horse back riding and pick your own seasonal berries at Greig farm. Parking for 5 cars, so come with friends, relax and enjoy !

Keywords: Cathedral ceiling living room, fireplace, huge eat in kitchen, outdoor dining gazebo, swimming, fishing, kayaking, private dock, swim platform

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 28, 2017



Staatsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Kayak Provided


Good! 3.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
26% Complete
Relaxing Lakeside Retreat
average rating of 3.8666666 based on 15 reviews

A M A Z I N G !

  • 5 of 5

The lake house was just perfect for our party. Provided gorgeous views on a rainy August day and was super fun on the next day which was warm and sunny. The kids spent hours in the lake, while the adults could rest and enjoy the peacefulness of nature.

I have to admit that I'd read the reviews above and it made me hesitate about this place. I'm so glad I took this leap of faith and believed the owner that it was merely one mean family, probably people who always look at the empty half of the glass.

Maybe people should come with the right expectations... If you're looking for a sterile environment and super fancy house, this place is not for you. It is a house in the woods. Next to a water source. House is not necessarily new. For us it was just perfect - cozy, family atmosphere, kitchen was perfectly equipped (wish I knew! I would have brought more complicated food to cook;), we loved the many seating areas that kids kept exploring: breakfast in the house, grill lunch in the outdoor dining area, evening Smores on the hammock next to the bonfire... wonderful memories had been created. Looking forward to coming back next Summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing time!

  • 5 of 5

What a great spot! Very accommodating owner, great time over all.

Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great amenities / clean / convenient

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time at Howard's house on the lake, had a group of 10 and everyone slept comfortably, so many outdoor activities as well as nearby, would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great New Years Eve weekend!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Howard's home for New Years Eve weekend with my fiance and 8 other friends. Our initial impression of the home was that it was AWESOME - total 70's vibe and so fun. The perfect house for the 10 of us to ring in the New Year. Great bedroom spaces that are separated from the large kitchen and living space so it felt like we had so much room. Howard was also excellent. He met with us when we arrived to show us the house and left his cell number if we needed anything. He also left a bunch of fire wood that we used (all of it!) in the indoor fireplace and we had also brought an outdoor fireplace as well. The grounds were also amazing - a bunch of outdoor seating spaces and the lake/dock - we would love to come back in the summer to be able to use them! :)

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent four days here for thanksgiving with my family of 6. The house is beautiful, directly on the lake with a spectacular view and surroundings. I loved the big red kitchen for cooking our thanksgiving meal and the round table was perfect for eating it! Reading previous reviews, we were nervous but they could not be more wrong! The house was clean and in good condition, it's cozy, comfortable, and tasteful. We spent multiple evenings by the fire on the couch drinking wine and talking. We also slept great; The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The house was built in the 70's, yes, so it is not a new house. We are still VERY confused by those nasty reviews, but if anyone is deciding whether to stay, we recommend it 100%! The owner was very friendly and helpful. He greeted us when we arrived and showed us around the property. The house was warm and ready for us. I feel that those reviews were written out of spite. Hope to get back up there soon!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Coram, NY

Sooooo disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Our yearly get together was truly marred by this unfortunate property. We so looked forward to enjoy spending time together cooking, socializing and just catching up. The advertised pictures alluded to a clean, comfortable, welcoming environment. In reality, it was just nasty. We left each day as early as we could, staying out longer than we originally planned, just to avoid returning to this house. When we tried to get in touch with the owner, he just wouldn't return any of our texts or phone calls. A true disappointment!!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please read this and the the three following reviews as a group excersise. We are grateful for their effort in discouraging the visiting of our property by guests who think this is appropriate behavior.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $200

Owner will email rental agreement with payment instructions once reservation is made.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties